傅里叶变换红外光谱(FTIR)服务

技术说明

FTIR 是一种基于红外光子吸收的光谱技术,可激发分子键的振动。 产生一系列特征谱带,可用作指纹识别和识别 表征样本。 FTIR分析可以在透射或反射模式下进行。 基于样品的特定特征选择特定的FTIR分析模式以及样品制备方法。 对于透射或反射FTIR,在分析之前必须将样品稀释到0.1至10μm之间。 反射模式分析限于反射基板上的薄材料或稍微柔韧的材料,其可以与硬衰减全反射(ATR)晶体良好接触。 ATR红外光谱是反射率FTIR的一种特殊形式,其中IR辐射通过ATR晶体进行多次通过,并且每次通过时,分析相邻样品的相对薄的层。

使用显微镜附件,FTIR中的分析点尺寸可以从几毫米直径到15μm。 为了检测化合物混合物中的次要组分,该组分应以至少几个重量百分比的含量存在,尽管检测限可以更高或更低,这取决于特定化合物的分子结构。 由于许多有机化合物的指纹是独特的,因此FTIR最常用于提供定性化合物鉴定。 当适当的校准样品可用时,定量FTIR可以是一种强大的技术。 FTIR适用于固体,液体和气体。

典型数据

邻苯二甲酸二辛酯增塑剂的FTIR光谱

邻苯二甲酸二辛酯增塑剂的FTIR光谱

常见的应用程序

  • 鉴定 未知的有机和一些无机材料,通常是混合物,通常是微观的
  • 检测和表征聚合物中的有机和一些无机添加剂,含量低至百分之几
  • 通过聚合物固化,灭菌,热处理,等离子体处理等表征有机材料化学结构的变化
  • Si中晶体中的O和H以及SiN晶片中的H(Si-H与NH)的定量
  • 表征总非挥发性残留物或可冷凝挥发物

优势

  • 能够识别有机官能团和特定的有机化合物
  • 广泛的光谱库,有助于化合物鉴定
  • 环境分析条件(不需要真空,因此适用于挥发性化合物)
  • 可容纳大样本量
  • 通常是非破坏性的
  • 最小分析区域: ~15微米
  • 在某些情况下是半定量的

限制

  • 表面灵敏度有限
  • 最小分析区域: ~15微米
  • 有限的无机信息
  • 除非使用校准样品,否则仅提供定性信息

技术比较

与FTIR光谱学互补的其他技术包括 拉曼光谱学,X射线光电子能谱(XPS),飞行时间二次离子质谱(TOF-SIMS),气相色谱 - 质谱(GC-MS)和液相色谱 - 质谱(LC-MS)。 所有这些技术都可用于不同程度地表征有机材料。

拉曼也是一种振动光谱技术,在许多情况下,它提供补充信息。 两种技术都提供有机化合物识别 并不仅限于功能组识别。 拉曼的最小光斑尺寸为1μm,明显小于FTIR。 由拉曼分析的某些样品将显示来自荧光的干扰。 此外,在拉曼光谱中,如果存在无机碳,它可以控制和掩盖来自有机化合物的信号。

XPS提供有关样品短程化学键合的信息,而TOF-SIMS提供有关其分子组成的信息。 使用XPS和TOF-SIMS的分析深度大约为10-100Å,因此如果样品不是原始的并且表面已被污染,它们有时会对表征大量未知有机材料过于敏感。其他杂质。 GC-MS和LC-MS是有机化合物表征中常用的工具。 两种技术都能够将样品混合物分离成各自的组分,并表征或鉴定每种成分。 这些技术通常要求在分析之前使样品蒸发或溶解,使这些实验复杂化。

EAG的FTIR

我们的FTIR科学家受过高等教育,知识渊博,是复杂有机混合物分析的领导者。 我们以拥有许多不同类型材料和应用的经验而自豪。 我们提供准确的数据,完整的书面报告,快速周转时间和个人对个人服务。

商品描述

对未知材料进行化学鉴定通常是确定未知材料的关键步骤 污染问题的根本原因。 当污染物本质上是有机物时,识别过程可能特别具有挑战性,因为存在数千种有机化合物。 由于大多数污染物是两种或更多种不同化合物的混合物,因此难以识别未知物。

傅立叶变换红外光谱(FTIR)是一种非常适用于表征有机材料(包括聚合物)和某些无机化合物的技术。 通过FTIR获得的光谱提供了关于特定分子结构的存在的信息。 虽然在所有FTIR分析中都很重要,但熟练的样品制备和知识渊博的光谱解释对于识别未知物质尤其重要。

FTIR图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FTIR) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE

FTIR is a spectroscopic technique based on the absorption of infrared photons that excite vibrations of molecular bonds. A spectrum of characteristic bands is produced that can be used as a fingerprint to help identify and characterize the sample. FTIR analysis can be conducted in transmission or reflection modes. The specific FTIR analysis mode, as well as the sample preparation method, is selected based on the particular characteristics of the sample. For transmission or reflection FTIR, samples must be thinned to between 0.1 to 10 µm prior to analysis. Reflection mode analysis is limited to thin materials on a reflective substrate or to somewhat pliable materials which can make good contact with a hard attenuated total reflection (ATR) crystal. ATR Infrared Spectroscopy is a special form of reflectance FTIR where the IR radiation makes several passes through the ATR crystal and with each pass a relatively thin layer of the adjacent sample is analyzed.

The analytical spot size in FTIR can range from several millimeters in diameter down to 15 µm with the use of a microscope attachment. For the detection of a minor component in a mixture of compounds, the component should be present at levels of at least a few percent by weight, though the detection limit can be higher or lower, depending on the molecular structures of the particular compounds. Because the fingerprints of many organic compounds are unique, FTIR is most commonly used to provide qualitative compound identification. Quantitative FTIR can be a powerful technique when the appropriate calibration samples are available. FTIR is applicable to solids, liquids, and gases.

TYPICAL DATA

FTIR spectrum of dioctyl phthalate plasticizer

FTIR spectrum of dioctyl phthalate plasticizer

COMMON APPLICATIONS

  • Identification of unknown organic and some inorganic materials, often mixtures and often microscopic
  • Detection and characterization of organic and some inorganic additives in polymers at levels as low as a few percent
  • Characterization of changes in chemical structure of organic materials as a result of polymer cure, sterilization, heat treatment, plasma treatment, etc.
  • Quantification of O and H in Si, and H in SiN wafers (Si-H vs. N-H)
  • Characterization of total non volatile residue or condensable volatiles

STRENGTHS

  • Capable of identifying organic functional groups and specific organic compounds
  • Extensive spectral libraries to aid in compound identification
  • Ambient analysis conditions (no vacuum required so suitable for volatile compounds)
  • Large sample size can be accommodated
  • Often non-destructive
  • Minimum analysis area: ~15 micron
  • Semi-quantitative in certain cases

LIMITATIONS

  • Limited surface sensitivity
  • Minimum analysis area: ~15 micron
  • Limited inorganic information
  • Qualitative information only unless calibration samples are used

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

Other techniques complementary to FTIR Spectroscopy include Raman Spectroscopy, X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS), Time-of-Flight Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (TOF-SIMS), Gas Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry (GC-MS) and Liquid Chromatography-Mass Spectrometry (LC-MS). All of these techniques can be used to characterize organic materials to varying degrees.

Raman is also a vibrational spectroscopy technique that, in many cases, provides complementary information. Both techniques provide organic compound identification; and are not limited simply to functional group identification. The minimum spot size in Raman is 1 µm, significantly smaller than for FTIR. Certain samples analyzed by Raman will show interference from fluorescence. Also, in Raman spectroscopy, if inorganic carbon is present it can dominate and mask signals from organic compounds.

XPS provides information on short-range chemical bonding of a sample while TOF-SIMS provides information on its molecular composition. The depth of analysis with XPS and TOF-SIMS is on the order of 10-100Å so they can sometimes be too surface sensitive when it comes to characterizing the bulk of unknown organic materials if the sample is not pristine and the surface has been contaminated with other impurities. GC-MS and LC-MS are commonly used tools in the characterization of organic compounds. Both techniques have the ability to separate mixtures of samples into their individual components and characterize or identify each of the constituents. These techniques typically require the sample to be vaporized or dissolved prior to analysis, complicating these experiments.

FTIR AT EAG

Our FTIR scientists are highly educated and knowledgeable and are leaders in the analysis of complex organic mixtures. We pride ourselves in having experience with many different types of materials and applications. We provide accurate data, complete written reports, fast turnaround times, and person-to-person service.

DESCRIPTION

Chemical identification of an unknown material is often a key step in determining the root cause of a contamination problem. When the contaminant is organic in nature, the identification process can be particularly challenging, since many thousands of organic compounds exist. The difficulty in identifying unknowns is complicated by the fact that most contaminants are mixtures of two or more different compounds.

Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FTIR) is a technique that is extremely useful for the characterization of organic materials (including polymers) and certain inorganic compounds. The spectra obtained by FTIR provide information about the presence of specific molecular structures. Though important in all FTIR analyses, skillful sample preparation and knowledgeable spectral interpretation are especially critical in the identification of unknown substances.

FTIR Icon

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.