Détermination de la densité des couches minces

NOTE D'APPLICATION

Les films minces sont largement utilisés dans de nombreux appareils de haute technologie et produits de consommation.1,2 La raison de leur utilisation varie considérablement mais est principalement due à leurs propriétés physiques, mécaniques, électriques, thermiques ou décoratives.3,4

La qualité et la cohérence de ces films présentent un grand intérêt pour les fabricants et les utilisateurs de ces matériaux. L'une des propriétés clés du film intéressant est la densité.5,6 Cet article traite des processus les mieux utilisés pour mesurer la densité de tels films. La composition élémentaire et l'épaisseur du film peuvent également être déterminées et sont également discutées.

L'utilisation de la spectroscopie de fluorescence X (XRF) pour déterminer l'épaisseur et la composition du film est couplée à la spectrométrie de diffusion arrière Rutherford (RBS) qui détermine la densité surfacique et la composition élémentaire du film. La troisième technique intéressante est le faisceau d'ions focalisé à double faisceau (DB FIB) qui peut mesurer directement l'épaisseur du film.7,8,9 Ces techniques se combinent pour fournir la composition élémentaire, l'épaisseur et la densité du film.

La préparation des échantillons

L'échantillon que nous avons utilisé dans cette étude est une pièce de 10 cents US recouverte d'une fine couche d'or. Ce film est utilisé à des fins de démonstration uniquement et n'est pas aussi uniforme que les films de pointe utilisés pour des applications électroniques ou semi-conductrices exigeantes, mais il est un bon exemple pour les techniques et les mesures qui peuvent être effectuées sur de vrais films et films. piles. Aucune préparation d'échantillon n'était requise pour aucune des techniques.

Des mesures XRF ont été effectuées des deux côtés de la pièce à plusieurs endroits. La mesure RBS et la section transversale DB FIB ont été effectuées en un seul endroit.

Informations obtenues

La microscopie optique permet d'inspecter les appareils à la recherche de défauts majeurs tels que de grosses fissures, des décolorations et une contamination importante. Il est souvent utilisé pour documenter les échantillons avant l'analyse. Un champ clair et un champ sombre ou un mélange peuvent être utilisés pour examiner et documenter des caractéristiques de surface spécifiques de différents types, par exemple des piqûres, des rayures ou des particules.

XRF utilise des rayons X pour exciter la fluorescence dans les matériaux. La longueur d'onde de la fluorescence montre les espèces présentes dans l'échantillon et l'intensité de la fluorescence peut être utilisée pour déterminer la composition élémentaire. Les épaisseurs de couche peuvent également être déterminées sur des échantillons plats. Les limites de détection se situent généralement dans la plage PPM (parties par million) pour la plupart des éléments, mais cela varie en fonction du numéro atomique.

Dans Rutherford Back Scattering Spectrometry (RBS), des particules alpha de MeV (noyaux He) bombardent l'échantillon et l'énergie des ions diffusés est mesurée. Les données obtenues sont modélisées pour déterminer la composition élémentaire et la structure des couches. La densité surfacique du film peut également être déterminée. Avec cette technique, si l'épaisseur du film est connue, alors la densité peut être déterminée et vice versa : si la densité est connue, alors l'épaisseur du film peut être calculée.

Le FIB à double faisceau peut être utilisé pour sectionner les couches de film mince afin de mesurer directement l'épaisseur du film en utilisant une inspection SEM in situ ultérieure. L'interface et le film entier peuvent également être imagés pour étudier la netteté de l'interface et pour déterminer si des vides / défauts sont présents. Les coupes transversales DB FIB peuvent être réalisées à tout emplacement accessible sur un échantillon.

Tableau 1. Matrice de test

Méthodologie Informations acquises Commentaires
Microscopie optique Images en couleur de l'échantillon, mesures dimensionnelles. Limité à ~ 2500 ×. Détecte uniquement la lumière visible.
WDXRF Composition élémentaire et épaisseur du film La zone d'échantillonnage minimale est de 0.5 mm de diamètre

Limites de détection PPM

RBS Composition élémentaire jusqu'à 2 microns de profondeur. Densité surfacique élémentaire et épaisseur de film calculée. Aucune norme requise.
BD FIB Permet l'imagerie directe d'une coupe transversale de l'échantillon. Images en niveaux de gris avec une grande profondeur de champ avec des grossissements jusqu'à 100,000 XNUMX× sur des outils standard. Petite zone coupée. Affiche uniquement ce plan dans l'échantillon. Profondeur limitée d'environ 50 microns.

Résultats de chaque test

L'imagerie optique dans ce cas a été utilisée uniquement pour documenter l'échantillon et l'inspecter avant l'analyse.

Figure 1: Images optiques de l'échantillon après DB FIB.

Le XRF est utilisé pour détecter les éléments présents dans le film et également dans le substrat sous-jacent, avec des limites de détection en ppm. Avec ces données et sachant que l'or se trouve dans le film sus-jacent, des calculs peuvent être effectués pour déterminer l'épaisseur du film. Plusieurs emplacements ont été analysés pour déterminer l'uniformité globale du revêtement d'or.

Figure 2: l'analyse XRF montre les éléments présents dans l'échantillon.

Tableau 2. Revêtement doré (face avant)

Élément Revêtement (% en poids) Substrat (% en poids)
Au 100
Cu 73.9
Ni 25.7
Co 0.019
Fe 0.059
Mn 0.30
Zn 0.042

Tableau 3. Composition élémentaire de la couche de surface et du substrat, le revêtement est en Au pur.

Film     Substrat Substrat
Au Cu Ni
nm Saint-Dev. DSR (%) % en poids % en poids
Place 1 98 0.29 0.30 75.4 24.6
Place 2 87 0.49 0.56 75.1 24.9
Place 3 112 0.33 0.29 75.2 24.8

Tableau 4. Quantifié en utilisant l'étalonnage à partir d'étalons d'épaisseur Au sur une zone de 1 mm

L'épaisseur du revêtement n'est pas uniforme. Chaque analyse a été répétée 3 fois à chaque emplacement (notez le RSD déterminé à partir des mesures répétées). Le WDXRF a une excellente précision et peut mesurer des différences d'épaisseur inférieures au nm.

Figure 3: Données RBS avec les données modélisées les mieux adaptées. En utilisant le meilleur ajustement aux données, un profil de profondeur du film et la densité surfacique sont ensuite calculés.

  RBS
Épaisseur [nm]
Concentrations atomiques
[à%]
Supposé
Densité [at / cc]
    Ni Cu Au  
Layer 1 82 - - 100 5.90E22
BULK - 26.5 73.5 - 8.63E22

Tableau 5. Composition élémentaire RBS, montrant une densité aérienne de 4.85e17 atomes / cm2

L'épaisseur moyenne de ce film a été mesurée à 70 nm par FIB à double faisceau. Le film est rugueux avec un écart type de 8 nm, tel que mesuré directement à l'aide du SEM monté sur le DB FIB.

Figure 4: Une coupe transversale DB FIB de la couche d'or (voir flèche rouge) sur l'échantillon permet de mesurer l'épaisseur de la couche.

La densité du film d'or peut être calculée en utilisant la densité surfacique obtenue à partir de RBS et les épaisseurs de couche à partir de XRF ou DB FIB. Le XRF donne une épaisseur moyenne sur une plus grande surface tandis que le DB FIB montre l'épaisseur et la variation du film dans un emplacement spécifique beaucoup plus petit.

En utilisant la masse atomique de l'or, 3.2707 × 10-22 g / atome, cela donne une plage de 22.6-24.0 g / cm3 ce qui par rapport à la densité commune de l'or de 19.3 g / cm3 (voir le tableau ci-dessous).

Densité aérienne (atome / cm2) Épaisseur Densité atomique (atm / cm3) Densité calculée g / cm3
4.85 × 1017 70 87 nm 6.91 X1022 22.6-24.0

Résumé

L'utilisation de films minces dans les produits nécessite une connaissance des propriétés du film. Cet article illustre une procédure pour déterminer la composition, l'épaisseur et la densité d'un film. Les trois techniques utilisées à différents endroits sur l'échantillon offrent une gamme d'épaisseurs. Cet échantillon a été vérifié et l'épaisseur du revêtement d'or s'est avérée variable. Les analyses des techniques ont été répétées et les emplacements individuels fournissent des résultats reproductibles, mais la variation de l'échantillon dans les régions analysées montre la non-uniformité du revêtement.

Bien qu'il existe des techniques alternatives pour déterminer l'épaisseur et la composition du film, cette approche présente les avantages de la mesure directe de l'épaisseur (via DB-FIB) à un emplacement particulier et de la détermination de la composition élémentaire avec d'excellentes limites de détection (via XRF) ainsi qu'une épaisseur moyenne sur un zone plus grande. Le RBS ajoute ensuite la capacité de mesurer la densité aérienne et finalement de fournir une densité de film. Cette combinaison de techniques permet des mesures d'épaisseur moyenne et de surface spécifique pour mieux comprendre les variations d'épaisseur du ou des films.

Des propriétés supplémentaires des films minces peuvent être étudiées avec d'autres techniques : rugosité avec AFM, contrainte et texture par XRD, traces de contamination avec SIMS, structure granulaire avec EBSD et composition de surface avec XPS ou Auger Electron Spectroscopy.

Téléchargez cette ressource pour en savoir plus!

Pour activer certaines fonctionnalités et améliorer votre expérience avec nous, ce site stocke des cookies sur votre ordinateur. Veuillez cliquer sur Continuer pour donner votre autorisation et supprimer définitivement ce message.

Pour en savoir plus, consultez notre Politique de confidentialité.

Determining Density of Thin Films

APPLICATION NOTE

By Daniel J. D. Sullivan, Ph.D, Patrick Davis, Greg Strossman, and Daniel Tseng, Ph.D

Thin films are widely used in many high-tech devices and consumer products.1,2 The reasons for their use varies widely but is predominantly due to their physical, mechanical, electrical, thermal or decorative properties.3,4

The quality and consistency of these films is of great interest to manufacturers and users of these materials. One of the key film properties of interest is density.5,6 This paper addresses the processes best used to measure the density of such films. The elemental composition and film thickness can also be determined and are also discussed.

The use of X-ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy (XRF) to determine film thickness and composition is coupled with Rutherford Back Scattering Spectrometry (RBS) which determines the film’s areal density and elemental composition. The third technique of interest is Dual Beam Focused Ion Beam (DB FIB) which can directly measure film thickness.7,8,9 These techniques combine to provide the film’s elemental composition, thickness and density.

Sample preparation:

The sample we used in this study is a US 10 cent coin that was coated with a thin layer of gold. This film is used for demonstration purposes only and is not as uniform as state-of-the-art films used for demanding electronic or semiconductor applications, but it is a good example for the techniques and measurements that can be made on real films and film stacks. No sample preparation was required for any of the techniques.

XRF measurements were made on both sides of the coin at several locations. The RBS measurement and the DB FIB cross section were made in one location only.

Information obtained:

Optical microscopy allows inspection of devices for major defects such as large cracks, discolorations, and gross contamination. It is often used to document the samples prior to analysis. Bright field and dark field or a mix can be used to examine and document specific surface features of different types, e.g. pits, scratches or particles.

XRF uses X-rays to excite fluorescence in materials. The wavelength of the fluorescence shows the species present in the sample and the intensity of the fluorescence can be used to determine the elemental composition. Layer thicknesses can also be determined on flat samples. Detection limits are typically in the PPM (parts per million) range for most elements, but this varies with atomic number.

In Rutherford Back Scattering Spectrometry (RBS) MeV alpha particles (He nuclei) bombard the sample and the energy of the scattered ions are measured. The date obtained are modeled to determine the elemental composition and layer structure. The areal density of the film can also be determined. With this technique, if the film thickness is known, then the density can be determined and vice versa: if the density is known, then the film thickness can be calculated.

Dual Beam FIB can be used to cross section through the thin film layers to directly measure the film thickness(es) using subsequent in situ SEM inspection. The interface and the entire film can also be imaged to investigate the sharpness of the interface and to determine if any voids/defects are present. DB FIB cross-sections can be made at any accessible location on a sample.

Table 1. Test Matrix

Method Information acquired Comments
Optical microscopy Color images of sample, dimensional measurements. Limited to ~ 2500×.  Only detects visible light.
WDXRF Elemental composition and film thickness Minimum sampling area is 0.5 mm diameter

PPM detection limits

RBS Elemental composition up to 2 microns depth.  Elemental areal density and calculated film thickness. No standards required.
DB FIB Allows direct imaging of a cross section of the sample.  Grey scale images with high depth of field with magnifications up to 100,000× on standard tools. Small area cut.  Only shows that one plane in the sample.  Limited depth of approximately 50 microns.

Results of each test:

Optical imaging in this case was used just to document the sample and inspect it prior to analysis.

Figure 1: Optical images of the sample after DB FIB.

XRF is used to detect the elements present in the film and also in the underlying substrate, with ppm detection limits. With this data and knowing the gold is in the overlying film, calculations can be made to determine the thickness of the film. Several locations were analyzed to determine the overall uniformity of the gold coating.

Figure 2: The XRF scan shows the elements present in the sample.

Table 2. Gold coating (front side)

Element Coating (wt%) Substrate (wt%)
Au 100
Cu 73.9
Ni 25.7
Co 0.019
Fe 0.059
Mn 0.30
Zn 0.042

Table 3. Elemental composition of the surface layer and the substrate, the coating is pure Au.

Film     Substrate Substrate
Au Cu Ni
nm St. Dev. RSD (%) wt% wt%
Spot 1 98 0.29 0.30 75.4 24.6
Spot 2 87 0.49 0.56 75.1 24.9
Spot 3 112 0.33 0.29 75.2 24.8

Table 4. Quantified using calibration from Au thickness standards over a 1mm area

The coating thickness is nonuniform. Each analysis was repeated 3 times at each location (note the RSD determined from the repeat measurements). WDXRF has excellent precision and can measure sub-nm scale differences in thickness.

Figure 3:  RBS data with the best fit modeled data. Using the best fit to the data, a depth profile of the film and the areal density are then calculated.

  RBS
Thickness [nm]
Atomic Concentrations
[at%]
Assumed
Density [at/cc]
    Ni Cu Au  
Layer 1 82 100 5.90E22
BULK 26.5 73.5 8.63E22

Table 5. RBS elemental composition, showing an aerial density of 4.85e17 atoms/cm2

The average thickness for this film was measured to be 70 nm by Dual Beam FIB. The film is rough with a standard deviation of 8 nm, as measured directly using the SEM mountd on the DB FIB.

Figure 4: A DB FIB cross section of the gold layer (see red arrow) on the sample allows measurement of the layer thickness.

The density of the gold film can be calculated using the areal density obtained from RBS and the layer thicknesses from either XRF or DB FIB. The XRF gives an average thickness over a larger area while the DB FIB shows the film thickness and variation in a much smaller specific location.

Using the atomic mass of gold, 3.2707×10-22 g/atom, this results in a range of 22.6-24.0 g/cm3 which compared to the common density of gold of 19.3 g/cm3 (see table below).

Aerial density (atom/cm2) Thickness Atom Density (atm/cm3) Calculated Density g/cm3
4.85×1017 70-87 nm 6.91 X1022 22.6-24.0

Summary:

The use of thin films in products requires a knowledge of the film properties. This paper illustrates a procedure to determine the composition, thickness and density of a film. The Three techniques used on different locations on the sample provided a range of thicknesses. This sample was checked and the gold coating thickness ws found to be very variable. The analyses of the techniques were repeated and the individual locations provide very repeatable results however the sample variation across the analyzed regions showed the non-uniformity of the coating.

While there are alternative techniques to determine film thickness and composition this approach has the advantages of direct measurement of the thickness (via DB-FIB) at a particular location and elemental composition determination with excellent detection limits (via XRF) along with averaged thickness over a larger area. The RBS then adds the capability to measure the aerial density and ultimately provide a film density. This combination of techniques enables average thickness measurements and specific area measurements to be made to better understand the thickness variations in the film(s).

Additional properties of thin films can be investigated with additional techniques: roughness with AFM, Stress and texture by XRD, trace contaminations with SIMS, grain structure with EBSD and surface composition with XPS or Auger Electron Spectroscopy.

References:

  1. A. Voevodin and J. S. Zabinski, Thin Solid Films 370 (2000) 223
  2. Tomoaki Matsushima, … Kiyotaka Wasa, in Handbook of Sputtering Technology (Second Edition), 2012.
  3. Carretero, E.; Alonso, R. Semitransparent Decorative Coatings Based on Optical Interference of Metallic and Dielectric Thin Films for High Temperature Applications. Coatings2018, 8, 183.
  4. Gould R.D., Kasap S., Ray A.K. (2017) Thin Films. In: Kasap S., Capper P. (eds) Springer Handbook of Electronic and Photonic Materials. Springer Handbooks. Springer, Cham.
  5. Gould R.D., Kasap S., Ray A.K. (2017) Thin Films. In: Kasap S., Capper P. (eds) Springer Handbook of Electronic and Photonic Materials. Springer Handbooks. Springer, Cham
  6. LOVELL, S., ROLLINSON, E. Density of Thin Films of Vacuum Evaporated Metals. Nature218, 1179–1180 (1968).
  7. Thin‐film characterization by x‐ray fluorescence, C. Huang, Invited paper presented at the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies Annual Meeting, Chicago, IL, 1–6 October, 1989.
  8. Abiodun E. Adeoye, Emmanuel Ajenifuja, Bidini A. Taleatu, and A. Y. Fasasi, “Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry Analysis and Structural Properties of  Thin Films Deposited by Chemical Spray Pyrolysis,” Journal of Materials, vol. 2015, Article ID 215210, 8 pages, 2015.
  9. ] J. Orloff, M. Utlaut, L. Swanson, High Resolution Focused Ion Beams: FIB and its Applications, first ed., Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, New York, 2003

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.