电解抛光医疗器械的耐腐蚀性研究

应用笔记

医疗器械 例如支架,导管和心脏瓣膜需要耐腐蚀以避免在人体内部署后产生不良影响。 因此,优化医疗器械的耐腐蚀性是至关重要的。 此外,FDA要求支持医疗设备足以抵抗腐蚀的数据以批准该设备。

俄歇电子能谱 能够同时测量 表面氧化层厚度 以及 研究氧化层 电抛光医疗器械的均匀性。 俄歇可用于提供来自整个设备的代表性数据或本地化数据,以突出感兴趣的表面上的各个区域之间的差异。 图1显示了典型的俄歇深度剖面图。

图1 来自NiTi器件的俄歇深度剖面图显示了钝化氧化物

这有三个主要应用:

  • 控制电解抛光过程的均匀性(过程控制)
  • 调查治疗效果和环境暴露(包括在模型环境中部署)
  • 调查不连续性或设计特征,如磨痕,焊缝或缺陷

图2显示了在电解抛光后从几个医疗器械样品的不同组分测量的氧化物层厚度。 虽然在组分之间观察到一些微小差异,但电解抛光过程的总体均匀性是令人满意的。

图2 在电抛光之后测量器件的不同组件的氧化物层厚度。

图3总结了观察到的过程能力,并将子组内变化(来自设备不同区域内的数据)与整个过程变化进行了比较。 在这种情况下,仅指定了规格上限。 Cpk和Ppk值都表示良好的过程能力/性能。

图3 过程能力图表显示与整个过程变化相比的子组内变化(来自设备的不同组件内的数据)。

不同处理对氧化层厚度的影响如图4所示。 在加速的人体模型环境中对一组器件进行原位测试之后观察到的钝化层厚度导致氧化物层厚度的统计学显着增加(与电解抛光值和化学处理后测量的值相比)。

图4 与整个工艺变化相比,不同处理对氧化物层厚度的影响。

俄歇电子能谱也用于分析原位测试装置的特定金属与金属接触区域中的氧化物层厚度。 金属与金属接触区域中较厚的氧化物表明人体模型环境可能导致局部表面改性(图5)。

图5 与非接触区域相比,在原位测试装置的金属与金属接触区域中测量的氧化物层厚度。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Corrosion Resistance Study of Electropolished Medical Devices

APPLICATION NOTE

Medical devices such as stents, catheters, and heart valves need to be resistant to corrosion to avoid adverse effects after deployment in the human body. Optimization of the medical device corrosion resistance is therefore critical. Furthermore, supporting data that a medical device is sufficiently resistant to corrosion is required by the FDA for approval of the device.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy enables both measurement of the surface oxide layer thickness and investigation of the oxide layer uniformity of electropolished medical devices. Auger can be used to provide representative data from the entire device or localized data to highlight differences between various areas on the surface(s) of interest. Figure 1 shows a typical Auger Depth Profile.

Figure 1 Auger Depth Profile from a NiTi Device showing the Passivation Oxide

There are three major applications to this:

  • Controlling the uniformity of the electropolishing process (process control)
  • Investigating treatment effects and environmental exposure (including deployment in model environments)
  • Investigating discontinuities or design features such as wear marks, welds or defects

Figure 2 shows the oxide layer thicknesses, as measured from different components of several medical device samples after electropolishing. While some minor differences are observed between the components, the overall uniformity of the electropolishing process is satisfactory.

Figure 2 Oxide layer thicknesses measured for different components of the device after electropolishing.

Figure 3 summarizes the observed process capability and compares the within subgroup variation (data from within the different areas of the device) to the overall process variation. In this case only an upper specification limit has been specified. Both the Cpk and Ppk values indicate good process capability/performance.

Figure 3 Process capability graph showing the within subgroup variation (data from within the different components of the device) compared to the overall process variation.

The effect of different treatments on the oxide layer thickness is shown in Figure 4. The observed passivation layer thickness after in-situ tests of a group of devices in an accelerated human model environment led to a statistically significant increase in the oxide layer thickness (compared to the as-electropolished values and the values measured after chemical treatment).

Figure 4 Effect of different treatments on the oxide layer thickness compared to the overall process variation.

Auger Electron Spectroscopy was also used to analyze the oxide layer thickness in specific metal to metal contact areas of the in-situ tested devices. The thicker oxide in areas of metal to metal contact showed the human model environment may lead to localized surface modifications (Figure 5).

Figure 5 Oxide layer thickness measured in metal to metal contact areas of the in-situ tested devices compared to non-contacting areas.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.