药用片上异物的鉴别

应用笔记

引言

医药行业 对商业产品中的异物零容忍。 可见检查是最常见的方法之一 检测缺陷和/或异物。 理想情况下,这些都是公司质量控制过程的一部分,这些公司对患者没有健康风险,对公共关系的损害最小。 一旦检测到,就需要进行专门的化学分析以确定问题的根源。

讨论

在这种异物的例子中,在白色对乙酰氨基酚片剂的表面上观察到小的黑色痕迹。 扫描电子显微镜与能量色散X射线光谱 (SEM-EDS) 是识别未知物的首选方法之一,特别擅长识别金属污染物。 SEM-EDS提供样品的高倍放大图像和~0.5μm或更大的缺陷的半定量元素分析。 分析缺陷附近的缺陷和控制区域; 但是在两个位置都只检测到C,O和Ti。 这些元素在缺陷上或缺失后的浓度没有显着差异。 该发现表明缺陷可能包含一种或多种这些元素,但不能确定问题的根本原因。

在EAG实验室分析的药丸上的异物

随后通过分析样品 拉曼光谱。 拉曼也非常常用于药物缺陷分析,因为它是非破坏性的,不需要任何样品制备进行表面分析。 它具有与SEM-EDS(~1μm)类似的探针尺寸,但能够更好地鉴定特定的有机和无机化合物。 在缺陷上和下方获得光谱。 对照区域主要含有对乙酰氨基酚(下图中用'*'表示的峰)和锐钛矿(TiO2多晶型物)。 缺陷区域包含这两种材料,并且另外显示出一系列石墨特有的峰。 由于污染很薄并且不含任何独特元素(即药物和污染物中都存在碳),EDS无法识别污染物。 幸运的是,拉曼光谱非常适合识别碳的同素异形体。 通过确定的确切材料,制造商能够找到并消除污染源。

来自EAG实验室的药丸上的外来物质的拉曼分析

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Identification of Foreign Material on Pharmaceutical Tablets

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

The pharmaceutical industry has zero tolerance for foreign material in commercial products. Visible inspection is one of the most common methods for detecting defects and/or foreign matter. Ideally these are caught as part of the quality control process of companies where there is no health risk to patients and minimal public relations damage. Once detected, specialized chemical analyses are required to determine the source of the problem.

DISCUSSION

In this example of foreign material, small black marks were observed on the surface of white acetaminophen tablets. Scanning electron microscopy with energy dispersive x-ray spectroscopy (SEM-EDS) is one of the methods of choice for identification of unknowns, and is particularly good at identifying metallic contaminants. SEM-EDS provides high magnification images of the sample and semi-quantitative elemental analysis on defects that are ~0.5µm or larger. Defects and control areas near the defect were analyzed; however only C, O and Ti were detected in both locations. There was no significant difference in the concentration of these elements on or off the defect. This finding suggests that the defect likely contains one or more of these elements but does not allow the determination of the root cause of the problem.

Foreign material on a pill, as analyzed at EAG Laboratories

The sample was subsequently analyzed by Raman spectroscopy. Raman is also quite commonly used in pharmaceutical defect analyses since it is non-destructive and does not require any sample preparation for surface analyses. It has a similar probe size as SEM-EDS (~1µm) but is better able to identify specific organic and inorganic compounds. Spectra were acquired on and off the defect. The control areas contained primarily acetaminophen (peaks indicated by ‘*’ on the plot below) and anatase (a TiO2 polymorph). The defect area contained these two materials, and additionally showed a series of peaks unique to graphite. Because the contamination was thin and did not contain any unique elements (i.e. carbon was present in both the drug and the contaminant), EDS was unable to identify the contaminant. Fortunately, Raman spectroscopy is excellent at identifying allotropes of carbon. With the exact material identified, the manufacturer was able to locate and eliminate the source of the contamination.

Raman analysis of foreign material on a pill from EAG Laboratories

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.