差分霍尔效应计量(DHEM)

差分霍尔效应计量(DHEM)是一种电学表征技术,用于通过电隔离的半导体薄膜获得活性掺杂剂(载流子浓度),薄层电阻和载流子迁移率的深度分布。 通常,分析Si,SiGe,Ge样品直至100nm深度。 还通过额外的处理步骤分析了非典型样品,例如较厚的III-V或Si样品。

将要表征的膜图案化以形成测试图案台面,该台面将半导体膜的一部分与周围的大块材料的其余部分电隔离。 测试图案台面具有四个用于探针接触的区域。 触点需要合理的欧姆电压,并在产生高信噪比的电平下注入稳定的电流。 密封在测试图案中间的处理喷嘴通过电化学处理连续地氧化或蚀刻与电解质接触的测试区域。

为了获得DHEM数据,通过电化学处理(蚀刻或氧化)以受控步骤减小测试区域处的半导体层的电活性厚度(电路径),并且通过霍尔效应确定剩余膜的薄层电阻和迁移率。每个厚度减少步骤后的测量。 重复该过程,直到达到所需的凹坑深度或直到薄膜的薄层电阻超过约1 M ohm / square(对于某些材料如Ge可能更低)。 然后使用微分方程解释所得数据,所述微分方程产生作为深度函数的薄层电阻,电阻率,载流子浓度和迁移率分布。

DHEM的理想用途

  • 在电绝缘的半导体层中测量活性掺杂剂的深度分布,薄层电阻和载流子迁移率
  • 评估掺杂剂在薄膜中和界面处的活化或迁移率变化

我们的强项

  • 与测量总掺杂物浓度的SIMS相比,测量了载流子浓度(活性掺杂物)
  • 动态减薄厚度并测量迁移率,薄层电阻和载流子浓度

限制

  • 有害
  • pn结必须将待测膜与基板隔离,或者待测膜必须在绝缘层上

DHEM技术规格

  • 典型的衬底包括Si,Ge,SiGe
  • 其他基材(例如III-V薄膜材料)可以通过额外的处理步骤进行分析
  • 具有单层分辨率,可获得近表面和高达100 nm的有源掺杂物和迁移率深度分布图
  • 最小样本尺寸1.5厘米x 1.5厘米

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Differential Hall Effect Metrology (DHEM)

Differential Hall Effect Metrology (DHEM) is an electrical characterization technique used for obtaining depth profiles of active dopants (carrier concentration), sheet resistance and carrier mobility through an electrically isolated semiconductor film. Typically, Si, SiGe, Ge samples are analyzed up to 100nm depth. Non-typical samples such as thicker III-V or Si samples have also been analyzed with extra processing steps.

Films to be characterized are patterned to form a test pattern mesa which electrically isolates a portion of the semiconductor film from the rest of the surrounding bulk material. The test pattern mesa has four regions for probe contacts. The contacts need to be reasonably ohmic and inject stable currents at levels that produces high signal-to-noise ratios. A process nozzle sealed in the middle of the test pattern continuously oxidizes or etches a test region in contact with electrolytes by means of electrochemical processing.

To obtain DHEM data, the electrically active thickness (electrical path) of the semiconductor layer at the test region is reduced in controlled steps by electrochemical processing (etching or oxidation), and the sheet resistance and mobility of the remaining film is determined by Hall effect measurements after each thickness reduction step. This procedure is repeated until the desired crater depth is reached or until the sheet resistance of the film exceeds about 1 M ohm/square (may be lower for some materials such as Ge). The resulting data is then interpreted using differential equations which yield sheet resistance, resistivity, carrier concentration, and mobility profiles as a function of depth.

Ideal Uses
  • To measure the depth profile of active dopants, sheet resistance and carrier mobility in an electrically isolated semiconductor layer.
  • To evaluate dopant activation or variation of mobility through the film and at interfaces.
Technical Specifications
  • Typical substrates include Si, Ge, SiGe
  • Other substrates such as III-V thin film materials can be analyzed with extra processing steps
  • Active dopant and mobility depth profiles for near-surface and up to 100nm are achievable, with monolayer resolution
  • Minimum sample size 1.5cm by 1.5cm
Strengths
  • Carrier concentration (active dopants) is measured, in contrast to SIMS which measures total dopant concentration
  • Dynamic thickness reduction and measurement of mobility, sheet resistance and carrier concentration
Limitations
  • Destructive
  • A p-n junction must be isolating the film to be measured from the substrate, or the film to be measured must be on an insulating layer

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.