将可提取物和可浸出物实施到质量控制测试程序中

应用笔记

作者:Wayland Rushing,博士,EAG实验室

摘要

当测试从E&L实验室过渡到常规QC环境时,将遇到E&L程序的众多挑战之一。 最初的E&L工作通常由具有专门设备/人员的专门实验室执行,这可能不利于常规QC测试。 理解常规质量控制环境的局限性和挑战是避免将来出现问题的关键。 本演讲将涵盖以下领域,以及代表性案例研究:

  • QC方法开发: 如何设计QC实验室的开发以确保成功
  • 方法验证: 如何对E&L方法和常见挑战进行验证
  • 稳定性计划: 如何实施稳定性测试以及数据意味着什么
  • 发布测试: 测试最终产品与测试传入组件

背景

E&L研究的初始步骤通常是在研发实验室环境中使用专用设备使用通用扫描方法来执行的。 这些方法通常未得到充分验证,主要用于确定和鉴定观察到的可萃取物和可浸出物。 E&L程序已超出初始步骤,在许多情况下,需要将E&L程序从R&D实验室移至QC实验室的程序。 图1代表一个典型的E&L程序。 绿色部分突出显示了进入QC测试领域的QC步骤。 您可能需要进行质量控制测试的两个领域是:

  1. 需要时设置组件的传入释放测试
  2. 需要在最终产品或API上设置发布和/或稳定性测试时
Extractables和Leachables流程图

图1:典型的E&L研究设计

进行组件释放测试

您可能需要根据受控提取研究的结果并根据制造商进行的测试,在容器/封闭组件上设置进入测试。 这些方法通常应根据ICH指南进行验证:

定量方法

  • 精度,精度,线性,特异性,灵敏度,定量限制

极限测试方法

  • 特异性,LOD

可浸出试验方法

可能并不总是需要建立QC可浸出方法,在多种情况下可能有理由不建立可浸出QC测试。

  • 未检测到可提取的峰。 如果在最坏情况下没有观察到峰值,则可以证明不进行任何额外测试是合理的。
  • 所有可提取峰均低于报告分析评估阈值。
  • 阈值是基于安全关注阈值建立的,并且在阈值以下观察到的任何峰值被认为具有最小的具有毒物作用的风险。
  • 没有超过报告阈值的可浸出物
  • 可提取/可浸出物没有毒性问题
  • 如果已经在化合物上提供了毒性信息,则应通过执行QSAR分析或执行纸质毒性评估来评估在安全关注阈值以上发现的可识别的可萃取物/可浸出物的潜在毒性影响。
  • 如果需要建立QC可浸出方法,则应根据ICH指南验证方法。 可浸出物被认为是最终药物产品中的杂质,因此该方法的验证应与验证DP杂质方法相同:
  • 可以采用两种典型的方法:定量和极限测试。 具体验证参数如下:
    • 精度,精度,中间精度,线性,特异性,灵敏度,定量极限,检测限,稳健性,溶液稳定性
    • 限制测试
    • 特异性,LOD

E&L方法的挑战

由于可萃取物/可浸出物的独特性质以及通常采用的方法,建立可萃取物和可浸出物测试的QC测试方法存在许多挑战。

  • 不要指望可萃取物和可浸出物表现为与API / DP相关的杂质。 API和DP相关杂质通常是相似的物种,其行为相似。 可浸出物可以是各种各样的化合物,从小的极性溶剂到大的大分子。 结果,他们的行为可能比“正常”杂质大不相同。
  • 基于可能用于DP相关杂质的类似标准,不要盲目地为方法验证设置“典型”验收标准。 需要根据方法的所需性能和与之相关的限制来设定标准。
  • 方法开发可能是广泛而复杂的。
  • 可能无法识别所有可浸出物。 他们可能没有很好的质谱或难以隔离。
  • 分析水平可显着低于ICH杂质水平。 在典型情况下,可浸出物10-100X低于杂质报告水平并不罕见。
  • API和配方杂质干扰。 由于需要监测可浸出物的低水平,通常可能无法观察到的API杂质和制剂杂质可能导致对可浸出峰的干扰。
  • 为了达到低分析水平,必须进行样品浓缩步骤以获得所需的AET并不罕见。 在某些情况下,协调可以从2X到100X。 这可能导致一些配方的挑战,因为它们可能凝胶化/凝固或沉淀出来。
  • 许多已识别的可浸出物可能没有任何商业可用的标准,使得验证方法难以进行。

方法验证挑战

特异性

  • API / DP降解剂可能会导致严重问题。 不仅已知的杂质,而且由于可浸出物需要显着降低的水平,与常规杂质方法监测的相比,观察到明显更多的API / DP相关杂质并不罕见。 因此,强烈建议使用老化的API / DP来跟踪这些杂质。 如果没有老化材料,则应对API / DP施加压力以人为产生杂质。
  • 还需要考虑制剂/安慰剂杂质。 与API / DP杂质一样,观察到明显更多与赋形剂相关的峰是非典型的。
  • 可萃取物/可浸出物的共洗脱可能是一个挑战。 在某些情况下,被监测的可浸出物可能具有极其相似的化学结构,这使得它们的色谱分离即使可能也具有挑战性。 在某些情况下,可能无法完全分离可浸出物。

准确度/精确

  • 非均匀样品是一项挑战。 无论是测试DP还是提取样品中的方差,都可能显着大于API / DP相关杂质的预期。 这可以使执行样品精度测试更具挑战性,因为它可以导致测试样品的方差而不是方法。
  • 传统的精确测试通常通过准备从大量材料中复制的多个来执行。 然而,在其已经老化足够长以使它们存在之前,可以在该批次中不存在可浸出物。
  • 使用加标样品(均质化)可以是执行该方法的准确度和精确度测试的优选方式。 这将涉及在一式三份制备的方法范围内制备三个水平。 精确度通过计算回收率的%RSD来确定。
  • 根据需要使用内部标准/替代标准,特别是当没有可浸出物的实际标准时。

挑战/注意事项

使用替代/内部标准时,需要考虑一些挑战/注意事项。

  • 应根据已知的目标化合物仔细选择它们。
  • 如果正在监测一系列可浸出物,则可能适合使用多种标准而不是单一标准,以覆盖各种可浸出化合物的潜在范围。

企業標準

替代/内部标准可能无法模仿实际可提取物/可浸出物的行为,因此该方法可能在日常测试期间的后续问题中出现问题。

  • 基于方法的性能和测试的意图,可以证明比应用于API / DP相关杂质更宽的接受范围是合理的。

LINEARITY

  • 如果没有其他标准,则使用已知可浸出(如果可用)和替代品和/或内部标准的标准。
  • 一些分析技术本质上是非线性的,需要特殊处理。 这可以通过转换响应以生成线性曲线或通过非线性回归分析拟合曲线来实现。 这些技术可以在较小的使用范围内与线性回归拟合并且近似线性响应。 一些可以生成非线性曲线的常用技术是:
    • 质谱
    • 电晕气溶胶探测器(CAD)
    • 蒸发光散射检测器(ELSD)

解决方案稳定性

一些可萃取物/可浸出物固有地不稳定或反应性使得监测和设定溶液稳定性成为挑战。 例如,抗氧化剂Irgafos 168易于氧化形成“氧化的irgafos 168”。 很难控制或防止氧化的发生,并且通常认为,如果你观察到氧化,你也会得到另一个。

稳定计划

应根据ICH Q1指南制定可浸出物稳定性程序(如果需要)。 在标称储存条件和加速条件下进行测试。 但是,数据解释可能更复杂,需要与正常的API / DP相关杂质分开评估。

  • Arrhenius方程不适用。

有两种主要的力量可以确定化合物是否会渗入药物产品中。

  • 迁移动力学 - 将通过材料迁移的速率。 该速率取决于温度。
  • 溶解度/分配 - 这是化合物在DP制剂中的可溶性与化合物在组分材料中的可溶性之比。 虽然溶解度随温度而变化,但它们不会成比例地变化,并且材料溶解度可能增加大于DP制剂溶解度,导致在较低温度下在较高水平下观察到可浸出物的可能性。

回归分析可用于模拟可浸出物出现的速率,但得到的动力学曲线可能与典型的反应动力学显着不同。

可提取 - 可浸出的相关性

如果可能,E&L程序的主要目标之一应该是建立可提取到可浸出的相关性。 这意味着可以生成足够的数据,并且可以将溶出理解为可以直接将观察到的可浸出水平与组分的已知可提取水平相关联的程度。

  • 例如,基于数据集,可以关联如果组分具有提取30μg的化合物,则这相当于浸出到产品中的组分的总2μg。
  • 如果可以建立可提取的可浸出相关性,则可以通过控制进入材料中的可提取物来减少或消除可浸出测试并建立对可浸出物的控制。

概要

当E&L方法从研发环境过渡到常规QC测试领域时,可能会带来一系列挑战。 重要的是要在实施之前了解这些挑战和局限性,以免由于验证失败或由于开发/验证方法不当或常规测试协议建立不当而导致的质量控制调查造成的代价高昂的延误。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Implementing Extractables and Leachables into Quality Control Testing Programs

APPLICATION NOTE

By Wayland Rushing, Ph.D., EAG Laboratories

ABSTRACT

One of the many challenges of E&L programs is encountered when the testing transitions from the E&L lab to a routine QC environment. Initial E&L work is typically performed by specialized labs with specialized equipment/personnel which may not be conducive to routine QC testing. Understanding the limitations and challenges of the routine QC environment is key to avoid issues down the road. This presentation will cover the following areas, along with representative case studies are:

  • QC method development: How to design the development with the QC lab in mind to ensure success
  • Method Validation: How to perform validations for E&L methods and common challenges
  • Stability Programs: How to implement stability testing and what does the data mean
  • Release Testing: Testing the final product vs. testing incoming components

BACKGROUND

The initial steps of an E&L study are often performed using generic scanning methods utilizing specialized equipment in an R&D lab environment. These methods are typically not fully validated and are used primarily for the determination and identification of extractables and leachables observed. The E&L program continues beyond the initial steps and in many cases programs are required to move the E&L program from the R&D lab and into the QC lab. Figure 1 represents a typical E&L program. The sections in green highlight the QC steps which move into the QC testing arena. The two areas in which you may be required to institute QC testing are:

  1. When required to set up incoming release testing of components
  2. When required to set up release and/or stability testing on your final product or API
Extractables and Leachables Flowchart

Figure 1: Typical E&L study design

INCOMING COMPONENT RELEASE TESTING

You may be required to set up incoming testing on the container/ closure components depending on the results of the controlled extraction studies and depending on the testing performed by the manufacturer. These methods should be validated generally in accordance with ICH guidelines:

QUANTITATIVE METHOD

  • Accuracy, Precision, Linearity, Specificity, Sensitivity, Limit of Quantitation

LIMITS TEST METHOD

  • Specificity, LOD

LEACHABLE TEST METHODS

Establishing QC leachable method may not always be required, there are multiple cases where it may be possible to justify not establishing leachable QC testing.

  • No extractable peaks detected. If no peaks are observed under the worst case scenarios it is possible to justify not pursuing any additional testing.
  • All extractable peaks are below reporting analytical evaluation threshold.
  • The threshold is established based on the safety concern threshold and any peaks observed below the threshold are considered to have minimal risk of having a toxilogical aect.
  • No leachables above reporting threshold
  • Extractable/Leachable found has no toxic concerns
  • Identified extractables/leachables found above the safety concern threshold should be evaluated for potential toxic affects by performing a QSAR analysis or performing a paper tox assessment if tox information is already available on the compound
  • If required to establish QC leachable methods, the methods should be validated in accordance with ICH guidelines. Leachables are considered as impurities in the final Drug Product and as such the method should be validated identically as one would validate a DP impurities method:
  • There are two typical types of methods which may be employed: Quantitative and a limits test. The specific validate parameters are listed below:
    • Quantitative
    • Accuracy, Precision, Intermediate Precision, Linearity, Specificity, Sensitivity, Limit of Quantitation, Limit of Detection, Robustness, Solution Stability
    • Limits Test
    • Specificity, LOD

CHALLENGES OF E&L METHODS

Due to the unique nature of the extractables/leachables and the methods typically employed there are many challenges associated with establishing QC testing methods for extractables and leachables testing

  • Don’t expect extractables and Leachables to behave as API/DP related impurities. API and DP related impurities are typically related species which behave similary. Leachables can be a wide variety of compounds ranging from small polar solvents to large macromolecules. As a result their behaviors can be substantially dierent than the “normal” impurities.
  • Don’t blindly set “typical” acceptance criterion for the method validations based on similar criteria that might be used for DP related impurities. Critieria need to be set on the required performance of the method and the limitations associated with it.
  • Method development may be extensive and complex.
  • May not be able to identify all leachables. They may not mass spec well or have diculty in isolating.
  • Analytical levels can be significantly lower than ICH impurity levels. In typical cases it is not uncommon for leachables to be 10-100X lower than impurity reporting levels.
  • API and Formulation impurity interferences. Due to the low levels which leachables are needed to be monitored to, API impurities and formulations impurities which typically may not be observable may cause interference with the leachable peaks.
  • To reach to the low analytical levels it is not uncommon to have to perform sample concentration steps in order to obtain the needed AET. The concertation can range from 2X to 100X in some cases. This can lead to challenges with some formulations as they may gel/solidify or precipitate out.
  • Many of the identified leachables may not have any commercially available standards available, making validating methods dicult.

METHOD VALIDATION CHALLENGES

SPECIFICITY

  • API/DP degradants can cause significant issues. Not only the impurities that are known, but due to the significantly lower levels which leachables are required to go down to, it is not uncommon to observe significantly more API/DP related impurities than what the normal impurity methods monitor for. As a result it is highly recommended that aged API/DP is used to track these impurities. If aged material is not available, stressing the API/DP to artificially generate impurities should be performed.
  • Formulation/placebo impurities need to be accounted for as well. As with the API/DP impurities, it is not atypical to observe significantly more excipient related peaks that expected.
  • Co-elution of extractables/leachables can be a challenge. In some cases the leachables being monitored for may have extremely similar chemical structures making their chromatographic separation challenging if even possible. In some cases it may not be possible to completely separat e the leachable.

ACCURACY/PRECISION

  • Non-Homogeneous samples are a challenge. Whether testing DP or extracts the variance in the samples can be significantly greater than one might expect for API/ DP related impurities. This can make performing sample precision testing more challenging as it can result in testing the variance of the samples rather than the method.
  • Traditional precision testing is typically performed by preparing multiple replicated from lots of material. However, leachable may not be present in the lot until it has aged long enough for them to be present.
  • Using spiked samples (homogenized) can be a preferred way to perform both accuracy and precision testing of the method. This would involve preparing three levels across the range of the method prepared in triplicate. The precision is determined by calculated the %RSD of the recoveries.
  • Use internal standards/surrogate standards as needed and especially when actual standards of the leachables are not available.

CHALLENGES/CAUTIONS

There are some challenges/cautions to be considered when using surrogate/internal standards.

  • They should be carefully chosen based on what is known of the target compounds.
  • If a range of leachable is being monitored for it may be appropriate to use multiple standards rather than a single standard in order to cover the potential range of the various leachable compounds.

STANDARDS

Surrogate/internal standards may not mimic behavior of actual extractables/leachables and as a result the method may have issues later down the road during routine testing.

  • Wider acceptance ranges than would be applied to API/DP related impurities may be justifiable based on the performance of the method and the intent of the testing.

LINEARITY

  • Use standards of the known leachable (if available) and surrogates and/or internal standards if no other standards are available.
  • Some of the analytical techniques are inherently non-linear and will require special treatment. This can be accomplished either by transforming the responses to generate a linear curve or fitting the curve with a non-linear regression analysis. These techniques may be able to be fit with a linear regression under smaller ranges of use and approximate a linear response. Some of the common techniques which can generate nonlinear curves are:
    • Mass Spectrometry
    • Corona Aerosol Detector (CAD)
    • Evaporative light scattering detector (ELSD)

SOLUTION STABILITY

Some extractables/leachables inherently unstable or reactive making monitoring and setting solution stability ranges a challenge. For example the anti-oxidant Irgafos 168 readily oxidizes to form “oxidized irgafos 168”. It is difficult to control or prevent the oxidation from occurring and is commonly accepted that if you observe one you will have the other as well.

STABILITY PROGRAMS

Stability programs for leachables (if needed) should be established per ICH Q1 guidelines. Testing under both nominal storage conditions and accelerated conditions. However, the data interpretation can be more complex and needs to be evaluated separately from normal API/DP related impurities.

  • Arrhenius equation doesn’t apply.

There are two main forces which determine if a compound will leach into a drug product.

  • Migration kinetics – the rate at which the will migrate through the material. This rate is temperature dependent.
  • Solubility/Partitioning – this is the ratio of how soluble the compound is in the DP formulation and how soluble the compound is in the component material. While the solubilities due vary with temperature, they won’t vary proportionally and it is possible that the material solubility increases greater than DP formulation solubility resulting in the potential that a leachable will be observed at higher levels under lower temperatures.

Regression analysis can be used to model the rate at which leachable appear but the resulting kinetic curves can be significantly different than typical reaction kinetics.

EXTRACTABLE – LEACHABLE CORRELATION

If possible one of the main goals of an E&L program should be to establish the extractable to leachable correlation. What this means is that enough data is generated and the leaching is understood to the point that you can directly relate the observed leachable level to the known extractable level of the component.

  • For example based on the data sets, it may be possible to correlate that if a component have a compound that extracts 30 μg this will equate to a total of 2 μg of the component leaching into the product.
  • If it is possible to establish an extractable to leachable correlation it may be possible to either reduce or eliminate the leachable testing and establish control of the leachable by controlling the extractable in the incoming material.

SUMMARY

E&L methods can pose a series of challenges when they transition from the R&D environment an into the realm of routine QC testing. It is important to understand these challenges and limitation prior to implementing avoid costly delays as a result of validation failures or QC investigations as a result of poorly developed/validated methods or poorly established routine testing protocols.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.