治疗性蛋白质的LC-MS表征

白皮书

引言

开发用于治疗或诊断测试的蛋白质是大型,复杂的分子,需要专门的数据分析技术。 这些分析可提供蛋白质的基本序列,并可用于指示翻译后修饰(PTM),内部二硫键,整体蛋白质构象以及与其他分子的结合活性。 本文介绍的信息将集中于通常用于分析单克隆抗体(mAb)的四种分析技术。

 1.完整分析,包括糖型分化
2.肽图分析
3.内部二硫键
4.糖肽分析

图1. mAb样品的完整MS1光谱

完整分析

大多数蛋白质样品并非完全同源,蛋白质本身可能由多种蛋白形式组成。 对多个种群进行约150kD蛋白质的完整分析,需要高分辨率MS检测器和能够区分蛋白形式而没有伪影的软件包。

抗体蛋白通常具有多种糖基化形式,具有不同的种群。 Eurofins EAG Materials Science分析了具有多种糖型的单克隆抗体(mAb)样品的变性(非天然)确认,这些糖型是随连接聚糖的数量或类型而异的蛋白质变体。 使用高分辨率LC / MS系统Thermo Q-Exactive分析完整样品。 使用Protein Metrics的软件处理数据。 如图1所示,数据显示为复杂频谱。 这是由于大蛋白的多种电荷状态和多种糖型所致。 即使具有这种复杂性,高分辨率检测器也能够解析多种同位素,从而可以进行解卷积和鉴定糖型种群。 由于存在大尺寸,多种电荷状态和多种糖型,因此光谱数据非常复杂。 高分辨率质谱仪和先进的软件对于执行此类复杂分子样品的分析至关重要。

图2. mAb样品的高分辨率数据的放大视图

在图2中可以看到光谱的放大图。甚至在m / z 3000以上也显示了单个电荷状态的同位素分辨率,几乎具有基线分辨率。 这允许对存在的糖型进行阳性鉴定。

下载此资源以了解更多信息!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

LC-MS Characterization of Therapeutic Proteins

WHITE PAPER

INTRODUCTION

Proteins developed for therapeutic treatment or diagnostic testing are large, complex molecules that require specialized data analysis techniques. These analyses can provide a protein’s basic sequence and can be used to indicate post translational modifications (PTM’s), internal disulfide linkages, overall protein conformation, and binding activity to other molecules. The information presented in this paper will focus on four analytical techniques typically employed for the analysis of monoclonal antibodies (mAb’s).

 1.  Intact Analysis, including glycoform differentiation
2.  Peptide Mapping
3.  Internal Disulfide Linkages
4.  Glycopeptide Analysis

Figure 1. Full MS1 spectra of a mAb sample

INTACT ANALYSIS

Most protein samples are not completely homologous and the protein itself may consist of multiple proteoforms. Performing an intact analysis of an ~150kD protein, with multiple populations, requires a high-resolution MS detector and a software package capable of differentiating the proteoforms without artifacts.

Antibody proteins routinely have multiple glycosylated forms, of varying population. Eurofins EAG Materials Science analyzed a denatured (non-native) confirmation of a monoclonal antibody (mAb) sample with multiple glycoforms, which are protein variants that differ with respect to number or types of attached glycans. Intact samples were analyzed using a high-resolution LC/MS system, a Thermo Q-Exactive. The data was processed utilizing Byos® software from Protein Metrics. The data as seen in Figure 1, appears as a complex spectrum. This is due to the multiple charge states of a large protein and the multiple glycoforms. Even with this complexity, a high-resolution detector is able to resolve the multiple isotopes, allowing for the deconvolution and identification of the glycoform populations. Spectral data is highly complex due to the large size, multiple charge states and multiple glycoforms present. High resolution MS and advanced software are critical for performing analyses of complex molecular samples such as this.

Figure 2. Zoomed view of high-resolution data of a mAb sample

A zoomed view of the spectrum can be seen in Figure 2. Isotopic resolution of individual charge states is shown even above m/z 3000, with nearly baseline resolution. This allows for the positive identification of the glycoforms present.

Download this resource to learn more!

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.