使用SIMS仔细检查HEMT

文章

从缓冲层到器件的最顶端,一种新型的SIMS可以发现硅上GaN的HEMT中的麻烦杂质

作者:Temel H. Buyuklimanli和Charles W. Magee

吸引化合物半导体制造工业最感兴趣的装置之一是基于GaN的HEMT(也称为GaN FET)。 其在高电压下工作并在微波频率下提供高功率的能力使其成为在基站和包括雷达在内的一系列国防应用中部署的有吸引力的候选者。

这种宽带隙HEMT的令人印象深刻的性能源于与GaN相关的特定材料特性。 与也用于在微波区域产生功率的GaAs基材料相比,GaN具有更大的峰值电子速度; 更高的热稳定性; 和更大的带隙。 所有这些特性使GaN成为HEMT通道的非常合适的材料。 在这种结构中,它通常与AlGaN配对形成二维电子气(2DEG),它位于器件的核心,决定了它的电特性。

选择用于制造GaN HEMT的最佳衬底绝非易事。 从性能角度来看,GaN是理想的,因为它确保了外延层和基础之间的完美晶格匹配。 如果这样的衬底是实用的,它将允许使用相对薄的缓冲层,因为它的作用仅仅是将2DEG与衬底隔离 - 不需要防止衬底的有源区域中的高水平缺陷。设备。 但是今天,GaN衬底不能以足够大的尺寸生长,以使其价格具有商业可行性。 因此,必须在异质衬底上生长GaN HEMT。 一种常见的选择是单晶SiC,它结合了良好的导电性和导热性,晶格常数接近GaN的晶格常数 - 差异仅为3%。 然而,尽管不像GaN那样昂贵,但SiC仍然很昂贵。

图1。 由Evans Analytical Group开创的PCOR-SIMS技术可用于比较GaN-on-silicon HEMT的中心和边缘。 请注意,尽管该剖面提供了铝和镓原子分数和层厚度的准确值,但该结构的2DEG区域在表面几乎察觉不到。 但是,如后面的图所示,它的性质可以通过PCOR-SIMS显示出来。

图1。 由EAG实验室开创的PCOR-SIMS技术可用于比较GaN-on-silicon HEMT的中心和边缘。 请注意,尽管该剖面提供了铝和镓原子分数和层厚度的准确值,但该结构的2DEG区域在表面几乎察觉不到。 但是,如后面的图所示,它的性质可以通过PCOR-SIMS显示出来。

更便宜的替代品是蓝宝石,但它具有较差的导热性 - 这是高功率器件的缺点 - 并且其与GaN的晶格失配是13百分比。 由于这些缺点,更受欢迎的低成本选择是硅,现在引起了极大的关注。 它的强大之处在于它拥有大量已建立的制造工具和工艺。 然而,它也有其缺点,包括与GaN的非常大的晶格失配,这导致外延层中的高密度缺陷。 为了防止有源层中的缺陷密度过高而器件性能不可接受,在基板和2DEG形成层之间插入厚的AlGaN缓冲层。

图2。 横截面透射电子显微镜图像揭示了表面凹坑的产生(上图)和细节的更高放大率(下图)。

图2。 横截面透射电子显微镜图像揭示了表面凹坑的产生(上图)和细节的更高放大率(下图)。

仔细检查HEMT

可以揭示大量有关GaN-on-silicon HEMT的表征技术是二次离子质谱的变体,称为“点对点校正”SIMS或PCOR-SIMS。

图3。 SIMS配置文件在测量碳分布之前强制执行清洁的重要性。

图3。 SIMS配置文件在测量碳分布之前强制执行清洁的重要性。

我们在EAG实验室开发了这个。 与常规SIMS相比,它可以更准确地确定层厚度,成分和掺杂分布,因为在每个数据点,都会对合金成分进行校准。

在本文的其余部分,我们将介绍在150 mm硅上生长的GaN HEMT或GaN FET,从缓冲层开始,并在2DEG周围区域完成(参见图1)。 在这次旅行中,我们将评论凹坑对器件分析的影响; 发现可能妨碍设备性能的杂质; 并了解设备通道的组成。

我们用缓冲层开始我们的旅程,缓冲层由AlN制成。 这种材料与下面的硅没有良好的晶格匹配,但它有两个重要的目的:它提供了一个绝缘层,将上面的那些隔离在衬底上; 它起种子层的作用,有助于后续AlGaN层的生长,铝含量逐渐减少。 通过降低AlGaN中铝的比例,将缺陷密度降低到可接受的水平,以用于随后的GaN势垒生长。

如图1所示,PCOR-SIMS曲线提供的另一个见解是GaN阻挡层的下半部分掺杂有碳。 这可以补偿无意识的 n通过AlGaN缓冲层中的杂质(主要是硅和氧)掺杂,并导致击穿场强度的增加。 不幸的是,在晶片的边缘,缓冲液的GaN部分中的碳掺杂比中心的碳掺杂高十倍(图1)。 这对阻挡层减小电场的能力具有相当大的影响,电场在150 mm晶片上变化。

好消息是,在衬底上方的更大垂直距离处,AlGaN开始生长,晶片中心和边缘之间的厚度和掺杂水平的变化要小得多。 监测碳以及硅和氧的水平非常重要,因为如果碳过高,则会导致设备泄漏。

据报道,碳掺杂是2DEG附近的一个主要问题,因为它会促进垂直漏电流。 这是非常不希望的,因为它降低了载流子密度和2DEG沟道电子的载流子迁移率,导致动态导通电阻和电流崩塌的增加。 所有这些变化都会损害器件性能和可靠性。

尽管碳掺杂对2DEG和器件性能有不利影响,但只有少数报告考虑了有源层(AlN尖峰和AlGaN阻挡层)中的残留碳水平。 也许这是因为这个近地表区域的碳测量受到表面凹坑的严重阻碍,表面凹坑始终存在,这是由于穿透位错在缓冲层深处发生并到达表面(见图2)。

在该区域中,准确测量碳分布并不容易。 含碳物质吸附在暴露于空气的顶表面上,并且不会通过SIMS溅射工艺完全去除,直到整个凹坑被溅射通过。 这导致人为的深碳分布,这可以完全掩盖2DEG区域中的实际碳分布。

为了解决这个问题,我们开发了一种专有的表面清洁程序,可以去除表面上的绝大部分碳,从而消除碳纤维的深尾(参见图3)。 由于这一点,可以对2DEG正上方的AlGaN阻挡层中的碳浓度以及刚好在其下方的AlN尖峰进行真正的测量。

铁和镁也可用于掺杂缓冲层。 对于这些元素,SIMS提供非常低的检测限。 这在图4中很明显,图中显示了GaN势垒内部的铁分布峰。 在晶片的边缘处不存在该峰值,突出显示在大基板上生长的均匀层中的另一个难以处理的峰值。

图4。 通过SIMS测量在HEMT中发现铁和镁杂质。

图4。 通过SIMS测量在HEMT中发现铁和镁杂质。

控制GaN阻挡层中的非金属杂质也很重要。 直接低于2DEG的GaN中的硅水平必须尽可能低,因为该器件设计为在没有掺杂剂的情况下起作用。 SIMS可以在10中期具有硅检测限14 原子/厘米3 范围,足够低,可以看到麻烦的2 x 1015原子/厘米3 GaN HEMT中2DEG正下方的硅水平(见图5)。 如图5所示,该曲线提出的另一个问题是GaN势垒中的氢含量。 氢会对器件的可靠性产生有害影响,因此保持其电平尽可能低是至关重要的。 在这种情况下,PCOR-SIMS显示出在碳含量轻微升高的阻挡层的碳掺杂部分中更高的氢含量。 据推测,这是由用于碳掺杂的前体产生的。

图5。 PCOR-SIMS的低检测极限测量揭示了GaN-on-silicon HEMT的GaN阻挡层中存在氢和硅。

图5。 PCOR-SIMS的低检测极限测量揭示了GaN-on-silicon HEMT的GaN阻挡层中存在氢和硅。

到2DEG

在结构表面附近是二维电子气,其负责晶体管中的电流。 该2DEG由薄的顶部掺杂的AlGaN层和未掺杂的GaN层之间的导带不连续性引起。 这产生了积累电子的三角形量子阱。 有源区非常薄,厚度仅为20-30 nm。 因此,通过SIMS精确测量这一点需要非常小心。 然而,使用PCOR-SIMS,可以识别顶部AlGaN层中的铝含量,以及碳,氢,氧和硅的杂质含量(见图6)。

由于此AlGaN层位于结构的顶部,因此重要的是采取步骤以使表面污染的影响最小化,该污染总是存在于暴露于空气的表面上。 为此,我们使用我们专有的表面清洁程序去除了最初存在于样品表面的碳。 这使得能够在样品的顶部1 nm内确定2-1017×3原子/ cm15的AlGaN层中的碳掺杂水平。

这种特殊的测量还为器件工程师提供了另一条重要的信息-AlGaN势垒层的厚度(请参见图6的插图)。 正是通过这一层,栅极上的电势才起作用来控制2DEG中的电子密度,从而控制器件的电导率。

图6。 PCOR-SIMS可以显示通道的厚度以及该区域中各种元素的水平。

图6。 PCOR-SIMS可以显示通道的厚度以及该区域中各种元素的水平。

Figure7。 通过叠加SIMS和横截面透射电子显微镜图像,可以产生HEMT通道区域的详细分析,包括任意的电导率变化曲线。

图7。 通过叠加SIMS和横截面透射电子显微镜图像,可以产生HEMT通道区域的详细分析,包括任意的电导率变化曲线。

观察该区域的另一种方法是在相同区域的横截面透射电子显微镜图像上覆盖铝和碳的分布(参见图7)。 通过这种方法,可以看到AlN delta层的位置。 其作用是通过减轻AlGaN中施主的库仑散射来改善2DEG中的载流子迁移率。 显微照片显示,AlNδ层的实际厚度通过AlGaN层中恒定水平以上的铝型材的全宽半高度正确测量。 然而,由于表面凹坑(图3中所示),底层GaN中存在尾部。 碳浓度图显示了掺杂相对于界面的精确垂直位置的位置,其由铝型材显示。 注意,即使使用能量色散X射线光谱法或电子能量损失光谱法,透射电子显微镜也不能用于检测碳。

图7中还显示了电导率图。 这受瞬时表面电位的影响,从中可以推断出表面电导率。 2DEG形成在GaN的内部,在通过导电率降低的区域之后样品电导率恢复的深度处,恰好在空穴累积的阻挡层内部。 我们对HEMT的研究,从缓冲区到XNU​​MXDEG,展示了PCOR-SIMS在确定GaN HEMT中基质元素和掺杂剂的准确浓度方面的巨大能力。 该技术可用于优化外延层生长,有助于失效分析,从而支持GaN HEMT(GaN FET)工业的发展。

致谢

作者要感谢EAG实验室的Ozgur Celik,Wei Ou,Andrew Klump,Wei Zhao,Yun Qi,Jeffrey Serfass和Mike Salmon

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Using SIMS to Scrutinize HEMTs

ARTICLE

From the buffer layer to the very top of the device, a novel form of SIMS can uncover troublesome impurities in GaN-on-silicon HEMTs

By Temel H. Buyuklimanli and Charles W. Magee

One of the devices attracting the most interest in the compound semiconductor manufacturing industry is the GaN-based HEMT (also known as GaN FET). Its capability to operate at high voltages and deliver high powers at microwave frequencies makes it an attractive candidate for deployment in base stations, and in a range of defence applications, including radar.

The impressive performance of this wide bandgap HEMT stems from the specific material properties associated with GaN. Compared to GaAs-based materials, which have also been used for generating power in the microwave region, GaN has a larger peak electron velocity; a higher thermal stability; and a larger band gap. All of these traits make GaN a very appropriate material for the channel of a HEMT. In such structures it is often paired with AlGaN to form a two-dimensional electron gas (2DEG), which lies at the very heart of the device, dictating its electrical characteristics.

Selecting the best substrate for the manufacture of GaN HEMTs is far from easy. From a performance perspective, GaN is ideal, because it ensures a perfect lattice match between the epilayers and the foundation. If such a substrate were practical, it would allow the use of a relatively thin buffer layer, because its role would only be to isolate the 2DEG from the substrate – it would not be needed to prevent high levels of defects in the active region of the device. But today GaN substrates cannot be grown in sufficiently large sizes to make their price commercially viable. Consequently, GaN HEMTs have to be grown on foreign substrates. One common choice is singlecrystal SiC, which combines good electrical and thermal conductivity with a lattice constant that is close to that of GaN – the difference is just 3 percent. However, while not as expensive as GaN, SiC is still pricey.

Figure 1. The PCOR-SIMS technique that has been pioneered by Evans Analytical Group can be used to compare the centre and edge of a GaN-on-silicon HEMT. Note that although the profile provides accurate values for the aluminium and gallium atomic fractions and layer thicknesses, the 2DEG region of the structure is almost imperceptible at the surface. However, as shown in latter figures, its nature can be revealed by PCOR-SIMS.

Figure 1. The PCOR-SIMS technique that has been pioneered by EAG Laboratories can be used to compare the centre and edge of a GaN-on-silicon HEMT. Note that although the profile provides accurate values for the aluminium and gallium atomic fractions and layer thicknesses, the 2DEG region of the structure is almost imperceptible at the surface. However, as shown in latter figures, its nature can be revealed by PCOR-SIMS.

A cheaper alternatives is sapphire, but it has a poor thermal conductivity − a disadvantage for high-power devices − and its lattice mismatch with GaN is 13 percent. Due to these drawbacks, a more popular low-cost option is silicon, which is now drawing a great deal of attention. Its great strength is that it has a large base of established manufacturing tools and processes. However, it also has its weaknesses, including a very large lattice mismatch with GaN that gives rise to a high density of defects in the epilayers. To prevent the defect density in the active layers from being so high that device performance is unacceptable, thick AlGaN buffer layers are inserted between the substrate and the 2DEG-forming layers.

Figure 2. Cross-sectional transmission electron microscopy images reveal the generation of surface pits (above) and the higher magnification of the details (below).

Figure 2. Cross-sectional transmission electron microscopy images reveal the generation of surface pits (above) and the higher magnification of the details (below).

Scrutinising the HEMT

A characterisation technique that can reveal a great deal about GaN-on-silicon HEMTs is a variant of secondary ion mass spectrometry known as ‘Pointby- point CORrected’ SIMS, or PCOR-SIMS.

Figure 3. SIMS profiles enforce the importance of cleaning before measuring a profile of carbon.

Figure 3. SIMS profiles enforce the importance of cleaning before measuring a profile of carbon.

We have developed this at EAG Laboratories. Compared to regular SIMS, it can determine layer thickness, composition and doping profile more accurately, because, at every data point, a calibration is undertaken with respect to alloy composition.

In the remainder of this article, we will take a journey through a GaN HEMT, or GaN FET, grown on 150 mm silicon, beginning with the buffer layer and finishing with the region around the 2DEG (see Figure 1). During this trip we will comment on the influence of pits on device profiling; uncover impurities that can hamper device performance; and understand the composition of the channel of the device.

We start our journey with the buffer layer, which is made of AlN. This material is not well lattice-matched to the underlying silicon, but it serves two important purposes: it provides an insulating layer that isolates those above from the substrate; and it acts as a seed layer, aiding the growth of subsequent layers of AlGaN with successively diminishing aluminium content. By decreasing the proportion of aluminium in AlGaN, the defect density is reduced to acceptable levels for subsequent growth of the GaN barrier.

Another insight provided by the PCOR-SIMS profile, shown in Figure 1, is that the bottom half of the GaN barrier layer is doped with carbon. This compensates for unintentional n-type doping by impurities (mainly silicon and oxygen) in the AlGaN buffer, and leads to an increase in the breakdown field strength. Unfortunately, at the edge of the wafer, the carbon doping in the GaN portion of the buffer is ten times higher than it is in the centre (Figure 1). This has considerable implications on the capability of the barrier layer to reduce the electric field, which varies across the 150 mm wafer.

The good news is that at a greater vertical distance above the substrate, where the growth of AlGaN begins, variations in thickness and doping level between the centre and the edge of the wafer are far smaller. It is important to monitor the level of carbon, as well as that of silicon and oxygen, because if carbon is excessively high, it will lead to leakage in the device.

According to reports, carbon doping is a major issue in the vicinity of the 2DEG, because it promotes a vertical leakage current. This is highly undesirable, because it degrades the carrier density and the carrier mobility of the 2DEG channel electrons, leading to an increase in dynamic on-resistance and current collapse. All these changes are to the detriment of device performance and reliability.

Despite the detrimental character of carbon doping on the 2DEG and the device properties, there are only a few reports that consider the residual carbon level in the active layers (the AlN spike and the AlGaN barrier layer). Perhaps this is because the measurements of carbon in this near-surface region are severely hampered by surface pits, which are always present, due to threading dislocations that originate deep in the buffer layer and reach the surface (see Figure 2).

In this region it is not easy to measure the carbon profile accurately. Carbon-containing species are adsorbed onto the air-exposed top surface, and are not entirely removed by the SIMS sputtering process until the entire pit is sputtered through. This leads to an artificially deep carbon profile, which can totally obscure the real carbon distribution in the 2DEG region.

To circumvent this problem, we have developed a proprietary surface-cleaning procedure that removes the vast majority of carbon from the surface, thus eliminating the deep tail of the carbon profile (see Figure 3). Thanks to this, true measurements are possible for the carbon concentration in the AlGaN barrier layer just above the 2DEG, as well as in the AlN spike just below it.

Iron and magnesium can also be used to dope the buffer layer. For these elements, SIMS provides very low detection limits. This is evident in Figure 4, which shows a peak in the iron profile just inside the GaN barrier. This peak is absent at the edge of the wafer, highlighting another difficultly in growing uniform layers across large substrates.

Figure 4. Iron and magnesium impurities are uncovered in HEMTs by SIMS measurements.

Figure 4. Iron and magnesium impurities are uncovered in HEMTs by SIMS measurements.

It is also important to control non-metallic impurities in the GaN barrier layer. The level of silicon in the GaN directly below the 2DEG must be as low as possible, because the device is designed to function in the absence of dopants. SIMS can be capable of silicon detection limits in the mid 1014 atom/cm3 range, which is low enough to see the troublesome 2 x 1015atom/cm3 silicon level just beneath the 2DEG in a GaN HEMT (see Figure 5). Another concern raised by this profile, shown in Figure 5, is the level of hydrogen in the GaN barrier. Hydrogen can have deleterious effects on device reliability, so it is critical to keep its levels as low as possible. In this case, PCOR-SIMS reveals a higher hydrogen-level in the carbon-doped portion of the barrier that is lightly elevated in carbon content. Presumably, this arises from the precursor used for carbon doping.

Figure 5. Low-detection-limit measurements by PCOR-SIMS reveal the presence of hydrogen and silicon in the GaN barrier layer of a GaN-on-silicon HEMT.

Figure 5. Low-detection-limit measurements by PCOR-SIMS reveal the presence of hydrogen and silicon in the GaN barrier layer of a GaN-on-silicon HEMT.

To the 2DEG

Near the surface of the structure is the twodimensional electron gas, which is responsible for current flow in the transistor. This 2DEG results from a conduction-band discontinuity between a thin, top, doped AlGaN layer and an undoped GaN layer. This creates a triangular quantum well that accumulates electrons. The active region is exceedingly thin, with a thickness of just 20-30 nm. Consequently, measuring this accurately by SIMS requires great care. However, with PCOR-SIMS, it is possible to identify the aluminium level in the top AlGaN layer, as well as the impurity levels of carbon, hydrogen, oxygen and silicon (see Figure 6).

Since this AlGaN layer is on the top of the structure, it is important to take steps to minimize the effects of surface contamination, which is always present on air-exposed surfaces. To achieve this, we use our proprietary surface-cleaning procedure to remove the carbon initially present on the sample surface. This enables a determination of the carbon doping level in the AlGaN layer of 1-2×1017 atoms/cm3, within the top 15 nm of the sample.

This particular measurement also yields another important piece of information for the device engineer – the thickness of the AlGaN barrier layer (see the inset to Figure 6). It is through this layer that the potential on the gate acts to control the electron density in the 2DEG, and thus the conductance of the device.

Figure 6. PCOR-SIMS can reveal the thickness of the channel, and the levels of various elements in this region.

Figure 6. PCOR-SIMS can reveal the thickness of the channel, and the levels of various elements in this region.

Figure7. By overlaying SIMS and cross-sectional transmission electron microscopy images, it is possible to produce a detailed analysis of the HEMT channel region, including an arbitrary conductivity change curve.

Figure 7. By overlaying SIMS and cross-sectional transmission electron microscopy images, it is possible to produce a detailed analysis of the HEMT channel region, including an arbitrary conductivity change curve.

Another way to look at this region is to overlay the profiles of aluminium and carbon on a cross-sectional transmission electron microscopy image of the same region (see Figure 7). With this approach, it is possible to see the location of the AlN delta layer. Its role is to improve the carrier mobility in the 2DEG, by mitigating coulomb scattering from donors in the AlGaN. The micrograph reveals that the actual thickness of the AlN delta layer is correctly measured by the full-width-half maximum of the aluminium profile above the constant level in the AlGaN layer. However, there is a tail into the underlying GaN, due to surface pits (shown in Figure 3). A plot of the carbon concentration reveals the location of the doping with respect to the exact vertical location of the interface, which is shown by the aluminium profile. Note that transmission electron microscopy cannot be used to detect carbon, even with energy dispersive X-ray spectrometry or electron energy-loss spectroscopy.

Also shown in Figure 7 is a plot of conductivity. This is influenced by the instantaneous surface potential, from which can be inferred the surface conductivity. The 2DEG is formed just inside the GaN, at the depth at which sample conductivity recovers after passing through a zone of decreased conductivity, just inside the barrier layer where the holes accumulate. Our study of the HEMT, from the buffer to the 2DEG, show the tremendous capability that PCOR-SIMS has for determining accurate concentrations of matrix elements and dopants within GaN HEMTs. This technique can be used to optimise epitaxial layer growth, aid failure analysis, and thus support the growth of the GaN HEMT (GaN FET) industry.

Acknowledgements

The authors wish to thank Ozgur Celik, Wei Ou, Andrew Klump, Wei Zhao, Yun Qi, Jeffrey Serfass and Mike Salmon from EAG Laboratories

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.