隐形眼镜:了解表面化学对优化设计至关重要

应用笔记

讨论

隐形眼镜 是复杂的材料,必须提供一系列的物理性能,以便有效,安全和舒适地穿着。 这些性质包括:(1)高透氧性以传输O.2 到角膜,(2)亲水表面,使连续的泪膜覆盖镜片,提供润滑和(3)抗细菌和蛋白质吸附。 了解两者 表面 以及 大量化学 镜片对于设计最佳性能至关重要。 表面灵敏度(0-5 nm采样深度),无标准量化和不仅检测元素而且检测功能组的能力的组合使 XPS(X射线光电子能谱) 一种强大的分析工具,用于确定这些材料的近表面化学。

下面的调查显示了一种常见的水凝胶镜片材料(无羟乙基甲基丙烯酸酯(HEMA)(图1)和(图2)亲水性聚乙烯吡咯烷酮(PVP)共聚物的加入。很明显,XPS可以检测PVP。含PVP镜片中的氮。

下面的调查显示了一种常见的水凝胶镜片材料(无羟乙基甲基丙烯酸酯(HEMA)(图1)和(图2)亲水性聚乙烯吡咯烷酮(PVP)共聚物的加入。很明显,XPS可以检测PVP。含PVP镜片中的氮。

图1基于HEMA的隐形眼镜光谱

图1 基于HEMA的隐形眼镜光谱

图2 HEMA + PVP隐形眼镜光谱

图2 HEMA + PVP隐形眼镜光谱

对于纯HEMA透镜,观察到的和预期的元素浓度之间存在极好的一致性,并且碳1s光谱(图3)表示纯的,未受污染的透镜表面。 将PVP添加到第二透镜中以改善透镜表面的泪液润湿性,因此能够量化表面上PVP的分数是重要的。 这通过将观察到的氮浓度与纯PVP的预期氮浓度进行比较来完成。 镜片2在表面含有20%PVP。 通过碳1s光谱中存在O = CN峰证实了该结果(图4)。

图3曲线拟合pHEMA镜片的高分辨率碳1s光谱。 注意CO:COO的2:1比率与已知的HEMA化学结构一致。 预期浓度为[C] = 66.7%和[O] = 33.3%,与表1非常一致。

图3 来自pHEMA镜片的高分辨率碳1s光谱的曲线拟合。 注意CO:COO的2:1比率与已知的HEMA化学结构一致。 预期浓度为[C] = 66.7%和[O] = 33.3%,与表1非常一致。

图4曲线拟合来自pHEMA-PVP透镜的高分辨率碳1s光谱。 注意287.4 eV处的O = CN分量指示PVP(并且在上面的图3中不存在)。

图4 来自pHEMA-PVP透镜的高分辨率碳1谱的曲线拟合。 注意287.4 eV处的O = CN分量指示PVP(并且在上面的图3中不存在)。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Contact Lenses: Understanding Surface Chemistry Critical to Optimizing Design

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

Contact lenses are complex materials that must provide a range of physical properties in order to be effective, safe and comfortable to wear. These properties include: (1) high oxygen permeability in order to transmit O2 to the cornea, (2) hydrophilic surface so that a continuous tear film coats the lens providing lubrication and (3) resistance to bacterial and protein adsorption. Understanding both the surface and bulk chemistry of lenses is critical to engineering optimal performance. The combination of surface sensitivity (0-5 nm sampling depth), standardless quantification and ability to detect not only elements but also functional groups make XPS (X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy) a powerful analytical tool for determining the near-surface chemistry of these materials.

Survey scans below show a common hydrogel lens material (poly hydroxyethylmethacrylate (HEMA) without (Figure 1) and with (Figure 2) the incorporation of a hydrophilic polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) co-polymer. It is clear that XPS can detect PVP based on the nitrogen in the PVP-containing lens.

Survey scans below show a common hydrogel lens material (poly hydroxyethylmethacrylate (HEMA) without (Figure 1) and with (Figure 2) the incorporation of a hydrophilic polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVP) co-polymer. It is clear that XPS can detect PVP based on the nitrogen in the PVP-containing lens.


Figure 1 HEMA-based contact lens spectrum
Figure 1 HEMA-based contact lens spectrum

Figure 2 HEMA + PVP contact lens spectrum
Figure 2 HEMA + PVP contact lens spectrum

For the pure HEMA lens there is excellent agreement between the observed and expected elemental concentrations and the carbon 1s spectrum (Figure 3) indicates a pure, uncontaminated lens surface. PVP is added to the second lens to improve the tear wettability of the lens surface and so it is important to be able to quantify the fraction of PVP at the surface. This is done by comparing the observed nitrogen concentration with that expected for pure PVP. Lens 2 contained 20% PVP at the surface. This result is confirmed by the presence of a O=C-N peak in the carbon 1s spectrum (Figure 4).

Figure 3 Curve fit of high resolution carbon 1s spectrum from pHEMA lens. Note the 2:1 ratio of C-O : COO consistent with known HEMA chemical structure. Expected concentrations are [C]=66.7% and [O]=33.3%, in excellent agreement with Table 1.
Figure 3 Curve fit of high resolution carbon 1s spectrum from pHEMA lens. Note the 2:1 ratio of C-O : COO consistent with known HEMA chemical structure. Expected concentrations are [C]=66.7% and [O]=33.3%, in excellent agreement with Table 1.

Figure 4 Curve fit of high resolution carbon 1s spectrum from pHEMA-PVP lens. Note the O=C-N component at 287.4 eV indicative of PVP (and absent in Figure 3 above).
Figure 4 Curve fit of high resolution carbon 1s spectrum from pHEMA-PVP lens. Note the O=C-N component at 287.4 eV indicative of PVP (and absent in Figure 3 above).

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.