俄歇电子能谱(AES)服务

技术说明:俄歇电子能谱服务

EAG在世界各地都有许多俄歇仪器。 其中一些仪器具有特殊功能,例如冶金应用的原位断裂阶段,或在洁净室条件下分析200mm和300mm晶片的能力。 我们的一些俄歇系统的FIB(聚焦离子束)功能有助于制备和分析横截面样品。 我们的AES服务经验无与伦比,我们的俄歇科学家平均拥有超过14年的经验。

典型数据

俄歇电子能谱的典型数据

AES溅射曲线提供作为深度函数的成分信息。

原则

俄歇电子光谱技术(以1925描述此过程的Pierre Auger命名)使用初级电子束,通常在3至25 keV范围内。 被电子束激发的原子可以通过俄歇电子的发射而弛豫。 测量发射的俄歇电子的动能,并且是存在于样品表面的元素的特征。 得到的光谱通常被绘制为信号强度与动能的导数,每个元素显示出用于元素识别的独特“指纹”。 电子束可以在大的或小的表面区域上光栅化,或者可以直接聚焦在小的表面特征上。 这种扫描电子束也会产生 二次电子(SEM) 用于定位感兴趣特征的图像。 俄歇地图和线扫描显示了表面上元素的横向分布,而深度剖面可以显示出 组成 作为深度的函数。

常见的应用程序

Auger的高空间分辨率和表面灵敏度使其成为以下类型应用的首选技术:

  • 分析亚μm颗粒 确定污染 来源
  • 识别缺陷 电子设备 去弄清楚 失败 原因
  • 确定电抛光器件的氧化层厚度
  • 芯片上焊盘的小面积深度剖析
  • 褪色或腐蚀区域的元素分布图
  • 薄膜叠层中埋藏缺陷的横截面分析
  • 识别金属裂缝,疲劳和失效中的晶界污染
  • 诚信和统一 薄膜涂层 如类金刚石碳(DLC)

优势

  • 高空间分辨率:最小光斑尺寸小于10nm
  • 表面敏感; 顶部5-10nm
  • 识别除H和He之外的所有元素
  • 2-D和3-D小面积元素分布
  • 快速分析元素组成
  • 最多可以分析300mm晶圆

限制

  • 最小的化学状态信息
  • 绝缘子很难
  • 样品必须与真空兼容
  • 检测限为~0.1%至1%原子

技术比较

其他分析技术提供与AES服务的补充信息,但具有不同的限制,包括 XPS / ESCA(X射线光电子能谱) 以及 EDS(能量色散X射线光谱仪).

XPS是一种表面敏感技术,可从表面顶部5-10nm提供短程化学键合信息。 然而,XPS的最小光束尺寸约为10μm,而AES的最小光束尺寸小于10nm。 XPS的强度是光谱中可获得的化学信息,而AES主要提供具有有限化学信息的元素组成。 绝缘材料,包括有机化合物,是XPS的常规材料,但对于俄歇来说很难。

与AES类似,EDS也使用聚焦电子束生成分析信号,但EDS的采样体积(~0.5μm宽,几微米深)比AES大得多。 较小的AES采样体积优于EDS,可用于分析亚微米颗粒和薄膜。 俄歇过程在EDS X射线发射中较低的原子序数元素中受到青睐,使得AES比EDS更敏感,可用于分析较轻的元素,如B,CN,O和F.

商品描述

俄歇电子能谱(AES)是一种分析技术,用于确定小至~5nm的特征的前几个原子层(~10-25nm深度分析)的元素组成。 该技术广泛用于识别亚微米尺寸的颗粒和缺陷的组成。 俄歇可以检测除H和He之外的所有元素,并提供半定量信息,对于大多数物种,检测限为0.1至1原子百分比。 AES通常用于分析导电和半导电固体,尽管也可以分析一些绝缘材料。 当与离子溅射源结合使用时,AES可以执行小面积组分深度剖析,当与聚焦离子束(FIB)结合使用时,它可用于分析横截面样品。

俄歇图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE: Auger Electron Spectroscopy Services

EAG has many Auger instruments located throughout the world. Some of these instruments contain special capabilities such as an in-situ fracture stage for metallurgical applications, or the capability to analyze 200mm and 300mm wafers under clean room conditions. FIB (Focused Ion Beam) capabilities on some of our Auger systems aid in the preparation and analysis of cross-sectioned samples. Our AES services experience is unsurpassed with our Auger scientists having an average of over 14 years experience.

TYPICAL DATA

Typical data from Auger Electron Spectroscopy

AES sputter profiles provide compositional information as a function of depth.

PRINCIPLES

The Auger Electron Spectroscopy technique (named after Pierre Auger, who described this process in 1925) uses a primary electron beam, typically in the 3 to 25 keV range. Atoms that are excited by the electron beam can relax through the emission of Auger electrons. The kinetic energies of the emitted Auger electrons are measured and are characteristic of elements present at the surface of a sample. The resulting spectrum is usually plotted as the derivative of the signal intensity vs. kinetic energy, with each element showing a unique “fingerprint” for elemental identification. The electron beam can be rastered over a large or small surface area, or it can be directly focused on a small surface feature. This scanning electron beam also generates secondary electron (SEM) images that are used to locate the features of interest. Auger maps and linescans show the lateral distribution of elements on a surface, while depth profiles can reveal the composition as a function of depth.

COMMON APPLICATIONS

Auger’s high spatial resolution capabilities and surface sensitivity make it the technique of choice for the following types of applications:

  • Analyzing sub-µm particles to determine contamination sources
  • Identifying defects in electronic devices to investigate failure causes
  • Determining the oxide layer thickness of electro-polished devices
  • Small-area depth profiling of bond pads on die
  • Mapping of elemental distribution on discolored or corroded regions
  • Cross-sectional analysis of buried defects in film stacks
  • Identifying grain boundary contamination in metal fractures, fatigues and failures
  • Integrity and uniformity of thin film coatings such as diamond-like-carbon (DLC)

STRENGTHS

  • High Spatial Resolution: <10nm minimum spot size
  • Surface Sensitive; top 5-10nm
  • Identification of all elements except H and He
  • 2-D and 3-D elemental distribution of small areas
  • Rapid analysis for elemental composition
  • Can analyze up to 300mm wafers

LIMITATIONS

  • Minimal chemical state information
  • Insulators are difficult
  • Samples must be vacuum compatible
  • Detection limits of ~0.1% to 1% atomic

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Other analytical techniques that provide complementary information with AES services, but with varying limitations, include XPS/ESCA (X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy) and EDS (Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy).

XPS is a surface sensitive technique that provides short-range chemical bonding information from the top 5-10nm of the surface. However, XPS has a minimum beam size of about 10µm, whereas AES has a minimum beam size of less than 10nm. The strength of XPS is the chemical information available from the spectra, while AES provides mainly elemental composition with limited chemical information. Insulating materials, including organic compounds, are routine for XPS, but are difficult for Auger.

Similar to AES, EDS also uses a focused electron beam to generate the analysis signal, but the sampling volume for EDS (~0.5µm wide by a few µms deep) is much larger than AES. The smaller sampling volume of AES offers advantages over EDS for the analysis of sub-micron particles and thin films. The Auger process is favored in lower atomic number elements over the emission of x-rays for EDS, making AES more sensitive than EDS for the analysis of lighter elements, such as B, C N, O, and F.

DESCRIPTION

Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) is an analytical technique used to determine the elemental composition of the top few atomic layers (~5-10nm depth of analysis) of features as small as ~25nm. This technique is widely used to identify the composition of sub-micron sized particles and defects. Auger can detect all elements except H and He and provides semiquantitative information with detection limits of 0.1 to 1 atomic percent for most species. AES is normally used for analyzing conductive and semiconductive solids, although some insulating materials can also be analyzed. When used in combination with an ion sputter source, AES can perform small-area compositional depth profiling, and when used in combination with Focused Ion Beam (FIB), it is useful for analyzing cross-sectioned samples.

Auger icon

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.