俄歇电子能谱(AES,Auger)

俄歇电子能谱(AES或Auger)是一种表面敏感的分析技术,它利用高能电子束作为激发源。 被电子束激发的原子随后会松弛,从而导致“俄歇”电子的发射。 发射的俄歇电子的动能是样品顶部3-10 nm之内的元素的特征。

俄歇电子能谱SMART图表

AES是我们的一部分 智能图表系列。 另外,由于光点尺寸的范围,它提供了出色的表面灵敏度和小的光点尺寸。

此技术以法国物理学家Pierre Victor Auger在1923年的名字命名。但是,现在大多数人都认可了奥地利-瑞典物理学家 Lise Meitner 作为第一个发现从原子表面发射电子可以产生能量特征的人。

主要应用

由于电子束直径较小,AES 在投资粒子和小区域时非常有用,因为它能够研究小于 25 nm 的尺寸。 当薄膜太薄时,它也提供了一个很好的选择 EDS分析. AES 可以通过溅射将薄膜叠层采样到一微米或更深的深度。

最重要的是,AES 是一种半定量方法,这意味着我们通常根据设备制造商提供的标准灵敏度因素提供结果。 如果需要更准确的结果,可以通过查看已知成分并将它们与未知材料进行比较来获得。

可以在大小可变的区域上扫描电子束,也可以将其直接聚焦在感兴趣的特定表面特征上。 将电子束聚焦到10-20 nm直径的能力使得 俄歇电子能谱是一种非常有用的小表面特征元素分析工具。 还可以考虑的其他技术是 XPS 以及 TXRF。 当与溅射离子枪结合使用时,俄歇电子能谱还可以执行成分深度分析。

俄歇电子能谱的理想用途

  • 缺陷分析
  • 粒子分析
  • 表面分析
  • 小面积深度剖析
  • 薄膜分析组合物
  • 冶金分析

我们的强项

  • 首先,小面积分析(最小约20 nm)
  • 其次,出色的表面灵敏度(3-10 nm的信息深度)
  • 第三,良好的深度分辨率

限制

  • 最佳量化所需的标准
  • 绝缘体可能很难
  • 样品必须与真空兼容
  • 检测灵敏度通常为0.1-1 at%

俄歇电子能谱技术规格

  • 检测到信号:来自近表面原子的俄歇电子
  • 检测到元素:Li-U
  • 检测限:0.1-1at%; 亚单层
  • 深度分辨率:2-20 nm(在深度分析模式下)
  • 成像/映射:是的
  • 横向分辨率/探针尺寸: ≥10 纳米

EAG 在处理常规和非常规俄歇分析请求方面拥有无与伦比的经验,多年来,一直使用俄歇电子光谱来解决各种工业分析应用。

EAG广泛的俄歇电子光谱学专业知识具有直接的分析优势,无论我们是分析亚微米颗粒以确定晶圆加工设备中的污染源,还是分析电子设备中的缺陷以调查故障的根本原因。 最后,俄歇分析在 冶金 研究,包括在电镀抛光氧化层厚度的测定 医疗器械,EAG 不断利用其经验帮助解决许多行业领域客户的苛刻问题。

 

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES, Auger)

Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES or Auger) is a surface-sensitive analytical technique that utilizes a high-energy electron beam as an excitation source. Atoms that are excited by the electron beam can subsequently relax, leading to the emission of “Auger” electrons. The kinetic energies of the emitted Auger electrons are characteristic of elements present within the top 3-10nm of the sample.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy SMART chart

AES is part of our Smart Chart Series. In addition, due to the range of spot sizes, it provides excellent surface sensitivity and small spot size.

This technique was named after French physicist Pierre Victor Auger in 1923. However, most people now recognize Austrian-Swedish physicist Lise Meitner as the person that first that discovered that the emission of electrons from surfaces of atoms with can create energy signatures.

Key Applications

With a small electron beam diameter, AES is very useful when investing particles and small area as it has the ability to investigate sizes smaller than 25 nm. It also provides a good alternative when thin films are too thin for EDS​ analysis. AES can sample thin film stacks to a depth to a micron or more​ with sputtering.

Above all, AES is a Semi-quantitative method meaning that we typically provide results based on standard sensitivity factors provided by the equipment manufacturer. There more accurate results are required, these can be obtained by looking at known compositions, and comparing them to the unknown material.

The electron beam can be scanned over a variably sized area, or it can be directly focused on a specific surface feature of interest. This ability to focus the electron beam to diameters of 10-20nm makes Auger Electron Spectroscopy an extremely useful tool for elemental analysis of small surface features. Other techniques that may also be considered are XPS, and TXRF. When used in combination with a sputtering ion gun, Auger Electron Spectroscopy can also perform compositional depth profiling.

Ideal uses of Auger Electron Spectroscopy

  • Defect analysis
  • Particle analysis
  • Surface analysis
  • Small-area depth profiling
  • Thin film analysis composition
  • Metallurgical analysis

Stengths

  • Firstly, small area analysis (~20nm minimum)
  • Secondly, excellent surface sensitivity (3-10nm information depth)
  • Thirdly, good depth resolution

Limitations

  • Standards required for best quantification
  • Insulators can be difficult
  • Samples must be vacuum compatible
  • Detection sensitivity typically ≥1at%

Auger Electron Spectroscopy Technical Specifications

  • Signal Detected: Auger electrons from near surface atoms
  • Elements Detected: Li-U
  • Detection Limits: 0.1-1at%; sub-monolayer
  • Depth Resolution: 20-200Ǻ (in depth profiling mode)
  • Imaging/Mapping: Yes
  • Lateral Resolution/Probe Size: >=70Ǻ (field emission)

EAG has unmatched experience handling both routine and non-routine Auger analysis requests and for many years, has used Auger Electron Spectroscopy to address a wide variety of industrial analytical applications.

EAG’s extensive Auger Electron Spectroscopy expertise has direct analytical benefits, whether we analyze sub-μm particles to determine contamination sources in wafer processing equipment or analyze defects in electronic devices to investigate the root cause of failures. Finally, Auger analysis has extensive applications in metallurgical studies, including in the determination of oxide layer thickness of electro-polished medical devices, and EAG continually draws on its experience to help solve demanding problems from customers from many industry sectors.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.