通过俄歇电子能谱分析小于50nm缺陷的完整晶圆颗粒

应用笔记

Juergen Scherer博士

在竞争激烈的半导体市场中,新半导体设计的迅速发展和缩小的设计规则推动了对不断提高产量的需求。 随着设计规则的缩小,关键缺陷的尺寸变小,缺陷的识别也变得更具挑战性。 晶圆缺陷的正确成分识别对于优化工具性能至关重要,并且可能会产生重大的财务影响。

通常首先在光学检测映射工具中发现缺陷,该工具通常会提供缺陷的位置和大小信息(图1a)。 会生成一个图,显示晶圆上缺陷的位置(图1b)。 然后使用粒子扫描仪提供的坐标来定位单个缺陷,并获得该缺陷的SEM图像(图1c)。 最后,进行成分分析(图1d)。

图1:粒子分析工作流程:(a)粒子扫描仪,(b)缺陷图(c)SEM图像(d)光谱

从历史上看,缺陷是通过能量色散X射线光谱(EDS)分析的。 然而,由于该技术的大量采样量,在标准EDS分析中收集的X射线中只有一小部分来自缺陷。 随着缺陷变小,这种情况变得越来越糟,这通常可能导致不确定的结果。 通过使用低加速电压和无窗检测器,可以在某种程度上缓解此问题,但仍仅留下可靠性较差的低能谱线进行分析。

相反,俄歇电子能谱(AES或俄歇)的高表面灵敏度和较小的分析体积使俄歇成为分析50nm以下缺陷的理想技术。 由于采样深度与加速电压无关,因此可以使用高束能量激发光谱中所有可用的跃迁。 俄歇信号主要从缺陷表面收集(图2),结果,随着缺陷尺寸的缩小,缺陷的信号贡献几乎保持恒定。 由于光束散射,俄歇光谱也确实包含了来自基板的某些贡献,可以将其最小化但不能消除。

图2:AES与传统EDS的检测量比较

图3显示了从各种尺寸的小缺陷收集的俄歇光谱的一些示例。 如强大的信号强度所证明的那样,出色的灵敏度可保持到只有20nm的缺陷尺寸,并且某些信号衰减低于该尺寸。

图3:从50nm到16nm各种尺寸的缺陷收集的SEM图像和俄歇数据。 在溅射之前和之后获得光谱。

该技术的高表面敏感性可能是一种有用的工具,可用于识别缺陷表面上可能与其根本原因有关的污染物。 结合离子溅射,还可以根据深度对缺陷的成分进行分析,以确定:表面氧化物的厚度; 污染物是否真的仅存在于表面上; 缺陷是否被掩埋或外层是否不同于块体。 在图3的示例中,光谱是在接收时以及溅射清洗后获取的。 缺陷表面检测到的C和O主要与环境污染和表面氧化有关。 溅射暴露颗粒的实际成分:Cu,Al,Cu,AlOx

Auger的成分分析可以在最大直径为300mm的裸露,涂层或图案化晶圆上进行。 只要掩模版表面上存在导电层,就可以分析光掩模。 EAG的完整晶圆俄歇工具与行业标准光学检测工具提供的缺陷坐标兼容,并且可以接受多种文件格式。 对晶片上的缺陷进行分析可以提供有价值的成分信息,从而可以提高半导体生产的产量。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Full Wafer Particle Analysis of sub-50nm Defects by Auger Electron Spectroscopy

APPLICATION NOTE

By Juergen Scherer, Ph.D.

In the competitive semiconductor marketplace, rapid development of new semiconductor designs and shrinking design rules drive the need for continuous yield enhancement. As design rules shrink, the critical defect size becomes smaller and the identification of defects becomes more challenging. Correct compositional identification of wafer defects has become vital for optimizing tool performance and can have significant financial impact.

Defects are usually first discovered in an optical detect mapping tool, which typically provides location and sizing information for the defects (Fig. 1a). A map is generated that shows the location of the defects on the wafer (Fig. 1b). Individual defects are then located using the coordinates provided by the particle scanner and an SEM image of the defect is obtained (Fig. 1c). Finally, a compositional analysis is performed (Fig. 1d).

Figure 1: Particle analysis workflow: (a) Particle Scanner, (b) Defect Map (c) SEM image (d) Spectrum

Historically, defects have been analyzed by Energy Dispersive X-Ray Spectroscopy (EDS); however, only a small fraction of the X-rays collected in a standard EDS analysis originate from the defect due to the large sampling volume of the technique. This situation becomes increasingly worse as defects become smaller, which often can lead to inconclusive results. This problem can be mitigated to some extent by using low accelerating voltages and windowless detectors but still leaves only the less reliable low energy spectral lines for analysis.

In contrast, the high surface sensitivity and small analysis volume of Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES or Auger) makes Auger the ideal technique for the analysis of sub-50nm defects. Since the sampling depth is independent of acceleration voltage, high beam energies can be used to excite all available transitions in the spectrum. The Auger signal is collected mainly from the surface of the defect (Fig. 2) and as a result, the signal contribution from the defect stays nearly constant with shrinking defect size. Auger spectra do also contain some contribution from the substrate due to beam scattering, which can be minimized but not eliminated.

Figure 2: Comparison of detection volumes, AES vs. conventional EDS

Figure 3 shows some examples of Auger spectra collected from small defects of various sizes. Excellent sensitivity, as documented by the strong signal intensity, is maintained down to a defect size of only 20nm, with some signal drop-off below this size.

Figure 3: SEM images and Auger data collected on defects of various sizes from 50nm down to 16nm. Spectra were acquired before and after sputtering.

The high surface sensitivity of the technique can be a useful tool for identifying contaminants on the surface of the defects that might be related to their root cause. In combination with ion sputtering, the composition of the defects can also be analyzed as a function of depth to determine: the thickness of the surface oxide; whether contaminants are really only present on the surface; or whether the defect is buried or has an outer layer that is different from the bulk. In the examples in Fig. 3, spectra were acquired as received and after sputter cleaning. C and O detected on the surface of the defects were mostly related to environmental contamination and surface oxidation. Sputtering exposed the particles actual composition: Cu, Al, Cu, AlOx, respectively.

Compositional analysis by Auger can be performed on bare, coated or patterned wafers with a wafer diameter of up to 300mm. Photomasks can be analyzed as well, as long as a conductive layer is present on the surface of the reticle. EAG’s full wafer Auger tools are compatible with defect coordinates provided by industry standard optical inspection tools and can accept a variety of file formats. Analysis of defects on wafers can provide valuable compositional information that can lead to enhanced yields for semiconductor production.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.