纤维素生物膜的流体成像原子力显微镜

应用笔记

纤维素是天然存在的线性多糖,广泛用于工业和消费品应用中,包括用作造纸和纺织品制造的主要成分,用作生物燃料以及用作食品中的增稠剂和稳定剂。 聚合物的半渗透性使其自身可以很好地用作过滤器。 因此,改性纤维素材料通常在生物医学行业的透析管中用于治疗肾脏疾病。

透析管膜的分子量截留值(MWCO)有所不同。 MWCO是与孔数和平均孔径有关的参数,其可以由纤维素链长度和交联度控制。 材料的MWCO将决定分子将通过或将不通过的分子大小,从而决定膜在从患者血流中清除废物方面的有效性。 表征孔径和形貌对于设计具有理想过滤性能的生物膜至关重要。 改性纤维素在拓扑学中至关重要的另一个应用是药物输送,其中孔径直接影响药物封装的稳定性和释放动力学。

原子力显微镜(AFM)是表征生物膜形貌的常用分析技术,因为它可以在流体中进行。 就地分析水合生物膜是理想的选择,可避免干燥或暴露于真空下可能出现的任何收缩和表面形貌的非代表性变化。 在进行AFM测量期间,将对直径为几纳米并悬在悬臂末端的探针进行光栅扫描,该探针可在整个表面上进行扫描。 尖端的运动由悬臂背面反射的激光进行监控,并且如果尖端在其共振频率附近振荡(点击模式),则反馈回路将保持恒定的悬臂挠度(接触模式)或恒定的振幅。 保持恒定偏转或振幅所需的反馈回路中的电信号被转换为高度信息,以提供所研究表面的3D渲染。 在本应用笔记中,进行流体成像AFM以表征1000kDa透析管的孔径。

实验

使用Dimension Icon AFM仪器(布鲁克,圣巴巴拉,美国加利福尼亚)和PNP-TR C2探头(NanoWorld;瑞士纳沙泰尔),以轻敲模式收集AFM图像。 将样品安装在流体池中,并在去离子水中进行分析。 收集一张10μmx10μm的调查图像,以识别具有高孔隙密度的合适子区域。 然后使用更高分辨率的条件收集1μmx1μm的图像。 这些图像的形貌差异以棕色低和白色高的颜色表示。 z范围标注在图像右侧的垂直比例尺上。 这些表面的透视图(3-D)也包括在标题中指出的垂直夸大处。

结果与讨论

在透析管样品上,在10μmx10μm的AFM调查图像中观察到了各种大规模的地形特征,例如紧密堆积的垂直排列的股线和具有可触及孔隙的宽大的蹼状区域(图1)。 选择具有高密度孔的子区域进行高分辨率成像(图2),并使用截面分析测量几个孔径。 截面分析是一种后处理方法,需要选择AFM图像上的线距和位置。 输出是高度与X / Y距离的线轮廓图,可以针对特征高度(或深度)和横向尺寸进行评估。 截面轮廓和2D图像中的红色和蓝色光标指示测量位置。 底部方框中的“水平距离”列报告了孔径(即〜一半的最大宽度)。 测得的孔径范围为13nm至18nm(图3)。 在其他位置的AFM图像和大量数据处理以测量更大的孔采样将提供可能与透析管性能和性能相关的孔径统计数据。

图1. 1000kDa透析管(10μmx10μmx 300nm)

图2. 1000kDa透析管(1μmx1μmx 150nm)

图3. 1000kDa透析管(0.25μmx0.25μmx 150nm),代表性切片分析

结论

总之,证明了通过AFM对流体中的生物膜进行成像。 透析管的AFM图像显示出可变孔径的网络,这可能会影响材料的物理和功能特性。 可以从液体分析中受益的其他类型的柔软,细腻的样品包括隐形眼镜,生物细胞和DNA,以及从干态到湿态基本上发生变化的任何其他样品。

致谢

EAG感谢圣克拉拉大学的Maryam Mobed-Miremadi提供了这项工作的样本和动机。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Fluid Imaging AFM of Cellulose Bio-membranes

APPLICATION NOTE

Cellulose is a naturally occurring, linear polysaccharide used in a wide range of industrial and consumer product applications including as a chief ingredient in paper and textile manufacturing, as a biofuel, and as a thickening agent and stabilizer in food products. The semi-permeability of the polymer lends itself to function well as a filter; therefore, modified cellulose materials often are utilized in the biomedical industry in dialysis tubing to treat kidney disease.

Dialysis tubing membranes are differentiated by their molecular weight cutoffs (MWCOs). MWCO is a parameter related to the number of pores and the average pore size, which can be controlled by the cellulose chain length and by the degree of cross-linking. The MWCO of a material will dictate what size of molecules will or will not pass through and thus determines the effectiveness of the membrane in removing waste products from a patient’s bloodstream. Characterizing pore size and topography will be essential to design bio-membranes with ideal filtering properties. Another application of modified cellulose in which topography is critical is drug delivery where pore size directly impacts drug encapsulation stability and release kinetics.

Atomic Force Microscopy (AFM) is a commonly used analytical technique for characterizing bio-membrane topography because it can be performed in fluid. Analyzing hydrated bio-membranes in-situ is ideal to avoid any possible shrinkage and non-representative alterations to topography upon drying or exposure to vacuum. During an AFM measurement, a probe tip several nanometers in diameter and suspended at the end of a cantilever is raster scanned across a surface. The tip movement is monitored by a laser reflected off the back of the cantilever and a feedback loop maintains either a constant cantilever deflection (contact mode) or constant vibration amplitude if the tip is oscillated near its resonant frequency (tapping mode). The electrical signal in the feedback loop needed to maintain constant deflection or amplitude is converted into height information to provide a 3D rendering of the surface under investigation. In this application note, fluid imaging AFM is performed to characterize the pore size of 1000kDa dialysis tubing.

EXPERIMENTAL

AFM images were collected in tapping mode using a Dimension Icon AFM instrument (Bruker, Santa Barbara, California, USA) and a PNP-TR C2 probe (NanoWorld; Neuchâtel, Switzerland). The sample was mounted in a fluid cell and analyzed under deionized water. One 10μm x 10μm survey image was collected to identify a suitable sub-region which had high pore density. Then a 1μm x 1μm image was collected using higher resolution conditions. The topography differences of these images are presented in colors where the brown is low and the white is high. The z ranges are noted on the vertical scale bar on the right side of the images. Perspective (3-D) views of these surfaces are also included with vertical exaggerations noted in the captions.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

On the dialysis tubing sample, a variety of large-scale topographic features were observed in the 10μm x 10μm survey AFM image, such as closely packed, vertically aligned strands and broad, webbed regions with accessible pores (Figure 1). A sub-region with a high density of pores was selected for high resolution imaging (Figure 2) and several pore diameters were measured using section analysis. Section analysis is a post-processing method that entails selecting a line distance and position across the AFM image. The output is a line profile graph of height versus X/Y distance that can be evaluated for feature height (or depth) and lateral dimensions. The red and blue cursors in the section profiles and 2D images indicate the measurement locations. The ‘Horizontal Distance’ column in the bottom box reports the pore diameters (i.e. ~ full width at half maximum). The pore diameters that were measured ranged from 13nm to 18nm (Figure 3). AFM images at additional locations and extensive data processing to measure a larger sampling of pores would provide pore diameter statistics that could be correlated with dialysis tubing properties and performance.

Figure 1. 1000kDa dialysis tubing (10μm x 10μm x 300nm)

Figure 2. 1000kDa dialysis tubing (1μm x 1μm x 150nm)

Figure 3. 1000kDa dialysis tubing (0.25μm x 0.25μm x 150nm), representative section analysis

CONCLUSION

In summary, the imaging of a bio-membrane in fluid by AFM was demonstrated. The AFM images of a dialysis tube revealed networks of variable pore sizes, which could impact the physical and functional properties of the material. Other types of soft, delicate samples that could benefit from analysis in liquid include contact lenses, biological cells, and DNA and any other samples that change substantially from dry to wet states.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

EAG is grateful to Maryam Mobed-Miremadi of Santa Clara University for providing the samples and motivation for this work.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.