专业样品制备

EAG 拥有一系列专门的样品制备和样品处理技术,可以显着提高分析研究成功的可能性。 其中一些细节如下:

冷热阶段XPS
水分含量高甚至液体的样品可以冷却至-80至-100°C进行分析。 典型的应用是由于暴露于特高压条件或高能量辐射而可能发生变化的表面,例如隐形眼镜。 还可以将样品加热到800°C,以检查表面化学随温度的潜在变化。

冷热阶段TOF-SIMS
样品可以冷却到接近液氮的温度进行分析。 这对于在室温下不是固体或含有可在 UHV 真空系统中泵出的挥发性成分的样品非常有用。 该样品台还可以在分析过程中将样品保持在水合状态:原位完成水从冷冻表面升华,然后可以分析样品。 样品也可以加热到 450°C,以检查表面化学作为温度函数的潜在变化。

用于XPS和Auger的惰性气体样品真空转移
使用 EAG 提供的硬件,样品可以安装在惰性气体环境下。 这通常是在客户现场或在 EAG 使用手套箱/袋子完成的。 一旦安装在惰性转移容器中,样品就可以根据需要运送到 EAG。 转移容器安装在进样口并排空,然后将样品转移到分析室进行分析,不暴露在空气或湿气中。 使用这种方法,无需将样品暴露在空气中,就可以成功地对样品进行俄歇和 XPS 分析。 此外,还提供完整的手套箱,用于在氩气气氛下处理样品并将样品材料引入 XPS 设备。 手套箱的一个好处是可以将粉末样品引入 XPS,而无需将其压入铟或使用胶带。

俄歇原位真空冶金断裂
可以在超高压下破碎金属样品(加工成特定尺寸),以使用俄歇电子能谱(AES)检查新近破碎,未污染表面的晶界偏析或其他特征。 这可以实质上帮助确定在新形成的裂缝表面处观察到的物种的重要性。

切片机和冷冻切片机
钻石或玻璃刀片用于横截面较软的材料(通常无法抛光且可能不适合劈开)以查看横截面中的图层或埋藏的特征。 典型的样品包括多层聚合物或药物珠。 然后通常通过SEM或TOF-SIMS分析这些横截面。 当典型的FIB制备不能提供足够大的横截面时,该技术也可以用于TEM样品制备。 低温能力(低至液氮温度)对于横截面软样品特别有用。

离子磨横截面(Cryo)
氩离子束用于在不向样品施加机械应力的情况下横切各种材料,直至1mm区域。 当在加工过程中机械横截面(抛光或研磨)会使样品材料变形或涂抹时,通常使用此方法。 低温离子铣削用于柔软的聚合物类型的样品。

FIB横截面
聚焦离子束(通常使用Ga离子)用于横截面样品的特定缺陷或特征,以暴露该区域以进行进一步分析或测量。 FIB也可用于TEM(透射电子显微镜)样品制备。

开盖
用于将IC封装在其封装中。 使用热酸去除聚合物密封剂,导致裸露的芯片保留在封装中。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Specialized Sample Preparation

EAG has a range of specialized sample preparation and sample handling techniques that can significantly improve the likelihood of success in an analytical investigation. A number of these are detailed as follows:

Hot and Cold Stage XPS
Samples with high levels of moisture or even liquids can be cooled down to -80 to -100°C for analysis. Typical applications are for surfaces that may change due to exposure to UHV conditions or high energy radiation, for example contact lenses. Samples can also be heated up to 800°C to examine potential changes in surface chemistry as a function of temperature.

Hot and Cold Stage TOF-SIMS
Samples can be cooled to near liquid nitrogen temperatures for analysis. This is useful for samples that are not solids at room temperature or contain volatile components that may be pumped off in a UHV vacuum system. This sample stage can also maintain samples in a hydrated state during analysis: sublimation of the water from the frozen surface is done in-situ, and the sample can then be analyzed. Samples can also be heated up to 450°C to examine potential changes in surface chemistry as a function of temperature.

Inert Gas Sample Vacuum Transfer for XPS and Auger
With EAG-provided hardware, the sample can be mounted under an inert gas environment. This is normally accomplished using a glove box/bag either at the client’s site or at EAG. Once mounted in the inert transfer vessel, the sample can be shipped to EAG as needed. The transfer vessel is mounted on the sample introduction port and evacuated, and the sample is then transferred to the analytical chamber for analysis, without exposure to air or moisture. Using this method, Auger and XPS analysis can successfully be performed on samples without exposing them to air. Additionally, a complete glovebox is available for sample handling under argon atmosphere and introduction of the sample material into the XPS equipment. A benefit of the glovebox is that powder samples can be introduced into the XPS without the need of pressing it in Indium or the use of adhesive tape.

In-situ Vacuum Metallurgical Fracture for Auger
Metal samples (machined to a specific dimension) can be broken under UHV to examine grain boundary segregation or other features of the freshly fractured, uncontaminated surface using Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES). This can help substantially in determining the significance of species observed at the newly formed fracture surface.

Microtome and Cryomicrotome
Diamond or glass blades are used to cross-section soft materials (that cannot usually be polished and may not be suitable for cleaving) to view layers or buried features in cross-section. Typical samples include multi-layer polymers or drug beads. These cross-sectioned surfaces are then typically analyzed by SEM or TOF-SIMS. This technique can also be used for TEM sample preparation, when typical FIB preparation does not provide a large enough cross-section. The Cryo capabilities (down to liquid nitrogen temperatures) are particularly useful for cross-sectioning soft samples.

Ion Mill Cross-sectioning (Cryo)
An argon ion beam is used to cross-section a variety of materials up to a 1mm region, without applying mechanical stress to the sample. This is typically used when mechanical cross-sectioning (polishing or grinding) would deform or smear the sample material during the process. Cryo Ion milling is used for soft, polymer type samples.

FIB Cross-sectioning
Focused Ion Beam (typically using Ga ions) is used to cross-section specific defects or features of a sample to expose the region for further analysis or measurements. FIB can also be used for TEM (Transmission Electron Microscope) sample preparation.

Decap
Used for de-encapsulation of IC’s in their packages. Removal of polymer encapsulant using hot acid resulting in an exposed die that remains in package.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.