How do you constantly innovate while driving down costs?

Burn-in & Reliability Qualification

Reliability qualification demonstrates the fitness of a microelectronic product or IC for use in the field and helps our clients better understand the fundamental wear-out mechanisms, detect design marginality combined with parameter drift and determine failure rates due to latent manufacturing defects. EAG provides stress-based reliability qualification and knowledge based reliability qualification methodologies based on industry standards. These reliability testing techniques include High Temperature Operating Life Test (HTOL), Thermal Shock, Preconditioning, Temperature Humidity Bias, Highly Accelerated Temperature and Humidity Stress Test (HAST), and more.  We can customize the test conditions to meet your IC qualification needs.

We also have an in-house PCB design and assembly services team for any burn-in boards, HAST boards, or custom fixtures that may be required. EAG has optimized our services so no matter if you need maximum value and fast response or complete outsourced services, EAG’s experienced Reliability Engineers can create qualification plans and perform testing to meet your requirements with strict adherence to applicable JEDEC and MIL-STD specifications.

Our burn-in & reliability qualification lab is one of the finest in the country with over 75 chambers & ovens, tight ESD safety controls, routine audits, and a dedicated engineering staff to provide you with all of the burn-in, package qualification, process qualification, and other reliability data you need. Our lab service procedures are ISO 17025 accredited and DSCC certified. We follow industry standards, such as JEDEC, Mil-Std, AEC, as well as customer specific requirements. All equipment uses N.I.S.T. traceable tooling and monitored, calibrated profiles.

Stress-Based Testing Stress based qualification methodology provides a broad approach to identifying ic failure mechanisms and is a powerful tool to help engineers identify devices that may fail under normal use conditions. Thermal cycling, bias/humidity stress testing are conditions which many products experience and test conditions are designed to accelerate failures compared to field conditions.

Knowledge Based Testing Knowledge based qualification methodology is based upon detecting and understanding specific failure mechanisms. When a failure mechanism is known, accelerated testing can be designed to detect those failures prior to placing a product in the field.

Testing Methods

  • Moisture/Reflow Sensitivity Classification
  • Preconditioning
  • HTOL – High Temperature Operating Life Test 
  • HTSL – High Temperature Storage Life Test
  • Temperature Cycling
  • Thermal Shock
  • 2nd Level Interconnect Testing
  • Temperature Humidity Bias
  • HAST – Highly Accelerated Temperature and Humidity Stress Test
  • Autoclave