热解吸GC / MS分析污染物

应用笔记

讨论

热解吸/ 气相色谱/质谱 结合利用三种技术解决有机分析中的难题的优点。 顶空分析(HSA),也称为热解吸,最初开发用于分析无法直接注入气相色谱仪的基质中的挥发性化合物。 动态顶空是一种非平衡技术。

该技术通过使样品经受高温一段时间来将挥发性化合物从样品基质驱动到样品上方的大气中,称为“顶部空间”。 氦气连续扫过腔室,随之携带已经脱气的成分。 吹扫气体通过吸附剂捕集器,该捕集器捕集器包含(按顺序):玻璃珠,TenaxTM和木炭,冷却至-100°C。 在实验结束时,将捕集器热解吸(反向流动)直接进入气相色谱仪的入口。 通过气相色谱法分离捕集器上存在的组分,并使用质谱法鉴定。 通常使用氘代正十六烷的外标来提供半定量结果。

这篇简短的说明介绍了好的和失败的比较 磁盘驱动器。 通过热解吸GC / MS分析通气过滤器和内部吸收器 识别污染物 这可能导致失败。 图1将来自故障驱动器的硅氧烷(13.66,16.16分钟的保留时间)污染的呼吸过滤器与来自良好驱动器的非硅氧烷污染的呼吸过滤器进行比较。 图2比较来自相同故障驱动器的硅氧烷(保留时间11.01,13.66和16.16分钟)污染的内部吸收器与来自同一良好驱动器的非硅氧烷污染的内部吸收器。

图1呼吸过滤器的比较

图1 呼吸过滤器的比较

这种类型的热解吸GC / MS分析适用于任何类型的样品,而不仅仅适用于本例中使用的磁盘驱动器过滤器。 任何适合热解吸室(1 1 / 2“直径x 4”长)的样品都可以在45°C和300°C之间的任何温度下脱气,通常持续1小时至3小时的时间。 将检测任何挥发性有机组分并提供半定量结果。 检测限与10 ng /组分一样低。

图2内部吸附器的比较

图2 内吸附剂的比较

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Analysis of Contaminants by Thermal Desorption GC/MS

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

Thermal Desorption / Gas Chromatography / Mass Spectrometry combines the advantages of utilizing three techniques for solving difficult problems in organic analysis. Head Space Analysis (HSA), also known as Thermal Desorption, was initially developed for analysis of volatile compounds in matrices that could not be directly injected into a gas chromatograph. Dynamic Headspace is a non-equilibrium technique.

The technique works by subjecting the sample to elevated temperatures for a period of time to drive volatile compounds from the sample matrix into the atmosphere above the sample, called the “head space”. Helium continuously sweeps the chamber, carrying with it the components that have outgassed. The purge gas is passed through an adsorbent trap that contains (in order): glass beads, TenaxTM, and charcoal and is cooled down to -100°C. At the conclusion of the experiment, the trap is thermally desorbed (in reverse flow) directly into the inlet of a gas chromatograph. The components that were present on the trap are separated by Gas Chromatography and identified using Mass Spectrometry. An external standard usually deuterated n-hexadecane is used to provide semi-quantitative results.

This short note presents a comparison of good and failed disk drives. The breather filters and internal absorbers were analyzed by Thermal Desorption GC/MS to identify contaminants that might be causing the failures. Figure 1 compares a siloxane (retention times of 13.66, 16.16 minutes) contaminated breather filter from a failed drive with a non-siloxane contaminated breather filter from a good drive. Figure 2 compares a siloxane (retention times 11.01, 13.66 and 16.16 minutes) contaminated inner absorber from the same failed drive with a non-siloxane contaminated inner absorber from the same good drive.

Figure 1 Comparison of Breather filters
Figure 1 Comparison of Breather filters

Thermal Desorption GC/MS analysis of this type is applicable to any type of sample, not just the disk drive filters used in this example. Any sample that fits in the thermal desorption chambers (1 1/2” diameter x 4” long) can be outgassed at any temperature between 45°C and 300°C, normally for a time period of one hour to three hours. Any volatile organic components will be detected and semi-quantitative results will be provided. Detection limits are as low as 10 ng/component.

Figure 2 Comparison of inner adsorbers
Figure 2 Comparison of inner adsorbers

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.