Analyse thermogravimétrique - Services de spectroscopie infrarouge à transfert de Fourier (TGA – FTIR)

INTRODUCTION

Les polymères synthétiques commerciaux tels que la résine époxy, le polyacrylonitrile, les polyacrylates, la résine phénolique, le polyéthylèneglycol, les polyuréthanes, les polyoléfines, les polysiloxanes et les fluoropolymères, sont largement utilisés dans de nombreux secteurs industriels. Ces polymères comportent des squelettes avec des liaisons -CC-, -CO-, -CN-, -CS-, Si-O-, avec des substituants tels que des groupes alkyle, aryle, -OH, -NH2, etc., qui peuvent être encore modifiés avec F, Cl et Br. Sous traitement thermique soit dans l'air, dans des conditions de pression inerte ou réduite, ils peuvent libérer une variété d'espèces moléculaires, y compris H2O, NH3, COCO2, HCN, HCNO, NONx, SO2, OSC, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, C2H4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbures, formaldéhyde, phosgène, fluorure de carbonyle et autres composés organiques volatils. Ces espèces entraînent non seulement une détérioration des performances et des échecs ultimes, mais provoquent également de graves problèmes de sécurité et de santé. En tant que tels, la plupart d'entre eux sont strictement réglementés par l'EPA.

L'identification par spectrométrie de masse de ces espèces nécessite généralement des conditions de vide et l'identification souffre assez souvent de chevauchements de masse et de faibles rendements d'ionisation qui rendent la détection et l'identification problématiques. D'autre part, ces espèces moléculaires ont des modèles de vibration distinctifs dans les 450 cm-1 - 4000 cm-1 régions infrarouges (figure 1). En fait, FTIR est la méthode préférée pour l'analyse de la composition des gaz d'échappement de combustion.1

TGA-FTIR combine la force de TGA avec FTIR pour la caractérisation des matériaux et le profilage du dégazage. Il enregistre avec précision la perte de masse lorsqu'un échantillon est chauffé dans l'analyseur TGA et identifie les espèces moléculaires libérées résultant de la perte de masse correspondante, en faisant passer les espèces moléculaires libérées à travers une cellule de gaz à long trajet optique de l'instrument FTIR. Chez Eurofins EAG Syracuse Lab, la configuration TGA-FTIR ci-dessus assure une détection haute sensibilité jusqu'à 10-100 parties par million de perte de masse pour un échantillon de 50-100 mg.

Figure 1 Spectres FTIR de référence des espèces communes de dégazage

ÉTUDE DE CAS

L'analyse TGA-FTIR est démontrée par une étude de dégazage du polyacrylonitrile (PAN). En tant que précurseur de la fibre de carbone, le PAN doit passer par une série de processus comprenant la stabilisation par thermo-oxydation, la pyrolyse et la graphitisation, qui s'accompagnent d'un dégazage intensif. TGA-FTIR fournit un aperçu puissant de la cinétique de pyrolyse et des profils de dégazage. La figure 2 illustre les profils de dégazage basés sur le temps (température) acquis sur notre instrument TGA-FTIR, pour un échantillon PAN stabilisé par thermo-oxydation (Sigma-Aldrich), y compris CO, NH3, HCN et HNCO, tous des polluants atmosphériques très dangereux. L'insert est le profil TGA correspondant, qui montre le modèle de décomposition thermique et la cinétique de pyrolyse. La figure 3 montre l'identification claire du dégazage de CO, NH3, HCN et HNCO.

Figure 2 Profil TGA-FTIR du PAN stabilisé par thermo-oxydation, montrant le dégazage de HCN, HNCO, NH3 et CO de 350 ° C à 800 ° C. Atmosphère argon. Vitesse de chauffe 10 ° C / min. Insérer est le profil TGA.

Figure 3 Identification FTIR illustrative des espèces de dégazage. Noir - spectre FTIR instantané de dégazage à 500 ° C; rouge - les spectres FTIR de référence de HCN (a), NH3 (b), CO (c) et HNCO (d), respectivement.  

APPLICATIONS COMMUNES

  • Analyse de l'enquête sur le dégazage dangereux
  • Volatils résiduels tels que l'humidité, les solvants organiques, les monomères
  • Caractérisation de matériaux nouveaux ou inconnus
  • Déformulation du produit
  • Analyse de défaillance

POINTS FORTS

  • Mesure quantitative de la perte de masse en fonction de la température et du temps
  • Analyse de l'enquête sur les espèces de dégazage dangereuses telles que H2O, NH3, COCO2, HCN, NONx, SO2, OSC, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbures, phosgène, fluorure de carbonyle, formaldéhyde et autres volatils organiques
  • Identification possible de grandes espèces de gaz d'échappement moléculaire en combinaison avec une technique de dégazage sous vide telle que la sonde d'insertion directe - Spectroscopie de masse (DIP-MS)
  • Permettant diverses atmosphères de travail, y compris une atmosphère inerte (argon et azote) et une atmosphère de gaz réactif comme l'air, H2/ argon et argon humidifié;
  • Contrôle de température programmable - combinaison flexible de chauffage dynamique et de maintien isotherme, de la température ambiante à 1000 ° C. Dans une configuration spéciale, l'instrument peut aller jusqu'à 1500 ° C.

LIMITATIONS

  • Limites de détection élevées pour les espèces de dégazage à faible volatilité
  • Aucune détection d'espèces inactives par IR telles que H2, N2, L'2, argon, etc.
  • Limité aux tests de dégazage sous pression ambiante uniquement

COMPARAISONS TECHNIQUES

Analyse des gaz résiduels (RGA). Le RGA est une technique de dégazage sous vide poussé fonctionnant sous 10-7 - 10-9 torr. Cette technique convient pour évaluer quantitativement toute une gamme de petites molécules (jusqu'à 100 amu), y compris H2, humidité, O2 et N2, etc. Le RGA est couramment utilisé pour évaluer la teneur en vapeur d'eau interne, qui est connue pour affecter la fiabilité des appareils électroniques, médicaux, optiques et des appareils emballés. Les méthodes de test telles que MIL-STD-883, MIL-STD-750, méthode 1018, contenu en vapeur d'eau interne doivent être strictement suivies pour répondre aux exigences de compatibilité du laboratoire DLA.

La spectrométrie de masse par chromatographie en phase gazeuse par désorption thermique (GCMS) est utilisée pour analyser les contaminants organiques dégazés des matrices d'échantillons solides. Le SMGC sépare et identifie les espèces organiques individuelles, jusqu'à 1000 1 amu. La chambre de désorption thermique d'EAG (1 2/4 ”de diamètre x 45” de long) peut être chauffée à n'importe quelle température entre 300 ° C et 10 ° C, normalement pendant une période d'une à trois heures. Les composants organiques volatils seront détectés et des résultats semi-quantitatifs seront fournis. Les limites de détection sont aussi basses que 40 ng / composant. Désorption thermique Le SMGC ne peut pas facilement détecter l'humidité de faible niveau, les espèces atmosphériques ou d'autres petites molécules en dessous de XNUMX amu.

Téléchargez cette ressource pour en savoir plus!

Pour activer certaines fonctionnalités et améliorer votre expérience avec nous, ce site stocke des cookies sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez cliquer sur Continuer pour donner votre autorisation et supprimer définitivement ce message.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.

Thermogravimetric Analysis – Fourier Transfer Infrared Spectroscopy (TGA–FTIR) Services

APPLICATION NOTE

By Tina Heetderks and Xinwei Wang, PhD

INTRODUCTION

Commercial synthetic polymers such as epoxy resin, polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylates, phenolic resin, polyethyleneglycol, polyurethanes, polyolefins, polysiloxanes and fluoropolymers, are widely used in many industry sectors. These polymers feature backbones with -C-C-, -C-O-, -C-N-, -C-S-, Si-O- bonds, with substituents such as alkyl, aryl groups, -OH, -NH2, etc., which may be further modified with F, Cl, and Br. Under heat treatment either in air, under inert or reduced pressure conditions, they may release variety of molecular species, including H2O, NH3, CO, CO2, HCN, HCNO, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, C2H4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, formaldehyde, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride and other volatile organics. These species not only lead to performance deterioration and ultimate failures, but also cause great safety and health concerns. As such, most of them are strictly regulated by EPA.

Mass spectrometric identification of these species generally requires vacuum conditions and identification quite often suffers from mass overlaps and poor ionization yields that makes detection and identification problematic. On the other hand, these molecular species have distinctive vibration patterns in the 450 cm-1 – 4000 cm-1 infrared regions (Figure 1). In fact, FTIR is the preferred method for analysis of combustion exhaust composition.1

TGA-FTIR combines the strength of TGA with FTIR for materials characterization and outgassing profiling. It accurately records the mass loss as a sample is heated up in the TGA analyzer, and identifies the released molecular species resulting from the corresponding mass loss, by flowing the released molecular species through a long optical path gass cell of the FTIR instrument. At Eurofins EAG Syracuse Lab the above TGA-FTIR setup assures high sensitivity detection up to 10-100 parts per million mass loss for 50-100 mg sample.

Figure 1 Reference FTIR spectra of common outgassing species

CASE STUDY

TGA-FTIR analysis is demonstrated with outgassing investigation of polyacrylonitrile (PAN). As carbon fiber precursor, PAN must go through a series of processes including thermo-oxidation stabilization, pyrolysis and graphitization, which are accompanied with intensive outgassing. TGA-FTIR provides a powerful insight to the pyrolysis kinetics and the outgassing profiles. Figure 2 depicts the time (temperature)-based outgassing profiles acquired on our TGA-FTIR instrument, for a thermo-oxidation stabilized PAN sample (Sigma-Aldrich), including CO, NH3, HCN, and HNCO, all highly hazardous air pollutants. The insert is the corresponding TGA profile, which shows the thermal decomposition pattern and pyrolysis kinetics. Figure 3 demonstrates the clear identification of the outgassing CO, NH3, HCN, and HNCO.

Figure 2 TGA-FTIR profile of thermo-oxidation stabilized PAN, showing outgassing of HCN, HNCO, NH3 and CO from 350 °C to 800 °C. Argon atmosphere. Heating rate 10 °C/min. Insert is the TGA profile.

Figure 3 Illustrative FTIR identification of outgassing species. Black – snapshot FTIR spectrum of outgassing at 500 °C; red – the reference FTIR spectra of HCN (a), NH3 (b), CO (c) and HNCO (d), respectively.  

COMMON APPLICATIONS

  • Survey analysis of hazardous outgassing
  • Residual volatiles such as moisture, organic solvents, monomers
  • Characterization of new or unknown materials
  • Product deformulation
  • Failure analysis

STRENGTHS

  • Quantitative measurement of mass loss as a function of temperature and time
  • Survey analysis of hazardous outgassing species such as H2O, NH3, CO, CO2, HCN, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, CH4, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride, formaldehyde, and other organic volatiles
  • Identying large molecular outgas species possible when combined with vacuum outgassing technique such as Direct Insertion Probe – Mass spectroscopy (DIP-MS)
  • Allowing various working atmospheres, including inert atmosphere (argon and nitrogen), and reactive gas atmosphere such as air, H2/argon, and humidified argon;
  • Programmable temperature control – flexible combination of dynamic heating and isothermal holding, from ambient to 1000 °C. In a special set up, the instrument can go up to 1500 °C.

LIMITATIONS

  • High detection limits for low volatility outgassing species
  • No detection of IR-inactive species such as H2, N2, O2, argon, etc
  • Limited to ambient pressure outgassing testing only

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Residual Gas Analysis (RGA). RGA is a high vacuum outgassing technique operating under 10-7 – 10-9 torr. This technique is suitable to quantitatively assess a whole range of small molecules (up to 100 amu), including H2, moisture, O2 and N2, etc. RGA is commonly used to assess internal water vapor content, which is known to affect the reliability of packaged electronic, medical, optical and devices. Testing methods such as MIL-STD-883, MIL-STD-750, Method 1018 Internal Water Vapor Content must be strictly followed to meet the DLA lab suitablity requirement.

Thermal Desorption Gas Chromotography Mass Spectrometry (GCMS) is used to analyze organic contaminants outgassed from solid sample matrices. GCMS separates and identifies individual organic species, up to 1000 amu. EAG’s thermal desorption chamber (1 1/2” diameter x 4” long) can be heated at any temperature between 45°C and 300°C, normally for a time period of one to three hours. Volatile organic components will be detected and semi-quantitative results will be provided. Detection limits are as low as 10 ng/component. Thermal Desorption GCMS cannot easily detect low level moisture, atmospheric species or other small molecules below 40 amu.

TGA-FTIR AT EAG

EAG’s TGA-FTIR consists of a TGA instrument featuring a highly reliable horizontal dual-balance mechanism that minimizes buoyancy contributions to the underlying signal. Outgassed species are effectively transferred by carrier gas to a long optical pathlength FTIR cell, which is mounted on a Perkin Elmer® FTIR spectrometer. Both the transfer line and FTIR cell can be heated through separate temperature controllers.

  • TA® SDT Q600:
    • Balance sensitivity: 0.1 µg
    • DTA Sensitivity: 0.001 °C
    • Temperature range: ambient to 1500 °C
    • Heating rate
      • – ambient to 1000 °C: 0.1 – 100 °C/min
      • – ambient to 1500 °C: 0.1 – 25 °C/min
    • Gas capablity: Ar, N2 and their mixtures with O2, H2, and H2O
    • Sample size: 1 – 150 mg
  • Perkin Elmer® FTIR SpectroOne:
    • Wavelength range: 450 – 4000 cm-1
    • Resolution: 1, 2 and 4 cm-1
  • FTIR Cell:
    • Optical pathlength: 4.5 m
    • Cell volume: 0.75 L
  • Temperature Control: Integrated digital temperature controllers provide individual temperature control of FTIR cell and the transfer line up to 200 °C.
  • Software: Spectrum™ Timebase from Perkin Elmer

SUMMARY

TGA-FTIR is widely used for composition analysis and failure analysis. Equipped with a heated, long optical path FTIR cell, EAG’s TGA-FTIR technique is sensitive for survey analysis of outgassing profiles, especially air pollutants, in the targeted temperature and atmosphere regime. We have helped many clients to assess the issues and take mitigating measures. In summary, EAG’s TGA-FTIR service features:

  • Detection of µg change in a sample due to outgassing or thermal decomposition
  • Survey analysis of outgassing profiles including molecular species such as H2O, NH3, CH4, CO, CO2, HCN, HNCO, NOx, SO2, CSO, HF, HCl, HBr, silanes, siloxanes, fluorocarbons, phosgene, carbonyl fluoride, formaldehyde, and other organic volatiles
  • Operation Modes:
    • Standard mode: room temperature up to 1000 °C, inert atmosphere
    • Advanced mode: room temperature up to 1000 °C, reactive gas atmosphere including dry or humidified air, H2/argon, etc.

FOOTNOTES

  1. a) Speitel, L. et al, “Fourier Transform Infrared Analysis of Combustion Gases”. Website: http://www.tc.faa.gov/its/worldpac/techrpt/ar01-88.pdf; b) Miser, C.S., et al, “Measurement of Carbonyl Fluoride, Hydrogen Fluoride, and Other Combustion Byproducts During Fire Suppression Testing by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy,” Proceedings of the Halon Options Technical Working Conference-98, Albuquerque, New Mexico, pp. 190-203, 1998; c) Modiano, S.H., et al., “Quantitative Measurements by Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy of Toxic Gas Production During Inhibition of JP-8 Fires by CF3Br and C3F7H,” Applied Optics, 35(21), 4004, 1996.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.