平板显示器制造中问题解决的高级曲面分析

应用笔记

讨论

制造 现代平板显示器 涉及使用先进的高科技工艺和材料。 TFT-LCD(薄膜晶体管液晶显示器)的生产涉及传统Si的合并 半导体加工技术 玻璃加工和精细化学品。

本应用笔记重点介绍如何使用 TOF-SIMS(飞行时间二次离子质谱) 用于分析TFT制造步骤中形成的残留物。 TOF-SIMS从表面的顶部10-30Å提供高度特异的化学信息(原子和分子)。

在这种情况下,发现在检查显示器期间存在填充几乎整个单元的圆形缺陷。 TFT结构的典型区域显示在第2页上。 每个细胞宽约100μm。 只有当液晶存在于结构内并且在该点处注意到缺陷位置时,才能看到缺陷。 这些缺陷被怀疑是有机的。

TOF-SIMS数据可以显示为离子图像或质谱图。 下图显示了TFT表面上所选物种的横向分布。 质谱显示图像内特定区域中存在的特定分子和原子种类,在这种情况下,来自缺陷。

这里显示的是总离子图像(来自样品的所有正离子),以及Si,C的正离子图像3H9Si和C.2H3。 缺陷是总离子图像中间的暗圆形区域。 Si和C.3H9Si映射有缺陷而其他有机离子(例如C.2H3) 不要。 C3H9在质谱中标记的Si和其他离子归因于PDMS(聚二甲基硅氧烷)。 PDMS广泛用于工业材料,作为抛光剂,脱模剂,润滑剂,泵油以及作为一些粘合剂中的组分。 Page 2显示从缺陷中获得的正离子质谱。 在此故障分析示例中,PDMS被追溯到制造过程中的特定来源。 该示例说明了使用正确的分析仪器解决FPD行业中的制造问题可以获得的重要且有用的信息。

正离子图像

平板显示器的TOF-SIMS分析 -

总离子图像

平板显示器的TOF-SIMS分析 -

m / z 28,Si

平板显示器的TOF-SIMS分析 -

m / z 73,C3H9Si

平板显示器的TOF-SIMS分析 - 正离子图像

m / z 27,C2H3

感兴趣的分析区域的光学图像

平面显示器上缺陷的正离子TOF-SIMS光谱

平面显示器上缺陷的正离子TOF-SIMS光谱

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Advanced Surface Analysis for Problem-Solving in Flat Panel Display Manufacturing

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

The manufacture of modern flat panel displays involves the use of advanced high technology processes and materials. Production of TFT-LCDs (Thin film transistor liquid crystal displays) involves the merging of traditional Si semiconductor processing technology with glass processing and fine chemicals.

This application note focuses on the use of TOF-SIMS (Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry) for the analysis of residue formed during a TFT manufacturing step. TOF-SIMS provides highly specific chemical information (both atomic and molecular) from the top 10-30Å of a surface.

In this case, circular defects filling almost whole cells were found to be present during inspection of the display. A typical area of the TFT structure is shown on page 2. Each cell is about 100µm wide. The defects were only visible when liquid crystals were present within the structure and the defect positions were noted at that point. The defects were suspected to be organic in nature.

TOF-SIMS data can be displayed as either ion images or as mass spectra. The images below show the lateral distribution of selected species on a TFT surface. Mass spectra show the specific molecular and atomic species present in a particular region within the image, in this case, from the defect.

Shown here are the total ion image (all positive ions from the sample), and also positive ion images for Si, C3H9Si and C2H3. The defect is the dark circular area in the middle of the total ion image. The Si and C3H9Si map with the defect whereas other organic ions (e.g. C2H3) do not. C3H9Si and other ions marked in the mass spectrum are due to PDMS (polydimethylsiloxane). PDMS is widely used in industrial materials, as a polish, mold release agent, lubricant, pump oil and also as a component in some adhesives. Page 2 shows a positive ion mass spectrum obtained from the defect. In this failure analysis example, the PDMS was traced to a specific source within the manufacturing process. This example illustrates the important and useful information that can be obtained using the correct analytical instrumentation to address a manufacturing problem in the FPD industry.

Positive Ion Images

TOF-SIMS analysis of flat panel display -
Total ion image

TOF-SIMS analysis of flat panel display -
m/z 28, Si

TOF-SIMS analysis of flat panel display -
m/z 73, C3H9Si

TOF-SIMS analysis of flat panel display - positive ion images
m/z 27, C2H3

Optical image of analytical area of interest

Positive Ion TOF-SIMS Spectrum of a Defect on a Flat Panel Display

Positive Ion TOF-SIMS Spectrum of a Defect on a Flat Panel Display

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.