有证据证明您的洗手液有效吗?

应用笔记

哈利·鲍尔(Haleigh Bauer)和克里斯·佩里(Chris Perry)

引言

洗手液凝胶含有多种成分,其中乙醇或异丙醇是用于防腐目的的主要活性成分。 以酒精为基础的洗手液凝胶建议的酒精浓度为60-95%,才被认为是有效的。1目前,洗手液产品短缺,促使通常不生产洗手液产品的公司开始生产。 为了确保正确生产洗手液产品,必须使用适当的分析工具进行产品调查。 Eurofins EAG Materials Science配备了必要的工具和技术,可通过质谱气相色谱(GC / MS)和傅立叶变换红外光谱(FT-IR)检查洗手液凝胶产品的主要成分。 本说明说明了Eurofins EAG必须快速,准确地筛选洗手液产品,以确保这些类型的产品满足有效性要求的能力。

讨论

在这项研究中,目标是通过GC / MS和FT-IR筛选五种商用洗手液凝胶的主要成分。 下表列出了洗手液中常见的成分。

洗手液中每种常见的非活性成分都有特定的用途。 水充当溶剂,并且是使活性成分酒精渗透细菌细胞以杀死细菌所必需的。 甘油和丙二醇是保湿剂,有助于防止皮肤水分流失。 肉豆蔻酸异丙酯是一种润肤剂。 肉豆蔻酸异丙酯与维生素E醋酸酯一起可帮助使皮肤光滑。 卡波姆是一种增稠剂,可在洗手液中形成凝胶状质地,三乙醇胺可作为pH调节剂并促进乳化。

采用了两种通过GC / MS进行筛选的方法:1)对乙醇,异丙醇和丙二醇等成分进行挥发性筛查方法(见图1),以及2)对甘油,维生素E醋酸盐等成分进行半挥发性筛查方法,和肉豆蔻酸异丙酯(见图2)。

此外,除了定性筛选样品外,还使用分析参考标准品通过火焰离子化检测气相色谱(GC / FID)对所有五个样品中的乙醇和异丙醇含量进行了定量。 对于乙醇定量,用已知量的乙醇强化了产品D,以评估准确性,并观察到加标回收率为101%。

并不是所有的洗手液凝胶成分都可以通过GC / MS进行分析。 为了阐明洗手液凝胶的聚合物部分(即卡波姆或聚丙烯酸),进行了一系列定制的溶剂萃取,以分离卡波姆,然后进行FT-IR确认其存在。 图3显示了产品E(红色迹线)和卡波姆标准品(紫色迹线)的叠加FT-IR光谱。

另外,除了产物E的卡波姆的FT-IR筛选外,该产品中卡波姆的含量是通过重量分析法测定的。 下表4总结了这些结果。

概要

总之,可以通过GC / MS和FT-IR的组合技术来鉴定洗手液凝胶产品中的许多成分。 另外,可以确定这些产品中乙醇,异丙醇和卡波姆的含量。 当对这些产品有很高的需求时,准确识别和定量洗手液中的主要成分对于生产至关重要。 Eurofins EAG在识别各种不同的洗手液凝胶产品中的成分以确认产品标签声明以及确定这些类型的产品是否满足有效性要求方面具有丰富的经验。

参考文献:

  1. 雷诺兹(Reynolds,SA),里维(Levy)和ES(美国)沃克(Walker)(2006)。 洗手液警报。 新兴传染病,12(3),527-529。 https://doi.org/10.3201/eid1203.050955

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Is there proof that your hand sanitizer is effective?

APPLICATION NOTE

By Haleigh Bauer and Chris Perry

INTRODUCTION

Hand sanitizer gels contain multiple ingredients with ethanol or isopropanol as the primary active ingredient for antiseptic purposes. Hand sanitizer gels that are alcohol based have a recommended alcohol concentration of 60-95% to be considered effective.1 Currently, shortages on hand sanitizer products have pushed companies who normally do not manufacture hand sanitizer products to start production. In order to ensure hand sanitizer products are being produced properly, the proper analytical tools for product investigation are necessary. Eurofins EAG Materials Science is equipped with the necessary tools and techniques to examine hand sanitizer gel products for their primary ingredients by Gas Chromatography with Mass Spectrometry (GC/MS) and Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy (FT-IR). This note demonstrates the abilities that Eurofins EAG has to quickly and accurately screen hand sanitizer products to ensure these types of products meet the requirements for effectiveness.

DISCUSSION

In this study, the objective was to screen five commercial hand sanitizer gels for their main ingredients by GC/MS and FT-IR. A list of the ingredients commonly found in hand sanitizers is shown in the table below.

Each common inactive ingredient in hand sanitizer gels serves a specific purpose. Water acts as a solvent and is necessary to allow the active ingredient alcohol to penetrate bacterial cells in order to kill them. Glycerin and propylene glycol are humectants to help prevent the loss of moisture in the skin. Isopropyl myristate is an emollient. Along with Vitamin E acetate, isopropyl myristate helps smooth skin. Carbomer is a thickening agent that causes the gel-like texture in hand sanitizers, and triethanolamine functions as a pH adjuster as well as promoting emulsification.

Two types of screening methods by GC/MS were utilized: 1) a volatile screening method for ingredients like ethanol, isopropanol and propylene glycol (see Figure 1) and 2) a semi-volatile screening method for ingredients like glycerin, Vitamin E acetate, and isopropyl myristate (see Figure 2).

Additionally, besides qualitatively screening the samples, the ethanol and isopropanol content was quantified in all five of the samples by Gas Chromatography with Flame Ionization Detection (GC/FID) using analytical reference standards for calibration. For the ethanol quantitation, Product D was fortified with a known amount of ethanol to assess accuracy and the spike recovery was observed to be 101%.

Not every ingredient in hand sanitizer gels can be analyzed by GC/MS. To elucidate the polymeric portion of hand sanitizer gels (i.e. carbomer or polyacrylic acid), a customized series of solvent extractions was performed to isolate the carbomer followed by FT-IR to confirm its presence. Figure 3 shows stacked FT-IR spectrum of Product E (red trace) and a carbomer standard (purple trace).

Additionally, besides an FT-IR screen of Product E for carbomer, the carbomer content in this product was gravimetrically determined. Table 4 below summarizes these results.

SUMMARY

In summary, many ingredients in hand sanitizer gel products can be identified through the combined techniques of GC/MS and FT-IR. Additionally the levels of ethanol, isopropanol, and carbomer can be determined in these products. Accurately identifying and quantifying the main ingredients in hand sanitizer gels is critical for production when there is high demand for these products. Eurofins EAG has considerable experience in identifying ingredients in a variety of different hand sanitizer gel products to confirm the product label claim as well as determining whether these types of products meet the requirements for effectiveness.

REFERENCES

  1. Reynolds, S. A., Levy, F., & Walker, E. S. (2006). Hand sanitizer alert. Emerging infectious diseases, 12(3), 527–529. https://doi.org/10.3201/eid1203.050955

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.