电化学分析

电化学分析是使用电刺激来分析样品表面或溶液的化学反应性的技术的集合。 氧化和还原反应速率由恒电位仪控制和测量,该恒电位仪与浸没在电解质中的电极连接。 电化学分析用于例如腐蚀的研究,即由于与环境的反应而导致的材料降解。 可以改变测试条件(即温度,电解质成分,氧气的排除……),以了解特定环境下的腐蚀机理。 电化学分析可用于设计阶段的材料选择或预测故障机理和运行期间的寿命。

在电化学腐蚀研究中,工作电极(WE)是被研究的材料,它以受控方式被氧化。 维持电荷平衡的互补反应通常在惰性电极(CE)(例如铂)上进行。 参比电极(RE)用于控制接近WE表面的电势。 使用各种技术来测量耐腐蚀性。 在恒电位测量中,WE的电势是恒定的,并且电流是时间的函数。 在电位动力学测量中,电势通常缓慢上升,并测量作为电压函数的电流。 可以拟合腐蚀电位(电流为零的电位)周围的电流-电压曲线(Tafel分析),得出腐蚀速率处于平衡状态。 扫描至更高的电压可用于确定钝化和钝化击穿。 循环伏安法(CV)是电位动力学分析的一种特殊形式,其中电压反复上下波动。

在电化学阻抗谱(EIS)中,通常在较大的频率范围(高达MHz的亚Hz)上施加零偏移或非零偏移附近的AC电压。 EIS提供有关时间相关现象的信息,例如介电膜中的离子传导,固态化学反应,偶极弛豫等。

电化学分析的理想用途

  • 材料在特定环境下的耐腐蚀性
  • 耐腐蚀涂层或钝化的质量
  • 冷却水回路中缓蚀剂的效率

我们的强项

  • 与可靠性测试相比,速度更快
  • 腐蚀速率的定量和可再现信息以及腐蚀机理分析

限制

  • 完整的数据解释通常需要其他信息(例如,来自表面分析或显微镜检查的信息)
  • 样本大小和几何形状受到限制; 通常无法进行完整的产品测试

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Electrochemical Analysis

Electrochemical analysis is a collection of techniques that use electrical stimulation to analyze the chemical reactivity of a sample surface or a solution. Oxidation and reduction reaction rates are controlled and measured by a potentiostat, connected to electrodes submerged in an electrolyte. Electrochemical analysis is used for e.g. the study of corrosion, i.e. degradation of a material due to reaction with its environment. The test conditions (i.e. temperature, composition of electrolyte, exclusion of oxygen, …) can be varied to gain insight in the corrosion mechanism in specific environments. Electrochemical analysis is useful for materials selection during the design phase or prediction of failure mechanisms and lifetime during operation.

In electrochemical corrosion studies, the working electrode (WE) is the material under investigation, which is oxidized in a controlled way. The complementary reactions to maintain charge balance take place at a -usually inert- counter electrode (CE) (e.g. platinum). A reference electrode (RE) is used to control the potential close to the WE surface. Various techniques are used to measure corrosion resistance. In potentiostatic measurements, the potential of the WE is constant and the current is monitored as a function of time. In potentiodynamic measurements, the potential is usually ramped up slowly and the current as a function of voltage is measured. The current-voltage curve around the corrosion potential (the potential where current is zero) can be fitted (Tafel analysis), giving the corrosion rate in equilibrium. Scans to higher voltage can be used to determine passivation and passivation breakdown. Cyclic voltammetry (CV) is a special form of potentiodynamic analysis, where the voltage is swung up and down repeatedly.

In electrochemical impedance spectroscopy (EIS), an AC voltage around zero or non-zero offset is applied over usually a large frequency range (sub-Hz up to MHz). EIS provides information on time-dependent phenomena like ion conduction in dielectric films, solid state chemical reactions, dipole relaxation, and so on.

Ideal uses
  • Corrosion resistance of materials in specific environments
  • Quality of corrosion-resistant coatings or passivation
  • Efficiency of corrosion inhibitors in cooling water circuits
Strengths
  • Fast compared to reliability testing
  • Quantitative and reproducible information about corrosion rate and analysis of corrosion mechanism
Limitations
  • Complete data interpretation often requires additional information (e.g. from surface analysis or microscopy)
  • Sample size and geometry is limited; full product testing is often not possible

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.