用于复合半导体器件的高深度分辨率SIMS配置文件

应用笔记

讨论

随深度测量掺杂剂和杂质浓度 化合物半导体 通常使用完成 二次离子质谱(SIMS) 因为它具有极低的检测限和出色的深度分辨率。 SIMS是化合物半导体外延和器件研究,开发和过程控制的关键分析技术。

SIMS面临的挑战之一是不断提高其卓越的深度分辨能力,以满足化合物半导体结构日益增长的需求。 SIMS深度分辨率或区分实际杂质或基质浓度差异与样品深度的能力受许多物理参数的影响。 这些包括 地形 样品的质量,初级离子的质量,撞击表面的初级离子束的冲击能量,初级离子束的形状(即横向离子强度分布),以及分离源自离子的二次离子的仪器能力SIMS火山口的中心与火山口侧壁的中心相对。 达到所需检测限度所需的条件也可能影响深度分辨率。 模拟人生 深度分辨率 功能是必须针对每个应用程序优化的因素的复杂汇编。

图1 AlGaAs / InGaAs HEMT结构2keV Cs Bombardment

图1 AlGaAs / InGaAs HEMT结构2keV Cs Bombardment

下面给出了一些示例,这些示例说明了SIMS深度分辨能力的进步以及半导体工程师的价值 HEMT结构。 图1是AlGaAs / InGaAs HEMT结构中Si,O,In和Al的SIMS分布图。 初级离子是Cs +,初级离子的冲击能量是2 keV。 重初级离子(Cs)和低冲击能量(2 keV)的组合是最佳深度分辨率所必需的。

使用1 keV冲击能量分析相同的样品,从而可以在源自1 keV的深度分辨率和2 keV冲击能量之间进行比较。 图2是1 keV(实线)和2 keV(虚线)的Al,O和In信号的叠加图。 首先考虑Al信号。 在大约1100Ånm处,Al信号在InGaAs层的第一界面处急剧下降。 对于1 keV冲击能量,这种下降的锐度更大,并且对于1 keV冲击能量,Al信号的明显“谷”更深。 这是改善深度分辨率的直接结果。 对于In信号,我们看到类似的效果,因为对于1300 keV冲击能量,第二界面处的In减小的锐度(~1Ånm)更大。 对于O信号,我们看到对于1750 keV冲击能量,在约1Å处的界面氧浓度的宽度更窄,并且对于1 keV冲击能量,氧信号的衰减的锐度更大。

图2 2keV和1keV的O和Al剖面比较

图2 2keV和1keV的O和Al剖面比较

对于相同样品中的Si曲线,1 keV与2 keV的效果的类似比较在图3中示出。 在这种情况下,配置文件显示很少,如果有任何差异; 2 keV能量可用于加速分析而不牺牲分辨率。

图3 1keV和2keV的Si剖面比较

图3 1keV和2keV的Si剖面比较

为了说明改善SIMS深度分辨率的重要性,使用了低冲击能量的一次离子束对GOOD和BAD 300×300 µm中的Siδ层进行了轮廓分析2 PHEMT设备。 注意,在这种情况下,两种样品的冲击能量相同。 图4显示了GOOD和BAD样品中Si,Al和In信号的叠加比较。 数据显示BAD样品中的第一个Si delta层比GOOD样品中的扩散更多。 可以很容易地看到这种扩散差异,并且能够看到这种差异是该测量中使用的SIMS深度分辨能力的直接结果。

图4好的和坏的PHEMT比较

图4 好的和坏的PHEMT比较

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

High Depth Resolution SIMS Profiles for Compound Semiconductor Devices

APPLICATION NOTE

DISCUSSION

The measurement of dopant and impurity concentrations with depth in compound semiconductors is often accomplished using Secondary Ion Mass Spectrometry (SIMS) because of its very low detection limits and excellent depth resolution. SIMS is a key analytical technique for research, development, and process control of compound semiconductor epitaxy and devices.

One of the challenges for SIMS is to continuously improve its excellent depth resolution capability to meet some of the increasing demands of compound semiconductor structures. SIMS depth resolution, or the ability to distinguish real impurity or matrix concentration differences with depth into the sample, is affected by many physical parameters. These include the topography of the sample, the mass of the primary ion, the impact energy of the primary ion beam striking the surface, the shape of the primary ion beam (i.e., lateral ion intensity distribution), and the instrumental ability to separate secondary ions originating from the center of the SIMS crater versus those from the crater sidewalls. Conditions required to achieve desired detection limits may also affect depth resolution. The SIMS depth resolution capability is a complex compilation of factors that must be optimized for each application.

Figure 1 AlGaAs / InGaAs HEMT Structure 2keV Cs Bombardment
Figure 1 AlGaAs / InGaAs HEMT Structure 2keV Cs Bombardment

Some examples that illustrate advancement in SIMS depth resolution capability, and value to the semiconductor engineer, are given here for HEMT structures. Figure 1 is a SIMS profile of Si, O, In and Al in an AlGaAs/InGaAs HEMT structure. The primary ion is Cs+ and the impact energy of the primary ion is 2 keV. The combination of a heavy primary ion (Cs) and a low impact energy (2 keV) is necessary for optimum depth resolution.

The same sample was analyzed using a 1 keV impact energy, so that a comparison could be made between depth resolutions derived from 1 keV and 2 keV impact energies. Figure 2 is an overlay plot of the Al, O and In signals for 1 keV (solid lines) and 2 keV (dotted lines). First consider the Al signals. At about 1100Å nm the Al signal drops sharply at the first interface of the InGaAs layer. The sharpness of this drop is greater for the 1 keV impact energy and the apparent “valley” of the Al signal is deeper for the 1 keV impact energy. This is a direct result of improved depth resolution. For the In signal we see a similar effect in that the sharpness of the In decrease at the second interface (~1300Å nm) is greater for a 1 keV impact energy. For the O signal we see the width of the interfacial oxygen concentration at about 1750Å nm is more narrow for a 1 keV impact energy, and the sharpness of the falloff of oxygen signal is greater for a 1 keV impact energy.

Figure 2 Comparison of O and Al profiles at 2keV and 1keV
Figure 2 Comparison of O and Al profiles at 2keV and 1keV

A similar comparison of the effect of a 1 keV versus 2 keV is shown in Figure 3 for the Si profile in the same sample. In this case, the profiles show little, if any difference; the 2 keV energy could be used to speed the analysis without sacrificing resolution.

Figure 3 Comparison of Si Profiles at 1keV and 2keV
Figure 3 Comparison of Si Profiles at 1keV and 2keV

In order to illustrate the importance of improved SIMS depth resolution, a low impact energy primary ion beam was used to profile the Si delta layers in GOOD and BAD 300×300 µm2 PHEMT devices. Note that in this case the impact energy was the same for both samples. Figure 4 shows an overlay comparison of the Si, Al, and In signals in the GOOD and BAD samples. The data show that the first Si delta layer in the BAD sample has diffused more than in the GOOD sample. This difference in diffusion can easily be seen, and the ability to see this difference is a direct consequence of the SIMS depth resolution capability used in this measurement.

Figure 4 Good and Bad PHEMT Comparison
Figure 4 Good and Bad PHEMT Comparison

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.