热重分析–傅里叶变换红外光谱(TGA–FTIR)服务

应用笔记

蒂娜·海特克斯(Tina Heetderks)和王新伟(Xinwei Wang)博士

引言

商业合成聚合物,例如环氧树脂,聚丙烯腈,聚丙烯酸酯,酚醛树脂,聚乙二醇,聚氨酯,聚烯烃,聚硅氧烷和含氟聚合物,已广泛用于许多行业。 这些聚合物的主链具有-CC-,-CO-,-CN-,-CS-,Si-O-键,并带有取代基,例如烷基,芳基,-OH,-NH2等等,可以进一步用F,Cl和Br进行修饰。 在空气中,惰性或减压条件下进行热处理时,它们可能释放出各种分子,包括氢2O,NH3,CO,CO2,HCN,HCNO,NOx,SO2,CSO,HF,HCl,HBr,CH4,C2H4,硅烷,硅氧烷,碳氟化合物,甲醛,光气,碳氟化合物和其他挥发性有机物。 这些物种不仅导致性能下降和最终故障,而且引起极大的安全和健康隐患。 因此,其中大多数都受到EPA的严格监管。

这些物质的质谱鉴定通常需要真空条件,并且鉴定经常遭受质量重叠和电离产率差的困扰,这使检测和鉴定成为问题。 另一方面,这些分子种类在450厘米处具有独特的振动模式-1 -4000厘米-1 红外区域(图1)。 实际上,FTIR是分析燃烧废气成分的首选方法。1

TGA-FTIR结合了TGA和FTIR的优势,可进行材料表征和除气分析。 当样品在TGA分析仪中加热时,它可以准确记录质量损失,并通过使释放的分子种类流过FTIR仪器的长光路气室来识别由相应的质量损失引起的释放的分子种类。 在Eurofins EAG锡拉丘兹实验室,上述TGA-FTIR设置可确保对10-100 mg样品进行高达百万分之50-100百万质量损失的高灵敏度检测。

图1常见脱气物质的参考FTIR光谱

案例研究

聚丙烯腈(PAN)的脱气研究证明了TGA-FTIR分析。 作为碳纤维的前体,PAN必须经历一系列过程,包括热氧化稳定化,热解和石墨化,并伴随大量的脱气。 TGA-FTIR为热解动力学和除气曲线提供了强大的见解。 图2描绘了在TGA-FTIR仪器上针对热氧化稳定的PAN样品(Sigma-Aldrich)(包括CO,NH3,HCN和HNCO都是高度危险的空气污染物。 插入物是相应的TGA曲线,显示了热分解模式和热解动力学。 图3清楚地表明了脱气的CO,NH3,HCN和HNCO。

图2热氧化稳定的PAN的TGA-FTIR曲线,显示HCN,HNCO,NH的放气3 CO的温度范围是350°C至800°C。 氩气氛。 升温速率10°C / min。 插入是TGA配置文件。

图3 FTIR识别出的释气物质。 黑色– 500°C时放气的FTIR快照光谱; 红色– HCN(a),NH的参考FTIR光谱3 (b),CO(c)和HNCO(d)。  

常见的应用程序

  • 有害气体排放的调查分析
  • 残留挥发物,例如水分,有机溶剂,单体
  • 新材料或未知材料的表征
  • 产品变形
  • 故障分析

优势

  • 质量损失作为温度和时间的函数的定量测量
  • H等有害气体排放物的调查分析2O,NH3,CO,CO2,HCN,否x,SO2,CSO,HF,HCl,HBr,CH4,硅烷,硅氧烷,碳氟化合物,光气,碳酰氟,甲醛和其他有机挥发物
  • 与真空脱气技术(例如直接插入探针–质谱(DIP-MS))结合使用时,可能会发现大分子脱气物种
  • 允许各种工作气氛,包括惰性气氛(氩气和氮气)以及反应性气体气氛,例如空气,H2/氩气和加湿的氩气;
  • 可编程温度控制–动态加热和恒温保持的灵活组合,从环境温度到1000°C。 在特殊设置下,仪器可以升高到1500°C。

限制

  • 高检测限,可降低挥发性气体的释放
  • 未检测到红外惰性物质(例如H)2,N2,“2,氩气等
  • 仅限于环境压力除气测试

技术比较

残留气体分析(RGA)。 RGA是一种高真空脱气技术,可在10摄氏度以下运行-7 - 10-9 托尔 此技术适用于定量评估整个范围的小分子(最大100 amu),包括H2,水分,O2 和N2RGA通常用于评估内部水蒸气含量,已知这会影响包装的电子,医疗,光学和设备的可靠性。 必须严格遵守测试方法,例如MIL-STD-883,MIL-STD-750,方法1018内部水蒸气含量,才能满足DLA实验室适用性要求。

热脱附气相色谱质谱法(GCMS)用于分析从固体样品基质中放出的有机污染物。 GCMS可以分离并鉴定高达1000 amu的单个有机物种。 EAG的热脱附室(直径为1 1/2英寸x长4英寸)可以在45°C至300°C之间的任何温度下加热,通常需要加热一到三个小时。 将检测挥发性有机成分,并提供半定量结果。 检测限低至10 ng /组分。 热脱附GCMS无法轻易检测出40 amu以下的低水平水分,大气物质或其他小分子。

EAG的TGA-FTIR

EAG的TGA-FTIR由TGA仪器组成,该仪器具有高度可靠的水平双平衡机制,可最大程度地减少浮力对基础信号的影响。 脱气的物质通过载气有效转移到长光程FTIR池中,该池安装在PerkinElmer®FTIR光谱仪上。 传输线和FTIR电池均可通过单独的温度控制器进行加热。

  • TA®SDT Q600:
    • 平衡灵敏度:0.1 µg
    • DTA灵敏度:0.001°C
    • 温度范围:环境至1500°C
    • 加热速度
      • –环境温度至1000°C:0.1 – 100°C / min
      • –环境温度至1500°C:0.1 – 25°C / min
    • 气体容量:Ar,N2 和它们与O的混合物2, H2和H2O
    • 样本量:1-150毫克
  • PerkinElmer®FTIR SpectroOne:
    • 波长范围:450 – 4000厘米-1
    • 分辨率:1、2和4厘米-1
  • FTIR单元:
    • 光程:4.5 m
    • 电池容量:0.75升
  • 温度控制:集成的数字温度控制器可对FTIR电池和传输线提供最高200°C的单独温度控制。
  • 软体:Perkin Elmer的Spectrum™Timebase

概要

TGA-FTIR被广泛用于成分分析和失效分析。 EAG的TGA-FTIR技术配备有加热的长光程FTIR电池,对于在目标温度和大气条件下的脱气曲线(尤其是空气污染物)进行调查分析非常敏感。 我们已帮助许多客户评估问题并采取缓解措施。 总之,EAG的TGA-FTIR服务具有以下特点:

  • 检测样品中由于脱气或热分解而引起的微克变化
  • 包括分子物种(例如H)在内的除气剖面的调查分析2O,NH3,CH4,CO,CO2,HCN,HNCO,NOx,SO2,CSO,HF,HCl,HBr,硅烷,硅氧烷,碳氟化合物,光气,碳酰氟,甲醛和其他有机挥发物
  • 操作模式:
    • 标准模式:室温高达1000°C,惰性气氛
    • 进阶模式:室温最高可达1000°C,反应性气体气氛,包括干燥或加湿的空气,H2/氩气等

脚注

  1. a)Speitel,L.等人,“燃烧气体的傅立叶变换红外分析”。 网站:http://www.tc.faa.gov/its/worldpac/techrpt/ar01-88.pdf; b)Miser,CS等,“通过傅立叶变换红外光谱法在灭火测试中对羰基氟化物,氟化氢和其他燃烧副产物的测量”,哈龙选择技术会议第98期会议记录,新墨西哥州阿尔伯克基,pp 190-203,1998; c)Modiano,SH等,“在CF8Br和C3F3H抑制JP-7燃烧期间,通过傅里叶变换红外光谱对有毒气体产生的定量测量”,Applied Optics,35(21),4004,1996。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Thermogravimetric Analysis – Fourier Transfer Infrared Spectroscopy (TGA–FTIR) Services

APPLICATION NOTE

By Tina Heetderks and Xinwei Wang, PhD

INTRODUCTION

Commercial synthetic polymers such as epoxy resin, polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylates, phenolic resin, polyethyleneglycol, polyurethanes, polyolefins, polysiloxanes and fluoropolymers, are widely used in many industry sectors. These polymers feature backbones with -C-C-, -C-O-, -C-N-, -C-S-, Si-O- bonds, with substituents such as alkyl, aryl groups, -OH, -NH2, etc., which may be further modified with F, Cl, and Br. Under heat treatment either in air, under inert or reduced pressure conditions, they may release variety of molecular species, including H2O, NH3, CO, CO2, HCN, HCNO, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, C2H4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, formaldehyde, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride and other volatile organics. These species not only lead to performance deterioration and ultimate failures, but also cause great safety and health concerns. As such, most of them are strictly regulated by EPA.

Mass spectrometric identification of these species generally requires vacuum conditions and identification quite often suffers from mass overlaps and poor ionization yields that makes detection and identification problematic. On the other hand, these molecular species have distinctive vibration patterns in the 450 cm-1 – 4000 cm-1 infrared regions (Figure 1). In fact, FTIR is the preferred method for analysis of combustion exhaust composition.1

TGA-FTIR combines the strength of TGA with FTIR for materials characterization and outgassing profiling. It accurately records the mass loss as a sample is heated up in the TGA analyzer, and identifies the released molecular species resulting from the corresponding mass loss, by flowing the released molecular species through a long optical path gass cell of the FTIR instrument. At Eurofins EAG Syracuse Lab the above TGA-FTIR setup assures high sensitivity detection up to 10-100 parts per million mass loss for 50-100 mg sample.

Figure 1 Reference FTIR spectra of common outgassing species

CASE STUDY

TGA-FTIR analysis is demonstrated with outgassing investigation of polyacrylonitrile (PAN). As carbon fiber precursor, PAN must go through a series of processes including thermo-oxidation stabilization, pyrolysis and graphitization, which are accompanied with intensive outgassing. TGA-FTIR provides a powerful insight to the pyrolysis kinetics and the outgassing profiles. Figure 2 depicts the time (temperature)-based outgassing profiles acquired on our TGA-FTIR instrument, for a thermo-oxidation stabilized PAN sample (Sigma-Aldrich), including CO, NH3, HCN, and HNCO, all highly hazardous air pollutants. The insert is the corresponding TGA profile, which shows the thermal decomposition pattern and pyrolysis kinetics. Figure 3 demonstrates the clear identification of the outgassing CO, NH3, HCN, and HNCO.

Figure 2 TGA-FTIR profile of thermo-oxidation stabilized PAN, showing outgassing of HCN, HNCO, NH3 and CO from 350 °C to 800 °C. Argon atmosphere. Heating rate 10 °C/min. Insert is the TGA profile.

Figure 3 Illustrative FTIR identification of outgassing species. Black – snapshot FTIR spectrum of outgassing at 500 °C; red – the reference FTIR spectra of HCN (a), NH3 (b), CO (c) and HNCO (d), respectively.  

COMMON APPLICATIONS

  • Survey analysis of hazardous outgassing
  • Residual volatiles such as moisture, organic solvents, monomers
  • Characterization of new or unknown materials
  • Product deformulation
  • Failure analysis

STRENGTHS

  • Quantitative measurement of mass loss as a function of temperature and time
  • Survey analysis of hazardous outgassing species such as H2O, NH3, CO, CO2, HCN, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride, formaldehyde, and other organic volatiles
  • Identying large molecular outgas species possible when combined with vacuum outgassing technique such as Direct Insertion Probe – Mass spectroscopy (DIP-MS)
  • Allowing various working atmospheres, including inert atmosphere (argon and nitrogen), and reactive gas atmosphere such as air, H2/argon, and humidified argon;
  • Programmable temperature control – flexible combination of dynamic heating and isothermal holding, from ambient to 1000 °C. In a special set up, the instrument can go up to 1500 °C.

LIMITATIONS

  • High detection limits for low volatility outgassing species
  • No detection of IR-inactive species such as H2, N2, O2, argon, etc
  • Limited to ambient pressure outgassing testing only

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Residual Gas Analysis (RGA). RGA is a high vacuum outgassing technique operating under 10-7 – 10-9 torr. This technique is suitable to quantitatively assess a whole range of small molecules (up to 100 amu), including H2, moisture, O2 and N2, etc. RGA is commonly used to assess internal water vapor content, which is known to affect the reliability of packaged electronic, medical, optical and devices. Testing methods such as MIL-STD-883, MIL-STD-750, Method 1018 Internal Water Vapor Content must be strictly followed to meet the DLA lab suitablity requirement.

Thermal Desorption Gas Chromotography Mass Spectrometry (GCMS) is used to analyze organic contaminants outgassed from solid sample matrices. GCMS separates and identifies individual organic species, up to 1000 amu. EAG’s thermal desorption chamber (1 1/2” diameter x 4” long) can be heated at any temperature between 45°C and 300°C, normally for a time period of one to three hours. Volatile organic components will be detected and semi-quantitative results will be provided. Detection limits are as low as 10 ng/component. Thermal Desorption GCMS cannot easily detect low level moisture, atmospheric species or other small molecules below 40 amu.

TGA-FTIR AT EAG

EAG’s TGA-FTIR consists of a TGA instrument featuring a highly reliable horizontal dual-balance mechanism that minimizes buoyancy contributions to the underlying signal. Outgassed species are effectively transferred by carrier gas to a long optical pathlength FTIR cell, which is mounted on a Perkin Elmer® FTIR spectrometer. Both the transfer line and FTIR cell can be heated through separate temperature controllers.

  • TA® SDT Q600:
    • Balance sensitivity: 0.1 µg
    • DTA Sensitivity: 0.001 °C
    • Temperature range: ambient to 1500 °C
    • Heating rate
      • – ambient to 1000 °C: 0.1 – 100 °C/min
      • – ambient to 1500 °C: 0.1 – 25 °C/min
    • Gas capablity: Ar, N2 and their mixtures with O2, H2, and H2O
    • Sample size: 1 – 150 mg
  • Perkin Elmer® FTIR SpectroOne:
    • Wavelength range: 450 – 4000 cm-1
    • Resolution: 1, 2 and 4 cm-1
  • FTIR Cell:
    • Optical pathlength: 4.5 m
    • Cell volume: 0.75 L
  • Temperature Control: Integrated digital temperature controllers provide individual temperature control of FTIR cell and the transfer line up to 200 °C.
  • Software: Spectrum™ Timebase from Perkin Elmer

SUMMARY

TGA-FTIR is widely used for composition analysis and failure analysis. Equipped with a heated, long optical path FTIR cell, EAG’s TGA-FTIR technique is sensitive for survey analysis of outgassing profiles, especially air pollutants, in the targeted temperature and atmosphere regime. We have helped many clients to assess the issues and take mitigating measures. In summary, EAG’s TGA-FTIR service features:

  • Detection of µg change in a sample due to outgassing or thermal decomposition
  • Survey analysis of outgassing profiles including molecular species such as H2O, NH3, CH4, CO, CO2, HCN, HNCO, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride, formaldehyde, and other organic volatiles
  • Operation Modes:
    • Standard mode: room temperature up to 1000 °C, inert atmosphere
    • Advanced mode: room temperature up to 1000 °C, reactive gas atmosphere including dry or humidified air, H2/argon, etc.

FOOTNOTES

  1. a) Speitel, L. et al, “Fourier Transform Infrared Analysis of Combustion Gases”. Website: http://www.tc.faa.gov/its/worldpac/techrpt/ar01-88.pdf; b) Miser, C.S., et al, “Measurement of Carbonyl Fluoride, Hydrogen Fluoride, and Other Combustion Byproducts During Fire Suppression Testing by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy,” Proceedings of the Halon Options Technical Working Conference-98, Albuquerque, New Mexico, pp. 190-203, 1998; c) Modiano, S.H., et al., “Quantitative Measurements by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy of Toxic Gas Production During Inhibition of JP-8 Fires by CF3Br and C3F7H,” Applied Optics, 35(21), 4004, 1996.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.