使用ETV–ICP–OES测定先进材料中的痕量和超痕量级污染物

应用笔记

由Abbas Fahami博士 和Karol Putyera博士

引言

对于高灵敏度,高准确度和分析时间来表征材料不同特性上痕量和超痕量杂质的先进技术,发展和使用强大的分析方法的需求急剧增长。 本文中,我们介绍了电热汽化(ETV)和电感耦合等离子体发射光谱(ICP-OES),作为一种非常灵敏的固体采样技术,用于基于碳,硅和碳化硅的高性能材料的纯度验证。

这些材料因其出色的性能可用于锂离子电池,燃料电池,光电和微电子,水净化,光纤,自旋电子,耐火材料,电动汽车等而具有广泛的技术创新应用和技术重要性。[1-2 ]。 根据材料的纯度,还可以确定新市场的未来范围。 因此,痕量和超痕量元素的含量以及其他化学参数非常重要。 用于评估高性能材料纯度的传统分析技术非常耗时,而且通常很乏味,特别是对于通过湿化学程序进行的SiC分解而言。

在这项研究中,我们证明了当使用卤化试剂形成耐火材料的更多挥发性卤化物时,ETV-ICP-OES可用于测定甚至低挥发性的分析物,尤其是诸如Cr,Ti,V和Zr之类的碳化物形成元素。元素。 图1显示了整个ETV-ICP-OES过程。 各种可追溯的校准策略(通常是经过认证的参考材料(CRM)和水性标准溶液)可用于定量化学分析。

图1。 ETV-ICP-OES系统的说明。

操作方法

所有样品使用的ETV操作条件是1700°C的蒸发温度(表1)。 各种温度程序可用于及时分离元素,从而最大程度地减少潜在的光谱干扰。 将固体或液体样品(对于固体<1至50 mg;对于液体,最高50μL)放入热解涂层的高纯度石墨舟皿中,该舟皿使用电子可编程加热循环进行电阻加热。 这些船在ETV装置中能够达到高达3000°C的温度。 纯度为99.996%的氩气被用作ETV设备上的保护气体,载气和旁路气体。 分析物在卤化改性气体UN1028 R12(CCl2F2)的存在下蒸发,然后直接传输到ICP(PerkinElmer,Avio 500)中,并在其中被激发,并由光发射光谱仪检测。 由于ETV无法提供恒定的样品引入速率,并且引入等离子体的样品量会随时间变化,因此在这种方法中会生成强度变化的瞬态信号。 某些元件的典型瞬态信号如图2所示。

图2。 石墨(BAM-S009)和碳化硅(BAM-S003)中的Al,B,Ca,Cr,Cu,Fe,K,Mg,Mn,Ni,Ti,V和Zr的时间发射曲线

校准

认证的参考材料石墨(BAM-S009)和碳化硅(BAM-S003)用于校准。 如图3和4所示,基于包括空白信号的三种不同质量的石墨和碳化硅粉末,获得了校准曲线。 校准显示线性趋势,并且所有分析物的相关系数在0.951-0.999范围内。 分别计算了石墨和碳化硅中五种重复(n = 5)的二十三种和十三种分析物的发射信号测量精度(峰面积),其中大多数分析物的分布范围为2.6%– 35.3%RSD。

图3。 三种不同石墨(BAM-S009)质量(10,20和30 mg)的校准曲线和%SD。

图4。 三种不同的碳化硅(BAM-S003)质量(2,4和6 mg)的校准曲线和%SD。

实例探究

为了量化核级石墨和碳化硅粉末样品中的研究元素,将约5 mg的每个样品直接称量到石墨舟中,转移到ETV中,然后在R1气体下应用表12中给出的加热程序进行蒸发在2.0 mL min-1。 R12作为反应气体(CCl2F2)是最常用的卤代化合物之一。 该气体在700°C左右的温度下分解,产生CF2,CF3Cl,CF4和C2F4自由基,这些自由基促进分析物转化为挥发性卤化物,并最终由于团簇形成[3]而增加了分析物的迁移。 图5和6显示了通过ETV-ICP-OES量化的核级石墨(NBG-18)和碳化硅粉末中更多易挥发元素的浓度。 将ETV-ICP-OES的结果与辉光放电质谱(GDMS)获得的结果进行比较,以验证ETV-ICP-OES方法。 得出的结果与GDMS值非常吻合,表明该新方法可用于分析痕量和超痕量成分。

图5。 通过ETV-ICP-OES和GDMS定量分析的石墨粉(NBG-18)中易挥发元素的浓度。

图6。 通过ETV-ICP-OES和GDMS对碳化硅粉末中易挥发元素的浓度进行定量。

结论

ETV-ICP-OES技术证明了可以快速测定核级石墨和碳化硅粉末基质中的几种分析物。 研究的所有发射曲线均导致直线标定图,可接受的相关系数范围为0.951-0.999。 大多数分析物的发射信号测量精度范围为2.6%– 35.3%RSD(n = 5)。 传统上难以通过其他分析技术确定的某些元素(例如Ti,V,W和Cr)的检测可以通过ETV-ICP-OES轻松完成。 将通过该技术量化的石墨和碳化硅粉末中所有分析物的浓度与GDMS结果进行了比较,这使大多数分析物具有很好的一致性,但没有所有固有风险(样品污染或损失以及传统ICP-MS样品制备困难) OES方法)。

参考文献:

  1. Medvedev,NS,Shaverina,AV,Tsygankova,Saprykin,A.,Talanta,155(2016)358。
  2. U.Schäffer,Krivan V.,费森尤斯分析化学杂志,371(2001)859-866。
  3. Kaczala,S.,Costa,AB,Posselt,EL,Barin,JS,Flores,EM,&Dressler,VL巴西化学学会杂志,26(2015)475-483。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Determinations of Trace and Ultra-Trace Level Contaminants in Advanced Materials Using ETV–ICP–OES

APPLICATION NOTE

By Abbas Fahami, Ph.D. and Karol Putyera, Ph.D.

INTRODUCTION

The advanced technologies have witnessed a sharply growing demand for developing and using powerful analytical methods with respect to high sensitivities, accuracy and analysis time for characterizing of trace and ultra-trace level of impurities on different specific properties of materials. Herein, we introduce electrothermal vaporization (ETV) coupled with inductively coupled plasma optical emission spectrometry (ICP-OES) as an exceptionally sensitive solid sampling technique for purity verifications of high-performance materials based on carbon, silicon, and silicon carbide.

These materials have wide technologically innovative applications and technical importance due to its outstanding properties useful for lithium-ion batteries, fuel cells, opto- and micro-electronics, water purification, fiber optics, spintronics, refractories, electric vehicles, etc [1-2]. Depending on materials purity, the future scope of a new market can also be identified. Thus, the trace and ultra-trace element contents and other chemical parameters are of eminent importance. The traditional analytical techniques for purity evaluations of high-performance materials are very time-consuming and often tedious particularly for the decomposition of SiC by wet chemical procedures.

In this study, we demonstrated that ETV-ICP-OES is applicable for determining even low-volatility analytes especially the carbide-forming elements such as Cr, Ti, V, and Zr when halogenating reagents are used to form more volatile halides of the refractory elements. The whole ETV-ICP-OES process is presented in Figure 1. Various traceable calibration strategies typically certified reference materials (CRM) and aqueous standard solutions can be used for quantitative chemical analyses.

Figure 1. An illustration of the ETV-ICP-OES system.

OPERATING PROCEDURE

The employed ETV operational conditions were vaporization temperature of 1700 °C for all samples (Table 1). Various temperature programs can be used to separate elements in time which permits to minimize potential spectral interferences. Solid or liquid samples (<1 to 50 mg for solids; up to 50 μL for liquids) are placed in a pyrolytically coated, high purity graphite boat, that is resistively heated using an electronically programmable heating cycle. The boats are capable of attaining temperatures of up to 3000 °C in the ETV unit. Argon with 99.996% purity was used as protection, carrier, and bypass-gas on the ETV device. Analytes are vaporized in the presence of a halogenated modifier gas, UN1028 R12 (CCl2F2), and transported directly into the ICP (PerkinElmer, Avio 500) where they are excited, and detected by an optical emission spectrometer. Transient signals with changing intensities are generated in this method since ETV offers no constant sample introduction rate and the amount of sample introduced into the plasma varies with time. The typical transient signals of certain elements are displayed in Figure 2.

Figure 2. Temporal emission profiles of Al, B, Ca, Cr, Cu, Fe, K, Mg, Mn, Ni, Ti, V, and Zr in graphite (BAM-S009), and silicon carbide (BAM-S003).

CALIBRATION

Certified reference materials, graphite (BAM-S009) and silicon carbide (BAM-S003), were used for the calibration. The calibration curves were obtained based on the three different masses of graphite and silicon carbide powders including a blank signal as shown in Figures 3 and 4. The calibration shows a linear trend and correlation coefficients were ranged from 0.951-0.999 for all analytes. The precision of emission signal measurements (peak area) was calculated for twenty and thirteen analytes of five replicates (n=5) in graphite and silicon carbide, respectively, which were ranged from 2.6% – 35.3 %RSD for the most of analytes.

Figure 3. Calibration Curves and %SD of three different graphite (BAM-S009) masses (10, 20, and 30 mg).

Figure 4. Calibration Curves and %SD of three different silicon carbide (BAM-S003) masses (2, 4, and 6 mg).

CASE STUDIES

For quantification of the investigated elements in the nuclear-grade graphite and silicon carbide powder samples, ~5 mg of each sample was weighed directly into the graphite boat, transferred to ETV and then vaporized by applying the heating program given in Table 1 under R12 gas at 2.0 mL min−1. R12 as a reaction gas (CCl2F2) is among the most commonly used halogenated compounds. This gas decomposes at a temperature around 700 °C, producing CF2, CF3Cl, CF4, and C2F4 radicals, which promote the analyte conversion into volatile halides and finally increase the analyte transport as a result of cluster formation [3]. Figures 5 and 6 show the concentration of more volatile elements in the nuclear-grade graphite (NBG-18) and silicon carbide powders quantified by ETV-ICP-OES. The results by ETV-ICP-OES are compared to those obtained by Glow discharge mass spectrometry (GDMS) to validate the ETV-ICP-OES method. Derived results were found to be in good agreement with GDMS values, indicating the applicability of this new method for analysis of trace and ultra-trace constituents.

Figure 5. Concentration of the more volatile elements in the graphite powder (NBG-18) quantified by ETV-ICP-OES and GDMS.

Figure 6. Concentration of the more volatile elements in the silicon carbide powder quantified by ETV-ICP-OES and GDMS.

CONCLUSION

ETV-ICP-OES technique demonstrated the rapid determination of several analytes in the nuclear-grade graphite, and silicon carbide powder matrices. All the emission profiles investigated led to straight calibration plots with acceptable correlation coefficient ranged from 0.951-0.999. The precision of emission signal measurements for most analytes ranged from 2.6% – 35.3 %RSD (n=5). The detection of certain elements (e.g. Ti, V, W, and Cr), which are traditionally difficult to be determined by other analytical techniques, was accomplished by ETV-ICP-OES with ease. The concentration of all analytes in graphite and silicon carbide powders quantified by this technique were compared with GDMS results, which led to a very good agreement for most analytes, but without all inherent risks (sample contaminations or losses and difficult sample preparation of traditional ICP-OES method).

REFERENCES

  1. Medvedev, N.S., Shaverina, A.V., Tsygankova, Saprykin, A., Talanta, 155 (2016) 358.
  2. Schäffer, U., Krivan V., Fresenius Journal of Analytical Chemistry, 371 (2001) 859-866.
  3. Kaczala, S., Costa, A. B., Posselt, E. L., Barin, J. S., Flores, E. M., & Dressler, V. L. Journal of the Brazilian Chemical Society, 26 (2015) 475-483.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.