卢瑟福背散射光谱(RBS)服务

技术说明:RBS服务

典型数据

下面显示的是重叠的 苏格兰皇家银行 来自WSi的光谱x 具有三种不同Si / W比的薄膜。 高能量峰值(高通道数)对应于膜中W的散射,而较低能量的步骤对应于Si的散射。 通过测量W和Si信号的强度(产率)并校正W和Si的散射截面,可以在1-2%内确定Si / W的确切比率。 W峰的宽度与WSi的厚度成正比x 层。 使用W和Si中He的停止功率的已知值,可以计算WSi的厚度x 层。

具有不同Si / W比的150nm WSi薄膜的RBS分析

RBS服务显示具有不同Si / W比的150nm WSi薄膜的RBS分析

通过测量W和Si散射峰的强度并校正每个元件的散射截面,可以确定高精度的Si / W比。 还可以确定膜厚度。

原则

在RBS测量期间,高能量(MeV)He2+ 离子(即α粒子)被引导到样品上,并且反向散射的He的能量分布和产率2+ 记录给定角度的离子。 反向散射粒子的能量取决于它们散射的原子质量(运动因子)以及碰撞发生的深度(能量损失因子)。 反向散射离子的数量与给定元素的浓度成正比。 由于所有元素(反向散射截面)都知道后向散射事件的可能性,因此可以推导出定量 深度剖面图 来自RBS光谱的薄膜厚度小于1μm。

在氢的情况下,不发生后向散射,而是通过将样品置于与He的掠射角2+ 离子束H原子可以向前散射出样品并收集。 这允许通过使用薄箔来过滤向前散射的He原子来量化薄膜中的H量,同时仅透射向前散射的H原子。 H的这种单独分析称为HFS(氢前向散射)。

常见的应用程序

RBS在不使用标准的情况下提供高度精确的薄膜成分的能力使其成为理想的成分 成分分析 of 半导体 和其他薄膜。

应用范围包括:

  • 半导体薄膜成分深度剖析:
    • 金属硅化物:WSi,FeSi,CoSi,TiSi等
    • 氮化物:TiN,TaN,TaAlN
    • 电介质:SiO2,SiN
    • 高K电介质:HfO2,HfSiO
    • 低K电介质:SiOCH
  • 化合物半导体层组成:
    • SiGe,AlGaAs,InGaAs等
  • 光学镀膜成分深度剖析:
    • 二氧化钛2,SiO2,HfO2
  • 薄膜中的氢2,SiN,SiOCH,DLC等
  • 离子植入剂量测定法(高Z元素):
    • As,Sb,In剂量
  • 单晶样品中的损伤分析:
    • 离子注入,抛光,退火

优势

  • 定量无需参考标准
  • 顶部的深度剖面 ~1μm
  • 确定薄膜厚度
  • 可以分析绝缘和导电样品
  • 可以测量H,以及除He,Li,Be之外的所有其他元素
  • 可以分析最大300mm的完整晶圆
  • 非破坏性的

限制

  • 通常对B,C,N,O的检测限很差(3-5 at-%)
  • 可能无法分辨相似质量的较重元素(例如,来自Zn的Zn或来自Ta的W)
  • 最小的分析区域 ~2mm直径
  • 样品必须与真空兼容

技术比较

RBS与用于薄膜分析的其他技术非常互补,例如 俄歇电子能谱(AES)X射线光电子能谱(XPS)。 RBS对重元素的检测限低于这些技术,但对轻元素的检测限较高。 俄歇提供了更好的空间分辨率,但在分析绝缘样品时会遇到问题。 除元素定量外,XPS还可提供化学状态测定。 俄歇和XPS都只采样鞋面 ~10nm材料,并使用离子束溅射从样品中去除材料以获得深度剖面。 该溅射过程可以改变被分析的材料,导致不太准确的定量结果。 RBS不会溅射样品,因此通常能够提供更准确的定量结果。

RBS还可用于非破坏性地确定薄膜厚度,因此可以代替它使用 扫描电子显微镜(SEM) or 透射电子显微镜(TEM) 横断面。 然而,为了从RBS数据导出膜厚度,必须假设膜的密度,这导致另外的误差源。 相反,如果从另一种技术如TEM或SEM知道物理膜厚度,则可以使用RBS数据计算膜密度。 苏格兰皇家银行是补充 X射线反射率(XRR)分析,它也可以确定薄膜密度和薄膜厚度,但不能确定薄膜成分。

苏格兰皇家银行

EAG是RBS服务的全球领导者,已经开发了专有的RBS分析软件和仪器,已在世界各地的其他实验室中使用。 我们在加利福尼亚州桑尼维尔的实验室中拥有两台RBS仪器,并且提供RBS分析已有25年以上。 EAG具有无与伦比的RBS经验,可以分析各种材料。

商品描述

卢瑟福背散射光谱法(RBS)是一种离子散射技术,主要用于成分薄膜分析。 RBS的独特之处在于它允许在不使用参考标准的情况下进行定量,并且经常用于校准其他分析方法。 它通常是用于半导体,光学涂层和其它控制薄膜成分至关重要的应用的薄膜的定量组成分析的选择方法。

代表卢瑟福背散射光谱(RBS)的图标

为了启用某些功能并改善您的使用体验,此站点将cookie存储在您的计算机上。 请单击“继续”以提供授权并永久删除此消息。

要了解更多信息,请参阅我们的 私隐政策.

Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry (RBS) Services

TECHNIQUE NOTE: RBS SERVICES

TYPICAL DATA

Shown below are overlaid RBS spectra from WSix films with three different Si/W ratios. The peak at high energy (high channel number) corresponds to scattering from the W in the film while the step at lower energy corresponds to scattering from Si. By measuring the intensities (yield) of the W and Si signals and correcting for the scattering cross sections of W and Si the exact ratio of Si/W can be determined within 1-2%. The width of the W peak is directly proportional to the thickness of the WSix layer. Using known values for the stopping powers of He in W and Si it is possible to calculate the thickness of the WSix layer.

RBS Analysis of 150nm WSi films with varying Si/W ratios

RBS services shows RBS Analysis of 150nm WSi films with varying Si/W ratios

Highly accurate Si/W ratios can be determined by measuring the intensities of the W and Si scattering peaks and correcting for the scattering cross section for each element. Film thickness can also be determined.

PRINCIPLES

During an RBS measurement, high-energy (MeV) He2+ ions (i.e. alpha particles) are directed onto a sample and the energy distribution and yield of the backscattered He2+ ions at a given angle are recorded. The energies of the backscattered particles depend both upon the mass of atoms from which they scatter (kinematic factor) as well as the depth at which a collision occurs (energy loss factor). The number of backscattered ions is directly proportional to the concentration of a given element. Since the likelihood of a backscattering event is known for all elements (backscattering cross section), it is possible to derive quantitative depth profiles from the RBS spectra for thin films that are less than 1µm thick.

In the case of hydrogen no backscattering occurs, but by placing the sample at a glancing angle to the He2+ ion beam H atoms can be scattered forward out of the sample and collected. This allows the amount of H in thin films to be quantified by using a thin foil to filter forward scattered He atoms, while transmitting only forward scattered H atoms. This separate analysis of H is called HFS (Hydrogen Forward Scattering).

COMMON APPLICATIONS

The ability of RBS to deliver highly accurate film composition without the use of standards makes it ideal for the compositional analysis of semiconductor and other thin films.

Applications include:

  • Semiconductor thin film compositional depth profiling:
    • Metal silicides: WSi, FeSi, CoSi, TiSi, etc.
    • Nitrides: TiN, TaN, TaAlN
    • Dielectrics: SiO2, SiN
    • High K Dielectrics: HfO2, HfSiO
    • Low K Dielectrics: SiOCH
  • Compound Semiconductor Layer composition:
    • SiGe, AlGaAs, InGaAs, etc.
  • Optical Coating compositional depth profiling:
    • TiO2, SiO2, HfO2
  • Hydrogen in thin films SiO2, SiN, SiOCH, DLC, etc.
  • Ion Implant Dosimetry (high Z elements):
    • As, Sb, In dose
  • Damage profiling in single crystal samples:
    • Ion implant, polishing, annealing

STRENGTHS

  • Quantitative without the need for reference standards
  • Depth profiles of top ~1µm
  • Determines film thickness
  • Can analyze insulating and conductive samples
  • Can measure H, and all other elements except He, Li, Be
  • Can analyze full wafers up to 300mm
  • Non destructive

LIMITATIONS

  • Typically poor detection limits for B, C, N, O (3-5 at-%)
  • May not be able to resolve heavier elements of similar mass (e.g., Cu from Zn or W from Ta)
  • Smallest analytical area ~2mm diameter
  • Sample must be vacuum compatible

TECHNIQUE COMPARISONS

RBS is very complementary to other techniques used for thin film analysis, such as Auger Electron Spectroscopy (AES) and X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy (XPS). RBS has lower detection limits than these techniques for heavy elements, but higher detection limits for light elements. Auger offers much better spatial resolution, but can have problems with analyzing insulating samples. XPS can provide chemical state determination in addition to elemental quantification. Both Auger and XPS sample only the upper ~10nm of materials, and use ion beam sputtering to remove material from the sample to obtain a depth profile. This sputtering process can modify the material being analyzed resulting in less accurate quantitative results. RBS does not sputter the sample so it is typically able to provide more accurate quantitative results.

RBS can also be used to non-destructively determine film thickness so it can be used instead of Scanning Electron Microscopy (SEM) or Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM) cross sectioning. However, in order to derive a film thickness from RBS data one has to assume a density for the film, which leads to an additional source of error. Conversely, if one knows the physical film thickness from another technique such as TEM or SEM then the film density can be calculated using the RBS data. RBS is complementary to X-ray Reflectivity (XRR) analysis, which can also determine film density and film thickness but does not determine film composition.

RBS AT EAG

EAG is a world leader in RBS services, having developed proprietary RBS analysis software and instrumentation used in other labs around the world. We have two RBS instruments located at our lab in Sunnyvale, CA and have been offering RBS analysis for over 25 years. EAG has unmatched RBS experience analyzing a wide range of materials.

DESCRIPTION

Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry (RBS) is an ion scattering technique that is used primarily for compositional thin film analysis. RBS is unique in that it allows quantification without the use of reference standards and is frequently used to calibrate other analytical methods. It is typically the method of choice for quantitative compositional analysis of thin films used for semiconductors, optical coatings, and other applications where control of film composition is crucial.

Icon representing Rutherford Backscattering Spectrometry (RBS)

To enable certain features and improve your experience with us, this site stores cookies on your computer. Please click Continue to provide your authorization and permanently remove this message.

To find out more, please see our privacy policy.