像差校正扫描透射电子显微镜(AC-STEM)服务

技术说明

引言

像差校正扫描透射电子显微镜(AC-STEM)是能够以Angstrom量表提供信息的下一代成像工具。 EAG很荣幸成为第一家为客户提供AC-STEM功能的独立分析实验室。 AC-STEM显着提高了传统的分辨率 STEM 工具,在我们的Hitachi HD0.14上提供优于2700 nm的分辨率。

AC-STEM提供的分辨率和灵敏度的提高普遍适用于纳米级材料的研究。 我们专注于涉及超薄膜,纳米粒子,复杂界面,多相材料,层间混合,晶界工程和表面现象的研究。

硅哑铃的Z-对比图像。 明亮的球体是硅原子列,间隔为0.136nm,突出了该技术的出色图像分辨率。

硅哑铃的Z-对比图像。 明亮的球体是硅原子列,间隔为0.136nm,突出了该技术的出色图像分辨率。

高分辨率BF STEM图像

上面是高分辨率BF STEM图像,下面是相关的复合元素图,显示了具有单nm尺度工艺层的FinFET器件的结构。

FinFET结构的STEM-EDS图。 元素图可以具有~1nm的分辨率和~1%的检测极限。 EDS是为各种分析类型(包括过程开发,缺陷分析和逆向工程)创建多元素贴图,线扫描和光谱的绝佳方法。

FinFET结构的STEM-EDS图。 元素图的分辨率可以是 ~1nm和检测限 ~1%。 EDS是为各种分析类型(包括过程开发,缺陷分析和逆向工程)创建多元素贴图,线扫描和光谱的绝佳方法。

使用相同系列工具比较标准STEM和AC-STEM。

使用相同系列工具比较标准STEM和AC-STEM。 注意几个因素:

  1. AC-STEM图像的整体分辨率更好。 原子列在AC-STEM图像中清晰地分辨,在未修正的数据中分辨率较低。
  2. 未校正的图像显示出比AC-STEM图像稍微更多的光束损伤。 这种光束损伤在未校正的图像中表现为一般的浑浊。

 

概要

EAG实验室的材料科学部门是全球领先的表面分析和材料表征服务提供商。 我们结合了最先进的设备和 显微镜 专家,在使用先进材料和高科技产品方面经验丰富,确保最高质量的成像效果。 我们知道,最新一代的STEM技术只能与最新一代的样品制备工具相结合,以创建模范图像。 我们期待着解决您最棘手的材料问题。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Aberration Corrected Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (AC-STEM) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Aberration Corrected Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (AC-STEM) is the next generation of imaging tools capable of providing information at the Angstrom scale. EAG is proud to be the first independent analytical lab to provide AC-STEM capabilities to its customers. AC-STEM significantly improves the resolution of the traditional STEM tools, providing resolution of better than 0.14 nm on our Hitachi HD2700.

The improvement in resolution and sensitivity that AC-STEM pro-vides is universally applicable for investigations of nanometer scale materials. We specialize in studies involving ultrathin films, nanoparticles, complex interfaces, multiphase materials, interlayer mixing, grain boundary engineering, and surface phenomena.

Z-Contrast image of silicon dumbells. The bright spheres are columns of silicon atoms with a spacing of 0.136nm, highlighting the outstanding image resolution of the technique.

Z-Contrast image of silicon dumbells. The bright spheres are columns of silicon atoms with a spacing of 0.136nm, highlighting the outstanding image resolution of the technique.

high resolution BF STEM image

Above is a high resolution BF STEM image and below is an associated composite elemental map showing the structure of a FinFET device with single-nm scale process layers.

STEM-EDS map of FinFET structure. The elemental maps can have a resolution of ~1nm and detection limit of ~1%. EDS is an excellent method for creating multielement maps, linescans and spectra for a variety of analysis types, including process development, defect analysis and reverse engineering.

STEM-EDS map of FinFET structure. The elemental maps can have a resolution of ~1nm and detection limit of ~1%. EDS is an excellent method for creating multielement maps, linescans and spectra for a variety of analysis types, including process development, defect analysis and reverse engineering.

A comparison of standard STEM and AC-STEM using the same family of tools.

A comparison of standard STEM and AC-STEM using the same family of tools. Notice several factors:

  1. Overall resolution is better in the AC-STEM image. The atomic columns are clearly resolved in the AC-STEM image and less clearly resolved in the uncorrected data.
  2. The uncorrected image shows slightly more beam damage than the AC-STEM image. This beam damage appears as a general cloudiness in the uncorrected image.

 

SUMMARY

The Materials Sciences division of EAG Laboratories is the leading global provider of surface analysis and materials characterization services. We combine state-of-the art equipment and microscopy experts, experienced in working with advanced materials and high tech products, to ensure the highest quality imaging results. We understand that the newest generation of STEM technology can only be coupled with the newest generation of sample preparation tools to create exemplary images. We look forward to tackling your toughest materials problems.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.