电子束感应电流(EBIC)

EBIC(电子束感应电流)是一种 扫描电子显微镜(SEM)用于半导体器件的基于技术的技术。 与阴极发光(CL)一样,该技术依赖于通过SEM的高能电子束产生电子 - 空穴对(EHP)来产生分析信号。 EBIC利用连接在器件的p侧和n侧之间的敏感微微安培计来测量在电视束以平面图(PV)或横截面扫描样品时流动的电流或EBIC( XS)。 然后,EBIC信号的强度对应于pn结周围的内置电场的强度。 充当重组位点的缺陷显示出显着较低的EBIC信号。

通常,同时捕获EBIC和二次电子(SE)信号,提供EBIC的补充空间图以及地形和/或组成信息。 EBIC是一种非常有效的技术,用于在2-50nm精度的大面积(mm ^ 100)器件中定位隐藏的电活性缺陷,用于进一步的根本原因故障分析(FA),如平面图(PV)或横截面(XS) SEM或扫描透射电子显微镜(STEM)。

此外,电子束感应电流可用于定量确定复杂异质外延结构中pn结的垂直位置,例如发光二极管(LED),垂直腔面发射激光器(VCSEL)和边缘发射激光器中的结构。 。 在一些情况下,也可以从相同的定量XS-EBIC数据计算少数载流子扩散长度的估计值。

EBIC的理想用途

  • 半导体故障分析 - 深FA的缺陷定位
  • 器件特性 - 结点位置和少数载流子扩散长度

我们的强项

  • 非常适合在大面积设备中查找隐藏的本地化故障站点
  • XS中pn结位置的确定

限制

  • 样品中必须存在pn结
  • 可接受的最大泄漏电流大约为10uA,否则EBIC数据可能太嘈杂,无法进行可用的分析

EBIC技术规格

  • 检测到信号:电子束感应电流(EBIC)
  • 成像/映射:是
  • 横向分辨率:根据SEM条件和样品成分/拓扑结构,通常在20 nm – 500 nm之间变化

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Electron Beam Induced Current (EBIC)

EBIC (Electron Beam Induced Current) is a scanning electron microscope (SEM)-based technique utilized for semiconductor devices. Like Cathodoluminescence (CL), the technique depends on the creation of electron-hole pairs (EHPs) by the high energy electron beam of the SEM to create the analytical signal. EBIC utilizes a sensitive pico-ammeter connected between the p and n sides of the device to measure the resulting current, or EBIC, that flows as the electron beam is scanned across the sample in either plan-view (PV) or cross-section (XS). The intensity of the EBIC signal then corresponds to the strength of the built-in electric field around the p-n junction. Defects that act as recombination sites show significantly lower EBIC signal.

Typically, both EBIC and Secondary Electron (SE) signals are captured simultaneously, providing complimentary spatial maps of EBIC along with topographical and/or compositional information. EBIC is a very effective technique for locating otherwise hidden electrically active defects in large area (mm^2) devices with 50-100nm precision for further root cause failure analysis (FA) such as plan-view (PV) or cross-sectional (XS) SEM or Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (STEM).

Additionally, Electron Beam Induced Current can be utilized to quantitatively determine the vertical location of a p-n junction within a complex heteroepitaxial structure such as the ones found in Light Emitting Diodes (LEDs), Vertical Cavity Surface Emitting Laser (VCSEL)s and Edge Emitting Lasers. In some cases, estimates of the minority carrier diffusion lengths can also be calculated from the same quantitative XS-EBIC data.

Ideal Uses
  • Semiconductor failure analysis – Defect localization for deep FA
  • Device characterization – Junction location and minority carrier diffusion length
Technical Specifications
  • Signals Detected: Electron Beam Induced Current (EBIC)
  • Imaging/Mapping: Yes
  • Lateral Resolution: Typically varies from 20nm-500nm depending on SEM conditions and sample composition/topology
Strengths
  • Great at finding otherwise hidden localized failure sites in large area devices
  • Determination of p-n junction location in XS
Limitations
  • A p-n junction must be present in the sample
  • Acceptable maximum leakage currents are on the order of 10uA, otherwise EBIC data may be too noisy for usable analysis

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.