原子探针断层扫描(APT)

原子探针层析成像(APT)是一种纳米级材料分析技术,可提供3D(三维)空间成像和化学成分测量,且灵敏度高。

该技术依赖于样品表面上单个原子/原子簇的电离和随后的场蒸发。 将样品制成圆锥形尖端的形式,其顶点半径<100 nm。 场蒸发的发生是由于基本直流电压偏置(通常在1-10 kV之间)和脉冲电压(导电样品)或脉冲激光(半导体样品和绝缘样品)引起的。 还可以将样品低温冷却至25-80 K之间,以抑制热晶格振动并改善空间定位。

2D映射(设备级别):用于提供有关设备结构的信息并与其他技术关联。

场蒸发离子被收集到位置敏感检测器(PSD)上,以准确识别x和y位置。 所收集的离子序列用于z位置。 x,y和z一起提供了样品尖端的空间成像。 还测量离子的飞行时间,并将其转换为质荷比以进行化学成分测量。 空间分辨率的深度最大为0.3 nm,横向最大为0.5 nm,仅限于金属样本。 半导体和绝缘样品的分辨率较低,通常最多约为1 nm。 APT的化学敏感性为10 ppm。

根据材料类型,分析区域的x和y约为30-50 nm,z约为100-500 nm,对于存在[a] 3D结构/埋入界面,[b]低的情况,该技术特别有用原子序数(Z)元素(作为掺杂剂)或存在于本体中,并且[c]纳米级簇是该结构的一部分。 尽管APT所提供的化学敏感性与 SIMS (二次离子质谱法),它可以识别3D结构中的元素,而SIMS则无法实现。 它还提供了比 TEM / STEM (扫描/透射电子显微镜)相关技术,例如 EDX (能量色散X射线光谱)和 EELS (电子能量损失谱)。 3D Compositional analysis of nanoscale clusters is routinely carried out using APT, as it is not possible to measure using TEM/STEM.纳米簇的XNUMXD成分分析通常使用APT进行,因为无法使用TEM / STEM进行测量。

Nanolab的LEAP 5000XR是最新的仪器功能,与旧版仪器相比,具有最高的检测器效率,更高的信噪比以及更大的捕获和分析体积。 这些功能可以捕获3D中无法使用其他技术进行测量的低浓度元素。

下载APT技术说明以了解更多信息。 

原子探针断层扫描 (APT) 的理想用途

  • 3D结构分析,例如FinFET,PMOS覆盖层,3D NAND,光伏中的弯曲或不均匀晶界。
  • 纳米级沉淀物和基体分析,用于成分和化学识别,例如金属合金(Al 7075,形状记忆,Ti)。
  • 轻元素分析-Be,B,Li,C和Al等锂离子电池。
  • 用于LED,finfet,2D NAND存储器和锂离子电池表面涂层的3D和3D低浓度掺杂剂。

分析类型

  • 元素图: 观察材料/设备中单个化学物质的同质性/异质性和 2D 或 3D 位置是原子探针断层扫描分析的一个重要方面。 通常 2D 地图和 3D 电影用于此分析。
  • 成分变化: APT提供了多种方法来分析成分,例如基于深度或浓度的线轮廓,曲线图和等浓度曲面。
  • 聚类分析: APT非常适合分析矩阵中元素的纳米级(1-10 nm)簇。 The cluster size and composition for individual clusters of any shape and size can be analyzed with APT.可以使用APT分析任何形状和大小的单个群集的群集大小和组成。 With a large number of clusters, further quantitative analysis can be carried out.对于大量的簇,可以进行进一步的定量分析。
  • 掺杂物识别和组成: 识别3D中的掺杂剂位置,其化学成分和数量密度(直到〜10 ppm或5E18原子/ cm3,最好的情况下)可以使用APT获得。
  • 相关研究: STEM,EBIC,EBSD,电子断层扫描和SIMS都是常规用于辅助3D APT数据解释的技术。
  • 具体区域分析: 根据客户要求,可以使用不同分析的组合来更好地了解特定区域。

原子探针断层扫描 (APT) 的优势

  • 小体积掺杂物映射。
  • 轻元素(例如Li和B)的检测和映射。
  • 识别同位素的能力。
  • 所有元素的检测概率均等(HU)。
  • 纳米级沉淀物的聚类分析。
  • 高质量分辨率,可识别样品中存在的各种元素。

APT 限制

  • 大量的样品制备时间(4-6小时)。
  • 采样量小。
  • 由于某些材料在高电场中可能不稳定,因此数据采集的收率低。
  • 需要针对每种材料类型和结构获得优化的参数。
  • 对于某些包含质谱重叠的不同元素的情况,定量准确性低。
  • 由于轨迹像差,异质结或复杂几何形状可能会限制空间分辨率和合成精度。

APT技术规格

  • 分析类型:3D
  • 材料种类:金属,半导体,氧化物,陶瓷。
  • 检测到元素:HU
  • 检测限:〜10 ppm(〜5E18原子/厘米3)
  • 成像/映射:是
  • 最大横向分辨率:横向0.5 nm和深度0.3 nm
  • 分析区域:50 * 50纳米2
  • 分析深度:100-500纳米
  • 检测离子类型:带正电
  • 同位素鉴定:是

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Atom Probe Tomography (APT)

Atom probe tomography (APT) is a nanoscale materials analysis technique that provides 3D (three-dimensional) spatial imaging and chemical composition measurements with high sensitivity.

The technique relies on ionization and subsequent field evaporation of individual atoms/atomic clusters from a specimen surface. The specimen is prepared in the form of a conical tip with an apex radius < 100 nm. The field evaporation occurs as a result of a base DC voltage bias (typically between 1-10 kV) and a pulsed voltage (conductive samples) or pulsed laser (semiconducting and insulating samples). The specimen is also cryogenically cooled down to between 25-80K to suppress thermal lattice vibrations and improve on spatial positioning.

2D maps (Device level): These are used to provide information about the device structure and to correlate with other techniques.

Field evaporated ions are collected onto a position sensitive detector (PSD) to accurately identify x and y position. The sequence of ions collected is used for z position. The x, y and z together provide the spatial imaging of the specimen tip. The time of flight of the ions is also measured and converted to a mass to charge ratio for chemical composition measurements. The spatial resolution is up to 0.3 nm in depth and 0.5 nm laterally, which is limited to metallic samples. The resolution for semiconducting and insulating samples is lower, typically ~ 1 nm at best. The chemical sensitivity for APT is 10 ppm.

With analysis areas that are~ 30-50 nm in x and y and between 100-500 nm in z based on material type, this technique is particularly useful for cases where [a] 3D structures/buried interfaces are present, [b] low atomic number (Z) elements are present, either as dopants or in the bulk and [c] nanometer sized clusters are part of the structure. While APT does not provide the same chemical sensitivity as SIMS (secondary ion mass spectrometry), it enables identification of elements within 3D structures that is not possible with SIMS. It also provides higher chemical sensitivity than TEM/STEM (scanning/ transmission electron microscopy) related techniques such as EDX (energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy) and EELS (electron energy loss spectroscopy). 3D Compositional analysis of nanoscale clusters is routinely carried out using APT, as it is not possible to measure using TEM/STEM.

The LEAP 5000XR at Nanolab is currently the latest in the instrument capability with highest detector efficiency, higher signal to noise ratio and larger volumes captured and analyzed compared to older versions of the instrument. These enable capture of low concentration elements in 3D that are not possible to measure using other techniques.

Download the APT Technique Note to learn more. 

Ideal Uses of APT

  • 3D structure analysis such as FinFET, PMOS cap layer, 3D NAND, curved or non-uniform grain boundaries in photovoltaics.
  • Nanoscale precipitates and matrix analysis for composition and chemical identification such as metallic alloys (Al 7075, shape memory, Ti).
  • Light element analysis- Be, B, Li, C and Al such as Li-ion batteries.
  • Low concentration dopants in 2D and 3D for LEDs, finfets, 3D NAND memory and surface coatings of Li-ion batteries.

Types of Analysis

  • Elemental maps: Observation of individual chemical species in the material/device for homogeneity/heterogeneity and 2D or 3D location is an important aspect of APT analysis. Typically 2D maps and 3D movies are used for this analysis.
  • Compositional variation: APT provides multiples ways to analyze composition, such as line profile, proxigram and iso-concentration surfaces that are based on depth or concentration.
  • Cluster analysis: APT has a strong suit in analysis for nanoscale (1-10 nm) clusters of elements within a matrix. The cluster size and composition for individual clusters of any shape and size can be analyzed with APT. With a large number of clusters, further quantitative analysis can be carried out.
  • Dopant identification and composition: Identification of dopant location in 3D, its chemical composition and number density (until ~10 ppm or 5E18 atoms/cm3, in best cases) can be obtained using APT.
  • Correlative study: In many cases, correlative studies with complementary techniques can help to answer our customer’s specific material questions. STEM, EBIC, EBSD, Electron tomography and SIMS are all techniques that are routinely used to aid the interpretation of 3D APT data.
  • Specific region analysis: Based on customer requirements, a combination of different analysis can be used to better understand a specific region.

Strengths

  • Small volume dopant mapping.
  • Light element (e.g. Li and B) detection and mapping.
  • Ability to identify isotopes.
  • Equal probability of detection of all elements (H-U).
  • Cluster analysis for nanoscale precipitates.
  • High mass resolution to identify various elements present in the specimen.

Limitations

  • Significant sample preparation time (4-6 hours).
  • Small sampling volumes.
  • Low data acquisition yield as some materials may not stable in the high electric field.
  • Optimized parameters need to be obtained for each material type and structure.
  • Low quantification accuracy for certain cases containing different elements with overlap in mass spectrum.
  • Spatial resolution and composition accuracy can be limited for heterojunctions or complex geometries due to trajectory aberrations.

APT Technical Specifications

  • Analysis type: 3D
  • Material type: Metals, semiconductors, oxides, ceramics.
  • Elements Detected: H-U
  • Detection Limits: ~10 ppm (~ 5E18 atoms/ cm3)
  • Imaging/Mapping: Yes
  • Maximum Lateral Resolution:0.5 nm in lateral and 0.3 nm in depth
  • Analysis area: 50*50 nm2
  • Analysis Depth: 100-500 nm
  • Detected Ion Type: Positive Charged
  • Isotope identification: Yes

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.