使用PCOR-SIMS表征退火的ULE B植入物SM

应用笔记

引言

随着器件尺寸不断缩小,开发和改进超低能量(ULE)硼离子注入是一个备受关注的领域。 描述 这些植入物需要在晶片表面的上几纳米内精确的轮廓形状和氧化层厚度。

PCOR-SIMSSM 表示ULE B表征的最新改进,其中包含对配置文件的所有区域的逐点数据校正。 该方法避免了由较旧的氧气注入和垂直入射技术引入的近表面轮廓畸变,并且由于精确测量表面氧化物厚度而产生最精确的结深度测量。

讨论

新的协议之间的差异在250eV注入和退火的Si晶片的上面的配置文件中得到了显着的显示。 旧O中的近表面伪影2 - 血液和垂直入射方案严重扭曲了植入和退火剖面的B剖面形状。 相比之下,PCOR-SIMS®协议显示,植入后的样品在表面下方仅有1.3nm的高斯形峰。 退火样品显示B重新分布到表面氧化层和Si衬底之间的界面,与Si / SiO上现有的热力学扩散模型一致2 接口1。 此外,PCOR-SIMS®型材还可以定量测量表面氧化层厚度,这一特性完全缺乏O型2 - 血液和正常发病率概况。 注意尽管B有明显的扩散,但由于退火导致的氧化物厚度几乎没有变化。

* PCOR-SIMSSM ULE B协议是EAG广泛开发的结果。 “PCOR-SIMSSM“名称部分描述了EAG的专有方法,包括点对点校正,从而为超浅植入物提供最准确的SIMS分析。

在退火之前和之后用于250eV硼注入表征的两种SIMS分析方案的比较。
在退火之前和之后用于250eV硼注入表征的两种SIMS分析方案的比较。

在退火之前和之后用于250eV硼注入表征的两种SIMS分析方案的比较。 请注意,与通常的对数刻度不同,浓度轴是线性的。 退火B注入的PCOR-SIMS®分析检测到氧化物/ Si界面处的积累,如预期的那样(b)。 O.而O.2-flood SIMS协议导致不真实的轮廓形状(a)。


1。 物理学。 版本B 68,195311(2003)

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Characterizing Annealed ULE B Implants using PCOR-SIMSSM

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Development and improvement of Ultra Low Energy (ULE) boron ion implantation is an area of intense interest as device dimensions continually shrink. Characterization of these implants requires accurate profile shape and oxide layer thickness within the upper several nanometers of the wafer surface.

PCOR-SIMSSM represents the latest improvements in ULE B characterization that incorporates point-by-point data corrections for all regions of the profile. This method avoids near-surface profile distortions introduced by the older oxygen flooding and normal incidence techniques and yields the most accurate junction depth measurements due to precise measurement of surface oxide thickness.

DISCUSSION

The difference between old and new protocols is dramatically shown in the profiles above of a 250eV as-implanted and annealed Si wafer. Near surface artifacts in the old O2-flood and normal incidence protocols severely distort the B profile shape of both the as-implanted and annealed profiles. In contrast, the PCOR-SIMS® protocol shows that the as-implanted sample has a Gaussian-shaped peak only 1.3nm below the surface. The annealed sample shows redistribution of B to the interface between the surface oxide layer and the Si substrate, in agreement with existing thermodynamic diffusion models at the Si/SiO2 interface1. In addition, the PCOR-SIMS® profile also gives a quantitative measure of the surface oxide thickness, a feature that is lacking entirely from the O2-flood and normal incidence profiles. Note that there has been little change in the oxide thickness due to annealing despite significant diffusion of B.

* PCOR-SIMSSM for ULE B protocol is the result of extensive development efforts by EAG. The “PCOR-SIMSSM” name describes, in part, EAG’s proprietary methodology that includes point-to-point correction resulting in the most accurate SIMS profiling yet for ultra shallow implants.

Comparison of two SIMS analysis protocols for 250eV boron implant characterization before and after anneal.

Comparison of two SIMS analysis protocols for 250eV boron implant characterization before and after anneal.

Comparison of two SIMS analysis protocols for 250eV boron implant characterization before and after anneal. Please note that concentration axes are linear unlike the usual log scales. PCOR-SIMS® analysis of annealed B implantation detects accumulation at oxide/Si interface as expected (b). Whereas O2-flood SIMS protocol results in un-realistic profile shapes (a).


1. Phys. Rev. B 68, 195311 (2003)

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.