量化活性药物成分(APIs)通过X射线光电子能谱(XPS)在药物表面

应用笔记

引言

有兴趣控制和理解活性物质的浓度 药物成分(API) 药用粉末表面上的赋形剂有很多原因。 其中一些兴趣是通过减小气溶胶或纳米医学应用的粒径来驱动的,其中近表面中的原子构成总原子的重要部分,因为尺寸减小到亚微米范围。 除了纯粹基于尺寸的关注之外,药物颗粒的外表面通常在化学上与体积完全不同。 加工可导致一种组分相对于颗粒表面的其它组分的分离或涂覆。 这反过来影响许多性能参数,包括溶解度,溶解速率,稳定性,流动性,附聚和结晶度。 凭借其表面灵敏度,无标准量化和确定最近邻化学键的能力, X射线光电子能谱(XPS) 具有独特的定位来分析 表面化学 药品。

讨论

在该实施例中,XPS用于量化COX抑制剂的量(吲哚美辛,C19H16ClNO4)用聚乙二醇 - 聚丙二醇 - 聚乙二醇(泊洛沙姆407)和羧甲基纤维素钠(CMC)的三嵌段共聚物喷雾干燥。

在该实施例中,XPS用于量化用聚乙二醇 - 聚丙二醇 - 聚乙二醇(泊洛沙姆19)和羧甲基纤维素钠(CMC)的三嵌段共聚物喷雾干燥的COX抑制剂(吲哚美辛,C16H4ClNO407)的量。

光电子能谱显示样品中预期的元素(C,O,N,Cl和Na)以及来自未知来源的少量Si的明显峰。 插图显示了高能量分辨率碳谱。 在碳谱中检测到四个不同的带。 最低结合能带(284.8 eV)来自-CH3 吲哚美辛的芳环结构中的碳和碳。 286.3 eV处的大峰是由于API和/或赋形剂中存在的CO,C-Cl和CN键。 ~287.7 eV处的弱峰归因于NC = O,而~288.5 eV处的另一弱峰归因于COOH。

光电子能谱显示样品中预期的元素(C,O,N,Cl和Na)以及来自未知来源的少量Si的明显峰。

吲哚美辛%由测量的仅来自该材料的N(或Cl)的量确定。 钠用于量化CMC的量。 泊洛沙姆407由差异决定。 该样品表面上吲哚美辛的原子分数为45%。 制剂中API的目标(本体)负载量为25%,证实了药物在聚合物上的高度表面覆盖率。

还有兴趣检查药品的均匀性。 下图显示了在XPS中获得的X射线诱导电子显微照片。 图像的形成非常像 扫描电子显微镜 其中聚焦的电子束在样品表面上光栅化,同时收集二次电子。 在这种情况下,我们在表面上扫描5μmX射线束,同时收集二次电子。 五个单独颗粒的结果总结在下面的图表中。 在所分析的颗粒中,药物浓度变化超过3x。 然而,在五个颗粒上检测到的平均吲哚美辛浓度(44%)与在几十个颗粒(45%)的大面积分析中发现的量一致。

了解药物粉末中各种组分的表面浓度对于控制性能参数如溶解度,溶解度,稳定性,流动性,附聚和结晶度至关重要。

我们使用XPS来量化存在于单个颗粒外表面上的API(吲哚美辛)和两种赋形剂(羧甲基纤维素钠和泊洛沙姆407)的量。 分析进行了总计,以提供平均表面成分的快照,以及单个颗粒 - 以评估表面化学均匀性。 了解药物粉末中各种组分的表面浓度对于控制性能参数如溶解度,溶解度,稳定性,流动性,附聚和结晶度至关重要。

我们使用XPS来量化存在于单个颗粒外表面上的API(吲哚美辛)和两种赋形剂(羧甲基纤维素钠和泊洛沙姆407)的量。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Quantification of Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (APIs) on the Surface of Pharmaceuticals by X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS)

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

There is an interest in controlling and understanding the concentration of active pharmaceutical ingredients (APIs) and excipients on pharmaceutical powder surfaces for a host of reasons. Some of this interest is driven by decreasing particle size for aerosols or nanomedicine applications where the atoms in the near-surface make up a significant fraction of the total atoms as the size decreases into the sub-micron range. In addition to concerns based purely on size, the outer surface of pharmaceutical particles is often chemically quite different from the bulk. Processing can result in the segregation or coating of one component relative to others at the surface of a particle. This, in turn, affects a host of performance parameters including solubility, dissolution rates, stability, flowability, agglomeration and crystallinity. With its surface sensitivity, standardless quantification and ability to determine the nearest neighbor chemical bonds, X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS) is uniquely positioned to analyze the surface chemistry of pharmaceuticals.

DISCUSSION

In this example, XPS is used to quantify the amount of a COX inhibitor (Indomethacin, C19H16ClNO4) spray dried with a triblock co-polymer of polyethylene glycol –polypropylene glycol- polyethylene glycol (Poloxamer 407) and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC).

In this example, XPS is used to quantify the amount of a COX inhibitor (Indomethacin, C19H16ClNO4) spray dried with a triblock co-polymer of polyethylene glycol –polypropylene glycol- polyethylene glycol (Poloxamer 407) and sodium carboxymethyl cellulose (CMC).

The photoelectron spectrum shows distinct peaks for the elements expected in the sample (C, O, N, Cl and Na) as well as minor amount of Si from an unknown source. The inset shows the high energy resolution carbon spectrum. Four different bands are detected in carbon spectrum. The lowest binding energy band (284.8 eV) is from –CH3 and carbon in the aromatic ring structure of indomethacin. The large peak at 286.3 eV is due to C-O, C-Cl and C-N bonds present in the API and/or the excipients. The weak peak at ~287.7 eV is due to N-C=O and the other weak peak at ~288.5 eV is due to COOH.

The photoelectron spectrum shows distinct peaks for the elements expected in the sample (C, O, N, Cl and Na) as well as minor amount of Si from an unknown source.

The % indomethacin is determined from the measured amount of N (or Cl) that only comes from that material. Sodium is used to quantify the amount of CMC. The Poloxamer 407 is determined by difference. The atom fraction of indomethacin on the surface of this sample was 45%. The target (bulk) loading of API in the formulation was 25% confirming a high degree of surface coverage of the drug on the polymer.

There was also interest in checking the homogeneity of the pharmaceutical product. The figure below shows an X-ray induced electron micrograph acquired in the XPS. The image is formed much like in a scanning electron microscope where a focused electron beam is rastered across a sample surface while secondary electrons are collected. In this case we raster a 5µm X-ray beam across the surface while collecting secondary electrons. The results from five individual particles are summarized in the chart below. The drug concentration varied by more than 3x among the particles analyzed. However, the average indomethacin concentration detected on the five particles (44%) agreed well with the amount found on the large area analysis of several dozen particles (45%).

Understanding the surface concentration of various components in pharmaceutical powders is critical for controlling performance parameters such as solubility, dissolution, stability, flowability, agglomeration and crystallinity.

We use XPS to quantify the amount of an API (indomethacin) and two excipients (sodium carboxymethylcellulose and Poloxamer 407) present on the outer surface of individual particles. Analyses were done both in aggregate, to provide a snapshot of the average surface composition, as well as on individual particles- to assess surface chemical uniformity. Understanding the surface concentration of various components in pharmaceutical powders is critical for controlling performance parameters such as solubility, dissolution, stability, flowability, agglomeration and crystallinity.

We use XPS to quantify the amount of an API (indomethacin) and two excipients (sodium carboxymethylcellulose and Poloxamer 407) present on the outer surface of individual particles.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.