Analyse complète des particules de plaquette des défauts inférieurs à 50 nm par spectroscopie électronique Auger

NOTE D'APPLICATION

Sur le marché concurrentiel des semi-conducteurs, le développement rapide de nouvelles conceptions de semi-conducteurs et le rétrécissement des règles de conception rendent nécessaire une amélioration continue du rendement. À mesure que les règles de conception diminuent, la taille des défauts critiques devient plus petite et l'identification des défauts devient plus difficile. L'identification correcte de la composition des défauts des plaquettes est devenue vitale pour optimiser les performances des outils et peut avoir un impact financier significatif.

Les défauts sont généralement d'abord découverts dans un outil de cartographie de détection optique, qui fournit généralement des informations de localisation et de dimensionnement des défauts (Fig. 1a). Une carte est générée qui montre l'emplacement des défauts sur la tranche (Fig. 1b). Les défauts individuels sont ensuite localisés en utilisant les coordonnées fournies par le scanner de particules et une image SEM du défaut est obtenue (Fig. 1c). Enfin, une analyse de composition est effectuée (Fig. 1d).

Figure 1: Flux de travail d'analyse des particules: (a) Scanner de particules, (b) Carte des défauts (c) Image SEM (d) Spectre

Historiquement, les défauts ont été analysés par spectroscopie à rayons X à dispersion d'énergie (EDS); cependant, seule une petite fraction des rayons X recueillis dans une analyse EDS standard provient du défaut en raison du grand volume d'échantillonnage de la technique. Cette situation devient de plus en plus pire à mesure que les défauts deviennent plus petits, ce qui peut souvent conduire à des résultats non concluants. Ce problème peut être atténué dans une certaine mesure en utilisant de faibles tensions d'accélération et des détecteurs sans fenêtre, mais ne laisse toujours que les raies spectrales de basse énergie moins fiables pour l'analyse.

En revanche, la sensibilité de surface élevée et le faible volume d'analyse de la spectroscopie électronique Auger (AES ou Auger) font d'Auger la technique idéale pour l'analyse des défauts inférieurs à 50 nm. Étant donné que la profondeur d'échantillonnage est indépendante de la tension d'accélération, des énergies de faisceau élevées peuvent être utilisées pour exciter toutes les transitions disponibles dans le spectre. Le signal Auger est collecté principalement à la surface du défaut (Fig. 2) et, par conséquent, la contribution du signal du défaut reste presque constante avec la taille du défaut qui diminue. Les spectres Auger contiennent également une certaine contribution du substrat en raison de la diffusion du faisceau, qui peut être minimisée mais pas éliminée.

Figure 2: Comparaison des volumes de détection, AES vs EDS conventionnel

La figure 3 montre quelques exemples de spectres Auger collectés à partir de petits défauts de différentes tailles. Une excellente sensibilité, attestée par la forte intensité du signal, est maintenue jusqu'à une taille de défaut de seulement 20 nm, avec une perte de signal inférieure à cette taille.

Figure 3: Images SEM et données Auger recueillies sur des défauts de différentes tailles de 50 nm à 16 nm. Les spectres ont été acquis avant et après la pulvérisation.

Téléchargez cette ressource pour en savoir plus!

Pour activer certaines fonctionnalités et améliorer votre expérience avec nous, ce site stocke des cookies sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez cliquer sur Continuer pour donner votre autorisation et supprimer définitivement ce message.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.

Full Wafer Particle Analysis of sub-50nm Defects by Auger Electron Spectroscopy

APPLICATION NOTE

By Juergen Scherer, Ph.D.

In the competitive semiconductor marketplace, rapid development of new semiconductor designs and shrinking design rules drive the need for continuous yield enhancement. As design rules shrink, the critical defect size becomes smaller and the identification of defects becomes more challenging. Correct compositional identification of wafer defects has become vital for optimizing tool performance and can have significant financial impact.

Defects are usually first discovered in an optical detect mapping tool, which typically provides location and sizing information for the defects (Fig. 1a). A map is generated that shows the location of the defects on the wafer (Fig. 1b). Individual defects are then located using the coordinates provided by the particle scanner and an SEM image of the defect is obtained (Fig. 1c). Finally, a compositional analysis is performed (Fig. 1d).

Figure 1: Particle analysis workflow: (a) Particle Scanner, (b) Defect Map (c) SEM image (d) Spectrum

Historically, defects have been analyzed by Energy Dispersive X-Ray Spectroscopy (EDS); however, only a small fraction of the X-rays collected in a standard EDS analysis originate from the defect due to the large sampling volume of the technique. This situation becomes increasingly worse as defects become smaller, which often can lead to inconclusive results. This problem can be mitigated to some extent by using low accelerating voltages and windowless detectors but still leaves only the less reliable low energy spectral lines for analysis.

In contrast, the high surface sensitivity and small analysis volume of Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES or Auger) makes Auger the ideal technique for the analysis of sub-50nm defects. Since the sampling depth is independent of acceleration voltage, high beam energies can be used to excite all available transitions in the spectrum. The Auger signal is collected mainly from the surface of the defect (Fig. 2) and as a result, the signal contribution from the defect stays nearly constant with shrinking defect size. Auger spectra do also contain some contribution from the substrate due to beam scattering, which can be minimized but not eliminated.

Figure 2: Comparison of detection volumes, AES vs. conventional EDS

Figure 3 shows some examples of Auger spectra collected from small defects of various sizes. Excellent sensitivity, as documented by the strong signal intensity, is maintained down to a defect size of only 20nm, with some signal drop-off below this size.

Figure 3: SEM images and Auger data collected on defects of various sizes from 50nm down to 16nm. Spectra were acquired before and after sputtering.

The high surface sensitivity of the technique can be a useful tool for identifying contaminants on the surface of the defects that might be related to their root cause. In combination with ion sputtering, the composition of the defects can also be analyzed as a function of depth to determine: the thickness of the surface oxide; whether contaminants are really only present on the surface; or whether the defect is buried or has an outer layer that is different from the bulk. In the examples in Fig. 3, spectra were acquired as received and after sputter cleaning. C and O detected on the surface of the defects were mostly related to environmental contamination and surface oxidation. Sputtering exposed the particles actual composition: Cu, Al, Cu, AlOx, respectively.

Compositional analysis by Auger can be performed on bare, coated or patterned wafers with a wafer diameter of up to 300mm. Photomasks can be analyzed as well, as long as a conductive layer is present on the surface of the reticle. EAG’s full wafer Auger tools are compatible with defect coordinates provided by industry standard optical inspection tools and can accept a variety of file formats. Analysis of defects on wafers can provide valuable compositional information that can lead to enhanced yields for semiconductor production.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.