药膏和片剂的3D共聚焦拉曼成像

应用笔记

Vasil Pajcini博士

共聚焦拉曼显微镜是一种非常强大的技术,可以分析包含多种不同成分的复杂混合物。 在拉曼分析过程中使用的聚焦激光可以采集分辨率为1μm的图像(或像素大小)。 此外,显微镜的共聚焦特性允许从样品表面下方无损采集光谱。

拉曼显微镜的一个很好的用途是用于分析药品以确定目标组分的空间分布。 这对于固体材料(例如片剂)或包含多种成分的软膏,凝胶或乳膏都是可行的。 制药行业非常关心确定活性药物成分(API)在其产品中的空间分布,以及确定固体和液体产品中API颗粒或团聚的大小。 必须充分了解API的分布(以及在存储/稳定性研究期间或产品与消费者之间的寿命期间的分布变化),因为变化可能会严重影响产品的有效性。 产品的这种潜在变化也引起监管机构的极大关注。

在这项研究中,使用Horiba HR LabRam Evolution仪器进行的共聚焦拉曼光谱研究了半透明乳膏中两种API的分布。

图1:奶油的光学照片

图2:用于2D霜状贴图的API的拉曼光谱

乳霜的光学照片如图1所示。使用532 nm绿色激发激光进行分析。该乳霜具有两种不同的API:A和B,可以使用拉曼光谱法成功地对其进行区分(图2的顶部和底部),因为它们具有截然不同的独特峰。 这使我们能够生成显示其分布的2D地图/图像。 2D拉曼图显示了每个API的颗粒分布,它们的形状以及API颗粒或团聚体的大小(图2中心)。

图3:深度为2μm的40D映射

图4:深度为2μm的70D映射

图5:奶油在3μm立方体内的100D映射 侧。 高分辨率2D图像可以在任何 垂直进入样品的步骤。

两种API的图谱也可以使用共聚焦拉曼光谱法在样品中不同深度处以无损方式获取:图40和70显示了深度为3μm和4μm的图谱示例。API的分布随深度而变化(如可以在图3和图4的比较中看到),并在多个共焦图像的3D重建中得到全面展示(图5)。

如上所述,可以看出,拉曼显微镜是成功无损研究药品中API分布的近乎必要的工具。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

3D Confocal Raman Imaging of Pharmaceutical Creams and Tablets

APPLICATION NOTE

By Vasil Pajcini, Ph.D.

Confocal Raman microscopy is a very powerful technique to analyse complex mixtures containing a range of different components. The focused laser used during Raman analysis enables the acquisition of images with a resolution (or pixel size) of 1μm. Furthermore, the confocal properties of the microscope allow the non-destructive acquisition of spectra from beneath the surface of the sample.

A very good use of Raman microscopy is for the analysis of pharmaceutical products to determine the spatial distribution of components of interest. This is possible on both solid materials such as tablets or on ointments, gels or creams that contain multiple components. The pharmaceutical industry is very concerned with determining both the spatial distribution of the active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) in their products and also the size of API particles or agglomerations in solid and liquid products. A good understanding of the distribution of the API (and any changes in distribution during storage/stability studies or during the lifetime of the product with the consumer) is essential since variations may affect the effectiveness of the product substantially. Such potential changes in products are also of extreme interest to regulatory agencies.

In this study, confocal Raman spectroscopy using a Horiba HR LabRam Evolution instrument, was used to investigate the distribution of two APIs in a semi-transparent cream.

Figure 1: An optical photo of the cream

Figure 2: Raman spectra of APIs used for the 2D cream mapping

An optical photo of the cream is shown in Figure 1. A 532 nm green excitation laser was used for the analysis, The cream has two different API’s: A and B which can successfully be distinguished using Raman spectroscopy (Figure 2 top and bottom) since they have substantially different unique peaks. This allows us to produce 2D maps/images showing their distribution. The 2D Raman map reveals the particle distribution of each API, their shapes and the size of the API particles or agglomerations (Figure 2 centre).

Figure 3: 2D mapping at 40 μm deep

Figure 4: 2D mapping at 70 μm deep

Figure 5: 3D mapping of the cream within a cube with 100 μm side. High-resolution 2D images can be obtained at any of the vertical steps into the sample.

Maps of both APIs can also be non-destructively acquired using confocal Raman spectroscopy at different depths within the sample: Examples of maps at 40 μm and 70 μm depth are shown in Figures 3 and 4. The distribution of the APIs vary with depth (as seen in a comparison of Figures 3 and 4) and is comprehensively presented in a 3D reconstruction of multiple confocal images (Figure 5).

As detailed above, it can be seen that Raman microscopy is a near-essential tool to successfully non-destructively investigate the distribution of APIs in pharmaceutical products.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.