通过AC-STEM-EDS定量超薄层

应用笔记

引言

薄膜技术的最新进展及其材料特性已经导致了显着的表征挑战。 例如,具有抗反射纹理,图案化衬底或晶体缺陷的存在的样品上的量子阱结构的表征可能非常复杂,最终阻碍了对所需基本信息的访问。 但是,准确测定超薄层的成分,厚度和厚度 形态学 对于工艺开发,设备质量评估或 故障分析。 在EAG实验室,我们为这些设备上的这些具有挑战性的表征问题开发了一种特定的分析方案。

在本应用指南中,我们展示了通过像差校正扫描透射电子显微镜(AC-STEM)与能量色散X射线探测器相结合的薄层定量的有效性(STEM-EDS)用于GaN基样品。

GaN的AC-STEM Z-对比图像:InGaN多层叠层。

图1  GaN的AC-STEM Z-对比图像:InGaN多层叠层。 AC-STEM显示清晰的原子堆栈(圆球),表明卓越的图像分辨率。

结果与讨论

如图1所示,AC-STEM提供了非常详细的样品图像。 传统的STEM或TEM图像无法实现图像清晰度。 图像分辨率优于1.4Å,AC-STEM可提供无与伦比的层厚度精度和细节。

除了出色的图像质量外,AC-STEM还与先进的X射线探测器相结合,可以对GaN基材料进行可靠的定量分析。 作为AC-STEM-EDS可以获得的精度的一个例子,表1显示了通过AC-STEM-EDS和通过AC-STEM-EDS比较测量值的结果。 卢瑟福背散射光谱法(RBS)。 RBS用于创建参考标准,并被认为是厚膜最准确的分析技术之一。 RBS和AC-STEM-EDS之间的协议在预期的RBS测量不确定度5%(相对)内。

表1在InGaN厚膜标准样品上的浓度。

表1  浓缩在InGaN厚膜标准样品上。

来自LED器件中的超薄层的AC-STEM图像。

图2  来自LED器件中的超薄层的AC-STEM图像。

来自图2中的层的元素浓度。

表2  来自图2中的层的元素浓度。

表2显示了在与用于RBS标准的相同分析条件下使用AC-STEM-EDS从InGaN结构中的3.25nm层测量的定量组成。 对于许多重要的材料系统(包括III-V,III-氮化物和II-VI装置),量化的组成不能通过任何其他方法实现,例如SIMS。 重要的是要注意,由于校准标准品和薄膜上的分析条件相同,表2中数据的准确度与表1中显示的体膜的精确度相同。

AC-STEM-EDS数据显示InGaN量子阱结构中的Al(红色),Ga(蓝色)和In(黄色)分布。

图3  InGaN量子阱结构中的Al(红色),Ga(蓝色)和In(黄色)分布。

除了对这些具有挑战性的样品的优异定量结果外,AC-STEM-EDS还可以提供生动的元素分布图像,如图3所示。 这些图可以提供有关样品组成和缺陷分析的独特信息,所有这些都具有nm尺度分辨率。

Linescans是另一种测量元素分布的方法,可以提供额外的信息。 图4显示了同一样品的线扫描,显示了GaN样品中铝和铟的原子分数。 请注意,扫描右侧最薄的铟层大约为1.5nm厚。 尚未确定这些层的量化准确度。 然而,在较厚的层(3.25nm)中,由于前面提到的分析条件,浓度值是有效的,并且探针尺寸明显小于膜厚度。

概要

我们已经在本应用笔记中表明,可以准确地量化
GaN基器件的超薄层。 该方法可以扩展到其他III-V,III-氮化物和II-V材料的研究。 将此AC-STEM-EDS数据与SIMS轮廓相结合,对于了解当今非常普遍的复杂材料系统至关重要 先进的电子设备.

AC-STEM-EDS Al(红色)和In(蓝色)原子级分的无标准定量线扫描。 原子分数的广泛变化是由于该数据类型所需的高像素分辨率。

图4  Al(红色)和In(蓝色)原子级分的无标准定量线扫描。 原子分数的广泛变化是由于该数据类型所需的高像素分辨率。 对于定量分析,如表1和2所示,以显着改善这些统计数据的方式收集数据。

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Quantification of Ultrathin Layers by AC-STEM-EDS

APPLICATION NOTE

INTRODUCTION

Recent advances in thin film technologies, and their materials properties, have led to significant characterization challenges. For instance, the characterization of quantum well structures on samples with anti-reflective textures, patterned substrates, or the presence of crystalline defects can be very complicated ultimately preventing the access to the basic information required. However, the accurate determination of ultrathin layer composition, thickness and morphology are critical for process development, evaluation of device quality or failure analysis. At EAG Laboratories we have developed a specific analytical protocol for such challenging characterization problems on these devices.

In this application note we show the effectiveness of thin layer quantification by Aberration Corrected Scanning Transmission Electron Microscopy (AC-STEM) coupled with an energy dispersive x-ray detector (STEM-EDS) for GaN-based samples.

AC-STEM Z-contrast image of GaN:InGaN multilayer stack.

Figure 1  AC-STEM Z-contrast image of GaN:InGaN multilayer stack. The AC-STEM shows clear atom stacks (round spheres) that indicate superb image resolution.

RESULTS AND DISCUSSION

As can be seen in Figure 1, the AC-STEM provides highly detailed images of the sample. This image clarity is not possible with traditional STEM or TEM images. With image resolution better than 1.4Å, AC-STEM can provide unparalleled layer thickness accuracy and detail.

In addition to excellent image quality, the AC-STEM coupled to an advanced x-ray detector allows for reliable quantification of GaN-based materials. As an example of the accuracy that can be obtained by AC-STEM-EDS, Table 1 shows the results comparing the measured values by AC-STEM-EDS and by Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry (RBS). RBS is used to create reference standards and is considered to be one of the most accurate analytical techniques for thick films. The agreement between RBS and AC-STEM-EDS is within the expected RBS measurement uncertainty of 5% (relative).

Table 1 In concentration on a InGaN thick film standard sample.

Table 1  In concentration on a InGaN thick film standard sample.

AC-STEM image from an ultrathin layer in an LED device.

Figure 2  AC-STEM image from an ultrathin layer in an LED device.

Elemental concentration from layer in Figure 2.

Table 2  Elemental concentration from layer in Figure 2.

Table 2 shows the quantitative composition measured from a 3.25nm layer in an InGaN structure using AC-STEM-EDS under the same analytical conditions used for the RBS standard. For many important material systems (including III-V, III-Nitride, and II-VI devices) quantified composition cannot be realized by any other method, such as SIMS. It is important to note that because the analytical conditions on the calibration standard and the thin film are the same, the accuracy of the data in Table 2 is identical to that obtained from the bulk film shown in Table 1.

AC-STEM-EDS data showing Al (red), Ga (blue) and In (yellow) distributions in a InGaN quantum well structure.

Figure 3  Al (red), Ga (blue) and In (yellow) distributions in a InGaN quantum well structure.

In addition to excellent quantitative results on these challenging samples, AC-STEM-EDS can provide vivid images of elemental distributions as shown in Figure 3. These maps can provide unique information regarding sample composition and defect analysis, all with nm scale resolution.

Linescans are another method of measuring elemental distributions that can provide an additional level of information. Figure 4 shows a line scan of the same sample, showing the atomic fractions of Aluminum and Indium in the GaN sample. Note that the thinnest Indium layers on the right side of the scan are on the order of 1.5nm thick. The quantification accuracy of these layers has not yet been determined. However, in the thicker layers (3.25nm) the concentration values are valid due to the previously mentioned analytical conditions and the probe size being significantly smaller than the film thickness.

SUMMARY

We have shown in this application note that it is possible to accurately quantify ultrathin layers of a GaN-based device. This method may be extended to investigations on other III-V, III-Nitride, and II-V materials. This AC-STEM-EDS data, coupled to SIMS profiles are essential to understand the complex material systems that are now commonplace in todays advanced electronic devices.

AC-STEM-EDS Standardless quantitative line scan of Al (red) and In (blue) atom fractions. The wide variations in atomic fraction are due to the high pixel resolution required for this data type.

Figure 4  Standardless quantitative line scan of Al (red) and In (blue) atom fractions. The wide variations in atomic fraction are due to the high pixel resolution required for this data type. For quantitative analysis, as shown in Tables 1 and 2, the data are collected in a way to significantly improve these statistics.

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.