您的可靠性试验室有多干净?

引言

工业,政府和军事组织要求在特定的高温和潮湿条件下对电子设备和系统进行压力测试。1 这些测试通常在环境箱中进行,环境箱中的温度和相对湿度可以轻松控制和变化。2 这类测试中的一个问题是维护不当或清洁不良的腔室本身可能会对有价值的设备造成潜在的偶然污染。 测试室清洁度非常重要的原因有几个。 污染物可能会抑制所需的电连接或在不需要的地方促进电导通,并使光路模糊并导致样品的美学降解。 这些降低的变化超出了高温和高湿设计引起的变化。 例如,在测试过程中,不导电的有机和/或无机材料可能会覆盖设备的表面。 这可能会干扰设备的电气测试,从而导致与温度/湿度压力测试无关的可感知故障。 此外,这种污染物可能会转移到ATE(自动测试设备)使用的插座或探头上,并最终需要清洗该工具,这可能会大大降低整体测试的速度。 这也可能需要对样本本身进行清洁和重新测试。 替代地,如果将导电材料沉积到某些部件上,则可能会产生短路和/或泄漏路径,从而导致再次与实际可靠性测试无关的故障。 这可能会导致电子设备合格鉴定的延迟,并需要进行重复测试。 因此,了解在湿热,温度循环和其他基于腔室的测试过程中释放出哪种类型的污染物至关重要。

在本文中,我们通过将硅见证晶圆放入腔内以捕获任何异物,来确定可靠性应力腔中的污染程度。 然后执行普通的湿热可靠性测试(称为“ 85/85”),其中将腔室加热到85°C,相对湿度为85%,持续1000小时。 为了获得不同腔室环境的代表性采样,我们从三个实验室分别标记了A,B和C评估了五个不同的腔室。还检查了一个对照晶片,该晶片没有暴露在腔室条件下,而是保存在塑料晶片载体中,以备不时之需。持续时间为1000小时。

进行湿热测试后,通过X射线光电子能谱(XPS)和傅里叶变换红外光谱(FTIR)分析晶片的表面。 两种技术都提供化学键合信息,但是前者使用振动光谱法确定分子结构,而后者使用X射线根据其结合能识别元素和官能团。 两种技术的采样深度也有所不同:XPS探测表面的顶部5-10 nm,而FTIR通常提供有关污染物整个厚度的信息(批量分析)。 最后,两种技术的灵敏度存在显着差异:FTIR只能检测5-20 wt%的物种,而XPS更为灵敏,可以检测〜0.1-1 wt%的痕量元素。 可以将两种技术结合使用以了解表面成分。

对本文提供的污染物成分的了解可用于开发和优化这些腔室的清洁工艺。 我们还演示了使用见证晶圆来确定可靠性腔室清洁度的有效性。

下载此资源以了解更多信息!

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

How Clean is Your Reliability Chamber?

INTRODUCTION

Stress testing of electronic devices and systems under specific heat and humidity conditions is required by industry, government and military organizations.1 These tests are typically performed in environmental chambers, where the temperature and relative humidity can be easily controlled and varied.2 One concern in this type of testing is the potential incidental contamination of valuable devices by a poorly maintained or poorly cleaned chamber itself. There are several reasons why test chamber cleanliness is of great importance. Contaminants could inhibit desired electrical connections or facilitate electrical conduction where it is not desired, as well as obscure optical pathways and lead to esthetic degradation of samples. These degrading changes are beyond those that the elevated temperature and humidity are designed to induce. For example, organic and/or inorganic materials that are non-conductive could coat the surface of the device during the test. This could interfere with the electrical testing of the device resulting in perceived failures unrelated to the temperature/ humidity stress test. Furthermore, this contaminant could be transferred onto the socket or probes used by ATE (automatic test equipment) and ultimately require the cleaning of that tool, which could significantly slow down the overall testing. This may also require the samples themselves to be cleaned and retested. Alternatively, if a conductive material is deposited onto certain parts, shorting and/or leakage paths could be generated, resulting in failures that are, again, unrelated to the actual reliability test. This may cause delays in qualifying the electronic device and require repeat testing. Thus, it is critical to understand what types of contaminants are released during damp heat, temperature cycling and other chamber-based testing.

In this paper, we determine the level of contamination in reliability stress chambers by placing a silicon witness wafer inside of the chamber to capture any foreign materials. A common damp heat reliability test (called “85/85”) is then performed where the chamber is heated to 85 °C with a relative humidity of 85% for 1000 hours. To obtain a representative sampling of different chamber environments, we evaluate five different chambers from three laboratories labeled A, B and C. A control wafer is also examined, which is not exposed to the chamber conditions but instead kept in a plastic wafer carrier for the same duration of 1000 hours.

Following the damp heat test, the surface of the wafers is analyzed by X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) and Fourier transform infrared spectroscopy (FTIR). Both techniques provide chemical bonding information, but the former uses vibrational spectroscopy to determine the molecular structure, whereas the latter uses X-rays to identify elements and functional groups based on their binding energies. The two techniques also vary in their sampling depth: XPS probes the top 5-10 nm of a surface, whereas FTIR generally provides information about the entire thickness of the contaminant (bulk analysis). Finally, there is a notable difference in the sensitivity of the two techniques: FTIR can only detect species present at 5-20 wt%, whereas XPS is more sensitive can detect trace elements at ~0.1-1 wt%. Together, the two techniques can be used in combination to understand the surface composition.

The insight into the composition of contaminants provided by this paper can be used to develop and optimize cleaning processes for these chambers. We also demonstrate the effectiveness of using a witness wafer to determine the cleanliness of reliability chambers.

Download this resource to learn more!

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.