在签订定制合成项目之前您应该知道的十件事

白皮书

詹姆斯·施密特, EAG高级科学顾问

公司经常需要安排测试物质的合成,以支持研究和开发工作。

在进行综合合同之前,有许多重要的决定需要考虑。 对于收集信息和解决问题的“五个W”的改编 - 谁,什么,何时,何地和为什么 - 为决策提供了一个良好的框架:

谁。 你需要和谁谈谈你的综合项目? 这在很大程度上取决于您的具体需求和规模,范围从少量参考标准到支持生物分析项目,再到更大量的API以支持临床试验。 质量协议,生产系统和合同安排在这个范围内是完全不同的。

对于大型项目,您需要咨询大型合同制造组织(CMO)。

本白皮书为那些负责采购毫克到多克参考标准,内标,杂质或由定制合成供应商生产的放射性标记材料的人提供建议和指导。

什么。 你需要什么样的材料? 14C或 3H代谢研究? 12C作为参考标准? 13C, 2H,或 15N是内部标准吗?

什么时候。 为起始材料的采购,实际合成以及任何其他可交付成果(例如分析证书)留出足够的准备时间非常重要。 随着合成方案的复杂性增加,无论是化学还是步骤,所需的时间也是如此。 时机也将取决于监管方法:例如,CGMP综合将比非监管项目花费更长的时间。

哪里。 对于放射性材料,决定标签应该在分子上的位置尤为重要。 这有时可能需要设计新的合成途径。 取决于分子,多个位置的放射性标记 - 或多个同位素的战略用途 - 可以帮助定义代谢途径。

为什么。 这是五个W中的最后一个,但在继续进行自定义合成之前,这应该始终是您提出的第一个问题。 良好的学习设计应始终首先避免以后的并发症。 测试物质是用于人类还是临床前物种? 跟踪植物,动物和/或环境基质中降解所需的材料是什么? 这些问题的答案对监管要求和物质需求具有重要意义。

在本白皮书中,您将学习:

  • 为什么总是先考虑好的学习设计以避免以后的并发症。
  • 为什么必须有足够的准备时间来采购原材料,实际合成和任何其他可交付成果(例如分析证书)。
  • 为什么您的特定需求和规模会对质量协议,生产系统和合同安排产生重大影响。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Ten Things You Should Know Before Contracting a Custom Synthesis Project

WHITE PAPER

By James M. Schmidt, EAG Senior Scientific Advisor

Companies often need to arrange for the synthesis of test substances to support research and development efforts.

There are a number of important decisions to consider before proceeding with a contract for synthesis. An adaptation of the “Five W’s” for gathering information and problem solving—Who, What, When, Where, and Why—provides a good framework for decision-making:

Who. Who do you need to talk to about your synthesis project? That depends very much on your specific needs and scale, which can range from small quantities of a reference standard to support a bioanalytical project to much larger amounts of API to support a clinical trial. The quality agreements, production systems, and contracting arrangements are quite different across that range.

For large scale projects, you will want to consult with a large-scale Contract Manufacturing Organization (CMO).

This white paper provides advice and guidance to those with the responsibility of procuring the milligram to multi-gram amounts of reference standards, internal standards, impurities, or radiolabeled materials produced by custom synthesis vendors.

What. What kind of material do you need? 14C or 3H for a metabolism study? 12C for a reference standard? 13C, 2H, or 15N for an internal standard?

When. It’s important to allow sufficient lead time for the procurement of starting material, the actual synthesis, and any other deliverables (such as a Certificate of Analysis). As the complexity of a synthetic scheme increases, whether in chemistry or steps, so does the time required. Timing also will depend on the regulatory approach: for example, CGMP synthesis will take significantly longer than a non-regulatory project.

Where. For radioactive materials, it’s especially important to decide where on the molecule the label should be incorporated. This can sometimes require the design of a new synthetic pathway. Depending on the molecule, radiolabeling in multiple positions—or the strategic use of multiple isotopes—may assist in defining the metabolic pathway.

Why. It’s last in the Five W’s, but this should always be the first question you ask before proceeding with a custom synthesis. Good study design should always come first to avoid complications later. Is the test substance to be used in humans or in preclinical species? Is the material needed for tracking degradation in plants, animals, and/or environmental matrices? Answers to these questions have important implications for regulatory requirements and material needs.

In this white paper, you will learn:

  • Why good study design should always come first to avoid complications later.
  • Why it’s important to allow sufficient lead time for the procurement of starting material, the actual synthesis, and any other deliverables (such as a Certificate of Analysis).
  • Why your specific needs and scale can have a big impact on quality agreements, production systems, and contracting arrangements.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.