部分18:材料的化学表征

EAG实验室对所用的材料运用了丰富的经验 医疗器械 帮助我们的客户按照10993 Part 18进行必要的化学特性研究。 我们的科学家可以帮助您有效地通过FDA批准程序,为毒理学评估提供可靠的数据。

我如何遵守ISO 10993-Part 18?

用于评估医疗器械的生物相容性的标准已经实施了十多年,但最近已有效 FDA指导 强调材料化学表征的重要性。 这包括了解医疗器械组件的化学成分,以及制造过程和生产过程中使用的材料。

也称为材料的化学表征,部分18活动有助于评估设备的整体生物安全性,测量可浸出物,评估材料等效性并帮助筛选新材料的适用性。

部分18:步骤过程

ISO 10993-18提供评估医疗器械生物安全性的五个步骤:

  • 第1步-定性信息
  • 第2步-等效材料
  • 步骤3 –定量信息
  • 步骤4 –量化风险评估
  • 步骤5 –估计临床上所接触化学物质的暴露量

设备材料专业知识

1-3和EAG提供完整的服务套件,需要进行材料表征。 我们在设备应用中评估聚合物,金属,合金和陶瓷方面拥有多年的经验。 我们的服务包括:

  • 可提取物和可浸出物
  • 表征材料
  • 变形(逆向工程)
  • 工艺验证
  • 等效性研究

医疗器械的可萃取物和可浸出物

暴露于医疗设备中的低水平化学物质可能对患者构成安全风险。 评估潜在风险的第一步是识别在腐蚀性条件下提取的化学物质。 一旦确定了化学物质,毒理学家就可以进行毒理学风险评估以评估安全性。 可以使用模拟实际使用情况的条件来进行可浸出研究,以确定已确定化学物质从产品中浸出的可能性。 EAG在可萃取物和可浸出物研究方面拥有专业知识, 药品, 医疗器械消费产品.

表征器件材料

EAG以我们在材料表征方面的专业知识而闻名,这归功于我们在分析材料和组件方面40多年的经验以及广泛的技术和仪器。 医疗设备通常由多种化学,材料和组件组成,例如金属,聚合物,电子组件,关键表面化学等。我们开发了许多分析方法来回答困难的技术问题,从而使我们的客户洞悉低级化学,薄的表面涂层和污染物。

Deformulation(逆向工程)

EAG是该行业的领导者 deformulation 的产品和材料。 也称为逆向工程,deformulation是配方中成分的分离,鉴定和定量。 我们经验丰富的化学家已经对数百种产品进行了变形,并拥有成功解开最困难材料的技能和工具。

流程验证

根据FDA 21 CFR Part 820的定义,如果过程的结果不能通过后续的检查和测试来完全验证,则应对过程进行高度确认,并按照既定程序进行批准。 通过提供可靠的分析结果以确保制造过程的稳定性,我们支持医疗器械开发的过程验证活动。 通常,这涉及开发一种适当的分析方法,以测试在过程验证期间采集的样品并评估关键特性的可重复性。

等效性研究

医疗器械制造工艺的改变是不可避免的。 这些变化可能是由于生产地点的变化,灭菌过程的变化,加工助剂的变化等引起的。这些变化对生物相容性的影响必须按照ISO 10993第1部分中的描述进行评估。评估这些变化的重要工具是评估从原始条件下制造的设备的可萃取物轮廓,并与在新条件下制造的设备的可萃取物轮廓进行比较。

最重要的是确定关键的化学成分没有因工艺的改变而改变。 可以通过全面的化学比较研究来评估这一点,以研究可提取的轮廓和/或表面化学性质。 不管有什么变化,请联系您的EAG专家,以帮助设计出符合法规要求的分析合理的等效性研究。

EAG实验室:材料表征专家

当您对材料的化学性质有疑问时,EAG实验室会为FDA提交,创新和产品改进提供全面的数据。 从聚合物到合金再到陶瓷,我们了解这些材料如何影响安全性和有效性。 EAG拥有超过25年的II级和III级医疗器械材料评估材料的经验,并配有全套分析工具,可为材料表征挑战提供可靠的答案。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Part 18: Chemical Characterization of Materials

EAG Laboratories applies vast experience with the materials that go into medical devices to assist our clients with performing the necessary chemical characterization studies per 10993 Part 18. Our scientists can help you move efficiently through the FDA approval process, providing robust data for toxicological evaluations.

How do I comply with ISO 10993-Part 18?

Standards for evaluating the biocompatibility of medical devices have been in effect for over ten years, yet recent FDA guidance emphasizes the importance of chemical characterization of materials. This includes understanding the chemistry of medical device components, as well as the materials used during the manufacturing process and production.

Also known as Chemical Characterization of Materials, Part 18 activities help assess a device’s overall biological safety, measure leachables, evaluate material equivalency and help screen new materials for suitability.

Part 18: A Step Process

ISO 10993-18 offers a five-step process for evaluating the biological safety of medical devices:

  • Step 1 – Qualitative Information
  • Step 2 – Material Equivalence
  • Step 3 – Quantitative Information
  • Step 4 – Quantitative Risk Assessment
  • Step 5 – Estimated clinical exposure to chemicals present

Device Material Expertise

Materials characterization is needed in steps 1-3 and EAG offers complete suite of services. We have years of experience evaluating polymers, metals, alloys and ceramics for device applications. Our services include:

  • Extractables and leachables
  • Characterizing materials
  • Deformulation (reverse engineering)
  • Process validation
  • Equivalency studies

Extractables and Leachables for Medical Devices

Exposure to low level chemistries in medical devices can pose a safety risk to patients.  The first step to evaluating potential risk is to identify the chemistries extracted under aggressive conditions.  Once the chemistries are identified, a toxicologist can perform a toxicological risk assessment to evaluate safety.  A leachable study can be performed using conditions to mimic real use scenarios to determine the potential for identified chemistries to leach out of the product.  EAG has expertise in extractables and leachables studies for pharmaceuticals, medical devices and consumer products.

Characterizing Materials for Devices

EAG is well-known for our materials characterization expertise, due to our over 40 years of experience analyzing materials and components, plus our vast array of techniques and instrumentation. Medical devices are often composed of a variety of chemistries, materials and components including as examples metals, polymers, electronic components, critical surface chemistries, etc.  We have developed numerous analytical methods to answer difficult technical questions giving our customers insight into low level chemistries, thin surface coatings, and contaminants.

Deformulation (Reverse Engineering)

EAG is the industry leader in the deformulation of products and materials. Also known as reverse engineering, deformulation is the separation, identification and quantitation of ingredients in a formulation. Our experienced chemists have performed deformulations on hundreds of products and have the skills and tools to successfully deformulate the most difficult materials.

Process Validation

As defined by FDA 21 CFR Part 820, where the results of a process cannot be fully verified by subsequent inspection and test, the process shall be validated with a high degree of assurance and approved according to established procedures.  We support the process validation activities for medical device development by providing reliable analytical results to ensure stability in the manufacturing process.  Often this involves developing an appropriate analytical method to test samples taken during process validation and evaluate for reproducibility in critical characteristics.

Equivalency Studies

Changes in manufacturing processes of medical devices are inevitable.  The changes could be due to a manufacturing site change, sterilization process change, process aid change, etc.  The impact on the biocompatibility from these changes must be evaluated as described in ISO 10993 part 1.  An important tool to assess these changes is to evaluate the extractables profile from the device manufactured under the original conditions and compare to the extractables profile of the device manufactured under the new conditions.

Of utmost importance is to determine the critical chemistry components have not changed with modifications to the process.  This can be evaluated through a comprehensive chemical comparative study to investigate the extractable profiles and/or surface chemistries.  Regardless of the change, please contact your EAG experts to help design an analytically sound equivalency study that meets the regulatory requirements.

EAG Laboratories: Material Characterization Experts

When you have questions about your material’s chemistry, EAG Laboratories provides comprehensive data for FDA submissions, innovation and product improvement.  From polymers to alloys to ceramics, we understand how these materials impact safety and effectiveness. With over 25 years of experience evaluating materials for Class II and III medical device materials, combined with a full suite of analytical tools, EAG offers reliable answers to materials characterization challenges.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.