使用二次离子质谱法优化pHEMT中的2-D电子密度

白皮书

Wei Ou,Temel Buyuklimanli和Charles Magee

引言

在异质结构FET(HFET)中,n-AlGaAs施主层和未掺杂的InGaAs层之间的异质结界面导致界面处的导带和价带的变化,这产生了尖锐的势阱,其中施主电子可以位于正向下栅极偏置条件。 该孔的深度由界面两侧的两种杂质材料的确切组成决定。 从AlGaAs层向InGaAs层注入电子导致电子与Si供体离子分离并被限制在界面附近的InGaAs中的薄层中。 这个薄的电子平面是高度可移动的,并形成二维电子气(2DEG)层,用于器件的源极和漏极之间的电流跨导。

通常,为了帮助将电子与供体离子分离(由于减少的散射而改善电子迁移率),种植者通常在Si供体原子之间掺入非常薄的AlGaAs或GaAs“间隔物”层(作为三角形掺杂尖峰存在于其中)。 AlGaAs)和InGaAs沟道区。 PHEMT种植者通常针对某些电子迁移率和电荷密度,这可以分别通过间隔层厚度和掺杂浓度来实现。

然而,必须小心,因为太大的间隔层厚度将减少能够从其供体原子穿过异质结构界面并进入InGaAs沟道的电子数量,从而降低2DEG中的电荷密度。 较薄的间隔层不能使电子与供体原子充分分离,并且电子从这些供体原子的散射增加将导致电子迁移率降低。 但是,会导致电荷密度增加。

同样,种植者必须小心生长Si deltadoping尖峰。 掺杂水平太低将导致2DEG层中的电子密度降低,而太高的掺杂水平将导致Si供体原子的电子散射增加,如上所述,这导致电子迁移率降低。 因此,种植者在制造这些结构时具有“平衡行为”。 见图1。

图1。 pHEMT种植者必须执行的“平衡法案”

图1。 pHEMT种植者必须执行的“平衡法案”

增加复杂性的是,达到目标间隔物厚度可能是困难的,因为通常用于制造pHEMT的方法可能难以控制。 因为间隔层(25-40Å)很薄,所以需要短暂的生长持续时间,而且,它们发生在快门和阀门的关键驱动之间,这些阀门暂停了矩阵元素的生长以及打开和关闭掺杂剂。 随后的通量衰减取决于细胞条件,例如几何形状,温度,暂停时间,载气流等,这些都难以表征。

最终,PCOR-SIMSSM 轮廓可以提供种植者/设计者关于在生长运行中实际实现的掺杂水平和间隔层厚度所需的信息。 这实际上有助于种植者在参考目标值时知道他的确切位置。

讨论

使用成功至关重要 SIMS 对于这个应用程序是它准确确定的能力:

  • III-V材料成分(用于能带优化)
  • 掺杂密度
  • 间隔层厚度

现代III-V设备中常用的第III组和第V组材料的大量组合给SIMS带来了严重的问题,无法满足这些要求。 需要大量标准来实现定量准确性,并且必须采用许多支持性技术来确认SIMS结果。 EAG在这一极具挑战性的材料分析领域的努力通过逐点校正的SIMS(PCOR-SIMS)得到满足SM).

PCOR-SIMSSM 通过考虑Al SiAs和InGaAs组分的Si SIMS灵敏度和溅射速率的变化,精确测量Si掺杂尖峰的面密度并精确确定层厚度。

图2。 AlGaAs / InGaAs pHEMT器件沟道区的常规PCOR-SIMSSM曲线。

图2。 常规PCOR-SIMSSM AlGaAs / InGaAs pHEMT器件的沟道区的分布。

图2演示了PCOR-SIMS的有用性SM 用于优化2DEG所在的pHEMT设备的通道区域。 该特定器件是双异质结构(DH)FET,其中导电沟道(在该实例中为InGaAs)在两侧由AlGaAs限制层界定,掺杂由两个Si平面掺杂层提供,一个在沟道的两侧。 限制的作用是增加通道中的有效载流子速度。 然后,复杂性是同时管理来自通道两侧的电荷转移。 事实上,每侧对电荷的有效贡献是间隔物和Si剂量的函数。 最终贡献率不一定与掺杂剂(Si)的标称原子浓度相同。 此外,该行为与通常使用的掺杂剂量范围不是线性的。 当使用非对称配置时,问题变得更加复杂; 即当垫片厚度不相同时。 分析的深度分辨率也揭示了间隔层,即使它们像35Å一样薄。 在每个点校正AlGaAs,InGaAs和GaAs之间溅射速率的差异。 这对于用于精确评估间隔层的pHEMT结构是必要的,其对应于Si掺杂层和InGaAs层的起点之间的AlGaAs层厚度(即In分布的半升)。 通过利用Si分布,可以在上AlGaAs层和下间隔层之间精确地分割范围从几十到几百埃的AlGaAs层。 其他分析技术可以识别总的AlGaAs层厚度,但SIMS在能够明确地将该层分成两半的方面是独特的。

图3。 间隔层厚度(通过PCOR-SIMSSM测量)与电子迁移率之间的关系。

图3。 间隔层厚度之间的关系(通过PCOR-SIMS测量)SM)和电子迁移率。

图3演示了PCOR-SIMS的功能SM 以足够的精度测量间隔层厚度,以建立间隔层厚度和电子迁移率之间的定量关系。 如引言中所述,移动性取决于间隔层厚度(以及其他因素)。 我们希望表明,其他结构变量不变,SIMS可以测量间隔层厚度的变化,这与测量的迁移率变化一致。 Si供体离子和电子之间的物理分离防止了不希望的库仑散射,导致有源层中的高e-速度(并因此导致更高的电子迁移率。来自这些样品中的两个的SIMS深度分布的实例示于图4中。

图4。 来自Spacer Layer研究的两个样品的活性区域的PCOR-SIMSSM曲线如图3所示。 两个结构的间隔层的测量厚度在图中示出。

图4。 PCOR-SIMSSM 来自Spacer Layer研究的两个样品的活性区域的图谱显示在图3中。 两个结构的间隔层的测量厚度在图中示出。

在图5中可以看出,pHEMT有源层(InGaAs)中的电子电荷密度量与Siδ掺杂层中的Si施主的面密度之间存在类似的关系。 在栅电极处施加正向偏压期间,可以从供体原子转移到(InGaAs)有源层中的电荷的电子量取决于Siδ掺杂层中存在的Si施主原子的量。

除了这些使用PCOR-SIMS的例子SM 用于工艺开发,PCOR-SIMSSM 也可用于pHEMT的失效分析。 图6显示了PCOR-SIMSSM 在“良好”和“差”pHEMT的活性区域中的分布。 对于这两种PHEMT结构,注意顶部Siδ掺杂层中峰值Si浓度的差异。 顶部Si尖峰朝向表面的表观扩散增加可能是由于生长温度太高或者不能完全切断掺杂剂源以进行上部三角形掺杂(但很可能两者都是)。 同样在图6中,注意Si掺杂尖峰远离InGaAs沟道区的扩散。 这减少了足够接近导带偏移(AlGaAs / InGaAs界面)的供体原子数,以允许足够数量的电子隧穿进入沟道区域,导致器件性能下降,因为它需要更多的原子Si来实现需要充电,但由于电子散射增加,这是不希望的。 更宽的Siδ分布也可能降低击穿电压。

图5。 在deltadoped尖峰中的总Si面密度(通过PCOR-SIMSSM测量)与薄间隔物(红色曲线)和厚间隔物(绿色曲线)的有源层电荷密度之间的关系。

图5。 在deltadoped尖峰中的总Si面密度之间的关系(通过PCOR-SIMS测量)SM)和薄间隔物(红色曲线)和厚间隔物(绿色曲线)的有源层电荷密度。

图6。 针对良好和不良HEMT器件的III族元素组成和Si掺杂尖峰的常规SIMS曲线。

图6。 针对良好和不良HEMT器件的III族元素组成和Si掺杂尖峰的常规SIMS曲线。

结论

总之,我们已经展示了PCOR-SIMSSM 可以由III-V高速晶体管结构的种植者使用,通过帮助优化结构特征的“平衡作用”权衡,所述结构特征决定了沟道区域中的电子迁移率和电子变化密度,或者影响器件性能。 尽管一些强大的技术可供种植者使用,但对通道区域附近的装置(即界面区域)的评估更好,并且最通过SIMS进行评估。 这使得种植者能够确切地确定通过其他测试手段引起观察的情况。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Optimizing 2-D Electron Density in pHEMTs Using Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry

WHITE PAPER

Wei Ou, Temel Buyuklimanli and Charles Magee

INTRODUCTION

In a heterostructure FET (HFET) a heterojunction interface between an n-AlGaAs donor layer and an undoped InGaAs layer leads to a change in the conduction and valence bands at the interface that creates a sharp potential well in which donor electrons can reside under a forward gate bias condition. The depth of this well is determined by the exact composition of the two hetero materials on either side of the interface. Injection of electrons from the AlGaAs layer into the InGaAs layer results in electrons being separated from the Si donor ions and confined in a thin layer in the InGaAs near the interface. This thin plane of electrons is highly mobile and forms a two dimensional electron gas (2DEG) layer for transconductance of current between the source and drain of the device.

Typically, to aid in separating the electrons from the donor ions (which improves electron mobility due to decreased scattering) the grower typically incorporates a very thin AlGaAs or GaAs “spacer” layer between the Si donor atoms (present as a delta doping spike in the AlGaAs) and the InGaAs channel region. PHEMT growers typically target certain electron mobility and charge density, which can be accomplished, respectively by spacer layer thickness and doping concentration.

One must be careful, however, because too great a spacer layer thickness will decrease the number of electrons able to tunnel from their donor atoms across the heterostructure interface and into the InGaAs channel thus reducing the charge density in the 2DEG. A thinner spacer layer will not sufficiently separate the electrons from the donor atoms and increased scattering of the electrons off these donor atoms will result in decreased electron mobility. However, an increase in charge density would result.

Likewise, the grower must be careful in growing the Si deltadoping spikes. Too low a doping level will result in decrease electron density in the 2DEG layer, while too high a doping level will result in increased electron scattering from the Si donor atoms which, as mentioned above, results in decreased electron mobility. So the grower has a “balancing act” to perform in fabricating these structures. See figure 1.

Figure 1. “Balancing Act” that the pHEMT grower must perform

Figure 1. “Balancing Act” that the pHEMT grower must perform

Adding to the complication is that reaching the targeted spacer thickness can be difficult because the methods typically used to fabricate pHEMTs can be difficult to control. Because the spacer layer (25 – 40 Å) is so thin, brief growth durations are required, and what is more, they occur between critical actuation of shutters and valves that are pausing the growth of the matrix elements as well as turning on and off the dopant. The subsequent flux decays are dependent on cell conditions such as geometry, temperature, pause times, carrier gas flow, etc which are all difficult to characterize.

Ultimately, the PCOR-SIMSSM profile can provide the information needed by the grower/designer regarding doping levels and spacer layer thicknesses that are actually achieved in a growth run. This factually helps the grower to know where he exactly stands in reference to the targeted values.

DISCUSSION

Crucial to the success at using SIMS for this application is its ability to determine accurately:

  • III-V material compositions (for energy band optimization)
  • Doping density
  • Spacer layer thickness

The vast number of combinations of Group III and Group V materials that are commonly used in modern III-V devices creates severe problems for the SIMS in achieving these requirements. Large numbers of standards needed to achieve quantitative accuracy, and many supportive techniques must be brought to bear to confirm the SIMS results. The efforts of the EAG for this very challenging area of materials analysis are met by Point-by- Point-Corrected SIMS (PCOR-SIMSSM).

PCOR-SIMSSM accurately measures the areal density of the Si doping spikes and accurately determines layer thicknesses by taking into account the change in Si SIMS sensitivity and sputtering rate with AlGaAs and InGaAs composition.

Figure 2. Routine PCOR-SIMSSM profile of the channel region of an AlGaAs/InGaAs pHEMT device.

Figure 2. Routine PCOR-SIMSSM profile of the channel region of an AlGaAs/InGaAs pHEMT device.

Figure 2 demonstrates the usefulness of PCOR-SIMSSM for optimizing the channel region of a pHEMT device in which the 2DEG resides. This particular device a double-heterostructure (DH) FET where the conducting channel (InGaAs in this example) is bounded on both sides by AlGaAs confinement layers with doping being supplied from two Si planar doping layers, one on either side of the channel. The effect of the confinement is to increase the effective carrier velocity in the channel. The complication is then to manage simultaneously the charge transfer from both sides of the channel. In fact, the effective contribution to the charge from each side is a function of the spacer and the Si dose. The ultimate contribution ratio is not necessarily the same as the nominal atomic concentration of dopant (Si). In addition, the behavior is not linear over the generally used range of doping doses. The matter gets further complicated when an asymmetric configuration is used; namely when the spacer thicknesses are not the same. The depth resolution of the analysis reveals the spacer layers, as well, even though they are as thin as 35Å. The differences in sputter rates between AlGaAs, InGaAs and GaAs are corrected at each point. This is necessary for pHEMT structures for accurate evaluation of the spacer layer, which corresponds to the AlGaAs layer thickness between the Si spiked layer and the start of the InGaAs layer (i.e. half rise in In profile). By utilizing the Si profiles, the AlGaAs layers ranging from a few tens to few hundreds of Angstroms can be accurately segmented between the upper AlGaAs layer and the lower spacer layer. Other analytical techniques may identify the total AlGaAs layer thickness, but SIMS is unique in being able to unambiguously divide this layer into its two halves.

Figure 3. Relationship between spacer layer thickness (as measured by PCOR-SIMSSM) and electron mobility.

Figure 3. Relationship between spacer layer thickness (as measured by PCOR-SIMSSM) and electron mobility.

Figure 3 demonstrates the ability of PCOR-SIMSSM to measure the spacer layer thickness with sufficient accuracy to establish the quantitative relationship between spacer layer thickness and electron mobility. As stated in the introduction, mobility depends on the spacer layer thickness (as well as other things). We wish to show that, other structure variables being unchanged, SIMS can measure a change in spacer layer thickness that would be consistent with a measured change in mobility. The physical separation between Si donor ion and electron prevents unwanted Coulombic scattering resulting in high e-velocities in the active layer (and thus higher electron mobility. Examples of SIMS depth profiles from two of these samples are shown in Fig. 4.

Figure 4. PCOR-SIMSSM profiles of the active region of two of the samples from the Spacer Layer study shown in Fig. 3. The measured thicknesses of the spacer layers of the two structures are shown in the figure.

Figure 4. PCOR-SIMSSM profiles of the active region of two of the samples from the Spacer Layer study shown in Fig. 3. The measured thicknesses of the spacer layers of the two structures are shown in the figure.

A similar relationship can been seen in figure 5 between the amount of electron charge density in the pHEMT active layer (InGaAs) and the areal density of Si donors in the Si delta-doped layer. During application of a forward bias at the gate electrode, the amount of electrons that can charge transfer from the donor atoms into the (InGaAs) active layer is dependent on the amount of Si donor atoms present in the Si delta-doped layer.

In addition to these examples of using PCOR-SIMSSM for process development, PCOR-SIMSSM can also be used for failure analysis of pHEMTs. Figure 6 shows PCOR-SIMSSM profiles in the active region of a “good” and a “poor” pHEMT. For these two PHEMT structures, note the difference in peak Si concentration in the top Si delta-doped layer. The increased apparent diffusion of the top Si spike towards the surface can be the result of either too high a growth temperature or imperfect switching off the dopant source for the upper delta doping (but most likely both). Also in Fig. 6, note the diffusion of the Si doping spike away from the InGaAs channel region. This reduces the number of donor atoms that reside close enough to the conduction band offset (AlGaAs/InGaAs interface) to allow a sufficient number of electrons to tunnel into the channel region resulting in degraded device performance as it will require more atomic Si to achieve the needed charge but this is undesirable because of increased electron scattering. It is also possible that a broader Si delta distribution could lower the breakdown voltage.

Figure 5. Relationship between total Si areal density in deltadoped spikes (as measured by PCOR-SIMSSM) and active layer charge density for a thin spacer (red curve) and for a thick spacer (green curve).

Figure 5. Relationship between total Si areal density in deltadoped spikes (as measured by PCOR-SIMSSM) and active layer charge density for a thin spacer (red curve) and for a thick spacer (green curve).

Fig. 6. Routine SIMS profiles of the Group III elemental composition and the Si doping spikes for good and bad HEMT devices.

Fig. 6. Routine SIMS profiles of the Group III elemental composition and the Si doping spikes for good and bad HEMT devices.

CONCLUSION

In conclusion, we have shown how PCOR-SIMSSM can be used by the grower of III-V high-speed transistor structures by helping to optimize the “balancing act” tradeoff of structural features that determine electron mobility and electron change density in the channel region, both or which affect device performance. Despite the accessibility of some powerful techniques to the grower, the assessment of the device in the vicinity of the channel region, namely the interfacial region, is better and most factually assessed by SIMS. This enables the grower to determine exactly what is happening to cause the observables by other testing means.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.