飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS)服务

技术说明

EAG实验室在世界各地设有数种TOF-SIMS仪器。 其中一些仪器具有特殊功能,例如大型样品台或用于冷却真空中半挥发性物质的样品冷却。 我们的TOF-SIMS经验是众多TOF-SIMS科学家无法比拟的,他们在各种行业和应用领域拥有超过10年的实用TOF-SIMS经验。 从历史上看,EAG的加利福尼亚实验室(以前称为Charles Evans&Associates)直接参与了TOF-SIMS仪器的早期商业化,为EAG提供了无与伦比的实际分析经验。

典型数据

飞氟氢化合物薄膜的飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS)数据显示有机硅污染。

碳氟化合物膜显示有机硅污染。

飞行时间二次离子质谱,清洁氟碳膜的TOF-SIMS数据,不含有机硅。

清洁氟碳膜,不含有机硅。

飞行时间二次离子质谱,TOF-SIMS,清洁与污染的晶圆

与干净的晶片相比,污染的Si晶片上的铁(Fe)的高质量分辨率光谱。

飞行时间二次离子质谱,TOF-SIMS平板显示器上残留物的离子图像

原则

飞行时间二次离子质谱,或 TOF-SIMS通过在所关注的区域上扫描聚焦的初级离子的脉冲束来工作,导致二次离子的发射,这是存在于样品的顶部几个单层中的材料的特征。 通过精确测量检测到的离子的质量,可以识别它们并将其与存在于其上的化学物质相关联 样品表面。 获得的数据可以是质谱的形式,或特定物种的离子图像。 如果该技术与离子溅射(使用相同的初级离子枪或使用额外的Cs,O或Ar簇离子束)一起完成,也可以获得深度分布。

常见的应用程序

其卓越的表面灵敏度,分析有机材料和其他绝缘体的能力,出色的检测限以及提供元素和分子信息的能力使TOF-SIMS成为解决以下类型应用的理想技术:

  • 表面表征 有机和元素材料
  • 绘制表面物种的横向分布
  • 污染物识别 (低至元素或分子种类的ppm范围)
  • 晶片表面金属的定量分析
  • 故障分析,例如:粘合,粘合垫,涂层
  • 评估清洁过程(QA / QC)
  • 识别污渍,变色和霾
  • 在处理之前和之后检查表面以识别差异
  • 比较在不同环境中处理或存储的样品以确定表面变化

优势

  • 表面敏感; 最少的单层膜
  • 检测限在ppm范围内
  • 调查分析
  • 元素和分子信息
  • 可以分析绝缘子和导体
  • 在成像模式下可能的亚μm空间分辨率
  • 在某些应用中,主要元素组成可能

限制

  • 没有大量校准,绝对定量是困难的
  • 可能过于表面敏感,因此仔细的样品处理/包装很重要
  • 样品必须与真空兼容
  • 数据集可能很复杂

技术比较

其他具有相似深度分析或应用的表面分析工具包括X射线光电子能谱(XPS),俄歇电子能谱(AES)和傅里叶变换红外光谱(FTIR)。 XPS提供通常不使用TOF-SIMS直接获得的定量浓度和化学键合信息。 AES可以为元素物种提供更好的空间分辨率图像,但灵敏度较差。 FTIR可提供互补的有机信息,并具有更大的信息深度和商业图谱光谱。 这可能使FTIR成为识别宏观材料量的更好选择,其中极端表面信息可能不是主要关注点。

商品描述

飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS),也称为静态SIMS,是一种广泛用于表征表面和表面污染物的技术。 它与之密切相关 动态SIMS,使用恒定的初级离子束在几分钟内将溅射坑蚀刻成样品。 相比之下,TOF-SIMS使用脉冲离子束,并且在分析的时间尺度上不会显着地溅射蚀刻或损坏样品表面。 这种缺乏损伤使其成为分析表面的理想技术,因为元素(元素周期表中的大多数元素)和分子种类的存在,采样深度非常浅(1-2nm)。 结合飞行时间质谱仪,该技术提供了出色的测量功能,灵敏度在百万分之一(ppm)范围内。 TOF-SIMS仪器中使用的主要离子束(通常为 69嘎或 197Au)可以聚焦到亚μm尺寸,这意味着该技术可用于分析1μm至500μm范围内的特征。 可以成功分析导电和绝缘样品。

飞行时间二次离子质谱,TOF-SIMS图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Time-Of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE

EAG Laboratories has several TOF-SIMS instruments located throughout the world. Some of these instruments contain special capabilities such as large sample stages or sample cooling for the analysis of semi-volatile materials in vacuum. Our TOF-SIMS experience is unsurpassed with many of our TOF-SIMS scientists having more than 10 years of practical TOF-SIMS experience across a range of industries and applications. Historically, the California lab of EAG (formerly known as Charles Evans & Associates) was directly involved in the early commercialization of TOF-SIMS instruments giving EAG unmatched practical analytical experience.

TYPICAL DATA

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS) data of Fluorocarbon film showing Silicone contamination.

Fluorocarbon film showing Silicone contamination.

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, TOF-SIMS data of Clean Fluorocarbon film, with no Silicone present.

Clean Fluorocarbon film, with no Silicone present.

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, TOF-SIMS, clean versus contaminated wafer

High mass resolution spectra of iron (Fe) on a contaminated Si wafer compared to a clean wafer.

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, TOF-SIMS ion images of residue on a flat panel display

PRINCIPLES

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, or TOF-SIMS, works by rastering a pulsed beam of focused primary ions across the area of interest, resulting in the emission of secondary ions which are characteristic of the materials present in the top several monolayers of the sample. By accurately measuring the masses of the detected ions they can be identified and related to the chemical species present on the sample surface. The data obtained can be in the form of mass spectra, or ion images of specific species. Depth profiles can also be obtained if the technique is done in conjunction with ion sputtering (with either the same primary ion gun or using an additional Cs, O or Ar cluster ion beam).

COMMON APPLICATIONS

Its excellent surface sensitivity, ability to analyze organic materials and other insulators, excellent detection limits, and ability to provide elemental and molecular information makes TOF-SIMS an ideal technique for addressing the following types of applications:

  • Surface characterization of organic and elemental materials
  • Mapping the lateral distribution of surface species
  • Contaminant identification (down to the ppm range for elemental or molecular species)
  • Quantitative analysis of surface metals on wafers
  • Failure analysis, eg: adhesion, bond pads, coatings
  • Evaluation of cleaning processes (QA/QC)
  • Identification of stains, discolorations, and hazes
  • Examining surfaces before and after processing to identify differences
  • Comparison of samples processed or stored in different environments to determine surface changes

STRENGTHS

  • Surface sensitive; top few monolayers
  • Detection limits in the ppm range
  • Survey analysis
  • Elemental and molecular information
  • Can analyze insulators and conductors
  • Sub-µm spatial resolution possible in imaging mode
  • Major element composition possible, in some applications

LIMITATIONS

  • Absolute quantitation is difficult without extensive calibration
  • Can be too surface sensitive so careful sample handling/packaging is important
  • Samples must be vacuum compatible
  • Datasets can be complex

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Other surface analysis tools with similar depths of analysis or applications include X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) and Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FTIR). XPS provides quantitative concentrations and chemical bonding information that is not normally obtained directly using TOF-SIMS. AES can provide better spatial resolution images for elemental species, but with poorer sensitivity. FTIR can provide complementary organic information and has a greater information depth and access to commercial library spectra. This may make FTIR a better choice for identification of macroscopic amounts of material, where extreme surface information may not be of prime interest.

DESCRIPTION

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS), also known as static SIMS, is a technique that is widely used to characterize surfaces and surface contaminants. It is closely related to dynamic SIMS, which uses a constant beam of primary ions to etch a sputter crater into a sample over a period of minutes. In contrast, TOF-SIMS uses a pulsed ion beam and does not significantly sputter etch or damage the sample surface on the timescale of the analysis. This lack of damage makes it an ideal technique for the analysis of surfaces for the presence of both elemental (most elements in the periodic table) and molecular species, with a very shallow sampling depth (1-2nm). In combination with a time of flight mass spectrometer, the technique provides excellent survey capabilities with sensitivity in the part per million (ppm) range. The primary ion beam used in TOF-SIMS instruments (typically 69Ga or 197Au) can be focused to sub-µm dimensions, meaning the technique can be used to analyze features in the 1µm to 500µm range. Both conducting and insulating samples can be analyzed successfully.

Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry, TOF-SIMS icon

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.