薄介质薄膜中的碱金属污染

应用笔记

氧化物和其他介电层的性能 电子设备 可以通过低浓度的移动离子碱来妥协 污染 如Li,Na和K. 动态SIMS 深度剖析测量提供了极好的检测限(≈5E13/ cm2)和这些污染物的准确深入分布。 因此,SIMS是一种强大的诊断工具,在污染减少计划中发挥着关键作用。

在SIMS分析期间,这些移动物质可以漂移到氧化物/基板界面,因为使用带电离子束来分析样品。 在分析期间准确的电荷补偿是至关重要的,以便获得复杂介电结构中移动离子的正确浓度和深度分布。 图1显示了a的硼磷硅酸盐玻璃(BPSG)薄膜中Na的SIMS曲线 半导体 设备。 Na剖面均显示出适度的电荷补偿,因为没有明显的Na迁移到BPSG / Si界面(700nm)。 然而,蓝色曲线(非优化电荷补偿)似乎显示Na从界面处在100nm(此时的沉积中断)扩散到BPSG层中。 这可能误导了Na被纳入BPSG的机制。 红色的正确Na分布表明,事实上,实际上很少有Na掺入BPSG中。 事实上,所有Na都保留在100nm的沉积 - 中断界面处。 在BPSG / Si界面仍然检测到一个小的Na峰,这无疑是一个真正的污染峰。

图1

图1

应变和等离子体蚀刻的表面效应

图2是在由SiN / SiO组成的器件结构的单次分析中获得的Na,K,B,P,Al,C和O的深度分布图2/ BPSG /二氧化硅2/多晶硅/二氧化硅2/硅。 碱元素的精确定量和深度分布允许人们确定移动离子被引入层中的确切位置。 例如,Na和K峰的存在与Al的峰之间的对应关系表明,在沉积三种Al金属I,金属II和金属III的过程中的点处引入碱污染。

图2

图2

器件钝化层的精确SIMS轮廓可揭示介电工艺的许多方面。 C曲线显示最顶部的SiO2 从硅烷(SiH)沉积层(0.8um至1.1um)4来源,而接下来两层中的较高水平表明这些层是从原硅酸四乙酯(TEOS)源沉积的。

相同的SIMS分析也可用于测量和量化层堆叠中BPSG层中的B和P.

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Alkali Contamination in Thin Dielectric Films

APPLICATION NOTE

The performance of oxide and other dielectric layers in electronic devices can be compromised by low-level mobile-ion alkali contamination such as Li, Na and K. Dynamic SIMS depth-profiling measurements offer excellent detection limits (≈5E13/cm2) and accurate in-depth distributions for these contaminants. SIMS is therefore a powerful diagnostic tool and plays a key role in contamination reduction programs.

During a SIMS analysis these mobile species can drift to the oxide/substrate interface because a charged ion beam is used to profile the sample. Accurate charge compensation is of paramount importance during the analysis in order to obtain the correct concentration and depth distribution of the mobile ions in complex dielectric structures. Figure 1 shows SIMS profiles of Na in a borophosphosilicate glass (BPSG) film on a semiconductor device. Both Na profiles show moderately good charge compensation in that no appreciable Na has migrated to the BPSG/Si interface (700nm). However, the blue curve (non-optimized charge compensation) appears to show a diffusion of Na from the interface at 100nm (deposition interruption at this point) into the BPSG layer. This may mislead one as to the mechanism by which the Na is being incorporated into the BPSG. The correct Na profile, in red, shows that, in fact, very little Na is actually incorporated into the BPSG. Virtually all of the Na is retained at the deposition-interruption interface at 100nm. A small Na peak is still detected at the BPSG/Si interface and this is undoubtedly a real contamination peak.

Figure 1
Figure 1

SURFACE EFFECTS OF STRAIN AND PLASMA ETCHING

Figure 2 is a depth profile of Na, K, B, P, Al, C and O acquired in a single analysis on a device structure composed of SiN/SiO2/BPSG/SiO2/Poly-Si/SiO2/Si. Accurate quantification and in-depth distributions of the alkali elements allows one to determine exactly where in the process the mobile ions are being introduced into the layers. For instance, the correspondence between the presence of Na and K peaks with peaks for Al shows that the alkali contamination was introduced at the points in the process where the three Al metal I, metal II and metal III were deposited.

Figure 2
Figure 2

An accurate SIMS profile of a device passivation layer can reveal many aspects of the dielectric process. The C profile shows that the topmost SiO2 layer (0.8um to 1.1um) was deposited from a silane (SiH4) source while the higher levels in the next two layers show that these layers were deposited from a tetraethyl orthosilicate (TEOS) source.

The same SIMS analysis can also be used to measure and quantify the B and P in the BPSG layer in the layer stack.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.