测定薄膜的密度

应用笔记

Daniel JD Sullivan博士,Patrick Davis,Greg Strossman和Daniel Dseng博士

薄膜广泛用于许多高科技设备和消费产品。1,2 使用它们的原因千差万别,但主要是由于它们的物理,机械,电气,热或装饰特性。3,4

这些膜的质量和一致性对这些材料的制造商和用户非常感兴趣。 感兴趣的关键薄膜特性之一是密度。5,6 本文介绍了最佳用于测量此类薄膜密度的过程。 元素组成和膜厚也可以确定并进行讨论。

X射线荧光光谱法(XRF)用于确定膜的厚度和组成与卢瑟福背散射光谱法(RBS)结合使用,后者可确定膜的面密度和元素组成。 第三种感兴趣的技术是可直接测量薄膜厚度的双束聚焦离子束(DB FIB)。7,8,9 这些技术结合在一起提供了薄膜的元素组成,厚度和密度。

样品制备:

我们在这项研究中使用的样本是一枚美国10美分硬币,上面涂有一层薄薄的金。 该膜仅用于演示目的,不像用于苛刻的电子或半导体应用的最新膜那样均匀,但是它是可以在真实膜和膜上进行的技术和测量的一个很好的例子。堆栈。 任何一种技术都不需要样品制备。

XRF测量是在硬币的两个位置进行的。 RBS测量和DB FIB横截面仅在一个位置进行。

获得的信息:

光学显微镜可以检查设备是否存在重大缺陷,例如大裂缝,变色和严重污染。 它通常用于在分析之前记录样品。 可以使用明场和暗场或其混合物来检查和记录不同类型的特定表面特征,例如凹坑,划痕或颗粒。

XRF使用X射线激发材料中的荧光。 荧光的波长显示了样品中存在的物质,荧光强度可用于确定元素组成。 层厚也可以在平坦样品上确定。 大多数元素的检出限通常在PPM(百万分之一)范围内,但这随原子序数而变化。

在卢瑟福反向散射光谱(RBS)中,MeVα粒子(He核)轰击了样品,并测量了散射离子的能量。 对获得的日期进行建模以确定元素组成和层结构。 也可以确定膜的面密度。 使用这种技术,如果已知膜厚度,则可以确定密度,反之亦然:如果已知密度,则可以计算膜厚度。

双束FIB可以用于横穿薄膜层,以使用后续的原位SEM检查直接测量薄膜厚度。 界面和整个胶片也可以成像,以调查界面的清晰度并确定是否存在任何空隙/缺陷。 DB FIB横截面可在样品上任何可及的位置进行。

表1.测试矩阵

选项 获取信息 待评价
光学显微镜 样品的彩色图像,尺寸测量。 限于〜2500×。 仅检测可见光。
WDXRF 元素组成和膜厚 最小采样面积为直径0.5毫米

PPM检测极限

苏格兰皇家银行 元素组成可达2微米的深度。 元素面密度和计算的膜厚。 无需标准。
数据库FIB 可以直接对样品的横截面成像。 在标准工具上可放大高达100,000倍的高景深的灰度图像。 小面积切割。 仅显示样本中的一个平面。 有限的深度约为50微米。

每次测试的结果:

在这种情况下,光学成像仅用于记录样品并在分析之前对其进行检查。

图1:DB FIB后样品的光学图像。

XRF用于检测薄膜中以及下层基材中存在的元素,检测限为ppm。 有了这些数据,并知道上面的薄膜中有金,就可以进行计算以确定薄膜的厚度。 分析了几个位置以确定金涂层的整体均匀性。

图2:XRF扫描显示了样品中存在的元素。

表2.金涂层(正面)

元素 涂层(wt%) 底物(wt%)
Au 100
Cu 73.9
Ni 25.7
Co 0.019
Fe 0.059
Mn 0.30
Zn 0.042

表3.表面层和基材的元素组成,涂层是纯金。

电影     基板 基板
Au Cu Ni
nm 圣开发区 相对标准偏差(%) 重量% 重量%
现货1 98 0.29 0.30 75.4 24.6
现货2 87 0.49 0.56 75.1 24.9
现货3 112 0.33 0.29 75.2 24.8

表4.使用Au厚度标准品在1mm范围内的校准进行量化

涂层厚度不均匀。 在每个位置将每个分析重复3次(请注意,由重复测量确定的RSD)。 WDXRF具有出色的精度,可以测量亚纳米级的厚度差异。

图3:具有最佳拟合建模数据的RBS数据。 使用与数据的最佳拟合,然后计算薄膜的深度轮廓和面密度。

  苏格兰皇家银行
厚度[nm]
原子浓度
[在%]
假定
密度[at / cc]
    Ni Cu Au  
图层1 82 100 5.90E22
26.5 73.5 8.63E22

表5. RBS元素组成,显示出4.85e17原子/ cm的空气密度2

通过双光束FIB测量该膜的平均厚度为70nm。 膜是粗糙的,标准偏差为8 nm,可直接使用安装在DB FIB上的SEM测量。

图4:样品上金层的DB FIB横截面(参见红色箭头)可用于测量层厚。

可以使用从RBS获得的面密度和从XRF或DB FIB获得的层厚度来计算金膜的密度。 XRF给出了较大面积上的平均厚度,而DB FIB则显示了膜厚以及在很小的特定位置上的变化。

使用金的原子质量3.2707×10-22 g / atom,结果范围为22.6-24.0 g / cm3 相比之下,普通的黄金密度为19.3 g / cm3 (见下表)。

空气密度(原子/厘米2) 厚度 原子密度(atm / cm3) 计算密度g / cm3
4.85 × 1017 70 87纳米 6.91 X1022 22.6-24.0

概要:

在产品中使用薄膜需要了解薄膜的特性。 本文说明了确定薄膜成分,厚度和密度的步骤。 在样品的不同位置上使用的三种技术提供了一定范围的厚度。 检查该样品,发现金涂层的厚度变化很大。 重复了该技术的分析,各个位置提供了非常可重复的结果,但是整个分析区域中的样品变化表明涂层不均匀。

尽管有其他技术可以确定膜的厚度和成分,但这种方法的优点是可以直接测量特定位置处的厚度(通过DB-FIB),并具有极佳的检测限(通过XRF)确定元素组成,并且可以测量整个区域的平均厚度。更大的面积。 然后,RBS增加了测量空气密度并最终提供胶片密度的功能。 技术的这种组合使得能够进行平均厚度测量和比面积测量,以更好地理解膜中的厚度变化。

可以使用其他技术研究薄膜的其他特性:AFM的粗糙度,XRD的应力和织构,SIMS的痕迹污染,EBSD的晶粒结构和XPS或俄歇电子能谱仪的表面成分。

参考文献:

  1. A.Voevodin和JS Zabinski,固体薄膜370(2000)223
  2. 松岛友昭(Tomoaki Matsushima),… 溅射技术手册(第二版)2012。
  3. E. Carretero; Alonso,R.基于金属和介电薄膜的光学干涉的高温应用的半透明装饰涂料。 镀层2018, 8183。
  4. Gould RD,Kasap S.,Ray AK(2017)薄膜。 在:Kasap S.,Capper P.(eds)Springer电子和光子材料手册。 施普林格手册。 湛史普林格。
  5. Gould RD,Kasap S.,Ray AK(2017)薄膜。 在:Kasap S.,Capper P.(eds)Springer电子和光子材料手册。 施普林格手册。 湛史普林格
  6. LOVELL,S.,ROLLINSON,E.真空蒸发金属薄膜的密度。 自然218,1179–1180(1968)。
  7. 通过X射线荧光表征薄膜, ,在1年6月1989-XNUMX日在伊利诺伊州芝加哥举行的分析化学和光谱学协会联合会年会上发表的邀请论文。
  8. Abiodun E. Adeoye,Emmanuel Ajenifuja,Bidini A. Taleatu和AY Fasasi,“卢瑟福反向散射光谱分析和化学喷雾热解沉积薄膜的结构性质”,《材料杂志》,第2015,物品ID 215210,8页,2015。
  9. ] J. Orloff,M。Utlaut,L。Swanson,《高分辨率聚焦离子束:FIB及其应用》,第一版,Kluwer Academic / Plenum Publishers,纽约,2003年

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Determining Density of Thin Films

APPLICATION NOTE

By Daniel J. D. Sullivan, Ph.D, Patrick Davis, Greg Strossman, and Daniel Tseng, Ph.D

Thin films are widely used in many high-tech devices and consumer products.1,2 The reasons for their use varies widely but is predominantly due to their physical, mechanical, electrical, thermal or decorative properties.3,4

The quality and consistency of these films is of great interest to manufacturers and users of these materials. One of the key film properties of interest is density.5,6 This paper addresses the processes best used to measure the density of such films. The elemental composition and film thickness can also be determined and are also discussed.

The use of X-ray Fluorescence Spectroscopy (XRF) to determine film thickness and composition is coupled with Rutherford Back Scattering Spectrometry (RBS) which determines the film’s areal density and elemental composition. The third technique of interest is Dual Beam Focused Ion Beam (DB FIB) which can directly measure film thickness.7,8,9 These techniques combine to provide the film’s elemental composition, thickness and density.

Sample preparation:

The sample we used in this study is a US 10 cent coin that was coated with a thin layer of gold. This film is used for demonstration purposes only and is not as uniform as state-of-the-art films used for demanding electronic or semiconductor applications, but it is a good example for the techniques and measurements that can be made on real films and film stacks. No sample preparation was required for any of the techniques.

XRF measurements were made on both sides of the coin at several locations. The RBS measurement and the DB FIB cross section were made in one location only.

Information obtained:

Optical microscopy allows inspection of devices for major defects such as large cracks, discolorations, and gross contamination. It is often used to document the samples prior to analysis. Bright field and dark field or a mix can be used to examine and document specific surface features of different types, e.g. pits, scratches or particles.

XRF uses X-rays to excite fluorescence in materials. The wavelength of the fluorescence shows the species present in the sample and the intensity of the fluorescence can be used to determine the elemental composition. Layer thicknesses can also be determined on flat samples. Detection limits are typically in the PPM (parts per million) range for most elements, but this varies with atomic number.

In Rutherford Back Scattering Spectrometry (RBS) MeV alpha particles (He nuclei) bombard the sample and the energy of the scattered ions are measured. The date obtained are modeled to determine the elemental composition and layer structure. The areal density of the film can also be determined. With this technique, if the film thickness is known, then the density can be determined and vice versa: if the density is known, then the film thickness can be calculated.

Dual Beam FIB can be used to cross section through the thin film layers to directly measure the film thickness(es) using subsequent in situ SEM inspection. The interface and the entire film can also be imaged to investigate the sharpness of the interface and to determine if any voids/defects are present. DB FIB cross-sections can be made at any accessible location on a sample.

Table 1. Test Matrix

Method Information acquired Comments
Optical microscopy Color images of sample, dimensional measurements. Limited to ~ 2500×.  Only detects visible light.
WDXRF Elemental composition and film thickness Minimum sampling area is 0.5 mm diameter

PPM detection limits

RBS Elemental composition up to 2 microns depth.  Elemental areal density and calculated film thickness. No standards required.
DB FIB Allows direct imaging of a cross section of the sample.  Grey scale images with high depth of field with magnifications up to 100,000× on standard tools. Small area cut.  Only shows that one plane in the sample.  Limited depth of approximately 50 microns.

Results of each test:

Optical imaging in this case was used just to document the sample and inspect it prior to analysis.

Figure 1: Optical images of the sample after DB FIB.

XRF is used to detect the elements present in the film and also in the underlying substrate, with ppm detection limits. With this data and knowing the gold is in the overlying film, calculations can be made to determine the thickness of the film. Several locations were analyzed to determine the overall uniformity of the gold coating.

Figure 2: The XRF scan shows the elements present in the sample.

Table 2. Gold coating (front side)

Element Coating (wt%) Substrate (wt%)
Au 100
Cu 73.9
Ni 25.7
Co 0.019
Fe 0.059
Mn 0.30
Zn 0.042

Table 3. Elemental composition of the surface layer and the substrate, the coating is pure Au.

Film     Substrate Substrate
Au Cu Ni
nm St. Dev. RSD (%) wt% wt%
Spot 1 98 0.29 0.30 75.4 24.6
Spot 2 87 0.49 0.56 75.1 24.9
Spot 3 112 0.33 0.29 75.2 24.8

Table 4. Quantified using calibration from Au thickness standards over a 1mm area

The coating thickness is nonuniform. Each analysis was repeated 3 times at each location (note the RSD determined from the repeat measurements). WDXRF has excellent precision and can measure sub-nm scale differences in thickness.

Figure 3:  RBS data with the best fit modeled data. Using the best fit to the data, a depth profile of the film and the areal density are then calculated.

  RBS
Thickness [nm]
Atomic Concentrations
[at%]
Assumed
Density [at/cc]
    Ni Cu Au  
Layer 1 82 100 5.90E22
BULK 26.5 73.5 8.63E22

Table 5. RBS elemental composition, showing an aerial density of 4.85e17 atoms/cm2

The average thickness for this film was measured to be 70 nm by Dual Beam FIB. The film is rough with a standard deviation of 8 nm, as measured directly using the SEM mountd on the DB FIB.

Figure 4: A DB FIB cross section of the gold layer (see red arrow) on the sample allows measurement of the layer thickness.

The density of the gold film can be calculated using the areal density obtained from RBS and the layer thicknesses from either XRF or DB FIB. The XRF gives an average thickness over a larger area while the DB FIB shows the film thickness and variation in a much smaller specific location.

Using the atomic mass of gold, 3.2707×10-22 g/atom, this results in a range of 22.6-24.0 g/cm3 which compared to the common density of gold of 19.3 g/cm3 (see table below).

Aerial density (atom/cm2) Thickness Atom Density (atm/cm3) Calculated Density g/cm3
4.85×1017 70-87 nm 6.91 X1022 22.6-24.0

Summary:

The use of thin films in products requires a knowledge of the film properties. This paper illustrates a procedure to determine the composition, thickness and density of a film. The Three techniques used on different locations on the sample provided a range of thicknesses. This sample was checked and the gold coating thickness ws found to be very variable. The analyses of the techniques were repeated and the individual locations provide very repeatable results however the sample variation across the analyzed regions showed the non-uniformity of the coating.

While there are alternative techniques to determine film thickness and composition this approach has the advantages of direct measurement of the thickness (via DB-FIB) at a particular location and elemental composition determination with excellent detection limits (via XRF) along with averaged thickness over a larger area. The RBS then adds the capability to measure the aerial density and ultimately provide a film density. This combination of techniques enables average thickness measurements and specific area measurements to be made to better understand the thickness variations in the film(s).

Additional properties of thin films can be investigated with additional techniques: roughness with AFM, Stress and texture by XRD, trace contaminations with SIMS, grain structure with EBSD and surface composition with XPS or Auger Electron Spectroscopy.

References:

  1. A. Voevodin and J. S. Zabinski, Thin Solid Films 370 (2000) 223
  2. Tomoaki Matsushima, … Kiyotaka Wasa, in Handbook of Sputtering Technology (Second Edition), 2012.
  3. Carretero, E.; Alonso, R. Semitransparent Decorative Coatings Based on Optical Interference of Metallic and Dielectric Thin Films for High Temperature Applications. Coatings2018, 8, 183.
  4. Gould R.D., Kasap S., Ray A.K. (2017) Thin Films. In: Kasap S., Capper P. (eds) Springer Handbook of Electronic and Photonic Materials. Springer Handbooks. Springer, Cham.
  5. Gould R.D., Kasap S., Ray A.K. (2017) Thin Films. In: Kasap S., Capper P. (eds) Springer Handbook of Electronic and Photonic Materials. Springer Handbooks. Springer, Cham
  6. LOVELL, S., ROLLINSON, E. Density of Thin Films of Vacuum Evaporated Metals. Nature218, 1179–1180 (1968).
  7. Thin‐film characterization by x‐ray fluorescence, C. Huang, Invited paper presented at the Federation of Analytical Chemistry and Spectroscopy Societies Annual Meeting, Chicago, IL, 1–6 October, 1989.
  8. Abiodun E. Adeoye, Emmanuel Ajenifuja, Bidini A. Taleatu, and A. Y. Fasasi, “Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry Analysis and Structural Properties of  Thin Films Deposited by Chemical Spray Pyrolysis,” Journal of Materials, vol. 2015, Article ID 215210, 8 pages, 2015.
  9. ] J. Orloff, M. Utlaut, L. Swanson, High Resolution Focused Ion Beams: FIB and its Applications, first ed., Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers, New York, 2003

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.