使用波长色散X射线荧光光谱法进行合金表征

应用笔记

Greg Strossman博士

引言

合金成分对于产品设计,失效分析和质量控制至关重要。 例如,为避免器件或零件遭受的环境和物理应力选择正确的合金是至关重要的,这样可以避免因腐蚀,破裂或其他机制而导致早期失效。 当确实发生故障时,全面的根本原因分析需要涉及验证是否实际使用了正确的合金。

与合金有关的失效的另一个常见示例是,在产品中发现小的金属薄片或刨花时,确定其来源至关重要。 通过使薄片的合金与用于制造被污染材料的系统中已知成分的合金相匹配,鉴定合金通常可以查明颗粒的来源。

最后,在制造用于精确用途的合金时,质量控制对于确保通过确保所用材料的成分符合严格的规格来最大程度地减少失效机理至关重要。

波长色散X射线荧光光谱(WDXRF)是确定或验证合金成分的理想分析工具。 作为具有强大的无标定量功能的全面调查技术,通常只需很少或不需要材料的初步信息即可确定简单的合金成分。 在要求更高的应用中,WDXRF可以与校准标准品一起使用,以提供最高的准确性,以验证成分是否能够满足最严格的要求。

讨论

第1部分:简单的合金测定

通常可以使用WDXRF来简单地确定合金类别,而无需使用相匹配的标准,只需使用基本参数(FP),这是一种“无标准”方法,该方法依赖于源自纯元素的仪器灵敏度因子。 表1显示了用这种方法分析的三种不锈钢合金的结果。 随后可以将测得的成分与已知的合金规格进行比较,以确认特定的合金身份。 三种非常相似的300系列不锈钢(301,303和304)通过其Ni和Cr浓度的组合得到了清晰的区分。 具有浓度规格的痕量元素(例如硫和磷)可以类似地用于识别特定合金。 此外,两种铝合金5052和6061的结果均显示出准确的定量结果,可进行合金鉴定(表2)。 XRF能够测量基质成分和痕量元素,从而提供几乎完整的测量结果。 但是,IGA可以最好地测量C,N和O的浓度,这是对XRF结果的补充。 由于具有很高的能量分辨率和与该技术相关的低背景,FPD算法的精度通过WDXRF测量得以增强。

第2部分:高精度合金特性

在情况下,当有必要知道用非常高的精度的合金组合物,无论是作为买方或供应商,WDXRF具有无可比拟的准确度和精度时适当校准标准是可用的。 铁镍可控膨胀合金系统就是一个例子,该系统用于在给定温度范围内需要特定热膨胀的应用中。 这些合金用作在需要玻璃和金属之间形成气密密封,并且也使用时膨胀接近零系数是必要的玻璃密封合金(例如一些电子设备;精密激光设备;以及在集成电路封装的引线框)。 镍在合金中的量来确定的热特性,并且可以通过重量,范围从约20至54%的Ni取决于应用。 WDXRF是一种理想的技术,以提供在这些合金中的Ni含量的非常准确地测定,使用的认证标准进行校准。 在所示(表3)的例子中,镍的含量与0.11%的相对测量精度。 另外,测量合金中的痕量金属的相对准确度范围从<1到〜9%。 还提供了从重复测量的标准偏差证明精度。

结论

目前存在成千上万种铁和非铁合金可以满足特定应用的需求,并且一直在开发新合金以满足高端制造和技术需求。 WDXRF是一种具有固有精度和准确性的分析工具,因此对于合金表征来说是无价的工具。 使用“基本参数”可以轻松地对任何材料进行第一级调查检查,而当需要最高精确度时,可使用校准标准品进行QC分析。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Alloy Characterization using Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Alloy composition is of critical importance for product design, failure analysis, and quality control. For example, choosing the correct alloy for the environmental and physical stresses to which a device or part will be subjected is paramount to avoid early failures from corrosion, fracturing, or other mechanisms. When failures do happen a comprehensive root cause analysis needs to involve verification that the correct alloy was actually used.

Another common example of an alloy-related failure is when small metal flakes or shavings are found in products and it is critical to determine their source. Identifying the alloy can very often pinpoint the source of the particles by matching the alloy of the flakes to that of known components in the system used to fabricate the contaminated material.

Finally, quality control when manufacturing alloys for precise applications is critical to minimize failure mechanisms by making sure that the compositions of the materials used meet exacting specifications.

Wavelength Dispersive X-Ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy (WDXRF) is an ideal analytical tool for determining or verifying alloy compositions. As a full survey technique with strong standardless quantification capabilities, simple alloy compositions can typically be determined with little or no need for preliminary information about the material. In more demanding applications, WDXRF can be used with calibration standards to provide the utmost accuracy to verify that compositions meet even the most stringent requirements.

DISCUSSION

PART 1: SIMPLE ALLOY DETERMINATION

A simple determination of the alloy class can usually be accomplished using WDXRF without the need for matched standards by simply using Fundamental Parameters (FP), a “standardless” method relying on instrument sensitivity factors derived from pure elements. Table 1 shows results from three stainless steel alloys analyzed by this method. The measured compositions can be subsequently compared to known alloy specifications to confirm the particular alloy identity. Three very similar 300 series stainless steels (301, 303, and 304) were clearly distinguished and identified from the combination of their Ni and Cr concentrations. Trace elements with concentration specifications, such as sulfur and phosphorus, can similarly be used to identify a particular alloy. Additionally, the results from two aluminum alloys, 5052 and 6061 show accurate quantification to enable the alloy identification (Table 2). XRF has the ability to measure matrix compositions as well as trace elements to provide a nearly full survey; however, the C, N, and O concentrations are best measured by IGA, which complements the XRF results. The accuracy of the FP algorithm is enhanced with WDXRF measurements due to the very high energy resolution and low backgrounds associated with the technique.

PART 2: HIGH ACCURACY ALLOY CHARACTERIZATION

In cases when it is necessary to know an alloy composition with very high accuracy, either as a buyer or supplier, WDXRF has unrivaled accuracy and precision when the appropriate calibration standards are available. An example of this is the iron-nickel controlled expansion alloy system, which is used in applications where a specific thermal expansion is required over a given temperature range. These alloys are used as glass sealing alloys where a hermetic seal is required between glass and metal and are also used when a near zero coefficient of expansion is necessary (e.g. some electronic devices; precision laser equipment; and lead frames in integrated circuit packaging). The amount of nickel in the alloy determines the thermal properties and may range from approximately 20 to 54% Ni by weight, depending on the application. WDXRF is an ideal technique to provide very accurate determination of the Ni content in these alloys, with the use of certified standards for calibration. In the example shown (Table 3), the nickel content was measured with a relative accuracy of 0.11%. Additionally, trace metals in the alloy were measured with relative accuracies ranging from <1 to ~9%. The standard deviation from repeat measurements are also provided to demonstrate the precision.

CONCLUSION

Many thousands of ferrous and non-ferrous alloys exist to fill niches for very specific applications, and new alloys are being created all the time to address high-end manufacturing and technology needs. WDXRF is an analytical tool with an inherent precision and accuracy such that it is an invaluable tool for alloy characterizations. First level survey inspections are easily accomplished on any material using Fundamental Parameters, whereas availability of standards for calibration provides the means for QC analysis when the highest degree of accuracy is required.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.