原子分辨率EDS

应用笔记

薄膜生长的进步引起了对在原子尺度上表征结构和化学性质的需求。 在许多情况下,诸如界面突变和成分分离等功能对于理解设备性能很重要。 扫描透射电子显微镜(STEM)提供了一种逐个原子地直接观察材料结构的途径,但是,直到最近的进展,无法收集足够的信号限制了高分辨率光谱学。 在EAG实验室,我们现在能够以原子级执行能量色散X射线光谱(EDX / EDS)。

结果与讨论

沿<110>区域轴取向的InGaAsSb超晶格的原子分辨结构使用HAADF(Z对比度)STEM显示,其强度分布与图1中图像的黄线相对应。每个亮点对应于a的位置。原子列,其强度按比例缩放到列中的平均原子数。 尽管强度随列中的原子序数和原子总数而定,但是在许多情况下,提取组​​成信息仍然很困难。 对于三元或四元系统,可能会在几种情况下发生相同的强度。 例如,In-Ga-Al混合柱可能看起来具有与纯Ga柱相同的强度。

图1:以原子分辨率获得的InGaAsSb超晶格的HAADF(Z对比度)图像。 样品由北卡罗莱纳州A&T提供。

为了解决HAADF图像强度中的歧义,可以使用光谱法通过使用从样品-电子束相互作用生成的X射线来提供带有与存在的每种元素种类相关的信号的信号图。 在前几代EDS检测器中,低信号收集妨碍了原子分辨率下可实现的信号,从而限制了执行原子标度映射的能力。 使用现代技术,可获得的信号大约高出一个数量级,并且现在可以以原子分辨率执行这些技术。

图2显示了在超晶格结构的重复单元上获取的EDS图,其颜色对应于每种元素的类型。 与HAADF图像相反,现在可以清楚地识别出每个不同的层,包括InSb的界面单层,从而消除了与黑白Z对比图像相关的歧义。 如通过图2中的示例所示,EDS阐明了层组成以及样品中的极性。 尽管对于原子分辨的EDS映射,信号是清晰的,但信号速率仍远低于典型的Z对比图像。 因此,EDS测绘对有限的电子束辐射的敏感性有限。

图2:叠加在HAADF(Z对比度)图像上的Ga,As,In和Sb的元素EDS映射。 样品由北卡罗莱纳州A&T提供。

对于具有独特晶格位点的更复杂的结构,可以采用原子分辨率来确定每种原子在晶体中的位置。 例如,钛酸锶(STO)和锰酸镧锶(LSMO)都属于钙钛矿(ABO3)结构,这是一个立方系统,其元素不同,分别占据A和B子晶格。 图3显示了STO / LSMO接口处阳离子的原子分辨元素信号。 通过比较来自第二面板(Sr + Mn)和第三面板(Ti + La)的信号,我们观察到La和Ti物种形成界面层,并且Sr和Mn中信号不足。 3和4面板显示了两层中A和B位置的信号,其中La替换了A子晶格中的Sr,而Mn替换了B子晶格中的Ti。 最后,我们可以形成一个合成图,显示整个界面上的元素分布。

图3:EDS图解析了STO / LSMO界面上的原子结构,左侧具有不同的组合元素图,而示意图在右侧显示了钙钛矿晶体结构。

在许多原子尺度上,缺陷会导致化学偏析。 对于掺杂Mg的GaN的例子,不是Mg在整个材料中均匀分布,而是形成缺陷复合物,导致位错。 图4显示了掺有Mg的GaN样品,其中红色框对应于块状GaN,绿色框表示晶格缺陷。 使用原子分辨的EDS,该缺陷显示出富含Mg且Ga缺乏。如果没有光谱指纹,则无法通过标准的Z对比成像确定样品中Mg的分布。

图4:原子分辨的HAADF图像和EDS图,显示了整体GaN晶体和含Mg的缺陷。 样品由法政大学离子束技术研究中心提供。

在所示的示例之外,该技术广泛适用于晶体材料。 通过本文末尾的参考资料,可以找到几个特定的​​示例。 在许多情况下,晶格具有独特的位置,某些元素优先存在于结构中。 晶格中元素的分布从根本上与属性相关联,并且可以影响感兴趣的区域(例如界面)。

下载此资源以了解更多信息!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Atomic Resolution EDS

APPLICATION NOTE

Advances in thin film growth has created a need for characterizing structure and chemistry at the atomic scale. In many cases, features such as interface abruptness and compositional segregation are important for understanding device performance. Scanning transmission electron microscopy (STEM) offers a route towards directly observing material structure on an atom-by-atom basis, however, until recent advances, inabilities to collect enough signal limited high-resolution spectroscopy. At EAG Laboratories, we now have the capability to perform energy dispersive X-ray spectroscopy (EDX / EDS) at the atomic scale.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

The atomically resolved structure of InGaAsSb superlattice oriented along the <110> zone axis is shown using HAADF (Z-contrast) STEM with an intensity profile corresponding to the yellow line from the image in Figure 1. Each bright spot corresponds to the position of a column of atoms with intensity scaling to the average atomic number in the column. Although the intensity scales with atomic number and total number of atoms in a column, extracting compositional information is elusive in many cases. For ternary or quaternary systems, the same intensity for several situations may occur. For example, an In-Ga-Al mixed column may appear to have the same intensity as a pure Ga column.

Figure 1: HAADF (Z-contrast) image of an InGaAsSb superlattice acquired at atomic resolution. Sample was provided courtesy of North Carolina A&T.

To resolve ambiguities in HAADF image intensities, spectroscopy can be used to provide maps with signals linked to each elemental species present by using the X-rays generated from the sample-electron beam interaction. In previous generations of EDS detectors, low signal collection hampered the achievable signal at atomic resolution, restricting the ability to perform atomic scale mapping. With modern technology, the attainable signal is roughly an order of magnitude higher and these techniques can now be performed at atomic resolution.

Figure 2 shows an EDS map acquired over a repeat unit of the superlattice structure with colors corresponding to each type of element. In contrast to the HAADF image, each distinct layer is now clearly identified including the interfacial monolayers of InSb, removing the ambiguities associated with the black and white Z-contrast image. As demonstrated through the example in Figure 2, EDS clarifies the layer composition as well as the polarity in the sample. Although the signal is clear for the atomically resolved EDS map, the signal rate is still much lower than the typical Z-contrast image. Thus, EDS mapping can have limited application to samples that are sensitive to extensive electron beam radiation.

Figure 2: Elemental EDS maps for Ga, As, In, and Sb overlaid on the HAADF (Z-contrast) image. Sample was provided courtesy of North Carolina A&T.

For more complex structures with unique lattice sites, atomic resolution can be employed to determine where each type of atom resides in the crystal. Take for example, strontium titanate (STO) and lanthanum strontium manganate (LSMO) both belong to the perovskite (ABO3) structure, a cubic system with different elements occupying the A and B sublattices. Figure 3 shows the atomically resolved elemental signal for the cations at the STO/LSMO interface. By comparing the signals from the second panel (Sr + Mn) and third panel (Ti + La), we observe that the La and Ti species form the interfacial layer and that there is a deficiency of signal in the Sr and Mn. Panels 3 and 4 show the signal for the A and B sites across the two layers where La replaces Sr in the A sublattice and Mn replaces Ti in the B sublattice. Finally, we can form a composite map showing the elemental distribution across the interface.

Figure 3: EDS map resolving the atomic structure across an STO/LSMO interface with different combined elemental maps on the left side and a schematic showing the perovskite crystal structure on the right.

In many atomic scale defects results in chemical segregation. For the example of Mg doped GaN, rather than a uniform distribution of Mg throughout the material, defect complexes are formed resulting in dislocations. Figure 4 shows the Mg doped GaN sample with a red box corresponding to bulk GaN and the green box indicating the lattice defect. Using atomically resolved EDS, the defect is shown to be rich in Mg and deficient in Ga. Without a spectroscopic fingerprint, determining the distribution of Mg in the sample would not be possible through standard Z-contrast imaging.

Figure 4: Atomically resolved HAADF image and EDS maps showing the bulk GaN crystal and a Mg containing defect. Sample was provided courtesy of Hosei University Research Center of Ion Beam Technology.

Outside of the examples shown, this technique is broadly applicable to crystalline materials. Several specific examples can be found through the references at the end of this article. In many cases, crystalline lattices have unique sites which certain elements preferentially reside in the structure. The distribution of elements in the lattice is fundamentally linked to the properties and can affect areas of interest such as interfaces.

SUMMARY

EAG Laboratories is now able to provide EDS with atomic scale resolution. These maps further push the analytical capabilities to study layer chemistry with increasingly small dimensions. Through the improved resolution, more precise measurements for chemical distribution across interfaces is possible. Although these techniques are possible through increased signal for spectroscopy at the atomic scale, samples must be resistant enough to the electron beam over a much longer time than standard Z-contrast imaging.

REQUIREMENTS AND LIMITATIONS

  • Crystalline material
  • Resistant to electron beam damage
  • Works best for elements with atomic number of 10 or higher
  • Large area maps reduce signal per pixel so smaller areas produce maps with better signal

REFERENCES

A. J. D’Alfonso, B. Freitag, D. Klenov, and L. J. Allen. Atomic-resolution chemical mapping using energy-dispersive x-ray spectroscopy. Phys. Rev. B, 81:100101, Mar. 2010.

Dmitri O Klenov and Joshua MO Zide. Structure of the InAlAs/InP interface by atomically resolved energy dispersive spectroscopy. Applied Physics Letters,99(14):141904, 2011. Jacob L. Jones, James M. LeBeau, Jason Nikkel, Adedapo A. Oni, J. Houston Dycus, Clayton Cozzan, Fang-Yin Lin, Aleksandr Chernatynskiy, Juan C. Nino, Susan B. Sinnott, Sungwook Mhin, Geo_ L. Brennecka, and Jon Ihlefeld. Combined experimental and computational methods reveal the evolution of buried interfaces during synthesis of ferroelectric thin films. Advanced Materials Interfaces, 2015.

Ping Lu, Lin Zhou, M. J. Kramer, and David J. Smith. Atomic-scale chemical imaging and quantification of metallic alloy structures by energy-dispersive x-ray spectroscopy. Sci. Rep., 4:3945, 02 2014.

Ping Lu, Eric Romero, Shinbuhm Lee, Judith L MacManus-Driscoll, and Quanxi Jia. Chemical quantification of atomic-scale EDS maps under thin specimen conditions.Microscopy and Microanalysis, 20:1782. 1790, 2014.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.