使用冷阶段TOF-SIMS和XPS对抗菌涂层缝合线进行表面表征

应用笔记

吉姆·吉布森(Jim Gibson)和萨莎(Sasha Rodnyansky)

已经开发了抗菌涂层缝合线,以减少手术部位感染的发生。 三氯生已被用于基于聚己内酯的缝合线的涂层中。 了解缝线涂层的表面对于失效分析和质量控制很重要。 三氯生本身的分析很困难,因为它在用于对表面最高几埃取样的仪器的超高压真空系统中具有挥发性,例如飞行时间二次离子质谱法(TOF-SIMS)和X射线光电子能谱(XPS)。

对于在室温下不是固体或在真空系统中易挥发的成分(例如缝线)的样品,冷阶段分析已被证明是有效的。 样品在真空系统外冷却至接近液氮温度,然后抽至UHV压力进行分析。 EAG实验室的TOF-SIMS和XPS提供了冷库选项。

图1:使用冷台的三氯生涂层缝合线的TOF-SIMS图像。

单根缝合线的负离子TOF-SIMS图像如图1所示。该分析是在-80°C的低温条件下进行的。 图像显示了三氯生的分布-既是分子离子(C12H6Cl3O2),又是从母体分子碎片化的Cl。 分子离子对三氯生最特异。 所发现的抗生素主要位于缝合线的上部。 灯丝的下部有更多来自基础聚己内酯材料的信号。 还检测到与表面润滑剂有关的物种:有机硅和硬脂酸酯。
在室温下不进行冷期(室温下)的类似缝合线的TOF-SIMS分析显示,三氯生信号显着降低(图2),而多聚己内酯的信号更高。 三氯生在大约10B Torr时已丢失到仪器的真空系统中。

图2:三氯生包被的缝合线无冷期的TOF-SIMS图像。

在缝线的冷期XPS分析中,检测到三氯生的Cl。 将光谱与没有三氯生涂层的缝合线进行比较。 虽然水平较低,但显然存在Cl 2p双峰态-在高分辨率光谱中得到最好的说明。 XPS提供了对三氯生的半定量测量,而TOF-SIMS只是相对定量的,但在化学上更具特异性。 通常将这些技术结合起来以更全面地了解样品表面的化学性质。

图3。 XPS在寒冷阶段的帮助下从缝合线上的涂层中检测到三氯生。 将光谱与未涂覆的缝合线进行比较。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Surface Characterization of Antibacterial Coated Sutures using Cold Stage TOF-SIMS and XPS

APPLICATION NOTE

By Jim Gibson and Sasha Rodnyansky

Antibacterial coated sutures have been developed to reduce the occurrence of surgical site infections. Triclosan has been used in coatings on poliglecaprone based sutures. Understanding the surfaces of suture coatings is important for failure analysis and quality control. Analysis of the triclosan itself is difficult because of its volatility in the UHV vacuum systems used for instruments sampling the top few angstroms of a surface, such as Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS) and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS).

Cold stage analysis has been shown to be effective for samples that are not solids at room temperature or that have components that are volatile in a vacuum system – such as the sutures. Samples are cooled to near liquid nitrogen temperatures outside the vacuum system and then pumped down to UHV pressures for analysis. Cold stage options are available for TOF-SIMS and XPS at EAG Laboratories.

Fig. 1: TOF-SIMS images of a triclosan coated suture using cold stage.

Negative ion TOF-SIMS images of a single suture filament are displayed in Figure 1. This analysis was done using a cold stage at -80 °C. The images show the distribution of triclosan – both as the molecular ion (C12H6Cl3O2) and as Cl fragmented from the parent molecule. The molecular ion is the most specific for triclosan. The antibiotic is found predominantly on the upper part of the suture filament as oriented. The lower part of the filament has more signal from the base poliglecaprone material. Species related to surface lubricants were also detected: silicone and stearate. TOF-SIMS analysis of a similar suture at room temperature without cold stage (at room temperature) shows dramatic reduction in the triclosan signal (Figure 2) and a higher signal from poliglecaprone. The triclosan has been lost to the vacuum system of the instrument at approximately 10B Torr.

Fig. 2: TOF-SIMS images of a triclosan coated suture without cold stage.

In the cold stage XPS analysis of the suture, Cl from the triclosan was detected. The spectra were compared to a suture having no triclosan coating. While the levels are low, the Cl 2p doublet is clearly present – best illustrated in the high resolution spectra. XPS provides a semi-quantitative measurement of the triclosan while TOF-SIMS is only relatively quantitative but is more chemically specific. These techniques are often combined for a fuller understanding of the chemistry of a sample surface.

Figure 3. XPS detected triclosan from the coating on the suture with the help of the cold stage. The spectrum is compared to an uncoated suture.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.