洁净室材料作为空气分子污染的来源

应用笔记

讨论

引入洁净室的每种材料都是空气分子污染(AMC)的潜在来源。 该 化学成分 一种材料,它的表面积,它的热行为和温度最终决定了它的水平 污染 通过特定组件引入洁净室环境。 那些在关键工艺部件上凝结的污染物可能导致“AMC缺陷”,例如晶片电性能的变化,不受控制的硼和磷掺杂,蚀刻速率偏移,阈值电压偏移,晶片和步进光学模糊以及高接触电阻。 随着微电子器件的线宽缩小,“AMC缺陷”成为主要关注点,需要在洁净室的设计中加以考虑。

已经研究了各种洁净室材料产生的可冷凝空气分子污染物 FTIR, GC / MS 以及 TOF-SIMS。 此外,还研究了通过直接接触转移污染物。 后者是有意义的,因为接触转移可能导致污染物在洁净室的大面积上扩散。 在两个实验中,硅晶片用作基底材料。 表1总结了洁净室椅子的不同部分和3不同洁净室手套的结果。 该字母表示检测污染物的技术,字母的颜色表示污染物是否被检测为可冷凝的AMC(黑色)或通过晶片上的接触转移(红色)。

由于其对大多数可冷凝AMC的高灵敏度,TOF-SIMS可检测到比GC / MS或FTIR大得多的污染物。 TOF-SIMS还允许检测通过直接接触传递的污染物。 高灵敏度识别特定污染物的能力对于满足污染控制要求和优化的洁净室材料选择至关重要。

此处讨论的分析方法也可用于调查化学品泄漏引起的洁净室污染事件,并监测随后的清理工作。

清洁材料作为机载分子污染的来源

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Cleanroom Materials as Sources of Airborne Molecular Contamination

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

Every material introduced into a cleanroom is a potential source of Airborne Molecular Contamination (AMC). The chemical composition of a material, its surface area, its thermal behavior and the temperature ultimately determine the levels of contamination introduced into the cleanroom environment by a specific component. Those contaminants that condense on critical process components can lead to “AMC defects” such as changes in the electrical properties of wafers, uncontrolled boron and phosphorus doping, etch rate shifts, threshold voltage shifts, wafer and stepper optic hazing and high contact resistance. As line widths of microelectronic devices shrink “AMC defects” have become a major concern and need to be considered in the design of cleanrooms.

The condensable Airborne Molecular Contamination arising from various cleanroom materials has been studied by means of FTIR, GC/MS and TOF-SIMS. In addition, the transfer of contaminants by direct contact was also investigated. The latter is of interest since contact transfer may result in the spread of contaminants over a large area of the cleanroom. In both experiments silicon wafers were used as substrate material. Table 1 summarizes the results for different parts of a cleanroom chair and from 3 different cleanroom gloves. The letter indicates the technique by which a contaminant was detected, the color of the letter indicates whether a contaminant was detected as condensable AMC (black) or by contact transfer on a wafer (red).

Due to its high sensitivity for most condensable AMCs, TOF-SIMS detects a significantly larger number of contaminants than GC/MS or FTIR. TOF-SIMS also allows for detection of contaminants transferred by direct contact. The ability to identify specific contaminants with high sensitivity is of critical importance to meet requirements for contamination control and for an optimized selection of cleanroom materials.

The analytical methods discussed here can also be used to investigate incidences of cleanroom contamination due to chemical spillage and to monitor subsequent cleanup efforts.

CLEANROOM MATERIALS AS SOURCES OF AIRBORNE MOLECULAR CONTAMINATION

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.