残余气体分析(RGA)
内部气体成分分析

为了消除由化学反应(腐蚀)引起的微电子部件的故障,必须知道该部件的内部气体成分。 MIL-STD-883,MIL-STD 750,方法1018通常是内部水蒸气含量的公认规范。 残留气体分析(RGA)测试方法定义了RGA设备校准和设备测试的程序,以及内部水蒸气含量的最大可接受限值。 EAG实验室作为DLA(国防后勤局)实验室具有多年的经验,适用于MIL-STD-883,750,方法1018。

什么是残余气体分析?

RGA不仅仅适用于水分含量分析。 EAG的RGA测试系统可以检测高达140 AMU的所有质量,从而可以识别和量化常见气体。 可以分析过程气氛样品和不寻常的密封环境以检测气体的释放或再吸收。 系统软件可以确定组分中的水分含量以及整个气体谱。

集成电路

除了提供常规的RGA分析外,EAG还具有技术专长,可以识别“问题”内部气体的来源并根据需要提供纠正措施。 根据我们在RGA测试方面多年的经验,我们可以为过程改进提供咨询 洛杉矶(原名SEAL实验室) 和 柯林斯堡(前身为Pernicka公司).

电子组件的寿命遵循可预测的趋势。 许多部件在很早的时候就过早失效(“婴儿死亡率”)。 一旦超过了初始故障阶段,它们通常会以很低的故障概率长时间运行。

高可靠性的电子组件通常需要长时间运行,几乎没有或根本没有机会更换。 轨道卫星就是这种情况的很好例子。 满足“空间使用”要求的零件还用于更换困难和/或故障会带来巨大风险的应用中。

婴儿死亡率问题可以通过在生产过程中实施严格的质量控制来解决。 SEM的金属化检查,玻璃化分析,彻底的盖前检查,电老化和DPA程序将确定相应的问题。 老年故障通常与瞬态现象(例如ESD或EOS),机械冲击,热偏移或化学反应(例如腐蚀)有关。

EAG提供的其他MIL-STD-883测试:

RGA的理想用途

  • 包: 可以分析DIP,四方包装,TO-x罐,金属盖装置,填充气体容器和许多其他几何形状

我们的强项

  • 分子量介于1-140质量单位之间的所有气体都可以通过调查扫描进行识别,或者可以预先选择多达16种组分进行定量分析

限制

  • 包装必须密封,腔体尺寸不小于0.01 cc

RGA技术规格

  • 卷数: 可以分析0.01cc到25cc卷。 精密射线照相技术用于确定包装的体积
  • 分析: 分子量介于1-140质量单位之间的所有气体都可以通过调查扫描进行识别,或者可以预先选择多达16种组分进行定量分析
  • MIL-STD-883 / 750测试: 测量并报告氮气,氧气,氩气,二氧化碳,水分,氢气,氦气,碳氟化合物,甲烷和氨气

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Residual Gas Analysis (RGA)
Internal Gas Composition Analysis

In order to eliminate failures in microelectronic components caused by chemical reaction (corrosion), the internal gas composition of the component must be known. MIL-STD-883, MIL-STD 750, Method 1018 is considered the best specification for internal water vapor content – also known as Residual Gas Analysis (RGA). The RGA testing method defines procedures for RGA equipment calibration and device testing, as well as the maximum acceptable limits for internal water vapor content.  The test not only qualifies a product that can be supplied to DLA for mission-critical programs but also provides vital information when a product does not meet the required criteria. EAG Laboratories has many years of experience as a DLA (Defense Logistics Agency) laboratory suitable for MIL-STD-883, 750, Method 1018.

What is Residual Gas Analysis?

RGA is useful for more than moisture content analysis. EAG’s RGA testing system can detect all masses up to 140 AMU, allowing common gasses to be identified and quantified. Samples of process atmospheres and unusual sealing environments can be analyzed to detect the evolution or resorption of gasses. The system software can determine moisture content as well as an entire spectrum of gasses in the component.

Electronic Components - DLA

In addition to providing routine Residual Gas Analysis, EAG has the technical expertise to identify the origin of the “problem” internal gasses and provide corrective action on an as-needed basis. We can provide consulting for process improvements, based on our many years of experience providing RGA testing which is now located at our lab in Syracuse, NY. 

The lifetime of electronic components follows a predictable trend. A significant number of components fail prematurely at a very early age (“infant mortality”). Once past this initial failure stage, they usually perform for a long period of time with a very low probability of failure.

High reliability electronic components are often required to operate for long periods of time, having little or no opportunity for replacement. Orbiting satellites are good examples of this situation. Parts that meet the requirement for “space usage” are also used in applications where replacement is difficult, and/or failure engenders great risk. Such as implantable electronic medical devices (pacemakers).

Residual Gas Analysis

EAG holds the distinction of being one of the two commercial testing services in the world that currently has suitability for Test Method 1018, Internal Water Vapor Content Testing.  Suitability for Test Method 1018 is the Gold Standard for testing reliability and accuracy, and it comes from the highest standards board in the United States. There are several different MIL-STD test methods and other EAG sites have DLA suitability for other test methods.  Here are some examples of other MIL-STD 883 testing available at EAG:

Ideal Uses of Residual Gas Analysis (RGA)

  • Packages: DIP’s, quad packs, TO-x cans, metal-lidded devices, electronic medical devices, gas sampling cylinders, process monitoring packages,  filler gas containers and many other hermetically sealed devices can be analyzed.

Strengths

  • All gases with molecular weights between 1-140 mass units can be identified with a survey scan, or up to 16 components can be preselected for quantitative analysis

Limitations

  • Package must be hermetically sealed with cavity size not smaller than 0.01 cc

RGA Technical Specifications

  • Volumes: 0.01 cc to 20 cc volumes can be analyzed. 
  • Analysis: All gases with molecular weights between 1-140 mass units can be identified with a survey scan, or up to 16 components can be preselected for quantitative analysis
  • MIL-STD-883/750 Testing: nitrogen, oxygen, argon, carbon dioxide, moisture, hydrogen, helium, fluorocarbons, methane, and ammonia are measured and reported

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.