用S法表征加工硅片表面铝的污染你的脸SIMS.XP

应用笔记

讨论

消除或减少铝和其他金属 表面污染 on 硅片 是IC流程中非常关键的部分。 选择合适的测量技术对于提供准确一致的结果非常重要。 本应用笔记重点介绍了使用SurfaceSIMS.XP(XP =扩展轮廓)确定表面Al的一些重要优势 污染 在加工的硅片上。

SurfaceSIMS是ASTM批准的用于测量硅基板上的Na,Al,K和Fe污染的方法(ASTM F 1617)。 在裸硅片上,SurfaceSIMS在几十年的测量中提供了非常相似的结果,与其他表面金属污染测量技术相比,如 TOF-SIMS 和基于VPD的技术。 SurfaceSIMS结果报告为污染物面密度(原子/ cm2).

SurfaceSIMS.XP是SurfaceSIMS方法的扩展,其中使用相同的分析条件,但数据以完整的形式报告 SIMS 深度剖面图。 它不仅提供表面密度(原子/ cm2),但也检测覆盖处理过的晶片的任何非硅残留膜。 当处理过的晶片覆盖有除天然Si氧化物之外的薄残留物时,TOF-SIMS和基于VPD的技术可能不是用于污染测量的合适方法。 如果金属污染物被掩埋并且分析过早终止(TOF-SIMS)或由于不适当的萃取化学物质(VPD)导致回收率太低,这些方法将提供不正确的结果。 然而,由于SurfaceSIMS.XP是一种深度剖析技术,它在某些情况下具有明显的优势,并且应该是分析许多处理过的硅晶片的首选方法。

使用SurfaceSIMS.XP测量的裸硅片上的1 Al污染。

图1 用SurfaceSIMS.XP测量裸硅晶片上的Al污染。 Si也用SurfaceSIMS.XP和传统的动态SIMS测量。 用动态SIMS测量的Si分布显示在Si表面上存在天然氧化物,如在SIMS表面瞬态区域中所见。 通过SurfaceSIMS获得的扁平Si轮廓。 XP表明通过氧气驱除了瞬态效应,尽管溅射仍然保持表面氧化。

图2 Al在经过处理的硅晶片上的污染。

图2 加工硅晶片上的Al污染。 Si分布表明硅表面上存在薄的残留层。 Al似乎位于界面而不是顶部表面。 通过动态SIMS分布中Si计数率的暂时增加,观察到掩埋Si表面的不完全氧化。 对于此类处理过的样品,只有SurfaceSIMS.XP能够提供准确一致的污染测量。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Characterization of Surface Aluminum Contamination on Processed Silicon Wafers Using SurfaceSIMS.XP

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

Eliminating or reducing Al and other metal surface contamination on silicon wafers is a very critical part of IC processes. Choosing an appropriate measurement technique is important for providing accurate and consistent results. The present application note highlights some important advantages of using SurfaceSIMS.XP (XP = extended profile) to determine surface Al contamination on processed Si wafers.

SurfaceSIMS is an ASTM approved method for measuring Na, Al, K and Fe contamination on silicon substrates (ASTM F 1617). On bare Si wafers, SurfaceSIMS provides very similar results over several measurement decades, comparable to other surface metal contamination measurement techniques such as TOF-SIMS and VPD-based techniques. SurfaceSIMS results are reported as contaminant areal densities (atoms/cm2).

SurfaceSIMS.XP is an extension of the SurfaceSIMS method where the same analytical conditions are used, but data is reported in the form of a complete SIMS depth profile. It not only provides surface areal densities (atoms/cm2), but also detects any non-silicon residual film covering a processed wafer. When processed wafers are covered with a thin residue other than native Si oxide, TOF-SIMS and VPD-based techniques may not be suitable methods for contamination measurement. These methods will provide incorrect results if the metal contaminants are buried and analyses are terminated too early (TOF-SIMS) or if recovery yields are too low due to inappropriate extraction chemistry (VPD). However, since SurfaceSIMS.XP is a depth profiling technique, it has distinct advantages in certain cases, and should be the method of choice for the analysis of many processed Si wafers.

Figure 1 Al contamination on a bare silicon wafer measured with SurfaceSIMS.XP.
Figure 1 Al contamination on a bare silicon wafer measured with SurfaceSIMS.XP. Si is also measured with SurfaceSIMS.XP and conventional dynamic SIMS. The Si profile measured with dynamic SIMS shows the presence of a native oxide on the Si surface as seen in the SIMS surface transient region. The flat Si profile obtained by SurfaceSIMS. XP shows that the transient effect is eliminated by oxygen flooding which maintains surface oxidation despite sputtering.

Figure 2 Al contamination on a processed silicon wafer.
Figure 2 Al contamination on a processed silicon wafer. The Si profile indicates the presence of a thin residual layer on the silicon surface. Al appears to be at the interface instead of the top surface. Incomplete oxidation of the buried Si surface is observed by the temporary increase in the Si count rate in the dynamic SIMS profile. For such processed samples, only SurfaceSIMS.XP will be able to provide accurate and consistent contamination measurements.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.