硅晶圆光伏–应用讨论

应用笔记

硅晶圆太阳能电池一直是其中的支柱 光伏产业,提供全球约90%的PV。 使用相当简单的技术,十几岁中期的电池效率已经普及并且很普遍,并且在二十几岁时使用更复杂的技术在一些领先的公司。 随着PV Si原料短缺的结束以及薄膜PV的竞争变得更加可行,Si太阳能电池技术面临的挑战是提高效率并降低成本以实现电网平价定价。

上面的常见Si太阳能电池结构示意图说明了表面分析可以提供帮助的一些方法。 请注意,效率在20%范围内的单元结构具有关键差异。

上面的常见Si太阳能电池结构示意图说明了表面分析可以提供帮助的一些方法。 请注意,效率在20%范围内的单元结构具有关键差异。

在原理图的左侧中间,我们看到一块180微米厚或更薄的Si太阳能晶圆。 该衬底在低10中掺杂硼16原子/ cm3 如果没有补偿则调整范围,如果有补偿则调整到更高级别。 如果Si原料是升级的冶金级Si并且制造Si晶片的过程是直接凝固设计,则基板中将存在高水平的氮,碳和氧,并且很可能是高水平的金属。

晶片的顶侧(接收光的一侧)具有纹理。 实际的纹理结构变化,特别是对于多晶衬底,但对于单晶衬底也是如此。 将磷添加到纹理化表面,并且沉积氮化硅作为抗反射涂层(ARC)。 金属触点添加到正面和背面。 热处理用于将磷扩散到掺硼衬底中,在正面和背面形成欧姆接触,并且使金属杂质远离复合中心。 原则上,磷共形地扩散到纹理化的硅表面中,并且来自SiN的氢扩散到基板中以钝化缺陷。 优化所有这些影响的热过程是主要的工程挑战之一。

在原理图的右侧,我们看到可以支持下部金属触点的失效分析 XPS, FTIR 和XPS。 对于硅晶片,可以通过确定掺杂误差 SIMS。 [0],[C]和[N]的总体浓度可通过SIMS测量; FTIR 不提供总浓度。 可以通过分析批量缺陷 STEM/EDS和散装金属调查可以通过 GDMS.

对于硅晶片的上层,可以通过下式确定纹理化Si的顶部的P浓度 FE-奥格可以通过截面SCM(扫描电容显微镜)确定p / n结深度。 后者正在EAG开发。 纹理本身在某些情况下可能非常复杂和出乎意料,可以通过轮廓测定法或横截面SEM来表征,以获得更精细的空间分辨率。 可以通过SIMS或STEM / EDS分析金属的吸气。

可以通过FTIR分析ARC的H. 如果在ARC和纹理Si之间存在氧化物层,则横截面SEM可以测量厚度,并且横截面STEM /EELS 可以验证图层中是否存在O. 如果ARC层沉积在平坦的Si样品上(未纹理化), 苏格兰皇家银行 和HFS可以提供​​化学计量。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Silicon Wafer PV – Application Discussion

APPLICATION NOTE

Silicon wafer solar cells have been the mainstay of the PV industry, supplying about 90% of the PV worldwide. Cell efficiencies in the mid teens have been widespread and common, using fairly simple technology, and in the low twenties using more complex technologies at a few leading companies. As the PV Si feedstock shortage comes to an end and competition from thin film PV becomes more viable on a large scale, the Si solar cell technology challenge is to increase efficiency and reduce costs in order to achieve grid parity pricing.

The schematic of a common Si solar cell structure above illustrates some of the ways that surface analysis can help. Note that cell structures with efficiencies in the 20% range have key differences.
The schematic of a common Si solar cell structure above illustrates some of the ways that surface analysis can help. Note that cell structures with efficiencies in the 20% range have key differences.

On the left middle side of the schematic we see a Si solar wafer that is 180 microns thick, or thinner. This substrate is doped with boron in the low 1016atoms/cm3 range if there is no compensation, and at higher levels if there is compensation. If the Si feedstock is upgraded metallurgical-grade Si and the process to make the Si wafer is a direct solidification design, there will be high levels of nitrogen, carbon and oxygen in the substrate, and most likely high levels of metals.

The top side of the wafer (the side which receives the light) is textured. The actual texturing structure varies, especially for multi-crystalline substrates, but also for single crystal substrates. Phosphorus is added to the textured surface, and a silicon nitride is deposited as an anti-reflective coating (ARC). Metal contacts are added to the front side and the backside. Thermal processing is used to diffuse the phosphorus into the boron-doped substrate, form the ohmic contacts on the front and back, and getter metal impurities away from being recombination centers. In principle the phosphorus diffuses conformally into the textured silicon surface, and hydrogen from the SiN diffuses into the substrate to passivate defects. Optimization of the thermal process for all these effects is one of the main engineering challenges.

On the right side of the schematic we see that failure analysis of the lower metal contact can be supported by XPS, FTIR and XPS. For the silicon wafer, doping errors can be determined by SIMS. Bulk total concentrations of [O], [C], and [N] can be measured by SIMS; FTIR does not provide total concentrations. Bulk defects can be analyzed by STEM/EDS, and bulk metal surveys can be done by GDMS.

For the upper layer of the silicon wafer, P concentrations at the top of the textured Si can be determined by FE-Auger, the p/n junction depth may be determined by cross section SCM (Scanning Capacitance Microscopy). The latter is under development at EAG. The texture itself, which in some cases can be quite complex and unexpected, can be characterized by profilometry or cross section SEM for finer spatial resolution. Gettering of metals can be analyzed by SIMS or STEM/EDS.

The ARC can be analyzed for H by FTIR. If there is an oxide layer between the ARC and textured Si, cross section SEM may be able to measure the thickness, and cross section STEM/EELS can verify the presence of O in the layer. If the ARC layer is deposited on a flat Si sample (not textured), RBS and HFS can provide stoichiometry.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.