老化和可靠性认证

可靠性鉴定证明了微电子产品或IC在现场使用的适用性 并帮助我们的客户更好地了解基本的磨损机制,检测设计边缘性与参数漂移,并确定由于潜在的制造缺陷导致的故障率。 EAG基于行业标准提供基于压力的可靠性认证和基于知识的可靠性认证方法。 这些 可靠性测试技术 包括高温工作寿命测试(HTOL),热冲击,预处理,温度湿度偏差,高加速温度和湿度应力测试(HAST)等。 我们可以定制测试条件,以满足您的IC认证需求。

我们也有内部人员 PCB设计和组装服务 团队可能需要的任何老化板,HAST板或自定义固定装置。 EAG对我们的服务进行了优化,因此无论您是需要最大价值和快速响应还是需要完整的外包服务,EAG经验丰富的可靠性工程师都可以严格遵守适用的JEDEC和MIL-STD规范,制定认证计划并进行测试以满足您的要求。

我们的老化和可靠性鉴定实验室是全国最好的实验室之一,拥有超过75个试验箱和烤箱,严格的ESD安全控制,例行审核以及专门的工程人员,可为您提供所有老化,包装鉴定,过程认证以及您需要的其他可靠性数据。 我们的实验室服务程序已通过ISO 17025认证并获得DSCC认证。 我们遵循行业标准,例如JEDEC,Mil-Std,AEC以及客户的特定要求。 所有设备均使用NIST可追溯的工具和受监控的校准轮廓。

基于压力的测试
基于压力的鉴定方法为识别ic故障机制提供了广泛的方法,并且是帮助工程师识别在正常使用条件下可能发生故障的设备的有力工具。 热循环,偏置/湿度压力测试是许多产品经历的条件,并且测试条件旨在加速与现场条件相比的故障。

基于知识的测试
基于知识的资格认证方法基于检测和理解特定的失效机制。 当已知故障机制时,可以设计加速测试以在将产品放置到现场之前检测那些故障。

我们的测试方法包括:

湿度/回流敏感度分类

该测试用于确定对湿气引起的应力敏感的非密封固态表面贴装器件(SMD)的分类级别,以便可以对其进行正确的包装,存储和处理,以避免在组装,回流焊时损坏和/或维修操作。 这将确定在预处理中应使用的分类级别。 适用规格:IPC / JEDEC J-STD-020

预处理

预处理是测量非密封表面贴装器件对最坏情况下的吸湿性的抵抗力,然后是焊接过程的一个循环和两个返工循环。 在预处理之前和之后用声学显微镜检查部件的统计样本。 在进行温度湿度偏差测试,温度循环测试,热冲击测试,压力锅测试或高度加速的温度和湿度应力测试之前,表面贴装器件必须经过预处理,然后必须通过最终的电气测试。 适用规格:JESD22-A113

HTOL - 高温运行寿命测试

高温工作寿命(HTOL)测试是通过加速热激活失效机制来确定产品的可靠性。 客户部件在偏置的操作条件下经受高温。 通常,动态信号在压力下施加到器件。 典型的Vcc是最大工作电压。 该测试用于预测长期失败率。 所有测试样品必须在HTOL测试之前通过最终电气测试。 适用规格:JESD22-A108,MIL-STD-883方法1005.8,EIAJ-ED4701-D323。

HTSL - 高温存储寿命测试

高温存储寿命测试测量设备对模拟存储环境的高温环境的抵抗力。 应力温度通常设定为125°C或150°C,以加速温度对测试样品的影响。 在测试中,没有电压偏置施加到器件上。 适用规格:JESD22-A103,MIL-STD-883方法1008

温度循环

温度循环测试可加速特定模具和包装系统内的疲劳失效。 典型的失效机理包括模具开裂; 封装开裂,引线键合失效以及第一级或第二级互连焊料疲劳。 温度循环在一个,两个或三个腔室系统中完成,该系统控制空气温度和升温速率。 指定了十种不同的温度条件和四种不同的浸泡模式,温度条件和浸泡模式的组合取决于客户的要求。 适用规格:JESD22-A104,MIL-STD-883方法1010.7

热冲击

热冲击测试类似于温度循环测试,除了在热冲击测试中提供额外的压力:由于快速传输时间导致的温度突然变化。 因此,该测试可以检测由温度瞬变和温度梯度引起的故障机制。 该系统有两个惰性碳氟化合物浴,保持在规范中描述的极端温度。 指定了四种不同的浴温和停留时间组合,EAG工程师可以帮助您选择适合您的条件。 适用规格:JESD22-A106,MIL-STD-883方法1011.9

 

2nd级互连测试

进行客户提供的测试车辆的空气到空气温度循环以确定2nd级焊点的性能和可靠性。 这种类型的测试确定了表面贴装器件的焊接附件到刚性,柔性和刚性 - 柔性电路结构的不同级别的性能和可靠性。 适用规格:IPC 970。

温度湿度偏差

温度 - 湿度 - 偏差测试是一种环境测试,旨在加速腐蚀和树枝状生长。 这是高温和湿度应力测试(HAST)的替代方案。 尽管施加了偏压,但是该部件通常处于低功率状态以加速感兴趣的故障机制,同时最小化自加热。

测试持续时间为1008小时,读数(最终电气测试)在168小时和测试期间的504小时。 应力温度为85℃,相对湿度为85%。 测试应在减速结束后的48小时内进行。

偏置电压通常是最大工作电压。 可以应用两种偏差,这取决于哪一种更严重:连续偏压或循环偏压。

表面贴装器件的样品必须经过预处理,并在THB测试之前通过最终的电气测试。

我们拥有满足JESD22-A100D标准所要求的温度-湿度测试箱,包括温度,相对湿度和斜坡条件。 请与我们联系以了解更多信息或将您的产品提交进行测试。 适用规范和标准:JESD22-A100D,EIAJ-IC-121-17。

HAST - 高速加速温度和湿度应力测试

高度加速的温度和湿度应力测试(HAST)加速了与85°C / 85%相对湿度测试相同的失效机制。 典型的测试条件是130°C / 85%相对湿度,在压力下和非冷凝。 该测试加速了水分穿过外部保护材料(封装或密封)或沿着外部保护材料和金属导体之间的界面穿过它。 在高度加速的温度和湿度应力测试之前,对表面安装器件的样品进行预处理和最终电测试。 适用规格:JESD22-A110(有偏见),JESD22-A118(无偏)。

高压灭菌器或压力锅测试

用于IC的高压灭菌器或高压锅测试是一种环境测试,用于测量样品对水分渗透的抵抗力。 这是一种无偏差的高加速测试,它采用压力,湿度和温度条件来强制水分进入包装。 测试条件是121°C / 100%相对湿度,在压力下,湿气凝结。

在压力锅测试之前,对表面安装设备的样品进行预处理和最终的电气测试。 高压锅测试后,可以在最终电气测试之前清洁测试样品的引线。 测试应在减速结束后的48小时内执行。

该测试通常用于评估新的IC封装或何时对封装的材料进行了更改。 高压釜测试有助于发现包装中的缺陷,例如分层或金属腐蚀。 无偏高压釜测试的目的是评估非密封IC封装的耐湿性,并确定封装内部的故障。

我们的高压灭菌器室符合可以维持指定温度和相对湿度的压力室的JESD22-102标准。 尽管此测试通常需要96个小时,但条件范围可能从24小时(条件A)到336小时(条件F)。

作为可靠性认证的一部分的其他测试可包括:预处理,HTOL,HTSL,温度循环和热冲击。 适用规格和标准:JESD22-A102,EIAJ-IC-121-1。

机械测试

EAG对产品包进行了各种机械测试,以评估稳健性。 这些测试包括:

  • 物理尺寸(方法B100)
  • 标记永久性
  • 铅完整性(方法B105)
  • 可焊性(方法B102)
  • 耐焊接热(方法B106 - 条件A和B)
  • 耐溶剂(方法B107)
  • 模切/粘接强度
  • 机械冲击(方法B104)
  • 振动,可变频率(方法B103)

 

密封包装测试

EAG对包装进行精细泄漏和总体泄漏测试。 密封完整性测试对于军事,太空和商业应用中的密封包装至关重要。 密封性的丧失是可靠性的考虑因素,它将使水分和污染物进入封装腔,从而缩短设备的使用寿命。

根据MIL-STD 883进行总泄漏和细泄漏测试。

CSP可靠性认证

系统小型化,特别是在消费电子市场中,正在推动先进封装技术的发展,以适应更薄,更小和功耗更低的产品。 这增加了芯片级封装(CSP)的使用,其尺寸与芯片的尺寸基本相同。 CSP基板也越来越薄,以支持它们进入的电子设备。

不幸的是,使CSP如此吸引人的尺寸优势也使它们易碎并且在处理过程中易受损坏。 这可能导致处理或插入时碎裂,破裂和球损坏。

一般而言,CSP可靠性认证过程必须解决四个关键问题:

  • 处理
  • 传入和传出质量控制(IQC / OQC)
  • 套接
  • 无偏压力测试

EAG使用a)专业工艺,b)载体和其他定制夹具作为插座和子卡的替代品,在需要时,以及c)涵盖资格认证过程各个方面的操作员培训,开发出应对这些挑战的解决方案。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Burn-in & Reliability Qualification

Reliability qualification demonstrates the fitness of a microelectronic product or IC for use in the field and helps our clients better understand the fundamental wear-out mechanisms, detect design marginality combined with parameter drift and determine failure rates due to latent manufacturing defects. EAG provides stress-based reliability qualification and knowledge based reliability qualification methodologies based on industry standards. These reliability testing techniques include High Temperature Operating Life Test (HTOL), Thermal Shock, Preconditioning, Temperature Humidity Bias, Highly Accelerated Temperature and Humidity Stress Test (HAST), and more.  We can customize the test conditions to meet your IC qualification needs.

We also have an in-house PCB design and assembly services team for any burn-in boards, HAST boards, or custom fixtures that may be required. EAG has optimized our services so no matter if you need maximum value and fast response or complete outsourced services, EAG’s experienced Reliability Engineers can create qualification plans and perform testing to meet your requirements with strict adherence to applicable JEDEC and MIL-STD specifications.

Our burn-in & reliability qualification lab is one of the finest in the country with over 75 chambers & ovens, tight ESD safety controls, routine audits, and a dedicated engineering staff to provide you with all of the burn-in, package qualification, process qualification, and other reliability data you need. Our lab service procedures are ISO 17025 accredited and DSCC certified. We follow industry standards, such as JEDEC, Mil-Std, AEC, as well as customer specific requirements. All equipment uses N.I.S.T. traceable tooling and monitored, calibrated profiles.

Stress-Based Testing Stress based qualification methodology provides a broad approach to identifying ic failure mechanisms and is a powerful tool to help engineers identify devices that may fail under normal use conditions. Thermal cycling, bias/humidity stress testing are conditions which many products experience and test conditions are designed to accelerate failures compared to field conditions.

Knowledge Based Testing Knowledge based qualification methodology is based upon detecting and understanding specific failure mechanisms. When a failure mechanism is known, accelerated testing can be designed to detect those failures prior to placing a product in the field.

Our testing methods include:

Moisture/Reflow Sensitivity Classification

This test is used to determine the classification level of non-hermetic solid state surface mount devices (SMDs) that are sensitive to moisture-induced stress so that they can be properly packaged, stored, and handled to avoid damage during assembly, solder reflow attachment, and/or repair operations. This will determine the classification level that should be used in Preconditioning.  Applicable Spec: IPC/JEDEC J-STD-020

Preconditioning

Preconditioning is to measure the resistance of non-hermetic surface mount devices to worst-case moisture absorption followed by one cycle of the soldering process and two cycles of rework. A statistical sample of parts is inspected with an acoustic microscope before and after preconditioning. Before they undergo the temperature humidity bias test, the temperature cycle test, the thermal shock test, the pressure cooker test or the highly-accelerated temperature and humidity stress test, surface mount devices are subjected to preconditioning and must later pass a final electrical test. Applicable Spec: JESD22-A113

HTOL - High Temperature Operating Life Test

High temperature operating life (HTOL) test is to determine the reliability of products by accelerating thermally activated failure mechanisms. Customer parts are subjected to elevated temperatures under biased operating conditions. Typically, dynamic signals are applied to the devices under stress. The typical Vcc is the maximum operating voltage. The test is used to predict long term failure rates. All test samples must pass final electrical test prior to HTOL testing. Applicable Specs: JESD22-A108, MIL-STD-883 Method 1005.8, EIAJ-ED4701-D323.

HTSL - High Temperature Storage Life Test

The high-temperature storage life test measures device resistance to a high-temperature environment that simulates a storage environment. The stress temperature is typically set to 125°C or 150°C to accelerate the effect of temperature on the test samples. In the test, no voltage bias is applied to the devices. Applicable Specs: JESD22-A103, MIL-STD-883 Method 1008

Temperature Cycling

Temperature cycle testing accelerates fatigue failures within a specific die and packaging system. Typical failure mechanisms include die cracking; package cracking, wire bond failure, and first or second level interconnect solder fatigue. The temperature cycling is done in one, two, or three chamber systems that control the air temperature and ramp rate. Ten different temperature conditions and four different soak modes are specified, and the combination of temperature condition and soak mode depends on customer requirements. Applicable Specs: JESD22-A104, MIL-STD-883 Method 1010.7

Thermal Shock

Thermal shock testing is similar to temperature cycle testing, except that in thermal shock tests an additional stress is provided: a sudden change in temperature due to a rapid transfer time. Thus the test can detect failure mechanisms caused by temperature transients and temperature gradients. The system has two inert fluorocarbon baths that are maintained at the temperature extremes described in the spec. Four different combinations of bath temperatures and dwell times are specified, and EAG engineers can help you choose the conditions that are applicable for your part. Applicable Specs: JESD22-A106, MIL-STD-883 Method 1011.9

 

2nd Level Interconnect Testing

Air to air temperature cycling of customer supplied test vehicles is performed to determine the performance and reliability of 2nd level solder joints. This type of testing establishes different levels of performance and reliability of the solder attachments of surface mount devices to rigid, flexible and rigid-flex circuit structures. Applicable Specs: IPC 970.

Temperature Humidity Bias

The temperature-humidity-bias test is an environmental test designed to accelerate corrosion and dendritic growth. This is an alternative to the High Temperature and Humidity Stress Test (HAST). Although bias is applied, the part is typically put in a low power state to accelerate the failure mechanisms of interest while minimizing self-heating.

The duration of the test is 1008 hours, with readouts (final electrical tests) at 168 hours and 504 hours during the test. The stress temperature is 85°C, and the relative humidity is 85%. Testing should be performed no later than 48 hours after the end of ramp-down.

The bias voltage is typically the maximum operating voltage. Two kinds of bias may be applied depending on which one is more severe: continuous bias or cycled bias.

Samples of surface mount devices must undergo preconditioning and pass a final electrical test prior the THB test.

We have temperature-humidity test chambers that meet the requirements called out in the JESD22-A100D standard including the temperature, relative humidity, and ramp conditions.  Please contact us to learn more or submit your product for testing. Applicable Specifications and Standards: JESD22-A100D, EIAJ-IC-121-17.

HAST - Highly Accelerated Temperature and Humidity Stress Test

The highly accelerated temperature and humidity stress test (HAST) accelerates the same failure mechanisms as the 85°C/85% relative humidity test. The typical test conditions are 130°C/85% relative humidity, under pressure, and non-condensing. The test accelerates the penetration of moisture through the external protective material (encapsulated or seal) or along the interface between the external protective material and the metallic conductor, which pass through it. Samples of surface mount devices are subjected to preconditioning and a final electrical test prior to the highly accelerated temperature and humidity stress test. Applicable Specs: JESD22-A110 (biased), JESD22-A118 (unbiased).

Autoclave or Pressure Cooker Test

The Autoclave or pressure cooker test for ICs is an environmental test that measures a samples resistance to moisture penetration. It is an unbiased highly accelerated test that employs conditions of pressure, humidity and temperature to force moisture into the package. The test conditions are 121°C/100% relative humidity, under pressure, with moisture condensation.

Samples of surface mount devices are subjected to preconditioning and a final electrical test prior to the pressure cooker test. After the pressure cooker test, the leads of the test samples can be cleaned before the final electrical test.  Testing should be performed no later than 48 hours after the end of ramp-down.

This test is typically used to evaluate new IC packages or when changes have been made to the materials of the package. The autoclave test helps uncover weaknesses in the package such as delamination or metallization corrosion.  The purpose of the unbiased autoclave test is to evaluate the moisture resistance of non-hermetic IC packages and identify failures inside the package.

Our Autoclave chamber meets the JESD22-102 standards for a pressure chamber that can maintain a specified temperature and relative humidity.  Although 96 hours is typical for this test, conditions can range from 24 hours (Condition A) through 336 hours (Condition F).

Other tests that are part of Reliability Qualification can include: Preconditioning, HTOL, HTSL, Temperature Cycling and Thermal Shock. Applicable Specifications and Standards: JESD22-A102, EIAJ-IC-121-1.

Mechanical Tests

EAG conducts a variety of mechanical tests on product packages to evaluate robustness. These tests include:

  • Physical Dimensions (Method B100)
  • Mark Permanency
  • Lead Integrity (Method B105)
  • Solderability (Method B102)
  • Resistance to Soldering Heat (Method B106 — Conditions A and B)
  • Resistance to Solvents (Method B107)
  • Die Shear / Bond Strength
  • Mechanical Shock (Method B104)
  • Vibration, Variable Frequency (Method B103)

 

Hermetic Package Testing

EAG performs both Fine Leak and Gross Leak testing of packages.  Seal integrity testing is crucial for hermetic packages in military, space, and commercial applications. A loss of hermeticity is a reliability concern and will allow moisture and contaminants to enter the package cavity shortening device lifetime.

Both Gross Leak and Fine Leak testing are performed per MIL-STD 883.

CSP Reliability Qualification

System miniaturization, especially in consumer electronics market, is driving the development of advanced packaging technologies to accommodate products that are thinner, smaller, and consume less power. This has increased the use of Chip Scale Packages (CSPs), which are essentially the same size as the die. CSP substrates are also getting thinner to support the electronics they go inside.

Unfortunately, the size advantages that make CSPs so attractive also make them fragile and susceptible to damage during handling. This can result in chipping, cracking and ball damage from handling or socketing.

In general, the CSP reliability qualification process must address four key issues:

  • Handling
  • Incoming and outgoing quality control (IQC/OQC)
  • Socketing
  • Unbiased stress testing

EAG has developed the solution to these challenges using a combination of a) specialized processes, b) carriers and other custom fixtures as an alternative to sockets and daughter cards, when needed, and c) operator training covering all aspects of the qualification process.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.