表征催化剂以提高研发效率

白皮书

引言

催化剂对于制造从燃料和化学品到塑料和药品的许多产品至关重要。 需要催化剂来促进产生所需产物所需的化学反应。 催化领域正在不断取得进展,催化剂如何发挥作用以最佳地优化这些转化。

有几种技术可以提供有关多相催化的大量信息,从而可以详细表征这些潜在的复杂材料。 这些技术可以帮助参与研发的研究人员和科学家更好地优化其流程,并以最有效,最经济,对环境负责的方式进行产品开发。 一些更常用的技术 特征 这些材料包括:

扫描传输电子显微镜(STEM)和传输电子显微镜(TEM)

STEM和TEM是相关技术,可以提供特征,层和粒子的超高分辨率图像。 STEM-EDS(能量色散X射线光谱仪)还能够以几nm的尺度进行元素分析,这对于确定单个金属催化剂颗粒的元素成分是理想的。

在STEM和TEM中,电子束都入射到超薄样品上,并且检测到透射的电子。 该技术可以检测到许多信号,包括:未散射的电子,衍射的电子,非相干散射的电子,x射线以及最后的电子能量损失。 所有这些信号都可以提供有价值的信息,包括元素识别/分布; 相位识别和特征尺寸。 这些技术的图像分辨率可以小于0.2 nm。 EAG具有广泛的制备能力,包括低能FIB方法和机械方法,可研究原本难以制备的材料。 图1显示了直径为7 nm的CdSe / ZnS核/壳纳米颗粒。 图2显示了覆盖硅的金纳米颗粒的EDS图。

图1 CdSe / ZnS纳米粒子的TEM图像

图1 CdSe / ZnS纳米粒子的TEM图像

图2 Au(红色)/ Si(绿色)元素图

图2 Au(红色)/ Si(绿色)元素图

X射线光电子能谱(XPS)

X射线光电子能谱(XPS)也称为化学分析电子能谱(ESCA),可以对表面的顶部〜10nm进行定量化学分析。 XPS可以轻松表征> 50µm区域的绝缘和导电样品。 XPS能够在样品上提供“化学状态”信息。 图3显示了含氟材料上两个位置的碳的化学状态识别。 在一个区域中,仅观察到碳-氧官能度。 在第二区域中,检测到碳氟化学。 几乎所有元素都可以获得化学状态信息,包括它们是以金属还是金属氧化物的形式存在。 XPS是研究催化剂老化,回收和中毒的宝贵工具,因为它能够对绝缘子进行定量,化学状态识别和分析。

图3碳化学的高分辨率XPS光谱

图3 碳化学的高分辨率XPS光谱

X射线衍射(XRD)

X射线衍射(XRD)利用X射线束提供广泛的晶体学信息。 通过XRD常规获得关于结晶度,相,微晶尺寸,应变和相量化的数据。 XRD是一种广泛使用的催化剂表征技术,用于研究活性催化剂材料老化后微晶尺寸,应变和相的变化。 图4(a)显示了如何使用XRD数据的不同组分来测量样品的各种属性。 图4(b)显示了XRD测定微晶尺寸变化的灵敏度。

图4 XRD数据可以提供以下信息:相,应力,Cystallite尺寸,应变和纹理

图4 XRD数据可以提供以下信息:相,应力,Cystallite尺寸,应变和纹理

WAVELENGTH分散X射线荧光(WD-XRF)

波长色散X射线荧光(WD-XRF)可以对样品中存在的元素进行定量测量,具有极高的准确度。 WD-XRF是一种高分辨率XRF技术,可提供出色的检测限,并且不会受到更常见的能量分散技术(ED-XRF)中相同的潜在干扰的影响。 WD-XRF对许多元素的检测限可以比ED-XRF(低至100ppm范围)更高达10x。 图5显示了来自多组分氧化物的计算光谱,证明了WD-XRF的出色光谱分辨率。

图5 WD-XRF和标准ED-XRF的计算光谱。 WD-XRF的光谱分辨率大大提高了灵敏度和元件识别能力。

图5 来自WD-XRF和标准ED-XRF的计算光谱。 WD-XRF的光谱分辨率大大提高了灵敏度和元件识别能力。

辉光放电质谱(GDMS)

辉光放电质谱(GDMS)提供散装材料和粉末(包括非导电材料)的元素信息,样品制备最少,浓度范围从100%到痕量水平。 许多元素的检测限可以是5ppb或更小。

这种技术是对更常见的一种很好的补充 ICP 技术,但有更好的检测限和没有解决方案样品制备工件可能会发生由于溶解过程所必需的 ICP。 与GDMS一起,我们也提供 IGA (仪器气体分析)用于量化碳,氢氮,氧和硫。

表1 IGA来自铝样品

表1 IGA由铝样品产生

来自Ta样品的表2 GDMS; 平均而言,量化限制为5ppb

表2 来自Ta样本的GDMS; 平均而言,量化限制为5ppb

利用研发中的独立实验室分析

使用经验丰富的独立分析实验室来表征您的材料可以加快开发周期,并缩短商业产品的上市时间。 通过使用各种技术对催化剂进行详细的表征是研发中的重要一步。 EAG Laboratories是一家全球性的科学服务公司,其基础是为增长迅速的高科技行业提供卓越和热情的客户服务的悠久传统。

EAG实验室拥有35年的技术和工业公司支持材料开发的历史。 EAG实验室还通过使用各种分析技术分析样品,帮助进行产品开发。 我们的许多员工拥有材料科学,地质学,物理学,化学和生物学等学科的高级学位,为我们的客户提供广泛的专业知识。 除了我们的专业人员,我们还有超过$ 75M投资于用于分析的资本设备和工具。 ISO认证(9001和17025),安全的知识产权保护和出色的周转时间为我们的客户提供了卓越的价值。

EAG实验室提供了催化和纳米粒子研发界感兴趣的多种技术。 除了本文讨论的分析技术外,我们还提供ICP-MS,ICP-OES, DSC, TGA,TGA-MS和许多其他测量,以帮助我们的客户实现他们的目标。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Characterizing Catalysts to Enhance R&D Efficiency

WHITE PAPER

INTRODUCTION

Catalysts are essential to the manufacture of many products ranging from fuels and chemicals, to plastics and pharmaceuticals. Catalysts are required to facilitate the chemical reactions needed to create the desired products. Continuous advances are being made in catalysis and how catalysts work to best optimize these transformations.

There are several techniques that can provide a wealth of information about heterogeneous catalysis, allowing for detailed characterization of these potentially complicated materials. These techniques can aid researchers and scientists involved in R&D to better optimize their processes and carry out product development in the most efficient, economical, and environmentally responsible manner. Some of the more common techniques used for characterizing these materials include:

SCANNING TRANSMISSION ELECTRON MICROSCOPY (STEM) AND TRANSMISSION ELECTRON MICROSCOPY (TEM)

STEM and TEM are related techniques that can provide ultrahigh resolution images of features, layers and particles. STEM-EDS (Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy) is also capable of performing elemental analysis on the scale of a few nm, which is ideal for determining the elemental constituents of individual metal catalyst particles.

In both STEM and TEM an electron beam is incident on an ultrathin sample and the transmitted electrons are detected. Many signals can be detected by the technique including: unscattered electrons, diffracted electrons, incoherently scattered electrons, x-rays and finally electron energy loss. All of these signals can provide valuable information including elemental identification/distribution; phase identification and feature size. These techniques can have an image resolution of <0.2 nm. EAG has extensive preparation capabilities including low energy FIB methods and mechanical methods enabling the investigation of materials that are otherwise hard to prepare. Figure 1 shows CdSe/ZnS core/shell nanoparticles with a diameter of 7 nm. Figure 2 shows an EDS map of silicon covered gold nanoparticles.

Figure 1 TEM image of CdSe/ZnS nanoparticles
Figure 1 TEM image of CdSe/ZnS nanoparticles

Figure 2 Au (red)/Si (green) elemental map
Figure 2 Au (red)/Si (green) elemental map

X-RAY PHOTOELECTRON SPECTROSCOPY (XPS)

X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS) also known as Electron Spectroscopy for Chemical Analysis (ESCA) can provide quantitative chemical analysis of the top ~10nm of a surface. XPS can easily characterize insulating and conductive samples from areas >50µm. XPS is capable of providing “chemical state” information on a sample. Figure 3 shows the chemical state identification of carbon in two locations on a fluorine-containing material. In one area, only carbon-oxygen functionality is observed; in the second area carbon-fluorine chemistry is detected. Chemical State information can be obtained for almost all elements, including whether they are present as a metal or metal oxide. XPS is a valuable tool for the investigation of catalyst aging, recovery and poisoning because it is capable of quantification, chemical state identification and analysis of insulators.

Figure 3 High resolution XPS spectra of carbon chemistries
Figure 3 High resolution XPS spectra of carbon chemistries

X-RAY DIFFRACTION (XRD)

X-ray Diffraction (XRD) utilizes an x-ray beam to provide a wide range of crystallographic information. Data regarding crystallinity, phase, crystallite size, strain and phase quantification are routinely obtained by XRD. XRD is a widely used characterization technique for catalysts, to study changes in crystallite size, strain and phase after aging of active catalyst material. Figure 4(a) shows how the different components of XRD data can be used to measure various properties of the sample. Figure 4(b) shows the sensitivity of XRD to determine changes in crystallite size.

Figure 4 XRD data can provide information regarding: Phase, Stress, Cystallite size, strain and texture
Figure 4 XRD data can provide information regarding: Phase, Stress, Cystallite size, strain and texture

WAVELENGTH DISPERSIVE X-RAY FLUORESCENCE (WD-XRF)

Wavelength Dispersive X-ray Fluorescence (WD-XRF) provides quantitative measurements of the elements present in a sample, with excellent accuracy. WD-XRF is a high resolution XRF technique that provides excellent detection limits and does not suffer from the same potential interferences found in the more common Energy Dispersive technique (ED-XRF). The detection limit for many elements by WD-XRF can be up to 100x better than ED-XRF (down to the 10ppm range). Figure 5 shows calculated spectra from a multi component oxide, demonstrating the excellent spectral resolution of the WD-XRF.

Figure 5 Calculated spectra from WD-XRF and standard ED-XRF. The spectral resolution of WD-XRF greatly improves sensitivity and element identification capability.
Figure 5 Calculated spectra from WD-XRF and standard ED-XRF. The spectral resolution of WD-XRF greatly improves sensitivity and element identification capability.

GLOW DISCHARGE MASS SPECTROMETRY (GDMS)

Glow Discharge Mass Spectrometry (GDMS) provides elemental information on bulk materials and powders, including non-conductive materials, with minimum sample preparation, over a broad concentration range, from 100% down to trace levels. The limit of detection for many elements can be 5ppb or less.

This technique is a great complement to the more common ICP techniques, but with better detection limits and no solution sample preparation artifacts that may occur due to the dissolution process necessary in ICP. In conjunction with GDMS we also provide IGA (Instrumental Gas Analysis) for the quantification of carbon, hydrogen nitrogen, oxygen and sulfur.

Table 1 IGA results from an Aluminum sample
Table 1 IGA results from an Aluminum sample

Table 2 GDMS from a Ta sample; On average, the limit of quantification is 5ppb
Table 2 GDMS from a Ta sample; On average, the limit of quantification is 5ppb

LEVERAGING INDEPENDENT LAB ANALYSIS IN R&D

Using an experienced independent analytical lab to characterize your materials can speed your development cycle and reduce the time to market for commercial products. Detailed characterization of catalysts through the use of various techniques is an important step in R&D. EAG Laboratories is a global scientific services company founded on a deep tradition of excellence and passionate customer service to high-growth, high-tech industries.

EAG Laboratories has a 35 year history of supporting materials development for technology and industrial companies. EAG Laboratories also helps with product development, by analyzing samples using a wide range of analytical techniques. Many of our staff have advanced degrees in subjects including materials science, geology, physics, chemistry, and biology, providing our customers with a wide range of expertise to draw on. In addition to our expert staff, we have over $75M invested in capital equipment and tools used for analysis. ISO Certification (9001 and 17025), and secure intellectual property protection and excellent turnaround times provide exceptional value to our customers.

EAG Laboratories offers a wide range of techniques that are of interest to the catalysis and nanoparticle R&D community. In addition to the analysis techniques discussed in this paper, we also provide ICP-MS, ICP-OES, DSC, TGA, TGA-MS and many other measurements to help our clients meet their goals.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.