哪种切片方法最适合我的样品?

白皮书

Daniel JD Sullivan博士,Amos Eppley,Jennifer Cooper,Bryan Tracy博士和Sara G.Ostrowski博士

半导体管芯的横截面是故障分析(FA)工作的基本步骤。 横截面可以用作一般或特定位置的层完整性检查。 验证层和层间连接(通孔)的尺寸也很常见。 通过缺陷定位技术(例如发射光谱,OBIRCH,IR,TIVA,XIVA等),电气证据或设计中的可疑缺陷,可以确定FA中截面的决定。1,2

一旦确定了横截面的位置,下一个问题就是要使用的横截面方法。 常用的选择有三种:(1)机械,用于将设备劈开或抛光到所需位置;(2)离子磨,可用于清理机械部件或整个部件,是一种工具。用高压离子或(3)双束聚焦离子束(DB-FIB)抛光样品边缘,该离子束使用Ga离子束将沟槽切入样品中,然后使用设置好的SEM观察沟槽看看沟渠。 本文讨论的每种方法都有优点和缺点。

图1:整个模具的机械横截面位置由红线显示。

图2:整个模具的机械x剖视图:图1的侧视图以红线剖开。

图3:右侧的Trench 1在浇口区域中,Trench 2在Source字段中。 红色箭头指向剖面。 每个沟槽的内部都通过SEM在仪器上成像,该仪器是双光束FIB的一部分。

图4和5:分别显示了沟槽的内部1和2。 氧化物裂纹,红色箭头下方有缺陷。

的优点和缺点

机械部分的优势是可以跨越整个芯片(或封装),从而可以在样品的任何一点进行检查。 可以通过湿法蚀刻或离子铣削对截面进行额外修改,以增加层或区域(例如氧化物或掺杂区域)的清晰度。 不仅可以通过光学显微镜和SEM来分析暴露区域,还可以通过扫描电容显微镜(SCM),微探测,傅立叶变换红外(FTIR),硬度测试等技术进行分析。 这是由于该部分的公开性质。

图6:上图:SCM dC / dV幅值图像,显示了相对的掺杂水平,下图:SCM dC / dV相图,显示了掺杂物的类型分布(棕色= n型,黄色= p型)

机械部分的缺点包括:在样品上施加压力可能会导致脆性材料破裂并填充软材料中的空隙/裂缝;进一步控制步骤进入样品的能力受到严重限制。执行部分的人员在很大程度上取决于部分的质量。

图7和8:半导体芯片的SEM图像(机械x截面)。

对下面显示的样品进行化学湿法蚀刻,以显示此类装饰的效果。 请注意,纯机械切片后,晶界(红色箭头)的外观和突出显示的氧化物层不清晰。 使用的蚀刻取决于样品材料以及需要突出显示的内容:硅中的氧化物,n或p掺杂区域…

图9:具有装饰性湿蚀刻的机械横截面(请注意,与图8相比,晶界得到了增强)。

可以将离子铣削应用于机械X截面以清理截面的一部分,或者可以从一开始就对其几何形状允许的样品进行离子铣削。 离子铣削比机械x截面更干净。 它也不会对样品施加压力,这意味着脆性材料(如GaAs,GaN和其他部分)没有机械部分常见的微裂纹。 同样,去除金,铟或聚合物之类的软材料,而不会在样品上填充小空隙或裂缝,比较图8和9,并注意在离子铣削样品上出现了几个小空隙。 但是,离子铣削会引入一些瑕疵,请注意显示铣削方向的垂直条纹。 通过精心设置和校准离子铣削工具,可以减少甚至消除这些误差。

图10:离子破碎机的机械部分。 请注意,现在可以看到小的空隙(红色箭头)

对于非半导体材料,离子铣削最适合保持小孔和其他效果,这些效果会随着机械截面的变化而变化,并且对于FIB而言尺寸太大。

图11和12:在铝上进行离子铣削的ANO中很好地显示了小的空隙和材料。

离子铣削的一个局限性在于,目标区域必须位于样品的边缘。 此外,样品的深度是有限的–取决于仪器,通常跨度为1.5毫米,样品为700微米(更昂贵的工具可以铣削更大的区域)。 可以购买带有低温台架和其他附件的离子磨机,这些设备可将易擦拭的材料(如某些聚合物)切成薄片而无需重新分配材料。

DB-FIB可以合理地在包括成像在内的标准操作中切开20微米的沟槽和10微米的沟槽。 DB FIB的最大优点是可以以可控的方式将切片移动到样品中很小的距离。 例如,每个20微米0.1微米的台阶都可以制成段(图4和5)以遍历感兴趣的区域。 每个步骤都可以成像,由EDX分析并最终制作成电影。 机械x截面无法控制得如此精细。

DB-FIB的缺点主要是暴露区域有限,并且难以处理非导电样品。 DB-FIB不允许对整个模具进行检查,但可以对关键位置进行成像,这些位置可以彼此非常靠近且角度不同(见图3)。 在查看封装问题(例如跨设备的焊球/凸点附着)时,裸露的小区域使DB-FIB不能被认真考虑。

在绝缘样品上工作时,充电问题非常严重,这使这些样品成为不好的选择。
DB FIB部分的有限区域和孔的几何形状使得通过湿蚀刻进行染色非常困难,并且其他技术无法访问该部分。

下表总结了每种方法的主要优点和缺点:

选项 优势 缺点
机械X剖面 整个模具/封装均可检查。 获得其他技术的机会很好。 无法对设备进一步采取小的受控步骤,将压力施加到样品上。
离子铣削 抛光非常干净,不会对设备施加任何力。 可以观察到晶粒结构。 使用稀有气体进行研磨,因此没有污染问题。 样品的几何形状受到限制,距离样品边缘的截面深度有限。
双光束FIB 可以通过感兴趣的区域采取较小的受控步骤,可以分析多个相邻区域。 非常容易进行TEM采样。 仅分析小区域,有限的切入深度,无法合理地分析大区域。 使用其他技术的机会非常有限。 使用Ga离子进行溅射,这可能是一个问题。 绝缘子的充电问题与SEM相同。

 

概要

哪种横截面最适合样品的决定取决于样品本身和所需的信息。 本文介绍了每种方法最常见的技术优缺点:机械,离子铣削和双束FIB,因为它们适用于大多数样品,尤其是半导体应用。 每种方法都有优点和缺点,重要的是要知道每种方法的局限性和功能。

所讨论的某些方法允许进行其他工作,而其他方法则不允许:具有FIB切口的模具可以进行机械切片,或者继续进行TEM工作,但是通常在进行切片之前先封装机械切片,然后再无法进行FIB作业。 离子铣削要求感兴趣的区域位于样品的边缘,这可能需要通过劈裂或事先进行机械抛光来制备样品。 因此,操作顺序也很重要。 对于所有分析工作而言,最重要的是在进行首次操作之前进行良好的讨论和计划。

参考文献:

  1. J. Devaney,G。Hill,R。Seippel,故障分析机制,技术和图片集,故障识别和培训服务公司1986,第8节。
  2. 《微电子故障分析台参考》,3rd版,eds。 TW Lee和SV Pabbisetty,ASM International,1993,第97-110页。
  3. 失效分析技术–程序指南,eds。 E. Doyle Jr.和B. Morris,IITRI,1980年,第III-N节。
  4. https://www.semitracks.com/reference-material/failure-and-yield-analysis/failure-analysis-die-level/mechanical-cross-section.php
  5. https://microscopy-analysis.com/editorials/editorial-listings/preparation-cross-sectional-semiconductor-ic-device-sample-sem
  6. 彭建昌,陈德健,谭大林,伦美玲,严国H,柯志明,蔡祖明,LJ Balk,“近红外光子发射显微镜和光谱学综述”,集成电路2005的物理和失效分析。 IPFA 2005。 12thth International Symposium的会议论文集,第275-281,2005页。
  7. Act Quah,Ls Koh,Cm Chua,M Palaniappan,Jm Chin,Jch Phang,“用于微电子故障分析的直流耦合激光诱导检测系统,用于故障定位”,集成电路2006的物理和故障分析。 13th国际研讨会,第327-332,2006页。
  8. P. Lawrence,“双光束(FIB / SEM)及其应用-纳米级样品的制备和修饰”,第2006届国际真空纳米电子会议,19年,桂林,2006年,第127-128页。
    doi:10.1109 / IVNC.2006.335390
  9. Y. Chuang,C。Huang,J。Hsu和Y. Wu,“ GaAs器件两步结污点和扫描电容显微镜样品制备”,2017年IEEE第19届电子封装技术会议(EPTC),新加坡,2017年,第1页。 -3。
    doi:10.1109 / EPTC.2017.8277565

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Which method of sectioning is best for my sample?

WHITE PAPER

By Dr. Daniel J. D. Sullivan, Amos Eppley, Jennifer Cooper, Bryan Tracy, Ph.D, and Dr. Sara G. Ostrowski

Cross sectioning of a semiconductor die is a basic step in failure analysis (FA) work. A cross section can be used as a check of layer integrity in general or at specific locations. Verifying the dimensions of layers and interlayer connections (vias) is also common. The decision on where to section is determined in an FA by defect localization techniques like emission spectroscopy, OBIRCH, IR, TIVA, XIVA, etc., by electrical evidence or by suspected weaknesses in the design.1,2

The next question once the location of the cross section is determined is the cross-sectioning method to be used. There are three choices commonly used: (1) mechanical in which the device is cleaved or polished to the desired location, (2) ion mill, which can be used to clean up mechanical sections or used for the entire section, is a tool that polishes the sample edge away with high voltage ions, or (3) Dual Beam Focused Ion Beam (DB-FIB) which uses a Ga ion beam to cut a trench into the sample and then views into the trench with a SEM that is set up to look into the trench. There are advantages and disadvantages to each method which are discussed herein.

Figure 1: Entire die with the mechanical cross section location shown by the red line.

Figure 2: Mechanical x-section across whole die: side view of Figure 1 sectioned to the red line.

Figure 3: Trench 1 on the right is in the gate area and Trench 2 is in the Source field. The red arrow points to the section faces. The interior of each trench is imaged by the SEM on the instrument that is part of the dual beam FIB.

Figures 4 and 5: show the interior of the trenches, 1 and 2, respectively. Crack in oxide with a defect below at red arrow location.

ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES

Mechanical sections have the advantage of spanning across the entire die (or package) allowing inspection at any point(s) across the sample. The sections can be additionally modified by wet etch or ion milling which increase the definition of layers or areas such as oxides or doped regions. The exposed area can also be analyzed not only by optical microscopy and SEM but also techniques such as Scanning Capacitance Microscopy (SCM), micro probing, Fourier Transform Infrared (FTIR), hardness testing and others. This is due to the exposed nature of the section.

Figure 6: Top: SCM dC/dV amplitude image which shows relative dopant levels and Bottom: SCM dC/dV phase image which displays the dopant type distribution (brown = n type and yellow = p type)

The disadvantages of the mechanical sections include: the application of pressure onto the sample which can cause cracking in brittle materials and fill in voids/cracks in soft materials, the ability to make controlled steps further into the sample is severely limited, the skill of the person performing the section bears heavily on the quality of the section.

Figures 7 and 8: SEM images of semiconductor die by mechanical x-section.

A chemical wet etch was applied to the sample shown below to show the effect of this type of decoration. Note the appearance of the grain boundaries (red arrow) and the highlighted oxide layers were not clear after purely mechanical sectioning. The etch used depends on the sample material and what is desired to highlight: oxide, n or p doped regions in silicon…

Figure 9: Mechanical cross section with decorative wet etch (note the enhancement of the grain boundaries compared to Figure 8).

Ion milling can be applied to a mechanical x-section to clean up a portion of the section or ion milling can be done from the start for samples whose geometry allows. The ion milling gives a cleaner section than mechanical x-section. It also does not apply pressure to the sample which means brittle materials like GaAs, GaN and others section without the micro cracks common for mechanical sections. Also, soft materials like gold, indium or polymers are removed without filling in small voids or cracks on the sample, compare Figures 8 and 9 and note the appearance of several small voids on the ion milled sample. Ion milling can however introduce some artifacts, note the vertical streaks that show the milling direction. These can be reduced and even eliminated with careful set up and calibration of the ion milling tool.

Figure 10: Mechanical section followed with ion mill. Note small voids now visible (red arrows)

For non-semiconductor materials the ion milling is best for maintaining small pores and other effects subject to change with mechanical sections and on too large a scale for FIB.

Figures 11 and 12: Small voids and materials show up well in this ion milled ANO over Al.

One limitation of ion-milling is that the area of interest must be at the edge of the sample. Additionally, the depth into the sample is limited – generally to 1.5 mm across and 700 microns into the sample depending on the instrument (more expensive tools can mill larger areas). Ion mills may be purchased with cryo-stages and other accessories that allow smearable materials like some polymers to be sectioned without redistributing the material.

The DB-FIB can reasonably cut a trench 20 microns across and 10 microns deep as a standard operation, including the imaging. The great advantage of DB FIB is that the section can be moved in a very controlled manner a very small distance into the sample. For example, 20 steps of 0.1 micron each can be made into the sections (Figures 4 and 5) to walk through an area of interest. Each of the steps can be imaged, analyzed by EDX and eventually made into a movie. Mechanical x-sections cannot be controlled in so fine a degree.

The disadvantages of DB-FIB are primarily the limited area exposed and the difficulty working with non-conductive samples. DB-FIB does not allow inspection across the entire die but does permit imaging of key locations, which can be very close to one another and at varying angles (see Figure 3). The small areas exposed exclude DB-FIB from serious consideration when looking at packaging issues such as solder ball/bump attach across a device.

The issue of charging is very serious when working on insulating samples and makes this a poor choice for these samples. The limited area of the DB FIB section and the geometry of the hole make staining by wet etch very difficult and additional techniques cannot access the section.

The major advantages and disadvantages of each method are summarized in the table below:

Method Advantages Disadvantages
Mechanical X-section Whole die/package can be inspected. Access for additional techniques is good. Cannot take small controlled steps further into the device, pressure is applied to the sample.
Ion Milling Very clean polish, no force applied to device. Grain structure can be observed. Uses noble gas to mill so no contamination issues. Sample geometry is restricted, limited depth of section from sample edge.
Dual Beam FIB Small controlled steps can be taken through the area of interest, multiple adjacent areas can be analyzed. Very easy to progress to TEM sample. Only a small area is analyzed, limited depth of cut, large areas cannot reasonably be analyzed. Access for additional techniques is very limited. Uses Ga ions to sputter and this can be an issue. Has same charging issues for insulators as SEM.

 

SUMMARY

The decision on which type of cross section is best for a sample depends on the sample itself and the information that is needed. This paper addresses the most common technical advantages and disadvantages of each method: mechanical, ion milling and Dual Beam FIB, as they apply to most samples, especially for semiconductor applications. Each method has advantages and disadvantages and it is important to know the limitations and capabilities of each.

Some of the methods discussed allow additional work while others do not: a die that has FIB cuts can then be mechanically sectioned, or moved on to TEM work, but a mechanical section is usually encapsulated prior to sectioning and no FIB work is then possible. Ion milling requires the area of interest to be at the edge of the sample which may require the sample to be prepared by cleaving or prior mechanical polishing. So, the order of operations can also be important. Most important to all analytical work is a good discussion and planning before the first operation is made.

REFERENCES

  1. J. Devaney, G. Hill, R. Seippel, Failure Analysis Mechanisms, Techniques, and Photo Atlas, Failure Recognition and Training Services, Inc. 1986, Section 8.
  2. The Microelectronic Failure Analysis Desk Reference, 3rd Edition, eds. T. W. Lee, and S. V. Pabbisetty, ASM International, 1993, pp. 97-110.
  3. Failure Analysis Techniques – A Procedural Guide, eds. E. Doyle Jr. and B. Morris, IITRI, 1980, Section III-N.
  4. https://www.semitracks.com/reference-material/failure-and-yield-analysis/failure-analysis-die-level/mechanical-cross-section.php
  5. https://microscopy-analysis.com/editorials/editorial-listings/preparation-cross-sectional-semiconductor-ic-device-sample-sem
  6. J.C.H. Phang, D.S.H. Chan, S.L. Tan, W.B. Len, K.H. Yim, L.S. Koh, C.M. Chua, L.J. Balk, “A review of near infrared photon emission microscopy and spectroscopy”, Physical and Failure Analysis of Integrated Circuits 2005. IPFA 2005. Proceedings of the 12th International Symposium on the, pp. 275-281, 2005.
  7. Act Quah, Ls Koh, Cm Chua, M Palaniappan, Jm Chin, Jch Phang, “DC-Coupled Laser Induced Detection System for Fault Localization in Microelectronic Failure Analysis”, Physical and Failure Analysis of Integrated Circuits 2006. 13th International Symposium on the, pp. 327-332, 2006.
  8. P. Lawrence, “The Dualbeam (FIB/SEM) and its Applications – Nanoscale Sample Preparation and Modification,” 2006 19th International Vacuum Nanoelectronics Conference, Guilin, 2006, pp. 127-128. doi: 10.1109/IVNC.2006.335390
  9. Y. Chuang, C. Huang, J. Hsu and Y. Wu, “GaAs device two-steps junction stain and scanning capacitance microscopy sample preparation,” 2017 IEEE 19th Electronics Packaging Technology Conference (EPTC), Singapore, 2017, pp. 1-3. doi: 10.1109/EPTC.2017.8277565

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.