使用PXRD(粉末X射线衍射)分析商业药品

应用笔记

目的

演示使用X射线衍射(XRD)研究来自两个不同供应商的产品中布洛芬的晶体结构。

引言

多晶型物(不同的晶体结构)以及活性药物成分(API)的溶剂化物和水合物的存在会对药物的生物利用度和有效性产生巨大影响。 因此,确定原料药以及药物制剂中存在的多晶型物至关重要。 同样重要的是要了解这些多晶型物是否以及如何随时间或在暴露于不同的储存条件后发生变化。 XRD具有识别不同晶体结构的能力,具有独特的位置以识别药物中存在的多晶型物。 本应用笔记将演示如何使用XRD识别药物中的多晶型物。

布洛芬是一种著名的镇痛药和非甾体抗炎药(NSAID),可用于缓解头痛,牙齿疼痛,肌肉疼痛或关节炎等各种病症引起的疼痛。布洛芬有两种对映异构体(分子式= C13H18O2) :S(+)-布洛芬(地昔布洛芬)和R(-)-布洛芬。 布洛芬的这两种对映体互为镜像,不仅晶体结构不同,而且物理性质和化学稳定性也不同。 与R(-)-布洛芬相比,纯净的S(+)-布洛芬具有更高的溶解度,更高的溶解速率和更低的熔融温度。 布洛芬的外消旋混合物同时含有S(+)-布洛芬和R(-)-布洛芬。

在大多数市售的非处方制剂中,布洛芬以外消旋混合物形式存在,只有外消旋化合物(布洛芬-外消旋体)在临床上使用。 除了两种对映异构体外,还有两个外消旋布洛芬2的结晶相:基于不同的熔融温度,I相(常规相)是稳定的,II相是亚稳的。

纯S(+)对映异构体(地昔布洛芬)和外消旋混合物的Cu-Kα辐射的历史粉末X射线衍射图分别显示在图1和图2中。 S(+)-布洛芬为单斜结构,空间群为P214,外消旋布洛芬也具有单斜结构,但空间群为P21 / c4。 如您所见,这两种模式非常不同,应该易于区分。

图1:地昔布洛芬(S(+)-布洛芬)的X射线参考图1

图2:外消旋布洛芬的X射线参考图1

下载此资源以了解更多信息!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Analysis of Commercial Pharmaceuticals Using PXRD (Powder X-ray Diffraction)

APPLICATION NOTE

OBJECTIVE

To demonstrate the use of X-ray diffraction (XRD) to investigate the crystal structure of ibuprofen in products from two different vendors.

INTRODUCTION

The presence of polymorphs (different crystal structures) as well as solvates and hydrates of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) can have a huge impact on the bioavailability and effectiveness of pharmaceuticals. For this reason, it is critical to identify the polymorph (or polymorphs) present in raw APIs as well as in pharmaceutical preparations. It is also essential to understand if and how those polymorphs change over time, or after exposure to different storage conditions. XRD, with its ability to identify different crystal structures, is uniquely positioned to identify the polymorphs present in pharmaceuticals. This application note will demonstrate how XRD is used to identify polymorphs in pharmaceuticals.

Ibuprofen is a well-known analgesic and nonsteroidal anti-inflammatory drug (NSAID) that is used to relieve pain from various conditions such as headache, dental pain, muscle aches or arthritis etc. There are two enantiomers of Ibuprofen (molecular formula = C13H18O2): S(+)-ibuprofen (dexibuprofen) and R(-)-ibuprofen. These two enantiomers of ibuprofen are mirror images of each other and are not only different in crystal structure, but they also have differences in physical properties and chemical stabilities. Dexibuprofen, which is the pure S(+)-ibuprofen, has higher solubility, higher dissolution rates and a lower melting temperature compared to R(-)-ibuprofen. Racemic mixtures of ibuprofen contain both S(+)-ibuprofen and R(-)-ibuprofen.

In most of the commercially available over-the-counter formulations, ibuprofen is present as a racemic mixture, and only the racemic compound (ibuprofen-racemate) is in clinical use. In addition to the two enantiomers, there are two crystalline phases of racemic ibuprofen2: phase I (the conventional phase) is stable and phase II is metastable, based on different melting temperatures.

Historical powder x-ray diffraction patterns for Cu-Kα radiation for the pure S(+) enantiomer (dexibuprofen) and the racemic mixture are shown in Figure 1 and Figure 2, respectively. S(+)-ibuprofen is monoclinic, with space group P214 while racemic ibuprofen also has a monoclinic structure, but with space group P21/c4. As you can see, the two patterns are quite different and should be easy to differentiate.

Figure 1: X-ray reference pattern of dexibuprofen (S(+)-ibuprofen)1

Figure 2: X-ray reference pattern of Racemic ibuprofen1

Download this resource to learn more!

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.