药物的化学成像

应用笔记

引言

口服 制药 除活性药物成分(API)外,片剂和胶囊通常含有多种有机和无机赋形剂。 这些成分各自具有特定功能和所需位置以获得最佳性能。 例如,快速释放产品可含有促进胃中API释放的崩解剂。 延长释放产品可以将API容纳在更缓慢溶解的涂层之下,从而允许药物逐渐释放。 一些组分可能与API或其他赋形剂不相容,因此设计为在最终配方中保持分开。

了解这种复杂的配方需要能够分析的工具 探究化学 在微米或亚微米长度尺度上。 EAG实验室使用 飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS), 能量色散X射线光谱扫描电子显微镜(SEM-EDS)拉曼光谱法 对于这些类型的调查。 TOF-SIMS和拉曼光谱法具有识别不同有机(和许多无机)材料的能力,而SEM-EDS仅是元素分析技术,因此需要与每种材料相关联的独特元素用于识别。 因此,SEM-EDS区分有机成分的能力有限。

讨论

在这项研究中,目标是使用SEM-EDS和TOF-SIMS对非处方(OTC)胃灼热药物中的成分进行成像。 下表提供了部分成分列表。

横截面800μm珠的二次电子显微照片显示出双层结构。 包括来自珠子左下象限的Ti,Si和Mg的SEM-EDS图。 钛图表明存在TiO2 在外层,可能用作颜料。 硅存在于两种SiO中2 滑石,也被限制在外层,而Mg作为外层中的细分散材料存在,但5-10μm球在核心中。 基于Si和Mg图,滑石似乎存在于壳中,而MgCO3 存在于核心。

 


 

通过在TOF-SIMS实验中产生的独特分子离子片段鉴定有机组分。 左上角的图像显示了所有发射离子的位置和相对强度。 与EDS图类似,镁的TOF图像(左下)显示它存在于壳(滑石)和核心(MgCO)中3)。 TOF-SIMS成像的真正力量显示在右上图中,该图是药物中兰索拉唑分子的2维图像。 Mg和兰索拉唑的重叠显示了每种材料的互补分布。 羟丙基纤维素(HPC)的类似图谱(未显示)证实它位于丸粒的核心中。

该药物含有肠溶衣,可防止API在高酸性胃环境中释放和随后降解,有利于更中性的小肠。 在核心内部发现的HPC可能在胃中保护API。

总之,成品药的2维化学成像对于理解有机和无机成分的位置和分布是非常宝贵的。 这些信息对配方科学家很重要。 在专利法经常规定材料的位置和功能的知识产权案件中,它也是至关重要的。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Chemical Imaging of Pharmaceuticals

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Oral pharmaceutical tablets and capsules frequently contain multiple organic and inorganic excipients in addition to the active pharmaceutical ingredient (API). These ingredients each have a specific function and desired location for optimum performance. For instance, a rapid release product may contain a disintegrant that promotes the release of the API in the stomach. An extended release product may house the API below more slowly dissolving coatings that allow the gradual release of the drug. Some components may be incompatible with the API or other excipients and therefore are designed to be kept separate in the final formulation.

Understanding such complex formulations requires analytical tools capable of probing the chemistry on the micron- or sub-micron length scale. EAG Laboratories uses Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS), Scanning Electron Microscopy with Energy Dispersive X-ray Spectroscopy (SEM-EDS) and Raman spectrometry for these types of investigations. TOF-SIMS and Raman spectrometry have the ability to identify different organic (and many inorganic) materials while SEM-EDS is an elemental analysis technique only and, thus needs a unique element associated with each material for identification. Thus SEM-EDS has limited ability to distinguish organic constituents.

DISCUSSION

In this study the objective was to image ingredients in an over-the-counter (OTC) heartburn medicine using SEM-EDS and TOF-SIMS. A partial listing of the ingredients is provided in the table below.

A secondary electron micrograph of a cross sectioned 800µm bead shows a two-layer structure. SEM-EDS maps of Ti, Si and Mg from the lower left quadrant of the bead are included. The titanium map indicates the presence of TiO2 in the outer layer, likely used as a pigment. Silicon is present in both SiO2 and talc, is also confined to the outer layer, while Mg is present as a finely dispersed material in the outer layer, but as 5-10µm spheres in the core. Based on the Si and Mg maps, talc appears to be present in the shell while MgCO3 is present in the core.

 


 

The organic components are identified by way of unique molecular ion fragments created in a TOF-SIMS experiment. The image at the upper left shows the position and relative intensity of all emitted ions. Similar to the EDS map, the TOF image for magnesium (lower left) shows it present in the shell (talc) and core (MgCO3). The real power of TOF-SIMS imaging is shown in the upper right image which is the 2-dimensional image of lansoprazole molecules within the drug. An overlay of Mg and lansoprazole shows the complimentary distribution of each material. A similar map (not shown) for hydroxypropyl cellulose (HPC) confirms that it is located in the core of the pellet.

The drug contains an enteric coating that prevents the release and subsequent degradation of the API in the highly acidic stomach environment in favor of the more neutral small intestine. The HPC, found within the core, likely protects the API in stomach.

In summary, 2-dimensional chemical imaging of finished drug products can be invaluable for understanding the location and distribution of organic and inorganic constituents. This information is important for formulation scientists. It can also be critical in intellectual property cases where patent law frequently dictates the location and function of materials.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.