评估血管内支架和输送系统的镍暴露风险

在开发创新植入材料时,您如何评估镍的生物相容性?

如何在过程或材料更改后验证设备安全性? 您如何制定评估镍浸出的最佳测试策略? 您如何研究植入物的生物相容性? ASK EAG。 我们知道如何。

EAG Laboratories拥有无与伦比的分析仪器套件,以及超过35年的研究材料表面特性的经验,为医疗器械创新者提供了真正的研发合作伙伴关系。 从评估点蚀到表征表面氧化物,没有一家实验室服务公司在评估含镍可植入医疗设备的安全性方面提供更专业的知识。

我们如何帮助

EAG带来了多学科的分析专业知识和对材料的深刻理解,以支持植入式医疗设备的安全性和有效性。 我们的科学家将推荐一种最佳测试策略,以有效地解决FDA和其他法规要求,并帮助降低商业化后风险。 虽然富含镍的材料为预期的应用提供了优异的物理性能,但是暴露于有毒镍离子的风险是患者安全的关注点。

FDA提供了 指导 用于测试血管内支架的用途:

这些植入装置由富镍合金制成,包括镍钛合金,不锈钢和MP35N。

腐蚀测试

EAG科学家评估两种点蚀的材料 腐蚀 和使用ASTM标准测试方法F2129的电化学腐蚀敏感性。 如该方法中所规定的,我们使用循环(正向和反向)动电位极化来评估小的金属可植入医疗装置和部件。

表面特征

由于可植入装置上的横向尺寸小,只有有限数量的分析技术能够真正地测量表面成分或氧化物厚度达到所需的规格。 EAG雇用 俄歇电子能谱 以满足空间分辨率的要求并解决有关氧化物厚度的问题,对于镍钛合金和类似材料,其厚度通常在20-200nm之间。

镍离子释放测试

当支架材料不能满足耐腐蚀性和表面钝化标准时,调节器建议进行镍离子释放测试以评估镍的生物相容性。 8月份发布的FDA指南2015提供了标准协议 体外 镍离子释放测试。 EAG科学家拥有进行协议驱动研究所需的技术专业知识,以测量在受控环境中模拟条件下从支架装置中浸出的镍离子浓度,推荐测试时间至少为60天。 当比较不同的富镍合金基器件时,标准化的镍离子释放率是一种有效的工具。 EAG拥有专业知识和能力,可以分析浸出设备本身的变化,后期测试,以及确定从测试样品中浸出到溶液中的Ni的量。

失败调查

EAG科学家在研究医疗器械故障方面拥有多年的经验,包括抗疲劳和氢脆。 金相 使用光学或电子显微镜检查支架是了解医疗设备故障模式的有力工具。 EAG实验室具有无与伦比的能力,可以解决所有类型的产品故障,这些故障可能会在产品开发的任何阶段(包括测试期间)曝光。

从根据FDA 2015年17025月指导文件评估镍的生物相容性,“选择非临床工程测试的更新以及血管内支架和相关输送系统的推荐标签”到对产品故障进行故障排除,EAG实验室将是您的分析合作伙伴。 我们的许多办事处都通过了ISO 1认证和/或FDA注册。 填写我们的ASK EAG表格,以索取镍钛诺或富镍支架评估的报价,或致电800-366-3867-XNUMX。

 

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Assessment of Nickel Exposure Risk of Intravascular Stents and Delivery Systems

How do you evaluate nickel biocompatibility when developing innovative implantable materials?

How do you verify device safety after a process or material change? How do you develop the optimal testing strategy to evaluate nickel leaching? How do you investigate implant biocompatibility? ASK EAG. We Know How.

With an unparalleled suite of analytical instruments and over 35 years’ experience investigating material surface properties, EAG Laboratories offers medical device innovators a true R&D partnership. From evaluating pitting corrosion to characterizing surface oxides, no laboratory services company offers greater expertise in assessing the safety of nickel-containing implantable medical devices.

HOW WE CAN HELP

EAG brings multi-disciplinary analytical expertise and a deep understanding of materials to support the safety and effectiveness of implantable medical devices. Our scientists will recommend an optimal testing strategy to efficiently address FDA and other regulatory requirements and to help mitigate post-commercialization risk. Although nickel-rich materials provide excellent physical properties for the intended application, the risk of exposure to toxic nickel ions is a concern for patient safety.

The FDA has provided Guidance for testing intravascular stents  for:

These implant devices are composed of materials made from nickel-rich alloys, including nitinol, stainless steel and MP35N.

Corrosion Testing

EAG scientists evaluate materials for both pitting corrosion and galvanic corrosion susceptibility using ASTM Standard Test Method F2129. As prescribed in the method, we assess small, metallic implantable medical devices and components using cyclic (forward and reverse) potentiodynamic polarization.

Surface Characterization

Due to the small lateral dimensions found on implantable devices, only a limited number of analytical techniques are capable of truly measuring surface composition or oxide thickness to the required specifications. EAG employs Auger Electron Spectroscopy to meet spatial resolution requirements and to address questions regarding oxide thicknesses, which are typically in the 20 – 200nm range for nitinol and similar materials.

Nickel Ion Release Testing

When stent materials fail to meet corrosion resistance and surface passivation criteria, regulators recommend nickel ion release testing to assess nickel biocompatibility. FDA guidance issued in August 2015 provides a standard protocol for in vitro nickel ion release testing. EAG scientists possess the technical expertise required to conduct a protocol-driven study to measure concentrations of nickel ions leached from a stent device under simulated conditions in a controlled environment, over a recommended testing period of at least 60 days. Normalized nickel ion release rates are an effective tool when comparing different nickel-rich, alloy-based devices. EAG has the expertise and capability to also analyze changes in the leached device itself, post test, as well as to determine the amount of Ni leached from the test sample into solution.

Failure Investigations

EAG scientists have years of experience investigating medical device failures, including fatigue resistance and hydrogen embrittlement. Metallographic examination of stents using optical or electron microscopy is a powerful tool for understanding the modes of medical device failures. EAG Laboratories has an unmatched ability to address all types of product failures, that may come to light at any stage of product development, including during testing.

From evaluating nickel biocompatibility per FDA August 2015 Guidance document, “Select Updates for Non-Clinical Engineering Tests and Recommended Labeling for Intravascular Stents and Associated Delivery Systems” to troubleshooting product failures, EAG Laboratories is your analytical partner. Many of our locations are ISO 17025-certified and/or FDA-registered. Complete our ASK EAG form to request a quote for nitinol or nickel-rich stent evaluations or call 1-800-366-3867.

 

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.