化合物半导体的高分辨率X射线衍射(HR-XRD)测量

应用笔记

引言

高分辨率 XRD (HR-XRD)是一种众所周知的测量方法 组成 和化合物的厚度 半导体 例如SiGe,AlGaAs,InGaAs和其他材料。

当掺杂剂或杂质被替换地添加到单晶格中时,晶格将因掺杂剂原子的存在而变形。 例如,在Si晶格的情况下,晶格中Ge原子的存在导致压缩应变,因为Ge原子大于晶格中的Si原子。 该应变改变了Si晶格的间距,并且这种间距差异可以通过HR-XRD检测。

讨论

图1中显示的是来自具有压缩应变的通用结构的理论HR-XRD扫描,例如Si上的10nm SiGe层。 0度处的尖峰来自衬底中的Si晶格。 较大的Ge原子的存在导致SiGe层中的Si原子进一步间隔开,将衍射峰移动到较低的角度(在衬底峰的左侧)。 由于10nm SiGe层的薄度,来自SiGe层的衍射峰比来自Si衬底的衍射峰宽得多。 在这样薄的层中,只有几行对准的原子可用于产生衍射信号,因此与来自Si衬底的衍射相比,X射线在(相对)宽的角度上衍射,其中有数千行可用于产生衍射信号。 如果结构处于拉伸应变下,那么Si原子将比基板中的那些间隔得更近,并且层峰将移动到基板峰的右侧。 被称为“厚度条纹”的附加峰来自于从SiGe层和Si衬底之间的界面反射的X射线的相长干涉。 这与用于的信号相同 X射线反射率(XRR) 分析,并可用于确定应变层的厚度。

来自外延SiGe结构的典型HR-XRD扫描

这个方法可以用来确定 组成 紧张的层。 图2中所示的是来自两个样品的理论HR-XRD扫描,所述样品由Si上SiGe的30nm上的Si的14nm组成。 在一种情况下,晶格中存在6%Ge,而在另一种情况下存在10%Ge。 HR-XRD可以很容易地解决这两种结构之间的差异,并从厚度条纹确定层的厚度。 此外,高级建模可以提供精确的特征描述,例如渐变SiGe层。 可以使用HR-XRD测量各种外延材料,例如AlGaAs,InGaAs,InGaN等。通常,XRD可以确定这些层的组成在1原子%内,但是,应该注意HR-XRD假设所有掺杂剂都存在于晶格中。 如果掺杂剂或杂质在性质上是间隙的,那么它们将不会被HR-XRD检测到,因为它们对晶格间距没有影响。 此外,HR-XRD实际上并不识别掺杂剂,因此它应仅用于测量已知结构,而不是用于识别这些结构中的未知物种。

HR-XRD可以解决SiGe组成/厚度的微小差异

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

High Resolution X-ray Diffraction (HR-XRD) Measurement of Compound Semiconductors

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

High resolution XRD (HR-XRD) is a well known method for measuring the composition and thickness of compound semiconductors such as SiGe, AlGaAs, InGaAs, and other materials.

When dopants or impurities are added substitutionally to a single crystal lattice the lattice will be strained by the presence of the dopant atoms. For example, in the case of a Si lattice, the presence of Ge atoms in the lattice results in compressive strain since the Ge atoms are larger than the Si atoms in the lattice. This strain changes the spacing of the Si lattice, and this difference in spacing can be detected by HR-XRD.

DISCUSSION

Shown in Figure 1 is a theoretical HR-XRD scan from a generic structure with compressive strain, such as a 10nm SiGe layer on Si. The sharp peak at 0 degrees is from the Si lattice in the substrate. The presence of the larger Ge atoms causes the Si atoms in the SiGe layer to be spaced further apart, shifting the diffraction peak to lower angles (to the left of the substrate peak). The diffraction peak from the SiGe layer is much broader than the diffraction peak from the Si substrate because of the thinness of the 10nm SiGe layer. In such a thin layer there are only a few rows of aligned atoms available to generate a diffracted signal, so the x-rays are diffracted over a (relatively) wide angle compared to diffraction from the Si substrate where there are thousands of rows available to generate the diffracted signal. If the structure was under tensile strain then the Si atoms would be spaced closer together than those in the substrate and the layer peak would be shifted to the right of the substrate peak. The additional peaks, called “thickness fringes” are from constructive interference from X-rays reflected from the interface between the SiGe layer and the Si substrate. This is the same signal that is used for X-ray Reflectivity (XRR) analysis, and can be used to determine the thickness of the strained layer.

Typical HR-XRD scan from an epitaxial SiGe structure

This method can be used to determine the composition of strained layers. Shown in Figure 2 are theoretical HR-XRD scans from two samples consisting of 30nm of Si on 14nm of SiGe on Si. In one case there is 6% Ge in the lattice, while in the other case there is 10% Ge. HR-XRD can easily resolve the difference between these two structures as well as determine the thickness of the layer from the thickness fringes. Furthermore, advanced modeling can provide accurate descriptions of features such as graded SiGe layers. A wide variety of epitaxial materials can be measured with HR-XRD, such as AlGaAs, InGaAs, InGaN, etc. Typically XRD can determine the composition of such layers to within 1 atom%, however, it should be noted that HR-XRD assumes that all of the dopant is present in the lattice. If dopants or impurities are interstitial in nature then they will not be detected by HR-XRD as they have no effect on the lattice spacing. Also, HR-XRD does not actually identify the dopant, so it should be used only for the measurement of known structures, not to identify unknown species in these structures.

HR-XRD can resolve small diferences in SiGe composition/thickness

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.